Stop Abusing Call Centre Workers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,280 ✭✭✭Greyfox

Diapason wrote: »
    when it comes to call centres we're expected to believe that customers are ALWAYS the ignorant ones, and that the call centres are staffed by fully trained professionals waiting eagerly to solve our problems

The thing is the % of callers that are idiots is much higher then the % of agents that are useless. Most people who call are nice people but sadly it's easy to forget this and treat everyone poorly when you get calls like I have gotten below:
    "MANAGER, MANAGER, I want to speak to the managing director NNNNOOOOOWWWWWW, tell him I'm on the line to Joe Duffy as we speak"
    "My solicitor is beside me recording this call as we speak"
    "I hid from a dog in your companies phone box but as the glass was broken at the bottom the dog got in and bit me and now I'm sueing your company"
    "Yes the engineer fixed my phone but I want to tell his manager that's he's ruined my carpet with his muddy boots"
    And my personal favourite: "your f***ing washing machine broke my f***ing car and John Delaney has been sent the pictures and I'm waiting for Sarah to call me back"
    me: I'm sorry but were a Telecom company and don't deal with washing machines (a car wash damaged her car and the garage gave a wrong contact number that was our number)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭yeahimhere

Worked in a call centre many years ago, however it was a pretty good one. The wages were high and they hired people who were capible of doing the job / gave great training etc so the only problems we had were with loonies...but they were few and far between and good fun to deal with since most of the calls were normal.

The problems started when they dropped the wage for new hires (so people on the same team doing the same job were earning different amounts) and gave less training. I started to have to deal with a lot more escalations where agents were giving the incorrect information or weren't able to handle a simple call so made the situation a lot worse than it would have been to start with. I blamed the company for this mistake.

50% of the new agents were just idiots who couldn't care less and the other 50% were just not given the training to handle queries so I felt really sorry for them getting lashed out of it.
    krudler wrote: »
    Then there was the guy who said if I didnt give him a euro free credit he'd kill himself,

hehe, did you not call the guards to call around to his house? If we ever received a suicide threat, no matter how crazy it sounded our guidelines were we had to inform the guards and social services who'd call around to their house. As offically, we could be held accountable for not reporting it if they actually went through with it. Did it a few times and it is a good way to show idiots that they have to be accountable for what they on the phone. :cool:

Same for bomb threats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,871 ✭✭✭Karmafaerie

A collection of the stories i've heard from friends over the eyars.
    Most had me in stitches.

Customer:You better fix it
    Agent: I can't fix it as it's not broken, your computer won't turn on.
    Customer:You're my broadband operator so fix it.
    Agent: We can't fix your computer.
    Customer:You better fix it or i'm going to fix you.
    Agent: Threats will get you nowhere.
    Customer: That's not a threat, it's a fact. I know where you work.
    Agent: I know where you live and now the guards will too.
    Customer: *hang up*

C:My internet is down.
    A:Well your modem is online so it's a connection issue.
    C:But I can't access the internet.
    A:It's probably your connection. Do you use wireless?
    C:Yes but you're my broadband provider.
    A:I know but we need to find out what's wrong. What kind of router do you have, as I can't see any
    C:What's a router?
    A:It's the box next to your modem.
    C:Oh that. I unplugged that and threw it out cause my dog ate it.
    A:Your dog ate it?!
    C:Yes he chewed it up.
    A:What make was it?
    C:Belkin.
    A:Well you're going to hae to buy a new router.
    C:But you're my broadband provider!
    A:Yes but your dog ate the router that you bought yourself.
    C:But you're my broadband provider!!
    A:I understand, but your dog, damaged your equipment. Your broadband is working but your quipment needs to be replaced.
    C:AAAAAGGGGGGHHHHHH I'M CANCELING YOU STUPID CNUT YOUR COMPANY IS A DISGRACE. I'M NOT PAYING MY BILL. AAAAAGGGGGHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!

C: Before you do anything, I just want to let you know that I'm a network engineer, so don't try and fob me off with escuses, cause I'll see through you.
    A: Okay, can you reboot your modem for me please.
    C:Okay, let me see, how did he say to do that again. You go into control panel and...
    A:No, just no!

