Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Push, Pull, Squat

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭Barry.Oglesby

I know, I was being funny. Or funnyish. I just think it's a bit sad that we can't really communicate in this manner in the main forum. On the other hand I know of a place where we can talk forum.informedperformance.com and not pollute poor Liam's log :) .

Anyway good work this week Liam your 195s were clean enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,045 ✭✭✭Will Heffernan

I know, I was being funny. Or funnyish. I just think it's a bit sad that we can't really communicate in this manner in the main forum. On the other hand I know of a place where we can talk forum.informedperformance.com and not pollute poor Liam's log :) .

Fair enough point. I'll return to lurk/browsing and comment elsewhere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,338 ✭✭✭the drifter

Barry im utterly disgraced...ill blame the late hour of your post...too go to all that effort to drop the forum name in such a manner and then to not even put it as a hyper link...you just dont put the effort into it any more..I mean id have least expected a pick of Liam in a jakt t shirt or something...anyways ive fixed it for you like a good little mod...

Im so impressed with Will's benching knowledge im going to let this one slide..

Just to let you know though...mods read logs too...

Barry im utterly disgraced...ill blame the late hour of your post...too go to all that effort to drop the forum name in such a manner and then to not even put it as a hyper link...you just dont put the effort into it any more..I mean id have least expected a pick of Liam in a jakt t shirt or something...anyways ive fixed it for you like a good little mod...

Im so impressed with Will's benching knowledge im going to let this one slide..

Just to let you know though...mods read logs too...
    You really are a self important little man. Honestly you seem to think I'm shilling once I mention anything, yet people can link any number of foreign websites as much as they want without recourse. I was recommending we don't pollute Liam's Log. Give a man a little power and suddenly he thinks he's both big and clever. You're neither.

Consider me gone from the fitness logs too since this is plainly what you want to happen. Enjoy the peace. This if course won't survive your little cull. I've seen you "accidentally" delete a few of myself and Will's posts in the past so I doubt you'll let this one pass.

So consider this another little victory you can rack up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,819 ✭✭✭✭g'em

Barry you've completely misunderstood the tone of the drifter's post!! He was joking with you, there was really no need to talk to him like that, none at all. It was done entirely tongue in cheek - he was having a pop at himself in it for goodness sake!! Total misunderstanding here, seriously.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,338 ✭✭✭the drifter

You really are a self important little man. Honestly you seem to think I'm shilling once I mention anything, yet people can link any number of foreign websites as much as they want without recourse. I was recommending we don't pollute Liam's Log. Give a man a little power and suddenly he thinks he's both big and clever. You're neither.

Consider me gone from the fitness logs too since this is plainly what you want to happen. Enjoy the peace. This if course won't survive your little cull. I've seen you "accidentally" delete a few of myself and Will's posts in the past so I doubt you'll let this one pass.

So consider this another little victory you can rack up.

I was actually taking the p*ss us mods are capable of doing that too you know. I actually enjoy having ye around the logs Liams and Gymfreaks logs have been great to read since they started training in IP. some great progress.

and i never claimed to be big and clever....fat and clever might be a better way to put it.

anyways sorry for having a bit of crack with ye it wont happen again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,818 ✭✭✭Inspector Coptoor

Weight today - 103.4kg. down another 700g since monday
    Diet was perfect all week

IP warm up
    2 rounds of 10

Conditioning Block
    Prowler plus 40kg
    15m up and down
    30 pushes for time
    11:10
    48 second improvement on my time tuesday evening

15 min work block
    TBDL @ 95kg - 8
    Dip Bar Inv Rows - 8
    Wall balls - 8
    11 rounds -
    INverted rows are feeling a lot better.
    TBDL was made tougher by the fact the prowler made me its bitch beforehand

Conditioning Block
    KB Swings with 36kg KB
    10 mins of 20s on, 40 s off
    10 swings per roound.
    glutes were fried form this

15 min Work Block
    12.5kg Windmill - 5 per side
    DB Press - 20kg DBs - 10
    DB Row - 37.5kg DB - 5 per side
    11 rounds in 15 mins 10 sec
    windmill weight wa up 4.5kg on last time and they were tough.
    DB press with the 20s were comfortable.
    Rows were grand, 40s next time.
    this is my favourite work block

Stretching
    Foam rolling

Awesome session condsidering I was up at 6.30 am yesterday, worked all day and played poker all night til 4 am.
    Came 7th out of 104. won a few pound.
    NOICE.

