Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Push, Pull, Squat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,818 ✭✭✭Inspector Coptoor

Fortnightly weigh in and Fat check.
    Weight - 106.0kg (up 1.2kg)
    Fat in mms from 8 sites - 152mm (up 13mm in total and 7mm in one site.)

Trained in my Vibrams Today

IP warm up x 2 rounds

Strength 2

Hang Clean and Press
    40kg - 2 x 5
    60kg - 3
    70kg - 5 x 3

Glute ham raises - 5 x 9

Med Ball Wall throws from the hip
    3 x 10 per side

Pull ups
    Assisted by grey band - 3 x 5 (warm up)

Weighted pull ups
    +11kg - 4 (PB)
    +6kg - 4,3
    +4kg - 4,4

Elevated push ups
    3 x 11

Bridging
    3 x 45 seconds
    1 x 60 seconds

BB curls
    40kg - 3 x 8

DB curls - 3 x 10

DB BORLs - 3 x 12

Now for the comments and this could become an essay.

Ive gained 1.3kg of pure fat in the last 2 weeks.
    This is simply not good enough. I have to start kicking myself in the arse more and need others to help abuse me into helping me win the fight against my ned kelly.

The Hang Clean and Press was fecking Awesome.
    the first set was so fast from the hang to shoulders and really explosive in the press.
    I was able to complete the 5 triples without having to resort to doubles or singles.
    This is a great improvement.

Added 1 more rep to each set on the GHRs.
    5 x 10 shouldnt be too far away in the nest few weeks.

Wall balls were wall balls. I decided to do 10 left, 10 right as opposed to alternating left,right etc

Was delighted with the pull ups esp considering I was a bit heavier this time round.
    gonna go for 5 reps with 11kg next week.

I increased the height of the elevated push ups and just did 3 sets of 10.
    these were tought after the bit of benching earlier.

BB curls with an 800 euro Zhangong Olympic bar and bumper plates to the new Rihanna song were a real guilty pleasure.
    hit the guns a bit more at home and then continued to hammer the shoulders with the rear laterals.

Today was a real mixed bag in the end.
    Weight and fat up = :(
    Hang Power Clean and press technique improving, PB on weighted pull ups and getting better at GHRs = :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭Barry.Oglesby

Intolerable ******ry.

Push more Prowler.

Run more spiders.

You're demoted to "wiper"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭itsallaboutheL

All i've eaten since halloween is gummy bears and milk.

Intolerable ******ry.

Push more Prowler.

Run more spiders.

You're demoted to "wiper"

hmmmm.
    harsh but deserved.
    hopefully ill be back to being a teflon turd soon

Man, when are people going to learn that f@ggotry isn't a homophobic slur. They need to turn the PC filter off on this website.

Weight today - 104.9kg. down 1.1kg on yesterday
    Diet was perfect.
    13 more days of will power and pefect diet needed.

IP warm up
    2 rounds of 10

Conditioning Block - Grip Work
    Rounds of:
    Mini Grant Carry - (~50kg) for 1 min
    1 min off
    2 x 32kg KB carry for 1 min
    1 min off
    4 rounds.
    talk about a forearm pump

15 min work block
    TBDL @ 90kg - 8
    Dip Bar Inv Rows - 8
    Wall balls - 8
    12 rounds - big improvement

Conditioning Block
    Spider Runs

6 x 130m
    1 min off, 1 min on
    1st run - 45s
    2nd run - 44s
    3rd run - 43s
    4th run - 48s
    5th run - 45s
    6th run - 43s
    Tough block, real lungbuster

15 min Work Block*
    8kg Windmill - 5 per side
    DB Press - 17.5kg DBs - 10
    DB Row - 30kg DB - 5 per side
    12 rounds in 14mins 40 seconds
    Another improvement. Gonna up the weight on the windmills and DB Rows next time

