Community service for killing woman + baby

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,305 ✭✭✭DOC09UNAM

That baby is still dead, whether those parents did it purposely or not. :mad:

That's fair enough, but he didn't kill either of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,129 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Pherekydes wrote: »
    It definitely wasn't wreckless.

"These type of lads" never get any messages. There's no point in sending him to jail to teach others a lesson they will never, ever learn.

So speeding on bald tyres isn't wreckless? and the reason the tyres were bald was because he was doing donuts the week before?

The guy's a scumbag and should go to jail for the manner in which he was driving.

Maybe sending him to jail wont teach others a leason but it will certainly teach him one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Chorcai

There isn't any deterrent for "dumbfúck activities". Do you think boy and girl racers spend their spare time perusing the court reports? Without a licence he is no threat to public safety. He might actually do some good in the community with CS.

And having/ not having a licence makes any differance, he can still drive but not legally on the roads. The point is, the courts don't hand down harsh enough sentences. Sure look at the other thread on the teacher, both of the guys had over 80 convictions between them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Oranage2 wrote: »
    So speeding on bald tyres isn't wreckless?

Nope, definitely not. If you speed on bald tyres you are nearly guaranteed a wreck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 fieldstk

SugarHigh wrote: »
    In what way is it in the public interest to send him to jail?

Is he likely to do this again?
    most likely there will not be a repeat and he has to live with it so he is ****ed(in his head). the issue is that society needs to see justice been done. maybe the answer is a public video of his life in 1 yr, 3 yrs etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,461 ✭✭✭Snakeblood

Oranage2 wrote: »
    So speeding on bald tyres isn't wreckless? and the reason the tyres were bald was because he was doing donuts the week before?

The guy's a scumbag and should go to jail for the manner in which he was driving.

Maybe sending him to jail wont teach others a leason but it will certainly teach him one.

Reckless vs. Wreckless.

His child is dead. There is no longer or harsher sentence than that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,227 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Overheal wrote: »
    You all know how much I love Irish judges for some of the comical sentences they employ but theres nothing to be gained by locking this kid up. He is banned from driving and he has the death of his girlfriend and what is likely his own child on his hands. I don't think theres much more he can learn from that experience while inside of a cell. The only benefit to locking him up would be to protect him if he were suicidal; and you're thinking of the wrong kind of cell for that.

When theres another article a few months down the line about this guy being fined for driving while banned will you still think the same, or will this be a case of "ffs, stupid lenient judges should have lock him up the first time they had a chance"
    Without a licence he is no threat to public safety. He might actually do some good in the community with CS.

Yea, sure theres not even any offence related to driving without a licence becuase it has never come up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,012 ✭✭✭kincsem

Just a guess, but I think he will be driving again soon, probably before the end of the year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,265 ✭✭✭SugarHigh

His child is dead. There is no longer or harsher sentence than that.

What about if they amputated his arms and replaced them with
    cacti so he could never hug those he loves again.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,638 ✭✭✭Reg'stoy

I am constantly amazed when people spout the usual rhetoric about him/her been punished enough by living with the memory blah....blah.

We in society need to feel that we are adequately protected by the prospect that when you break a law, proper and correct punishment will result. I don't advocate a biblical 'eye for an eye' but at least let the punishment fit the crime. While I feel that yes, he may feel bad (currently) at what he has done; but I can't help but thinking that time 'heals'.

I as a member of society what to feel, well to be brutally honest demand that if someone I love is wiped out by a speeding/reckless/drunken driver that he/she will not walk free (community service does not restrict their movement) to go drinking, go see a movie ie. continue to be a normal member of society.

So to be brutally honest, I couldn't care if he cries himself to sleep everynight (that's the least we should expect) I want him to suffer some real palpable punishment (loss of liberity).

But I live in the real Ireland of a stern telling off and so unfortunatly 240 hours of service it is, but can I ask that he spend every last moment of that time with the fire brigade and ambulance service where he is made to scrub clean the road of every crash scene they attend. Infact why not that be standard for all such cases where a lenient sentence is handed down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,816 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

I don't think there are any anti rejection treatments good enough to make the transplant work..:rolleyes::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,090 ✭✭✭questionmark?

Lmao if you actually think any of that is true.

Then you better keep laughing then wouldnt you. The sentances handed down in this country are a joke. Jail is supposed to be a deterrent to commiting a crime to protect right thinking members of society.

At the end of the day i think we could safely say quite a large number of crimes are commited by those who have commited a crime in the past. People think they are untouchable and even if they do get caught suspended sentences, community service,bound to the piece and a slap on the wrist are not appriopate. I wouldnt doubt for a second that when this guy starts driving again within a few months of doing so he will be back among his peers messing around in cars as he has done in the past. I wont change my mind this guy should have went to jail and when he gets out should be banned from driving for life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭Jumpy

He could in theory still hug them. If he was a bit of a prick.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,038 ✭✭✭jackiebaron

Agreed. There are no winners in this case. Senseless tragedy, but locking him up for several years will accomplish nothing and those who clamour for a custodial sentence can't explain why.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

I think any jail time would pale in comparison to the punishment he has given himself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,038 ✭✭✭jackiebaron

IMO he hasn't being punished. He killed two people he should be in Jail. And he shouldn't be in Jail for 18months it should be much more.
    Surely he should also be banned from driving for life also.