I was actually taking the p*ss us mods are capable of doing that too you know. I actually enjoy having ye around the logs Liams and Gymfreaks logs have been great to read since they started training in IP. some great progress.

and i never claimed to be big and clever....fat and clever might be a better way to put it.

anyways sorry for having a bit of crack with ye it wont happen again.
    Maybe the "misinterpretation" is because you haven't exactly earned the right to "have the craic" with me.

Good work Billy Connoly I hope to see you in and around 100kgs by next weekend.

ah yeah, the tights were awesome!

dunno if I'll get to 100kg by next weekend but I sure as hell am gonna try my damndest.

Sunday Morning Conditioning Session:

Relay Prowler pushes
    prowler +36kg
    ~15 pushes in 15 minutes for the 6 of us.
    each push was about 25/30m.

Prowler Drags
    Prowler +36kg
    40m - 5 pushes

Prowler push
    Prowler + 36kg
    1 x 50m push

Finisher:
    Prowler push up on the low handles (prowler + 36kg ~50m)
    20 KB swings with 20kg KB
    Prowler push back on the high handles (prowler + 36kg ~50m

Good session.
    Another prowler cherry popped and a bad dose of prowler flu followed.
    awesome

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,678 Mod ✭✭✭✭BossArky

Barry banned for two weeks for posts #485 and #489.

Liam - if you want this tripe cleared out of your log let me know.

BossArky wrote: »
    Barry banned for two weeks for posts #485 and #489.

Liam - if you want this tripe cleared out of your log let me know.

I have no objection to one of my coaches posting in my log whatsoever and wouldnt call it tripe, from barry, from Will, from kevpants or from g'em or from the drifter.

tbh Bossarky, I cant see why you banned Barry considering two other mods have been in the log and saw what was said and took no action to ban.

I really dont know why you stuck your oar in as it had been let lie as far as I could see.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,819 ✭✭✭✭g'em

Both drifter and I support BossArky banning Barry and he certainly wasn't sticking his oar in. The Fitness Logs are still subject to the same rules as the main forum.

This isn't the place for it to be discussed either.

Sunday Morning Conditioning Session:

Relay Prowler pushes
    prowler +36kg
    ~15 pushes in 15 minutes for the 6 of us.
    each push was about 25/30m.

Prowler Drags
    Prowler +36kg
    40m - 5 pushes

Prowler push
    Prowler + 36kg
    1 x 50m push

Finisher:
    Prowler push up on the low handles (prowler + 36kg ~50m)
    20 KB swings with 20kg KB
    Prowler push back on the high handles (prowler + 36kg ~50m

Good session.
    Another prowler cherry popped and a bad dose of prowler flu followed.
    awesome
    You needed to 'add' a finisher

Looks like a great session. What sort of work rest intervals are these? As in how long does the 'push' take and how long until your turn comes around again?[/QUOTE]

Actually don't worry about it.

I suppose I'll just talk to you in person about it.

Would of thought that 'people' would have been happy having hounded and moderated us out of the 'fitness' board and limited us to posting on our own members logs everyone would be all smiles...obviously not.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,678 Mod ✭✭✭✭BossArky

I "stuck my oar in" as I expect posters to have the courtesy to communicate with each other with decency and respect.

The above comments sicken me. If anyone wants to engage in such insults then take their comments and logs elsewhere - not on this forum.

Back on topic.

g'em wrote: »
    Both drifter and I support BossArky banning Barry and he certainly wasn't sticking his oar in. The Fitness Logs are still subject to the same rules as the main forum.

This isn't the place for it to be discussed either.
    Didn't see this until after I posted...might as well chlorinate Liam's log as well and delete Barry and I from here as well.

Why don't you guys just delete our accounts entirely...would that get rid of all the posts we've ever made? Would that get rid of all the tripe entirely.

Final warning - back on topic please.

You needed to 'add' a finisher?

yeah, just to make the legs burn a little more
    Looks like a great session.

It was. Really good fun but SO different on tarmac
    What sort of work rest intervals are these? As in how long does the 'push' take and how long until your turn comes around again?

course was laid out as follows.
    2 people on cone A, 2 people 15m away on cone B and 2 people 15m further away on cone C.