Stretching
    Foam rolling

At home
    DB Curls
    10kg DBs - 3 x 10

DB BORLs
    10kg DBs - 3 x 10

Meal 1: Animal Cuts, Multi Vitamin, 4 fish oils 2 scoops whey with 5g L-leucine
    meal 2: 3 oat cakes with peanut butter, glass water
    meal 3: 3 chicken skewers, chicken and cashew nuts with 2 dessert spoons of jasmine rice, glass of water
    meal 4: Animal Cuts
    meal 5: 250mls KX sugar free, 1.5L water
    Meal 6: 2 scoops of whey and a can of coke zero
    meal 7: 1 scoop whey, 3 ZMA, 4 fish oils

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,045 ✭✭✭Will Heffernan

Weight today - 104.9kg. down 1.1kg on yesterday
    Diet was perfect.
    13 more days of will power and pefect diet needed.
    Every one needs more Will power.
    IP warm up
    2 rounds of 10

Conditioning Block - Grip Work
    Rounds of:
    Mini Grant Carry - (~50kg) for 1 min
    1 min off
    2 x 32kg KB carry for 1 min
    1 min off
    4 rounds.
    talk about a forearm pump.
    You guys did well...I didn't see either of you break you grip/drop the implements.
    15 min work block
    TBDL @ 90kg - 8
    Dip Bar Inv Rows - 8
    Wall balls - 8
    12 rounds - big improvement
    You play better with others...every one is like that. I wouldn't do a conditioning session on my own...most of the clients at IP have much better intrinsic motivation than me.
    Conditioning Block
    Spider Runs

6 x 130m
    1 min off, 1 min on
    1st run - 45s
    2nd run - 44s
    3rd run - 43s
    4th run - 48s
    5th run - 45s
    6th run - 43s
    Tough block, real lungbuster
    That always hurts...no one ever understands it till they do it :)
    15 min Work Block*
    8kg Windmill - 5 per side
    DB Press - 17.5kg DBs - 10
    DB Row - 30kg DB - 5 per side
    12 rounds in 14mins 40 seconds
    Another improvement. Gonna up the weight on the windmills and DB Rows next time
    Great session dude...you both really went at it.

I was very very sore today.
    My right knee especially.
    Rest Day was Badly needed

Good day foodwise

Food today was:
    Meal 1: Animal Cuts, Multi Vitamin, 4 fish oils 2 scoops whey with 5g L-leucine
    meal 2: 3 oat cakes with peanut butter, glass water
    meal 3: 1 bowl soup, smoked haddock with lemon juice and cabbage and a can of coke zero
    meal 4: Animal Cuts
    Meal 5: 5 homemade chicken satay skewers
    meal 6: 1 scoop whey, 3 ZMA, 4 fish oils

Tomorrow ill be going for 190 x 2 in the Deadlift and 110 x 5 in the Foam Roller Bench

HA!

IP Warm up x 2
    also added in some bird dogs for even more glute activation awesomeness

Strength 1

Deadlifts

60kg - 8
    100kg - 2 x 5
    140kg - 3
    155kg - 3
    170kg - 3 (belt on for this set)
    190kg - 3 (belt on for this set) PR

Step ups
    4 x 8 per leg with weighted X vest (~ + 20kg)

DB side bends
    3 x 10 per side with 35kg DB

Bench press
    20kg - 10
    40kg - 10
    60kg - 10
    80kg - 5

Foam roller partial bench press
    100 - 5
    105kg - 5
    110kg - 3 coz i ****ed up my set up
    100kg - 2 x 5

regular bench
    40kg - 3 x 10

Round backed Back Extensions
    6 x 10

Dip bar Inv Rows
    5 x 10

Plate curls and OH extensions
    15kg - 10 + 10
    20kg - 3 x 10 + 10

Comments:

2nd rep was a little fugly and was probably a little hitched. was very happy with the other 2 reps
    target was 2 reps and I got one more so happy out

Benching is staying the same - at least its not getting worse

195 x 3 next week is the target

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

Whats the story with you not hitching the absolute fcuk outta your deadlifts anymore!?! :p

Hanley wrote: »
    Whats the story with you not hitching the absolute fcuk outta your deadlifts anymore!?! :p

I wasnt aware of wtf a hitch was until ye told me last year so ive been trying to correct it.
    that and coaching, and abuse for being a serial hitcher

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,660 ✭✭✭G86

Someday my deadlifts will be pretty like yours....(aka non-hunchback!):p

Savage work Henners.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

G86 wrote: »
    Someday my deadlifts will be pretty like yours....(aka non-hunchback!):p

Savage work Henners.

