We Deserve Everything Coming to Us

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

"This country is in the sh*t"

Blah blah blah. Yeah we are all aware of this. But honestly OP, just because you go to a different country do you honestly think everything will just automatically be better? That you'll walk into a well paid job?

Reality check OP. I'm aware that things aren't good in this country but despite that my whole life is here. My job is here. My friends are here and despite all the sh*t that's going down, I like it here.

I'm sick of reading threads/listening to people saying that they're gonna get out because the country is fcuked.

You know what, seriously... Just fcuk off. Stop posting and stop talking and just leave. Nobody cares you're leaving, we know the facts about the country.

Stop posting and actually do something about it FFS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭bryaner

The OP is right. I'm going to shoot myself in the head now.

Can I stand beside you, save a bullet! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

dambarude wrote: »
    Define 'we'.

Most of the population under 25 had little or nothing to do with voting in Fianna Fáil, committing their lives to massive mortgages, and living it up to any great extent.

I'll be leaving college at probably one of the worst times possible, the worst in quite a while, and tbh I don't think that that's my fault.

Saying that I do realise that massive cuts and changes will be made, but I'm not prepared to say I 'deserve' it.

Whilst I understand that the under 25's were mostly not in a position to have a say at the ballot boxes to any great extent, you should also note that the majority of people in the country didn't actually vote for Fianna Fail & they only managed to form the last three governments by forming coalitions with other parties.

In fact, less than half the people in the country voted for them.

Also, even when times were good, not everybody benefited & not everyone was living it up. It is true that many people got caught in the property trap & whilst there always has to be a certain amount of personal responsibility attached to this, most of these people did not do so out of any form of greed, but simply to buy houses in which to lay down roots & raise families.

The systems which should have protected them - ie., the banks, politicians & financial regulator, seriously let these people down & out of all these people the only ones who will actually pay any real price are the ones who bought the houses. This to me seems highly unfair. Yes - there is personal responsibility, but the other players in the property game also have responsibilities which they are allowed to walk away from, scott free.

You are leaving college now & facing into an uncertain future, but you are actually one of the lucky ones as you have options.... there are literally thousands of people who are now out of work, in debt & may never work again, or at least not for a long time.

You're young enough to take a year or two to work abroad & to be honest - having done it myself for a few years - it's probably the best thing any young person can do, in terms of discovering new things & fending for yourself, away from the safety of home & family.

No - you don't "deserve" it, as you say, but equally, you are also not entitled to walk out of college & straight into a job. The last 10 years or so were probably the only time in Irish history when that kind of thing happened. Everyone else before that actually had to work hard to find a job & get experience and a lot of them are the ones who are still working now as they always had a work ethic, as opposed to younger people who got handed jobs on a plate & who are now bitching & whining about having the plate removed from the table, instead of putting the heads down & finding or working their way through what is, essentially, just an economic slump and not the end of the entire world.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

Doom wrote: »
    I was working with a young apprentice back during the last election, I asked him who he would vote for, he said ff, I asked why?
    He said because his family always did.. WTF..I nearly hit him, I ****ed him out of it, and told him to cop on.

That is what's wrong with this country, people like him who are dumb enough to do this cause the family said so.
    In a way I'm gald he is getting a hard lesson in life for wasting his vote.

Same thing happened in 2007 to me as well, this lad just gone 18 said he will vote FF ,i asked why ? "sure im not voting for losers" was his response. Same guy have nothing now, his parents business are closed too.. Iv always had an interest in history so theres no way i ever voted for them muppets, or the greens or PDs, just the same old crap with them, now were done for again..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭bryaner

easyeason3 wrote: »
    So is it a clap on the back you want OP? Plenty of people did those things too. Plenty of people scratched their holes. And plenty of people spent money they didn't have.
    So mistakes were made. What do you think you are going to achieve here exactly?
    What happened in the past has happened but seriously, get the fcuk over it & move on as best you can. Otherwise you might just go a bit do lally.

EDIT: ''What happened in the past has happened'' sounds like a line from George Bush. I apologise, I'm having a very blonde day today.

War is a dangerous place! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭yoshytoshy

A lot of people work best under pressure ,it's the backseaters that will suffer the most.

Thats the best I can come up with :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

Posting ignorance and stupidity since 2001!

Hmmm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,503 ✭✭✭dambarude

Whilst I understand that the under 25's were mostly not in a position to have a say at the ballot boxes to any great extent, you should also note that the majority of people in the country didn't actually vote for Fianna Fail & they only managed to form the last three governments by forming coalitions with other parties. etc.

I agree with everything you say starbelgrade.

I most certainly do not feel that I should walk into a job, and I know more than anyone that I won't walk into a job. The last 10 years were totally unrealistic. But that doesn't mean that the next 10 years will just be a return to normality, it'll be much farther south of what would be considered 'normal' in any other sustainably developed country. I'm not angry that the bubble and all that came with isn't continuing, I'm angry that the aftermath that comes with the popping of the bubble leaves the country in a much worse position than if we had never the bubble in the first place.

And I'm also very aware of the fact that more people didn't vote for FF and everything they stood for than who actually did vote for them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,916 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Two thirds of people didn't vote for the current government. The IMF coming in will sort out the public service and vested interests.

One third did that's the problem

The whole celtic tiger now seems like such a con.

It was either completely mismanaged, was built on borrowed money or never really existed as it was portrayed.

Either way the people who made little or nothing from it will have to carry the can for the failings and mistakes of the so called elite who have ridden us all in the sphinc.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 245 ✭✭montane

orourkeda wrote: »
    One third did that's the problem

FF have infested every level of society. From FF stuffing the judicial system with their own appointeses, right down through a huge majority of people in civil service, etc who can attribute their livelihood not to merit, but to having support for FF. It's little wonder FF still have a core support of 20% despite wrecking the country.