In a few years he may think that he can do anything and get away with it, as will many other people in the same boat. Ah sure i can break the law and i'll get away with it sure if i kill two people i'll only have to paint a few walls once i have some "remorse" and say i'm sorry.

What if he was older, say 35? And what if this wasn't his girlfiend but his wife and kid? Not only that but what if he had 3 more young kids at home. Do you really think that, to add to his misery, a long custodial sentence should be handed down thereby further depriving his surviving children of a father after they have just lost a mother and sibling. Go the full hog and split up the kids and bang them into foster homes.
    Do you really think that that would be in society's best interests or do just want this guy to suffer more out of your own sadistic desire?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,090 ✭✭✭questionmark?

What if he was older, say 35? And what if this wasn't his girlfiend but his wife and kid? Not only that but what if he had 3 more young kids at home. Do you really think that, to add to his misery, a long custodial sentence should be handed down thereby further depriving his surviving children of a father after they have just lost a mother and sibling. Go the full hog and split up the kids and bang them into foster homes.

So you changed the scenerio, so let me change the scenerio again also, lets say a 35 year old murders his wife by stabbing her to death in a fit of rage that the husband has never experienced before, lets say one of the favourite sayings in court, it was out of character for him. By what you have said above he should not go to jail either as he has then showed remorse in court and losing his wife is punishment enough?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 122 ✭✭demag

There's people on here who think someone working and getting the dole deserve jail time but this kunt has suffered enough and shouldn't do time. Are ye for fukin real?
    What about the fireman who had to pull a dead baby from under a car seat? It's body probably mangled, he's a victim of this kunt too.
    Do you really think a ban is going to stop someone like this driving. He knew exactly what the consequences of his actions could be but didn't give a damn about anyone.
    I have a son who I love more than life itself and if I did this to him there would be no court case cos I would kill myself, but I still have to live with kunts like this on the roads who don't give a sh1t about anyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,967 ✭✭✭Pyr0

Dudess wrote: »
    From one perspective: most 18-year-olds who do crazy sh1t with cars like that don't wind up in the same situation as him. A lot of people are stupid and impulsive at 18 and think they're invincible - I know that applied to me. He shouldn't have done it - no excuse for dangerous driving - but how can he be punished any more? His life is finished. No need to worry about whether he's paying sufficiently or whether he feels remorseful enough.

From another perpective though: what a bizarrely light sentence...

They should still lock him up, make his life that bit harder/miserable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

Agreed. There are no winners in this case. Senseless tragedy, but locking him up for several years will accomplish nothing and those who clamour for a custodial sentence can't explain why.

A prison sentence is not only a proper punishment for such a serious crime, but may also act as a deterrent which is certainly in the public interest.

Seriously, what will things be like if people believe they can 'get away lightly' with even the most serious of crimes?

What about a paedophile who rapes a baby and feels genuine remorse afterwards, get years of therapy and truly does change his feelings towards kids? Should he just get a few hours of community service because he's sorry and is at a low risk of reoffending?

The sad thing is that most people would advocate harsher punishment for a child molester than for someone who is responsible for the deaths of two people...including a baby.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,683 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

If I killed one of your loved ones, but felt really really bad about it afterwards, would it be ok with you if I didn't get a prison sentence? Remorse is not a substitute for punishment. Every criminal can feel bad about their crimes, but it doesn't excuse them.

I believe wholeheartedly in leaning towards rehabilitation for minor crimes. But when 2 lives are lost because of a negligent disregard for basic safety, then I lean towards punishment instead.
    If you killed my sister in a car crash and that was my niece or nephew in that car along with you; you killed them both because you didn't keep your car in order and you may have been driving above the posted speed limit..

I'd probably never forgive that person. I'd probably want to wish great suffering upon them. But he just killed his girlfriend and presumably his own child and while I may in that scenario have lost my sister how could I begin to compare losing someone out of your control, and being the direct cause of killing 2 people, one of whom was your own blood?

The young lad is entirely capable of punishing himself. And while I'd grieve and mourn the loss of my sister and her child it's not something that would hang over my head. No more than the loss of my stepmother hangs over my head today, albeit a tragic loss it was something out of my control to change and I don't lose sleep about it. I can't say the same of this young fella.
    Do you really think a ban is going to stop someone like this driving.
    Having sped before (quite a bit. My jeep was governor-capped at 110mph but I would have surely tried to go faster) and gotten a fine, a scaring, and done my course, you'd be amazed that I don't speed anymore. And then even try to compare that to speeding that resulted in the deaths of two people. No, I really don't expect to see this kid behind a wheel again. Even after his ban expires. But fair enough, if he is caught you can surely expect he will be incarcerated.