Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork Radio host jerks it on Aer Lingus flight

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

Two weeks on from the news now. Has pumping Prender returned to work yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,775 ✭✭✭JohnK

Still that Colm guy handling the show I think but if I was to guess it'll probably be after he's made his statement to the police and I dont think thats happened yet. And for all the talk of how much people dont like him, I'm betting his ratings when he does come back will be fecking huge, at least for a few days anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Dean820 wrote: »
    I still would.

You, Sir, have given in to most base desires*.

(specifically a need to have sex with a male cross between desperate dan and an oompa loompa)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,412 ✭✭✭oceanclub

JohnK wrote: »
    And for all the talk of how much people dont like him, I'm betting his ratings when he does come back will be fecking huge, at least for a few days anyway.

People might tune in to see if he "ransacks his dignity":

Perhaps he also has Prestedidwick's congena?

P.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,395 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

Still that Colm guy handling the show I think but if I was to guess it'll probably be after he's made his statement to the police and I dont think thats happened yet. And for all the talk of how much people dont like him, I'm betting his ratings when he does come back will be fecking huge, at least for a few days anyway.

If he does he'll have to change the format of his show. How can he lecture people on anything now? Reminds Angus deaton on have I got news for you? Sacked cos he wasn't in a position to make fun of people. And Mr. Prendervilles situation was a hell of a lot funnier imho

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Paparazzo wrote: »
    If he does he'll have to change the format of his show. How can he lecture people on anything now? Reminds Angus deaton on have I got news for you? Sacked cos he wasn't in a position to make fun of people. And Mr. Prendervilles situation was a hell of a lot funnier imho

Well no, they just chucked Deaton out because of the awkward 'Taxpayers Money On This Filth' situation the Beeb finds itself in.....Yer man apparently takes the moral high ground attitude, which is where hes snookered.

And again - had he just said 'I was out of me tree..' there'd have been a far more forgiving attitude towards the eejit.

Paparazzo wrote: »
    I'm not so sure to be honest, in fact if he starts playing it with him as a victim of circumstance he could get a lot of mileage from the whole "if this is what safe & controlled drugs do what can cocaine & heroin be responsible for?" He could then really lay claim the high ground on any drug and drug related crime issues etc which will get everyone agreeing with him and basically consigning this whole thing to the past with him being a lesson for everyone about the dangers that are out there.

If he starts talking about too much drink then he can effectively claim to alcohol problems and a binge drinking culture where he knows from personal experience just how bad it is and how everyone else needs to cop on and start taking responsibility or they'll end up like him.

Basically, I see plenty of ways he could turn this to his advantage and I'm quite certain both his own advisors and those for the station are looking at plenty of angles right now that'll get him back on the air so the only real question is are they willing to ride out the first couple of weeks till people get it out of their system and something more important or humiliating happens to someone else. In fact, if he waits about another 2 weeks then everyone will be talking about the budget so who'll care about a guy having a **** on a plane?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,941 ✭✭✭maxwell smart

I can't see him speaking about the misuse of prescription drugs if he gets back on air, I'm sure his solicitor, Mr Kean, has had the makers of nurofen on to him telling him his client better stop naming their brand or else!
    But perhaps he has had some bad experiences of other products?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,412 ✭✭✭oceanclub

One could make a career out of this:

"LEMSIP AND MY FERRY TEABAGGING HELL"

P.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭Lizzzard

I'm not so sure to be honest, in fact if he starts playing it with him as a victim of circumstance he could get a lot of mileage from the whole "if this is what safe & controlled drugs do what can cocaine & heroin be responsible for?" He could then really lay claim the high ground on any drug and drug related crime issues etc which will get everyone agreeing with him and basically consigning this whole thing to the past with him being a lesson for everyone about the dangers that are out there.

If he starts talking about too much drink then he can effectively claim to alcohol problems and a binge drinking culture where he knows from personal experience just how bad it is and how everyone else needs to cop on and start taking responsibility or they'll end up like him.

Basically, I see plenty of ways he could turn this to his advantage and I'm quite certain both his own advisors and those for the station are looking at plenty of angles right now that'll get him back on the air so the only real question is are they willing to ride out the first couple of weeks till people get it out of their system and something more important or humiliating happens to someone else. In fact, if he waits about another 2 weeks then everyone will be talking about the budget so who'll care about a guy having a **** on a plane?

It almost seems like your trying to defend him, but I do see your point and know that your not.
    But in all fairness, over the years I've been in some EXTREME cases of drunkeness and under the influence of 'other things' as have a lot of my friends and I'm sure we all know people who have been in similar states but have you EVER once heard of someone being so out of it whether it be at a party, on a plane??? or anywhere else where they have just whipped it out and started beating away????????? Me thinks not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,853 ✭✭✭lintdrummer

realies wrote: »
    I think its disgraceful and if he was sitting between me & my wife, i would have pulled his head of, and only that.

Don't think he needed any help really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭redhat244

Don't think he needed any help really.

And which makes me think that the bould Neil Peeeeeeeeeee wouldn't make a grate CAMPANOLOGIST up at Shandon, coz he only likes pulling bell *nds on the quiet! A CHARA!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭flanum

theres been nothing for a few days in the media about this fella that masturbated in public?? when is he going to be arrested for being a sex offender?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

flanum wrote: »
    theres been nothing for a few days in the media about this fella that masturbated in public?? when is he going to be arrested for being a sex offender?

hopefully he ends up on the sex offenders register..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

Update time. Has Mr.Prendeville had time away yet from ransacking his dignity to give a view on the current national crisis?

Nope, hes still not back on the air.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,384 ✭✭✭gbee

Nope, hes still not back on the air.

And 96fm has nothing for me anymore, Prenders was the only thing I listened to on that station. Might as well be listening to Pat Kenny at the moment, I just fall asleep and I don't don't know who is the morning show host or who is the caller ~ dull monotone, almost as if the current presented is talking to himself ~ no life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

Did he ever give a reason for why he did it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭safetymanager

I'd like an update now actually, so much has happened in the meantime news wise that Mr. P has been forgotten about. I really don't want that to happen as I was getting great entertainment from the whole thing (except ofcourse the damage to his two innocent kids). I would not like to see him back on air to be honest, I don't think he deserves to ever be in the position to lecture the people of Cork on any subject regardless of whether it is controversial or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,123 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

Mr Prendervile should be delighted with this new outdoor cinema I have heard about. It will be a nice place to hide on cold winter nights, perfect setting for his deeds of daring doo, that said, he may need to invest in a car fan as i suspect he may face enormous difficulties with his screen fogging up. LOL

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 258 ✭✭Scambuster

I'd like an update now actually, so much has happened in the meantime news wise that Mr. P has been forgotten about. I really don't want that to happen as I was getting great entertainment from the whole thing (except ofcourse the damage to his two innocent kids). I would not like to see him back on air to be honest, I don't think he deserves to ever be in the position to lecture the people of Cork on any subject regardless of whether it is controversial or not.
    Can they be considered fully innocent?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 827 ✭✭✭Cian92

The rumour going about now is that the woman sitting next to him on the flight was doing the same thing...

Cian92 wrote: »
    The rumour going about now is that the woman sitting next to him on the flight was doing the same thing...

They were having some for of race? Or what, I don't understand the "High Society" folk at all. :p

96FM announced today that Neil Prendeville will not be returning to the airwaves until the matter is settled legally.

96FM will be making no further comment until the new year.

gbee wrote: »
    96FM announced today that Neil Prendeville will not be returning to the airwaves until the matter is settled legally.

96FM will be making no further comment until the new year.

Sounds like the ship sunk is deserting the fleeing rat. "Settled Legally" a real vote of confidence by the looks of things.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

gbee wrote: »

He's toast so.

Interesting, I wasnt expecting that but it certainly makes things sound a but more serious.

Interesting, I wasn't expecting that but it certainly makes things sound a but more serious.

Yes indeed, amazing how quite Messer's Kean and Prendervile have gone. I guess they know its a lost cause trying to defend the indefensible. I would be amazed if this guy was let near a microphone let alone host another show on any radio station.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭flanum

any idea if this guy is going to prison or what??? when is he up in court?

Innocent until proven guilty i guess, no word on a court date or indeed the investigation, seems to have gone all quite, perhaps in the hope we will all forget about this sordid affair. The illustrious Mr Kean is also gone to ground, no a mention or photo of him in any of the horrid gossip columns in the past few weeks, not sure if he is still doing his column in the herald. Me thinks he is taking Terry Prones advice (Dig a hole, jump into it, cover yourself up & stay in it)