C:I know that there's definately a problem cause my modem goes at the exact same time every saturday. It only happens for an hour, but it happens every Saturday at the same time, and only at that time, so don't make excuses.
    A:Is it down now?
    C:Of course it is stupid, why else would I call you?!!!
    A:But todays Monday!
    C:Eh...ehhh *hang up*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 423 ✭✭Aseth

maglite wrote: »
    good India centers

lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 117 ✭✭LaughOrDie

Being rude to call centre agents is counter productive. In my experience of working in call centres, if a customer is confrontational sometimes it can be very difficult not to get wrapped up in a pointless debate that will go nowhere and it just distracts you from resolving the issue.

Try and be polite, talk to people as you would like to be talked to. I find the people who are the rudest generally have no experience working in a similar environment and cannot empathise. If you are rude or aggressive you will only delay the process of getting your issue resolved.

If you are annoyed with a product/service talk with your feet, stop giving them your money. Companies will pay a lot more attention to lost profits than anything else.

Call centre workers also need to realise not to take things personally. People are naturally going to be a little bit confrontational or a wee bit frustrated/annoyed when calling you. They have an issue! They need it resolved! And it's your job to do this to the best of your ability!

I think it's the companies themselves and clueless management who are to blame for all the issues discusses in this thread. As long as they don't see lost revenue, they don't see a problem. And we all get wrapped up in this cycle of crap service and pointless arguing.

Talk with your feet people!

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

never mind us being nice to Call Centre people - what about them being nice to us?

NTL made me cry twice on the phone - i eventually had to change the account into my bf name because i couldnt deal with them (he didnt even live in my house).

they were told they couldnt contact me ever again under any circumstances. what did they do - they bloody well kept phoning me even though my name and contact details were supposed to be deleted from they system.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭M cebee

i've rang eircom a few times and been fairly polite

but they have deliberately transferered my call or cut me off-much to my annoyance

what about customers rights:mad:

irishbird wrote: »
    never mind us being nice to Call Centre people - what about them being nice to us?

NTL made me cry twice on the phone - i eventually had to change the account into my bf name because i couldnt deal with them (he didnt even live in my house).

they were told they couldnt contact me ever again under any circumstances. what did they do - they bloody well kept phoning me even though my name and contact details were supposed to be deleted from they system.

That's true, It's important for staff to be nice to customers, they're the reason why we're in jobs to begin with.

The thing about your situation though is that NTL still have your money and will continue with the same practices because of this. And why wouldn't they? They still have your money!

M cebee wrote: »
    i've rang eircom a few times and been fairly polite

but they have deliberately transferered my call or cut me off-much to my annoyance

what about customers rights:mad:

I think the company is to blame for this. Whether it's badly trained staff or everything being broken into different departments, or stupid automated phone systems. These are mostly the fault of the company and front line staff can hardly be blamed for this.

Change provider! Stop giving them your money! Or they'll never learn!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭sensibleken

nedtheshed wrote: »
    Obvious troll is obvious.:rolleyes:

Im currently working in an inbound call centre for an insurance company and have been for over a year,my options were this or the dole,ya,tough choice, so I do find it funny when people call up and get abusive.FFS,do these assholes not realise that they are abusing people that have access to their car or home insurance,they know where you live,have alot of personal details at their disposal eg bank account details.

Of course it would only be the most unscrupulous of people that would abuse this information but I would say for all the telephone warriors out there,think twice before you get in a strop for no good reason.All it would take is one disgruntled employee to really give them something to bitch about.

not to mention you can simply opt out of cold calling by just contacting your service provider.

if you do get them, a simple no thanks im busy is a lot quicker than shouting at them for ten minutes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 452 ✭✭Diapason

if you do get them, a simple no thanks im busy is a lot quicker than shouting at them for ten minutes

Or there's always hanging up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭sensibleken

Greyfox wrote: »
    The thing is the % of callers that are idiots is much higher then the % of agents that are useless. Most people who call are nice people but sadly it's easy to forget this and treat everyone poorly when you get calls like I have gotten below:
    "MANAGER, MANAGER, I want to speak to the managing director NNNNOOOOOWWWWWW, tell him I'm on the line to Joe Duffy as we speak"
    "My solicitor is beside me recording this call as we speak"
    "I hid from a dog in your companies phone box but as the glass was broken at the bottom the dog got in and bit me and now I'm sueing your company"
    "Yes the engineer fixed my phone but I want to tell his manager that's he's ruined my carpet with his muddy boots"
    And my personal favourite: "your f***ing washing machine broke my f***ing car and John Delaney has been sent the pictures and I'm waiting for Sarah to call me back"
    me: I'm sorry but were a Telecom company and don't deal with washing machines (a car wash damaged her car and the garage gave a wrong contact number that was our number)

you dont work for BT by any chance? the amount of times i was threatened with Joe Duffy was hilarious, and once with Marty whelan:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,893 ✭✭✭Hannibal Smith