1st person pushes from A to B
    change over
    2nd person pushes from B to C
    change over
    3rd person pushes from C to B
    change over
    4th person pushes from B to C
    etc etc

work times were probably in the 12-20 second range as people were getting more and more gassed.
    meaning rest times went from about 60 seconds possibly up to 90 seconds for the first 15 minute block.

We were doing really really long pushes the week before but we agreed to try the more anaerobic way this week.

Weight today after eating a nice few carbs yday and today - 103.8kg
    3 weeks left in the fatloss challenge.
    Ill be very strict for the next 7 days, carb load for a day and then awesomely strict for 8 days to finish it off

IP warm up x 2 rounds

Strength 2

Hang Clean and Press
    40kg - 2 x 5
    60kg - 5
    72kg - 3 of the fugliest reps ever
    70kg - 2 x 3 (rotten reps, all 6)
    60kg - 2 x 3 (these were outrageously easy)
    65kg - 3 (also very easy)

Glute ham raises - 5 x 10

Med Ball Wall throws from the hip
    3 x 10 per side

Pull ups
    Assisted by grey band - 3 x 5 (warm up)

Weighted pull ups
    +20kg - 2 (PB)
    10kg - 4,3,4,3

Elevated push ups
    fee on a bench - 10
    feet on a 15kg plate on a bench - 2 x 10
    feet on 2 x 15kg plates on a bench - 2 x 10

Bridging
    + 5kg - 2 x 60 seconds, 2 x 45 seconds

Overhead Plate Extensions
    10kg - 10
    15kg - 2 x 10
    20kg - 2 x 12

Technique work:
    Bench technique
    did about 8 speed bench triples for Will to look at my technique.

I think it;s fair to say my set up and arch are pretty good but my groove and line are way off.
    everytime I do a rep (in these triples at least) I start the next rep in a different position

Regular benching for me from now on, no more partials.

Dunno what was wrong with my hang cleans again this week.
    65kg was so easy.

everything else was good.
    delighted to get 2 reps with 20kg added.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

I think it;s fair to say my set up and arch are pretty good but my groove and arch are way off.

lolwut_RE_America_is_Retarded-s533x594-102700.jpg

Hanley wrote: »
    lolwut_RE_America_is_Retarded-s533x594-102700.jpg
    Dude I am just wondering what you are LOL'ing about? The fact that Liam can't keep a consistent bar path or you think that it's unimportant or irrelevant?

All I was saying to him is that he needs to develop a reliable bar path. He starts and ends his reps in different positions.

it's cause i said my arch was good then bad in the same sentence.
    A typo Ive since fixed.

it's cause i said my arch was good then bad in the same sentence.
    A typo Ive since fixed.
    Ohhhh...now I get it...he was laughing at you because you're an idiot....now I get understand.

He was just trying to get me into trouble. Make sure Gymfreak owns him extra hard on Monday please.

He was just trying to get me into trouble..

eh, how?
    and with who?
    Make sure Gymfreak owns him extra hard on Monday please.

NOT going to happen

eh, how?
    and with who?

With whoever would take offence at me laughing at you... ie Will! :D

NOT going to happen

Well she's talking a big game.

she's good at talking, and sledging me in general.

Im gonna let my testing do the talking..................

He was just trying to get me into trouble. Make sure Gymfreak owns him extra hard on Monday please.
    I train everyone the same...but sure...naturally I am sabotaging Liam.
    With whoever would take offence at me laughing at you... ie Will! :D
    I was sickened by what you said.
    She is getting better and better...it usually only takes a month or two here before people get better at running others down and bigging themselves up...we're all about that here at IP.

Also...I sent Liam some pics with the start and finish of each rep. Maybe he can stick a set up so you can see what I mean about his bench.

Pictures attached

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,863 ✭✭✭kevpants

Let me see if I can break this down and Will can pull my theories apart in his own time.

The Start:
    attachment.php?attachmentid=136032&d=1290511156

The Finish:
    attachment.php?attachmentid=136033&d=1290511170

Looks to me like you're pushing the bar down your body and finishing up directly over your sternum vs the starting position of over your neck. Might be because you're tucking your elbows and doing too much of a "powerlifter" bench. Usually brought on by a thirst for knowledge and reading too many articles aimed at shirted benchers. I was that soldier.