FF are too deeply imbedded into the DNA of the most inbred and gobsh*te element of our population. As for the obsequiousness of the rest of their supporters, maybe its some form Stockholm syndrome.

montane wrote: »
    FF have infested every level of society. From FF stuffing the judicial system with their own appointeses, right down through a huge majority of people in civil service, etc who can attribute their livelihood not to merit, but to having support for FF. It's little wonder FF still have a core support of 20% despite wrecking the country. FF are too deeply imbedded into the DNA of the most inbred and gobsh*te element of our population. As for the rest of their support, maybe its obsequiousness resulting from Stockholm syndrome.

Hence we may have to suffer them for more time to come. Maybe not at the next election but at some stage in the future.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,433 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Augmerson wrote: »
    I'll send you a postcard. Runied state on the edge of Europe is still the address right?

No, that's Portugal. You're way off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,357 ✭✭✭punchdrunk

My vote goes to turning the whole fecking joint into a tax free zone,like a giant Bermuda :D

It was either completely mismanaged, was built on borrowed money or never really existed as it was portrayed.

Either way the people who made little or nothing from it will have to carry the can for the failings and mistakes of the so called elite who have ridden us all in the sphinc.

the celtic tiger was a sandcastle built on a big greedy block of ice-cream in the middle of july

punchdrunk wrote: »
    My vote goes to turning the whole fecking joint into a tax free zone,like a giant Bermuda :D

Bermuda Triangle more like

• Closed Accounts Posts: 613 ✭✭✭Misanthrope

I'm actually Protestant. But this talk of self-flagellation...it's kinky. Continue *rubs self in oil*

A real Protestant or CoI?;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭yoshytoshy

From a tiger to a pussy ,fu*k that.

Bermuda Triangle more like

I believe that when we go looking for them alot of Irish financial records & files will have been "lost"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 245 ✭✭montane

punchdrunk wrote: »
    I believe that when we go looking for them alot of Irish financial records & files will have been "lost"

Amazing the amount of floods and fires that occured in various banks and institutions when various tribunals looked for documents of vital importance.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

A real Protestant or CoI?;)

Oh lol ;)

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 28,275 Mod ✭✭✭✭Posy

I have never voted for Fianna Fail. I voted 'no' to Nice. I never bought a house, a car or had any flash holidays during the boom. I never availed of 'free education', was never on the dole or ever received any state benefits. Since I was 18, I've paid income tax and never even had a bank loan. I don't feel like I deserve any blame for this mess. :(

I was poor during the celtic tiger and I'm still poor. The only difference is at least now I'll be getting free cheese. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

Are you happy now that an EMF representative is in government buildings tonight ? :pac:

I know it's unbelievable

Posy wrote: »
    I have never voted for Fianna Fail. I voted 'no' to Nice. I never bought a house, a car or had any flash holidays during the boom. I never availed of 'free education', was never on the dole or ever received any state benefits. Since I was 18, I've paid income tax and never even had a bank loan. I don't feel like I deserve any blame for this mess. :(

I was poor during the celtic tiger and I'm still poor. The only difference is at least now I'll be getting free cheese. :)

No, for one thing can be sure, nobody can blame people like you. I guess for the next few months, jesus probably even years, the blame game is going to be popular, but that's a sideshow.

Maybe what we need is some sort of Nuremberg Trial. Round up the culprits. But no death sentences. Dying's too good for the people behind this mess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,333 ✭✭✭jonnyfingers

I've been watching a lot of Bear Grylls lately. I reckon we could all just move to a nice, sunny, deserted Island and live off the land. We could blow up the country and fake our own deaths. No more debts to pay. I saw it in a movie once so it has to work. Anyone coming with me?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

I've been watching a lot of Bear Grylls lately. I reckon we could all just move to a nice, sunny, deserted Island and live off the land. We could blow up the country and fake our own deaths. No more debts to pay. I saw it in a movie once so it has to work. Anyone coming with me?

Im Lost :confused:

Doesn't Bear Grylls spend an abnormal amount of time either pissing on himself or drinking his own piss OR the piss of other animals? That's no lifestyle to emulate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,190 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Reminds me a bit like the Kennedy administration under the unofficial title of ' Camelot ' in which the illusion of everything being just right in the white house . An illusion that quickly went belly up in a puff of smoke in Dallas , the day America ' lost it's Innocence '.

Don't let it be forgot,
    that once there was a spot
    for one brief shining moment ,
    known as Camelot The Celtic tiger

Now unfortunately, it's Irelands time to loose out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,152 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

Funny to see people denying their links with their FF past. Majority of people I know were FF supporters, of course they dont speak of that now.

The FF 2007 election slogan was "But are you happy?". Are you happy now that an EMF representative is in government buildings tonight ? :pac:

Was that really their slogan ? [ Genuine question, because I'd have answered "no" since Ireland was losing everything that made it worthwhile and turning into a sickeningly profit-and-career-focussed society, with no sense of family or community ]

Maybe I didn't notice because their logo was small; and that would explain why loads of their "supporters" didn't even know they were supporting FF.

I mean, why else would that "party" have thought it to their advantage to make the logos smaller ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,152 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

Doesn't Bear Grylls spend an abnormal amount of time either pissing on himself or drinking his own piss OR the piss of other animals? That's no lifestyle to emulate.

At least he's drinking his own, and not being forced to swallow others' ****.

So it's an improvement on Ireland.