Ah here don't be giving the guy a big head!

Your plate bicep curls were rubbish though. Nice work. Whats your previous 3rm?

What I would do to go to the next level now would be some mobility work, drink a tonne of fish oils and keep your diet clean. That and YOCAD but I think you might be getting enough C in that diet anyway. And remember, skill like Ronaldo's and Messi's is gained by doing more mobility work...

... sorry just read the regular forum for the first time since I retired and almost fell off my stool.

Testing could be interesting.

I got 180kg x 5 a year ago but they were probably awful awful hitched to bejaysis reps

2 weeks ago I hit 180 x 3.
    Last week I got 185 x 3
    last night i got 190 x 3 and thats the highest Ive ever done for a triple.

Ill be testing on Dec 11th at the Crossfit total comp.
    210kg might be my second lift...............

Im already having 14 fish oils a day and 3 glucosamine tablets.

Can always do more mobility work.

yeah, the main forum is gone a bit mad.
    I tend to hang out in the log section now!

itsallabouthenutbutter...

I got 180kg x 5 a year ago but they were probably awful awful hitched to bejaysis reps

2 weeks ago I hit 180 x 3.
    Last week I got 185 x 3
    last night i got 190 x 3 and thats the highest Ive ever done for a triple.

Ill be testing on Dec 11th at the Crossfit total comp.
    210kg might be my second lift...............

Im already having 14 fish oils a day and 3 glucosamine tablets.

Can always do more mobility work.

yeah, the main forum is gone a bit mad.
    I tend to hang out in the log section now!
    1. Barry was taking the p*ss...can't believe I have to explain that to you.
    2. Great work...keep doing what you're told and try not to think about ways to make things better...because you can't.

.keep doing what you're told and try not to think about ways to make things better

This will probably be the hardest part for me.
    I have an overly active and analytical mind
    because you can't.

hmmmmm.
    in time.

analyse how weak you got and act on will's advice.

simples.

I watch a lot of porn...I think about my technique and my performance all the time...that doesn't make me an expert...ask Moo.
    hmmmmm.
    in time.
    People who coach themselves are idiots...I know...I'm one of them.

I watch a lot of porn...I think about my technique and my performance all the time...that doesn't make me an expert...ask Moo.

you're on a roll lately.
    tears coming down after that
    People who coach themselves are idiots...I know...I'm one of them.

Whatever about me being an idiot before I joined IP, I was the mother of all idiots for the summer being in IP and not actually allowing myself to be coach.

I know better now.

Ill just need the odd gentle (or not so gentle) reminder.

No I was deadly serious. I can't believe people don't know when I'm being serious.

Eat more fish oils and do some mobility work, I do mine in the car when I'm driving I swing one leg at a time over the steering wheel it's great. I reckon since I've started doing mobility work I've become better at jiu jitsu because now when a 100kg guy is squashing me I can scratch my itchy nose with my toe. If you do a bit extra every day you'll be in the Champions League final next year no doubt. Then women will love you.

No actually they won't cos your shoes look silly.

I'm hanging out in the Logs now it's where all the cool kids are.

Barry is not being deadly serious.

But I am when I tell you that only a small portion of folks are sensitive to dietary cholesterol per se and, in energy balance or hypocaloric, with lots of activity, I don't even think saturated fat is that big of a deal. Also that with regards to exercise (cardio & weight training) and cholesterol generally is that:
    a. generally there is little to no impact on bad cholesterol
    b. it tends to improve good cholesterol.

People are going to have to search the fitness logs for the gems of information :)

Sunday Conditioning Session in Booterstown Park on tarmac surface

Prowler Push
    Prowler + 36kg - 100m total
    1:05

Prowler Drag
    Prowler + 36kg - 100m total
    2:12

Prowler Push
    Prowler + ~75kg - 40m total

Prowler Push + 36kg - 40m total
    7 pushes

Rounds of:
    Prowler push + 36kg - 30m
    DB Press with 10kg DBs - 10
    5 rounds in 3:40

Nice little session

Weighed in today on the scales at home at 102kg or 16 stone even.
    Awesome

Food intake today

Meal 1 @ 8am: 2 scoops whey and 3 oatcakes with peanut butter
    Meal 2 @ 10.45am: 2 scoops EXplode II & 3 oatcakes with peanut butter
    Meal 3 @ 14:00 : 1 chicken breast and 1 scoop whey
    Meal 4 @ 21:00: 2 chicken breats with Peanut Butter and 2 scoops whey
    Meal 5 @ 24:00: 1 scoop whey, 4 ZMA, 4 Fish oils, 2 Glucosamine tabs

very happy with my discipline today.
    nest single day ever probably

Fats today :)

yes please!

I had a reall good week diet last week after my little fat explosion the week before so got my fats checked again tonight
    Weight - 104.1kg (down 1.9kg I thought it was more but my home scales must be wrong)
    Fat in mms from 8 sites - 133mm (down 19mm and this is my lowest score ever putting my bodyfat between 17.5 and 20.5% )

This means since I started Operation get JAKT, Ive lost 21mm of fat giving me a (here's the maths bit, carry the 2,) 13.7% decrease in mms.

IP warm up x 2 rounds

Strength 2

Hang Clean and Press
    40kg - 2 x 5
    60kg - 5
    70kg - 4 x 3 (these were ok, some of them at least)
    73kg - 3 (very sloppy horrible reps)

Glute ham raises - 5 x 10 (Max Effort GHRs! this is a PR for me)

Med Ball Wall throws from the hip
    3 x 10 per side

Pull ups
    Assisted by grey band - 3 x 5 (warm up)

Weighted pull ups
    +15kg - 3 (PB)
    10kg - 4 x 3

Elevated push ups
    5 x 10

Bridging
    3 x 60 seconds (1st time I've ever managed to get 3 x 1 min bridges so PR here too)

DB curls
    10kg DBs - 5 x 15

DB BORLs - 3 x 12

losing 19mm and 1.9kg of weight in the week was good
    needed that kick in the arse last week really.
    100mm and 100kg b Dec 11th is the target

Everything tonight was awesome except the hang clean and press.
    Just wasnt feeling it from the get go
    Really need to work on my technique but thats a question of finding time and one goal at a time for now

Finished my 3 week supply of animal cuts.
    Week off any sort of thermogenic now and i'll decide at the weekend what I'll try next

Food intake today

Meal 1 @ 6.30am: 2 scoops whey and 3 oatcakes with peanut butter, 4 fish oils and 2 glucosamine tabs
    Meal 2 @ 10.30am: 4 oatcakes with peanut butter & bottle of water
    Meal 3 @ 12.30 : Half an aubergine with ratatouille and come carrots
    Meal 4 @ 17:30: 2 scoops whey
    Meal 5 @ 18:15: 1 x chicken breast, 1 x chicken drumstick (Both roasted) and 200g carrots
    Meal 6 @ 20:00: 2 scoops Xplode II
    Meal 7 @ 23:@00: 1 x chicken breast, 1 x chicken drumstick (Both roasted) and 250g carrots, brocooli and cauliflower with 2 scoops whey
    Meal 8 @ 12:30 will be: 1 scoop whey, 4 fish oils, 4 ZMA and 2 glucosamine tabs