I work in a call centre taking calls all day from ye guys. Please stop abusing me. I have worked in many call centres and its always the same. People think because we are on the phone they can say what they want to us and we don't get bothered by it - we do.
    People think they can talk to us like dirt and it is acceptable - its not. We are real people who are just workiing in poorly paid jobs to avoid drawing the dole in most cases. We have no personal interest in your problems and the less you abuse us the faster we can fix them.

it's not YOU we're getting mad at, it's your company. We have no personal interest in your personal dislike for your job, and the faster your company fixes the problems the less cr@p you guys will have to take.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,562 ✭✭✭scientific1982

LaughOrDie wrote: »
    Call centre workers also need to realise not to take things personally. People are naturally going to be a little bit confrontational or a wee bit frustrated/annoyed when calling you. They have an issue! They need it resolved! And it's your job to do this to the best of your ability!QUOTE]

Thats true but even if you have a thick skin it can get to be a bit much being called a **** 50 times a day. Tempers are bound to flare.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

I work in a call centre taking calls all day from ye guys. Please stop abusing me. I have worked in many call centres and its always the same. People think because we are on the phone they can say what they want to us and we don't get bothered by it - we do.
    People think they can talk to us like dirt and it is acceptable - its not. We are real people who are just workiing in poorly paid jobs to avoid drawing the dole in most cases. We have no personal interest in your problems and the less you abuse us the faster we can fix them.

Then put a bit more effort into your job. I want personal interest in my problem. That's why I apy for your service.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,384 ✭✭✭gbee

k_mac wrote: »
    Then put a bit more effort into your job. I want personal interest in my problem. That's why I apy for your service.

Have you read this thread? It's fantastically revealing. It's worth a wade through, everything you were afraid that call centres were, is true.

gbee wrote: »
    Have you read this thread? It's fantastically revealing. It's worth a wade through, everything you were afraid that call centres were, is true.

No I have only read the OPs opening moan and was already pissed off. I worked in a call center for years. If I didn't know the answer to something I'd find it out. If someone was having trouble with something I'd do what I could to help them or explain to them what was wrong. The whole problem would be solved if call centers hired people with an IQ above 10 and had some patience. My call center was for betting yet some of the other staff started not knowing what a favourite was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭FatherLen

No I have only read the OPs opening moan and was already pissed off. I worked in a call center for years. If I didn't know the answer to something I'd find it out. If someone was having trouble with something I'd do what I could to help them or explain to them what was wrong. The whole problem would be solved if call centers hired people with an IQ above 10 and had some patience. My call center was for betting yet some of the other staff started not knowing what a favourite was.

really?? what was the name of this call centre as i worked in a call centre that also dealt with betting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,871 ✭✭✭Karmafaerie

Had to be done.:p

Dammit. Fortunately for me I worked in a small centre whith an excellent HR manager. Unfortunately he was replaced by a rather flamboyant man who's skills appeared to be limited to colour coordination and I'm pretty sure that's the basis he judged cv's on. That and nepotism.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39 Ejayb4

EPIC THREAD!!!

Thats true but even if you have a thick skin it can get to be a bit much being called a **** 50 times a day. Tempers are bound to flare.[/QUOTE]

It's true, I went through a week of being told to F myself at least 4 times a day. That's where working in a call centre has an advantage over working in Retail; the disconnect button.

People do need to realise that call centre workers are NOT paid to take abuse. If you are out of order you will get hung up on.

I only do that as a last resort and if there's no possibility of resolving the issue. Some people I work with are far too quick to hang up on people though.

LaughOrDie wrote: »
    Thats true but even if you have a thick skin it can get to be a bit much being called a **** 50 times a day. Tempers are bound to flare.

It's true, I went through a week of being told to F myself at least 4 times a day. That's where working in a call centre has an advantage over working in Retail; the disconnect button.

