What stops you doing illegal stuff?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,292 ✭✭✭TangyZizzle

There's no prison rape in Ireland..

I paid schoolchild bus/train fares up until only two weeks ago. I still get the train without a ticket frequently, always have done and always will. I download everything and anything that I want. I began drinking and smoking at the age of 15, 3 years before I was legally eligible to do so.

Aw, cant think of anythin else. But yeah, I break the law.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,392 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

FatherLen wrote: »
    fear of being passed around like currency in prison
    irish-stew wrote: »
    I dont want to find out what happens if I drop a bar of soap in the shower block.
    The fear of prison rape.

I don't like cucumbers.
    smk89 wrote: »
    If I did get caught my prison just isn't the best place for a person with an ass so white as mine

There really should be a poll on this thread :D

Question: What stops you doing illegal stuff?
    Options:
    A: Prison ass-rape fear
    B: Other stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,629 ✭✭✭raah!

You know after hours, it's really easy to break laws without being caught. I think people pay too much credence to their irrational fears. Acting solely based on emotions like this makes you the moral equivilant of a duck. Or a knacker, or anyone with a not rational basis for morality. In fact, I would say that's no basis, self interest and being a coward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,369 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Today paper-clips, tomorrow Fort Knox.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 466 ✭✭fizzynicenice

Sharkey 10 wrote: »
    I agree about the drugs but i dont agree about graffiti , for example if everyone disliked the graffiti bar you, then its not a stupid law unless its your property
    Yes I see your point but my graffiti is awesom and enriches the community as a whole.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,424 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

I... just don't have any motivation to do anything illegal...

What's the point?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,167 ✭✭✭gsxr1

gsxr1 wrote: »
    I like to provide a good example to my child
    Of what ?

Errr. of being a law abiding citizen . I try to refrain from robbing post offices. But its a hard habit to break

What's the point?

Dopamine releases! Free money! Free food! Do you really not see the point?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,562 ✭✭✭scientific1982

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,424 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

raah! wrote: »
    Dopamine releases! Free money! Free food! Do you really not see the point?

There's plenty of other stuff you can do for shíts n'giggles without resorting to illegal activities...

Money won't hold any value to me if I keep knicking it all the time along with other goods that are valued with money...

no, I really don't see the point...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

There's plenty of other stuff you can do for shíts n'giggles without resorting to illegal activities...

Money won't hold any value to me if I keep knicking it all the time along with other goods that are valued with money...

no, I really don't see the point...
    There's plenty of fun legal stuff to keep you happy if you're that way inclined, but there are particular flavours of fun you can't enjoy within the confines of the law.

It's like asking what's the point in apples when you already have tasty oranges.

Well if the point of doing those other things is for ****s and giggles then doing illegal things has exactly the same point.

There's no reason for money to hold value to you personally, money is worth as much as what it can buy. If money holds value to you now, then skill at stealing should hold the same, if not greater, value aswell.

The fact is, there are millions of reasons to steal and do illegal things. If everthing you do is based on how you feel then as long as something feels good you can do it. And the more you do something, the less bad you feel about doing it, if you have been so conditioned to feel guilty after having done it.

In a post-dogmatic society, the only thing preventing people from robbing and stealing is fear of being caught. As this thread has more than illustrated. There are things like "stabbing babies makes me feel bad", but these emotions can be just as much reasoned away as any others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

The law is irrelevant.

I do/don't do things based upon my own code of morals. These morals are shaped by the sum of my experiences in life so far.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 552 ✭✭✭Sharkey 10

Actually ive got one now that was fun and i think students in galway took part and that was robbing from vivo . It was fairly easy and the lads who work didnt seem to care too much.
    Was it just me and my friends or was this widespread?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 King of Snake

It's Only Illegal If You Get Caught!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

- The odd phone call while driving.
    - The odd text while driving.
    - Being over the speed limit on certain roads.
    - Downloading terabytes of music/TV/films

Illegal stuff is performed quite regularly by most I'd say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,880 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

Because god says not to do bad things..

ah ha ha...

No seriously, it's because my parents brought me up to respect myself and those around me etc etc. That and a solid fear of the wooden spoon for when I acted the bollix.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,698 ✭✭✭✭Princess Peach

Fizman wrote: »

Note to self. Do not accept a lift from Fizman

• Closed Accounts Posts: 377 ✭✭AAAAAAAHHH

Tigger wrote: »
    depends on the thing and why its illegal

drugs etc i never really worried about the law or whatnot only stopped because they can be an issue after your twentys

theft etc would depend on the circumstances as in i wouldn't steal from an old lady but if i found a bag of money with a bag of drugs in it i'd go look a bag of drug money and take the money leave the drugs as my moral code would allow that

bad thinks like sexually or violently assaulting people i don't do because i'm not a psycho

I can't believe you'd steal money from a diabetic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 344 ✭✭Getting there

My mum would kill me if i got caught. That thought alone...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

I break minor laws all the time as most people do i imagine: driving laws, drunk and disorderly laws, minor drug offences, illegal downloading etc etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,698 ✭✭✭✭Princess Peach

My mum would kill me if i got caught. That thought alone...

My mum wouldn't kill me.

But her look of disappointment would.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

If it feels wrong I won't do it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

Fizman wrote: »

Note to self. Do not accept a lift from Fizman

Note to self: Don't drive on the same roads as Fizman. As a vulnerable motorcyclist, I don't want to get squished because he wasn't paying attention to his surroundings.

Pace2008 wrote: »
    There's plenty of fun legal stuff to keep you happy if you're that way inclined, but there are particular flavours of fun you can't enjoy within the confines of the law.

It's like asking what's the point in apples when you already have tasty oranges.

yeah... well.... Kiwi's are where it's at.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 105 ✭✭treborflynn

it started off with paper clips and the odd ruler, then before i knew it i was punching children and injecting heroin into puppies, but i never really BROKE the law as such. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,152 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

Common decency here.

Mind you, I wouldn't guarantee that I could take the complete high moral ground when it comes to driving at precisely under the speed limit when it's safe enough to do so (motorways, etc), so that might make me a bit of a hypocrite.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 556 ✭✭✭Ghost Estate

The law is only another man-made thing. Its far from perfect so as long as nobody gets hurt im not too pushed about me or anyone else breaking the law.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,723 ✭✭✭Cheap Thrills!

It depends on what illegal stuff you mean?

What stops me from hurting babies, stealing, killing etc is that I don't want to do those things.

As for what stops me breaking a red light in the middle of the night on a deserted road, smoking a puff off a joint, taking a pack of post-it's from work or giving a tradesman a nixer when I know he also gets jobseekers???

Well Only the fear of getting caught if I'm honest!!!

Not that I do those terrible things! :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭liah

To be honest? Nothing except my own moral compass and even that's contextual, I still have done and do illegal things (drugs, piracy, etc).

I'd never do anything that directly impacts or harms another human being, though.. those comments in that thread freaked me out a bit, even if they are just jokes. The idea that someone would violate me without my consent is, frankly, frightening, and therefore I wouldn't want to do it to anyone else, whether I'd be found out or not!

Like that scene in Kill Bill where she's in the hospital and they're selling her while she's unconscious. Really messed up! :eek:

People who only don't do things for fear of being caught really bother me.