Community service for killing woman + baby

• 09-11-2010 06:40PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭

Knowingly drives a car with faulty tyres at high speed. And there's a baby in the car who is not in an appropriate car seat.

2 people dead and he walks away with a few hours of paint walls, cleaning grafitti etc. Sickening.

http://www.rte.ie/news/2010/1109/hanlonc.html

A man who caused the death of his girlfriend and baby girl in a car crash has been sentenced to two years in jail substituted by 240 hours of community service

A man who pleaded guilty to dangerous driving causing the deaths of his girlfriend and their baby girl has been sentenced to two years in jail substituted by 240 hours of community service.
    Kerry Ann Meehan, 16, and her six-month-old baby girl Niesha died in the crash at Tullygay, about 3km from Letterkenny, on 16 June 2008.
    They were travelling in a Toyota Corolla hatchback being driven by Christopher Hanlon, who was 18 at the time.
    Letterkenny Circuit Court was told his car spun out of control and hit an Isuzu jeep, which was towing a trailer full of sheep.
    Members of the emergency services found the baby under the front passenger seat after the impact. She was taken to hospital where she was pronounced dead.
    The teenager was pronounced dead at the scene, while Hanlon was taken to hospital with severe injuries but recovered.
    Witnesses described the car travelling at high speed and going out of control and two said they were just narrowly missed by it.
    The court was told that the right rear tyre had blown out prior to the impact.
    An analysis of the rear tyres showed they were defective and that this was caused by excessive use of the handbrake.
    A friend of Hanlon said they had been doing handbrake turns the previous weekend following the Donegal Rally.
    In a statement to gardaí, Hanlon said he knew the tyre was not safe, but he took a chance. He had bought the car about a month prior to the crash.
    Kerry Ann's mother told the court that the family believed Hanlon should receive a custodial sentence because he had been reckless and irresponsible by driving with a bald tyre.
    Hanlon described waking up from a coma and being told what happened and he said it was unbearable. He said he wished he could turn back the clock and it was him instead of them.
    Judge John O'Hagan said Hanlon had already served part of his punishment and would be serving it for the rest of his life. He banned Mr Hanlon from driving for eight years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,030 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

So, to sum it up.

We have a character who partakes in statutory rape, has a inability to use a condom, does doughnuts in a car just bought and gets his girlfriend and baby killed through sheer stupidity and ignorance.

Yeah, never saw that coming.....

I'm sure he will live a long and interesting life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,878 ✭✭✭arse..biscuits

He banned Mr Hanlon from driving for eight years

I bet that's the bit he is most upset about

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,479 ✭✭✭sonic85

cant expect anything else really. every second road i drive on has black circles on it from morons who think theyre michael schmacher. as long as theres t w a t s driving cars who feel its ok to act the bollix then there will be accidents like this simple as that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,632 ✭✭✭Feeona

Members of the emergency services found the baby under the front passenger seat after the impact.

I complain about my job sometimes, but I've never had to take a dead baby from under a car seat :(

As always, the emergency services are there to clear up after (in this case) someone else's stupidity

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 266 ✭✭snooleen

If the baby didn't have a proper car seat, the girlfriend obviously didn't care either :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

From one perspective: most 18-year-olds who do crazy sh1t with cars like that don't wind up in the same situation as him. A lot of people are stupid and impulsive at 18 and think they're invincible - I know that applied to me. He shouldn't have done it - no excuse for dangerous driving - but how can he be punished any more? His life is finished. No need to worry about whether he's paying sufficiently or whether he feels remorseful enough.

From another perpective though: what a bizarrely light sentence...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,265 ✭✭✭SugarHigh

In what way is it in the public interest to send him to jail?

Is he likely to do this again?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 544 ✭✭✭Pookah

Dudess wrote: »
    From one perspective: most 18-year-olds who do crazy sh1t with cars like that don't wind up in the same situation as him. A lot of people are stupid and impulsive at 18 and think they're invincible - I know that applied to me. He shouldn't have done it - no excuse for dangerous driving - but how can he be punished any more? His life is finished. No need to worry about whether he's paying sufficiently or whether he feels remorseful enough.

From another perpective though: what a bizarrely light sentence...

Not sitting on the fence on this one, then?

Why are the gardai in Donegal so incompetent when dealing with little boy racers, it seems to be a much more serious problem up there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 544 ✭✭✭Pookah

SugarHigh wrote: »
    Why are the gardai in Donegal so incompetent when dealing with little bit racers, it seems to be a much worse problem up there.

They're too busy framing innocent people for things they didn't do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,090 ✭✭✭questionmark?

In what way is it in the public interest to send him to jail?

Are you serious??? This guy is responsible for the deaths of two people one of which was a baby. Going by that comment then surely there is no need to jail anyone that commits murder/manslaughter.
    I'll remind you of some of the article.

Knowingly drives a car with faulty tyres at high speed.

Knowingly drives a car with faulty tyres at high speed. And there's a baby in the car who is not in an appropriate car seat.

2 people dead

Members of the emergency services found the baby under the front passenger seat after the impact.

Witnesses described the car travelling at high speed and going out of control and two said they were just narrowly missed by it.
    The court was told that the right rear tyre had blown out prior to the impact.
    An analysis of the rear tyres showed they were defective and that this was caused by excessive use of the handbrake.

In a statement to gardaí, Hanlon said he knew the tyre was not safe, but he took a chance.
    Is he likely to do this again?