People do need to realise that call centre workers are NOT paid to take abuse. If you are out of order you will get hung up on.

I only do that as a last resort and if there's no possibility of resolving the issue. Some people I work with are far too quick to hang up on people though.

Yeah i was on to a guy from AIB the other day and I said to him. "You've basically just given me a **** you letter". He told me if I swore at him again he'd hang up. I resisted the urge to tell him what a tool he was.

Casual swearing like that I can generally tolerate and I always find it funny when people give warnings over something small like that.

If you had a problem with the letter I would have wrote an official letter of complaint. Think about it the person your talking to on the phone cannot do anything except apologise for the letter. They didn't write it and they're not going to do anything to change the policy. It's a waste of your energy and time giving out to someone on the phone about something they have no power to change.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

I rang up meteor a few week ago because the dongle I had got that day was not working. It wouldn't connect to the the net. Anyway I got on the phone to a woman and this is how it went:

Me, Eh, hi, I am having trouble with my dongle I got today, it wont connect to the net, the actual device is fine, I have full signal, but it just wont connect, could there be something wrong with the sim?
    Her: Try it n a different USB slot
    Me: I have done that already, no joy
    Her: Try it again and ring me back
    Me: Im telling you, I already did that, and reinstlled the software
    Her: Try it again, then call back. Make sure you have the sim in the right way around
    Me: I do, Im telling you I checked all that already, I think there is a problem with the sim
    Her: Try it again and call back
    Me: I already did it for gods sake! I am not an idiot, I have tried all that at least 4 times, I am not doing it again!
    Her: Sorry sir, if you wont follow my advice how can I help you?
    Me: I told you, I have doe it already, I have tried those things.
    Her: Try them again, call me back if you have problems.
    Me: You are being obtuse, I would like to be put through to someone else, or if none are available, your supervisor.
    *hold music*
    New woman: Hi, whats your number?
    Me: 1234567789
    Her: *typing noise* Ah, Im sorry, we don't seem to have your number on file, it seems like when you ordered in store it didn't go through.(thats what happened, I had to go back to the shop)
    Me: Ok, thanks :)

I was even more pissed off when I saw my credit balance after the call.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,272 ✭✭✭EverEvolving

I worked on the phones in a call centre for about 2 years and only ever hung up a few times - and they were raving lunatics. I always tried to help as best I could as most of the people ringing up were getting a crap enough service as it was.

It’s true that the training and support isn’t always up to scratch and sometimes even the management don’t know the answer. I was called many various colourful names and was even accused of being racist, now apart from the guys name being obviously middle eastern, there was no way of knowing his ethnicity, it was quite a funny call. You do get some hilarious callers and they make your day, you just can’t let them get to you if you want to remain sane!

Seems like quite a lot of people here have had some call centre experience.

I was even more pissed off when I saw my credit balance after the call.[/QUOTE]

Aren't Meteor a free phone number? 1905?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 yours

I worked in a call center for years. If I didn't know the answer to something I'd find it out. If someone was having trouble with something I'd do what I could to help them or explain to them what was wrong. The whole problem would be solved if call centers hired people with an IQ above 10 and had some patience. My call center was for betting yet some of the other staff started not knowing what a favourite was.

Totally agree here, when I worked in a call centre too, if I didnt know I def would try and find out or direct them to the right place. So I never really had any huge problems, being nice to people is always a key, and being trained how to deal with problem people. Training is obviously a big factor.
    I rem once I called this guy in the UK, seriously the guy was funny, he was saying that much of funny things the tears were rolling out my eyes with laughter . lol, it made my day.

Yes some sales calls are awful now and they are so so pushy, its awful to deal with, and the car seeling guy was a nightmare.

I had to ring easypass there a few weeks ago, and when I couldnt understand how my car went through,, the girl said she would look me up on cam, i quickly answered dont " you will prob find me a cig in one hand and a phone in the other lol" (joke by the way!!) god she couldnt stop laughing, but in fairness she waived my fine in the end :).

I def do agree it all boils down to training!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 Faust1

You'd need a translator to understand some of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,109 ✭✭✭Cavehill Red

Only finished working in a call centre for a gambling company, and some of the stuff that has been said down the line to me was terrible. I've been blamed for jockeys not trying hard enough to win a race, I've even been blamed for Balloons causing football teams to lose matches!

Oi! I've been looking for you, ye bollix! :mad: