Greens are gone - Election imminent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,746 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

They're going to support the budget but they want an election in the second half of January, or else they'll withdraw their support.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

The should never have been there in the first place, too little to late IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,624 ✭✭✭The Sparrow

General Election campaign starts todaty so.

Bye, bye FF. Thank fook for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,073 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Here's to the FG/Labour coalition.
    It's not perfect, but it's less corrupt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

The IMF will have their hands up someone else's arse. Same story, different mouthpiece.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,391 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

Terry wrote: »
    Here's to the FG/Labour coalition.
    It's not perfect, but it's less corrupt.

That would make a great campaign poster :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,702 ✭✭✭squod

Since entering government in June 2007, we in the Green Party have worked to fix and reform the economy. It has been difficult. We have taken tough decisions and put the national interest first

You bailed Anglo in a recession and ruined this country you bad, evil fuhks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

Sure all the damage is done - bit fooking late!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,780 ✭✭✭✭ninebeanrows

General Election campaign starts todaty so.

Bye, bye FF. Thank fook for that.

Brian Lenihan says he had constructive talks with Greens and they are not walking out of government.

Hhahahah, lies while the press conference was on!

Brian Lenihan says he had constructive talks with Greens and they are not walking out of government.

Hhahahah, lies while the press conference was on!

Yeah apparently Gormley told Cowen about their decision today and he didn't bother telling his Minister for Finance thus making Lenihan look like a complete tit. Again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭sensibleken

Unfortunetely because of FF and the greens it doesnt matter a flying fcuk whos in power now as were under the yol of the imf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭jimthemental

Here we go now, I just wonder which other bunch of idiots end up replacing FF.

IMO Cowen is the worst leader the country has ever had and this whole situation is going to be more far reaching and devastating than the civil war.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,746 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

Well this is the end of the Greens in Ireland and the end of Cowen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,115 ✭✭✭Pal

Well this is the end of the Greens in Ireland and the end of Cowen.

and the elephant in the room ?

FF ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,073 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Goodbye FF.
    Don't let the protestors kick you up the arse on your way out.

Terry wrote: »
    Goodbye FF.
    Don't let the protestors kick you up the arse on your way out.

It's hard to kick someone up the arse when their Govt car is running you over!

I've just had a thought.

Enda Kenny may be Taoiseach soon.

That is some scary shít.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 534 ✭✭✭Donal Og O Baelach

Going forward we'll be kicking the can down the road and trying not to hit the elephant in the room, we are where we are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,702 ✭✭✭squod

When are they getting locked up is what I want to know!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,708 ✭✭✭curlzy

John Gormley just called for a General Election to be called in January. NICE :D

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/breaking/2010/1122/breaking19.html

EDIT: Yes I know I spelled January incorrectly, but I like it, so I'm leaving it that way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,780 ✭✭✭✭ninebeanrows

I've just had a thought.

Enda Kenny may be Taoiseach soon.

That is some scary shít.

You can change that, we all agree Gilmore would be a better leader.

Best case scenario

Eamon Gilmore - Taoiseach
    Enda Kenny - Tanaiste
    Richard Bruton - Finance
    James O'Reilly - Health

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,477 ✭✭✭newbie2

And he'll be listened to - as he has been all through this crisis......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Way to step up to the plate Gormley.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭ctrl-alt-delete

Here we go now, I just wonder which other bunch of idiots end up replacing FF.

IMO Cowen is the worst leader the country has ever had and this whole situation is going to be more far reaching and devastating than the civil war.

Fair play to him in that he can be proud he has won this title by a long long shot - and I'm including British leaders in this competition.

Looking at him during that press conference yesterday was hugely embarrassing, he just does not fit the part at all. Reading from a page and continually looking down and reading as he addressed the nation at a crucial time in the history and the future of the state.

I have to say I am a big fan of Lenihan, I know he has been a key member of the party that caused all this, but he has continually outshone Cowen for the past 2 or 3 years. He is the only one in that doomed party that has shown leadership qualities. He can articulate himself well and next to Cowen yesterday he made a complete show of him. I don't think he wanted Cowen to take any of those questions after they both spoke. This has also happened for him during a bad illness and he should get a little bit of credit.

Anyways Fianna Fail and the Greens are dead.

But we have not much left to choose from come January.

You can change that, we all agree Gilmore would be a better leader.

Best case scenario

Eamon Gilmore - Taoiseach
    Enda Kenny - Tanaiste
    Richard Bruton - Finance
    James O'Reilly - Health

That looks a bit better alright. I always find James O'Reilly talks a lot of sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,828 ✭✭✭KerranJast

newbie2 wrote: »
    And he'll be listened to - as he has been all through this crisis......
    The GP have 6 TDs. More than enough to bring down the Govt by walking out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

The guy is an idiot.

They will be obliterated forever from Irish politics.

Good riddance Mr.Gormless to you & all your FF brown nosing cronies.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

Finally The Green Party might do something of benefit to the Irish people.
    Hopefully they will disappear along with Fianna Fail and the PD's. First they lied their way into government by promising to never enter government with Fianna Fail and then they passed the most retarded laws ever, they deserve to not exist any more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

"Free at last! Free at last! Thank God Almighty, we are free at last!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 534 ✭✭✭Donal Og O Baelach

Let it be recorded in the history books - The Green Party brought down the FF govt that brought Ireland to the brink of ruin.