Yes, yes he is likely to re-offend. He has committed an very very serious offence and is walking away basically scot-free. More than likely that he will think he can do anything and get away with it. Do you really think this will teach him a lesson and pay his dues to society? >
    A man who caused the death of his girlfriend and baby girl in a car crash has been sentenced to two years in jail substituted by 240 hours of community service

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 832 ✭✭✭who what when

I bet that's the bit he is most upset about

In fairness thats probably not true!

Pookah wrote: »
    Not sitting on the fence on this one, then?
    My arse has a permanent fence-mark on it. :pac:
    Yes, yes he is likely to re-offend.
    What about his (deserved) remorse?
    Do you really think this will teach him a lesson and pay his dues to society?
    On the basis of his remorse, absolutely.

Are you serious??? This guy is responsible for the deaths of two people one of which was a baby. Going by that comment then surely there is no need to jail anyone that commits murder/manslaughter.
    I'll remind you of some of the article.

Yes, yes he is likely to re-offend. He has committed an very very serious offence and is walking away basically scot-free. More than likely that he will think he can do anything and get away with it. Do you really think this will teach him a lesson and pay his dues to society? >
    why are you acting like he hasn't been punished?
    If losing his GF and kid isn't enough to stop him doing it again then what difference would 18 months in prison do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,816 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

He has to live with the consequences of his actions, that won't be easy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

galwayrush wrote: »
    He has to live with the consequences of his actions, that won't be easy.

Somehow, I believe that part of his brain has not developed either.
    So I reckon he will be ok.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,729 ✭✭✭alex73

I see kids all the time not in car seats. I see them standing in the car behind the mothers seat. Its nothing new, there are many parents who don't really care or understand their childrens safety.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,683 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

You all know how much I love Irish judges for some of the comical sentences they employ but theres nothing to be gained by locking this kid up. He is banned from driving and he has the death of his girlfriend and what is likely his own child on his hands. I don't think theres much more he can learn from that experience while inside of a cell. The only benefit to locking him up would be to protect him if he were suicidal; and you're thinking of the wrong kind of cell for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,090 ✭✭✭questionmark?

why are you acting like he hasn't been punished?
    If losing his GF and kid isn't enough to stop him doing it again then what difference would 18 months in prison do?

IMO he hasn't being punished. He killed two people he should be in Jail. And he shouldn't be in Jail for 18months it should be much more.
    Surely he should also be banned from driving for life also.

In a few years he may think that he can do anything and get away with it, as will many other people in the same boat. Ah sure i can break the law and i'll get away with it sure if i kill two people i'll only have to paint a few walls once i have some "remorse" and say i'm sorry.

IMO he hasn't being punished. He killed two people he should be in Jail. And he shouldn't be in Jail for 18months it should be much more.
    Surely he should also be banned from driving for life also.

In a few years he may think that he can do anything and get away with it, as will many other people in the same boat. Ah sure i can break the law and i'll get away with it sure if i kill two people i'll only have to paint a few walls once i have some "remorse" and say i'm sorry.

Lmao if you actually think any of that is true.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭sollar

We have a really soft judiciary in this country, week in week out we see people getting off lightly in our courts. 4 & 5 years for those two scumbags who kicked the life out of that teacher and community service for the death of a baby and a 16 yr old.

Who will it be next week?? I'm pretty sure it will be sombody else getting a soft sentence somewhere in ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

Overheal wrote: »
    You all know how much I love Irish judges for some of the comical sentences they employ but theres nothing to be gained by locking this kid up. He is banned from driving and he has the death of his girlfriend and what is likely his own child on his hands. I don't think theres much more he can learn from that experience while inside of a cell. The only benefit to locking him up would be to protect him if he were suicidal; and you're thinking of the wrong kind of cell for that.

If I killed one of your loved ones, but felt really really bad about it afterwards, would it be ok with you if I didn't get a prison sentence? Remorse is not a substitute for punishment. Every criminal can feel bad about their crimes, but it doesn't excuse them.

I believe wholeheartedly in leaning towards rehabilitation for minor crimes. But when 2 lives are lost because of a negligent disregard for basic safety, then I lean towards punishment instead.

In a few years he may think that he can do anything and get away with it
    But more than likely he may not....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

Losing his girlfrined and daughter because of his recklessness is punishment enough I think, no need for prison.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Chorcai

biko wrote: »
    Losing his girlfrined and daughter because of his recklessness is punishment enough I think, no need for prison.

That goes with out saying, but what the courts should do, is act as a deterrent to future crimes/ dumb fúck activities, which at the moment it's failing badly at.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,305 ✭✭✭DOC09UNAM

Can someone change the title, it makes it sounds as if he did it on purpose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,129 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

biko wrote: »

The judge should send a strong message to these type of lads and this case is as wreckless as they come - He should have done jail IMO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Chorcai wrote: »
    That goes with out saying, but what the courts should do, is act as a deterrent to future crimes/ dumb fúck activities, which at the moment it's failing badly at.

There isn't any deterrent for "dumbfúck activities". Do you think boy and girl racers spend their spare time perusing the court reports? Without a licence he is no threat to public safety. He might actually do some good in the community with CS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Oranage2 wrote: »
    The judge should send a strong message to these type of lads and this case is as wreckless as they come - He should have done jail IMO

It definitely wasn't wreckless.

"These type of lads" never get any messages. There's no point in sending him to jail to teach others a lesson they will never, ever learn.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,390 ✭✭✭The Big Red Button

DOC09UNAM wrote: »
    Can someone change the title, it makes it sounds as if he did it on purpose.

That baby is still dead, whether those parents did it purposely or not. :mad: