Taxi driving chancers

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 949 ✭✭✭maxxie

Ive had bad experiences with most black taxi drivers so I dont get in their cars anymore!
    Sounds racist but thats life, I know many Irish drivers are just as bad but they are easier to deal with!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,733 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

DeVore wrote: »
    Have you considered that its after 12 on a Saturday and after a concert, maybe the taxi was stuck in traffic or mobbed by crowds.

I take probably 1-2 taxis a DAY in Dublin and I've been ripped off or attempted to be ripped off twice in 20 years. Irish cabs arent cheap (thanks to the government trying to protect Bus Eireann and our public transport system) but I honestly can say I find them good.

DeV.

Well we can assume the concert was in the O2 and parnell sq is never that busy after a concert down in the point. Most people hang around town for a drink or two so theres never a rush. There are thousands of taxis in dublin so its not hard to believe that some have doctored meters. I find the taxis that work the airport the worst... they always "forget" to put the meter on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,911 ✭✭✭I Was VB

Wibbs wrote: »
    And I guarantee he'd get no satisfaction taking that course of action. I've never heard of anyone doing so anyway.

This is the only way he can get satisfaction, the recepit is the proof of the journey. No recepit no journey.

What satisfaction will he get by posting it in boards?? Like the passangers that tell me about the taxi driver who ripped them off once but still tell me about it. You've two options here, get a receipt and report him or STFU!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,733 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

I Was VB wrote: »
    This is the only way he can get satisfaction, the recepit is the proof of the journey. No recepit no journey.

What satisfaction will he get by posting it in boards?? Like the passangers that tell me about the taxi driver who ripped them off once but still tell me about it. You've two options here, get a receipt and report him or STFU!!!!

What do you do when they refuse to give you a printed receipt?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,354 ✭✭✭El Horseboxo

I usually get a taxi from o connell street in town with 3 mates who live close to me. I live just between Finglas and St. Margarets well further on than the OP's location. I'm always the last one out and the fare is never over the 20 euro mark. And that is with the 3 other stops to let my mates out. I've had all races of drivers on that route and haven't had a problem. But if for some reason one night it became 30 or 40 euro i'd be refusing to pay it as well. I'm not paying and getting receipts and then jumping through hoops wasting time trying to get money back i never should have parted with in the first place. Fúck that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 117 ✭✭BillShorey

Honestly there are two of yiz in it, you did a man out of a paying wage, if taxi drivers are so bad i suggest that you dont use them in future.

Sorry but €20 for 15 minutes work is extortionate, not a "paying wage". That'd be €60 per hour on busy shifts. It's driving a car around a small city center, it's not something that warrants €30 an hour, let alone €60.

I know the shifts aren't spent with constant fares but the point remains. It's a low-skilled area of employment in an over-saturated market, demanding €20 for 15 minutes work is a joke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,967 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

+1 I'd agree. It's very rare to get ripped off or otherwise discommoded here. Like you it's only happened a handful of times in my life. Try Greek or Spanish taxi drivers for size. The French ones are a law unto themselves.

another +1,
    I can count on one hand the amount of bad experiences I've had here in ROI in all cities.
    Kilkenny doesn't count, not a real city ;)

You don't even have to go that far away
    Go to Belfast and get a black cab. The locals don't use them, that's a sign.
    Also, I don't like how the drivers tout for business as you leave Central Station, standing in the doorway and getting in the way.

I'd say they don't like the free bus!

I've had far better experiences in Dublin then what goes on in Belfast

What do you do when they refuse to give you a printed receipt?

All taxi drivers are required by law to produce a receipt, if the taxi driver refuses you are quite within your right to refuse to pay the fare (this is the only time you can do this) if the taxi driver disputes it call the garda.
    BillShorey wrote: »
    Sorry but €20 for 15 minutes work is extortionate, not a "paying wage". That'd be €60 per hour on busy shifts. It's driving a car around a small city center, it's not something that warrants €30 an hour, let alone €60.

I know the shifts aren't spent with constant fares but the point remains. It's a low-skilled area of employment in an over-saturated market, demanding €20 for 15 minutes work is a joke.

If ya have a problem with the cost of taxis, make other arrangments. Like walking.

Or I could just do the simple thing and direct them to a house at the edge of the estate, get out to "go get money" and pull a fast one down the lane, up the road and into the house before he could even turn the car around?

I mean, in the grand scheme of things
    Free ride > paid ride > walking

Afterall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,636 ✭✭✭maninasia

I hope he reports you to the guards for not paying the metered fare.

Your LEGALLY obliged to pay this, its the man wages and not for you to decide what a proper fare should be.

You've a neck tbh.

Right, the meter that can be changed very simply by clicking a few buttons, your comment is a joke in itself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,260 ✭✭✭PatsytheNazi

Possibly but the OP has said it took 15 mins for his brother to show up, so that seems unlikely, as do an extra passengers added to the bill. Plus if this was the case the taxi guy would likely have explained same.

+1 I'd agree. It's very rare to get ripped off or otherwise discommoded here. Like you it's only happened a handful of times in my life. Try Greek or Spanish taxi drivers for size. The French ones are a law unto themselves.
    Try Czech taxi drivers and you'll know what rip off means.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,560 ✭✭✭southsiderosie

did yer 15 yr old kis remember where he went or if he had a afrikan fry up and left the meter running whille dancing to bob marley rifts and having a smokin hot one?

I would tend to back up the o/p, we all know about non nationals these days but lets not go down that route.:rolleyes:
    maxxie wrote: »
    Ive had bad experiences with most black taxi drivers so I dont get in their cars anymore!
    Sounds racist but thats life, I know many Irish drivers are just as bad but they are easier to deal with!

I'm a foreigner, and I lived in Dublin for 6 months and took taxis at least twice a week. During that time, four drivers tried to rip me off by taking roundabout routes: three were Irish and one was African.

Some people are just dicks and it has nothing to do with their ethnicity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,158 ✭✭✭✭Degag

I was in a taxi and the driver was African (seeing as how we're moaning abouit African drivers...) I was going from Christ Church to Townsend Street and the girl with me was going to Hawkins Street.

Driver brings us some back way, we come around by Merrion Square, down Lincoln Place and he says you can't drive Westland Row as it's one way (?!) I disagreed, but he brings us down Fenian street and says "You wanted Ringsend right?" "No, I want Townsend Street - back there". He swings round to an actual one way street and leaves meter on as he decides how to get backwards to Townsend street from Hanover street. I just told him to **** off with himself and that I'd walk the couple of min in the rain to my place. The poor girl with me didn't trust him at all so she got out with me and she had to walk up Townsend street on her own, in the middle of the night in the rain.

You know what is disturbing me most?

That you let a woman walk down a street in Dublin on her own in the rain in the middle of the night.

Or I could just do the simple thing and direct them to a house at the edge of the estate, get out to "go get money" and pull a fast one down the lane, up the road and into the house before he could even turn the car around?

I mean, in the grand scheme of things
    Free ride > paid ride > walking

Afterall.

Yea good man, cant think of any other avenue of argument now your gonna try are rile me? Nice one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

So unless the OP is lying ..

The OP never said that he said the words "Parnell St" - he could have just said: "There is no way that it costs €20 from where you picked him up".

I am just trying to gather the facts ..
    .. the driver clearly would have said, I did not pick him up from Parnell Street..

The OP doesn't say that he said that though, you're just assuming that he did.

How else could there be a €20 fare on the meter?

Do you think the taxi driver was lying?

Again, that is why I asked the OP did he SEE the meter or was he offered a receipt with the KM covered.
    Do you think an honest taxi driver would not pipe up if the person paying him was asking about a completely different route to the one taken and reusing to pay? Ha, not likely.

Again, you are assuming that Parnell St was mentioned, maybe it was - but the OP did not say it was, is my point.

Do you think a Taxi Driver will keep going on about "that's what on the meter", if there isn't a €20 fare on it??

Yea good man, cant think of any other avenue of argument now your gonna try are rile me? Nice one.
    Not trying to do anything. Taxi drivers charging €20 for 15 minutes work is as legitimate as young lads paying €0 for a 15 minute lift. Neither should happen and neither party are expecting it when initiating the event.

What's your procedure if someone does a quick one on you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,967 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

I'm a foreigner, and I lived in Dublin for 6 months and took taxis at least twice a week. During that time, four drivers tried to rip me off by taking roundabout routes: three were Irish and one was African.

Some people are just dicks and it has nothing to do with their ethnicity

I suppose that tried it on with you but wouldn't if someone seemed local

I got the very same in Belfast. Obviously not a local and didn't realy know my way around and it was only later I learned what the usual fare and route was.
    I went on some scenic trips about Ormeau Park.

Same for tourists also, they'd be targeted

Goes on everywhere, Dublin is no worse then anywhere else and imo is better then Belfast

Not trying to do anything. Taxi drivers charging €20 for 15 minutes work is as legitimate as young lads paying €0 for a 15 minute lift. Neither should happen and neither party are expecting it when initiating the event.

Sorry friend, you've failed. Better luck next time.

OutlawPete, do you honestly think a 15 year old by himself is going to object to the route a grown African man decides to take him on in his taxi? He's not going to risk himself by saying "Here you, what the **** are you doing here, this diversion is ridiculous and I'm not paying for it" particularly when he probably has little experience in a taxi in general.

If the streets are quiet the taxi driver could have easily driven up €20 with detours.

@IWasVB: At the end of the day, I look after the Irish taxi drivers. Agree a fair and generally tip because they're out trying to make a living and their market has been filled with dodgy African taxi drivers going around in bangers and giving the whole lot a terrible name.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,560 ✭✭✭southsiderosie

I suppose that tried it on with you but wouldn't if someone seemed local

I got the very same in Belfast. Obviously not a local and didn't realy know my way around and it was only later I learned what the usual fare and route was.
    I went on some scenic trips about Ormeau Park.

Same for tourists also, they'd be targeted

Goes on everywhere, Dublin is no worse then anywhere else and imo is better then Belfast

Yes but my bigger point is that it has less to do with the ethnicity of the driver and more to do with the fact that some people will just try to take advantage.

When I lived in Belfast, I generally didn't have problems with taxi drivers, although because of where I lived, it would be really obvious if they took a roundabout route. I generally walked everywhere anyway; the city is tiny and I'm a cheapskate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,239 ✭✭✭Comer1

He doesn't "have a problem with the cost of taxis," he has a problem with the cost on the taxi in question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,948 ✭✭✭The Waltzing Consumer

OutlawPete wrote: »
    The OP never said that he said the words "Parnell St" - he could have just said: "There is no way that it costs €20 from where you picked him up".

I am just trying to gather the facts ..

The OP doesn't say that he said that though, you're just assuming that he did.

How else could there be a €20 fare on the meter?

Do you think the taxi driver was lying?

Again, that is why I asked the OP did he SEE the meter or was he offered a receipt with the KM covered.

Again, you are assuming that Parnell St was mentioned, maybe it was - but the OP did not say it was, is my point.

Do you think a Taxi Driver will keep going on about "that's what on the meter", if there isn't a €20 fare on it??

OP said in the first page of this thread "He got the cab on Parnell Street and I live in Glasnevin near Phibsboro"

I did not pluck Parnell Street out of the air.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

From where my brother was to my house does not cost 20 Euro, I can garuntee you that, I do take the route myself half drunk sometimes and at most Id say 9 euro, its literally a ten minute drive, and at 12'O Clock a straight run.

He got the cab on Parnell Street and I live in Glasnevin near Phibsboro

From Parnell Street to beside the Blanch Shopping centre costs me €19-€22 at night. So, I think you were overcharged. However, you should have paid, got a receipt, reported him and then got your money back . This would also have perhaps resulted in the driver losing his taxi licence).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 231 ✭✭KevArno

Ok so presuming that the story is all true, then it is a complete rip off. The op says his brother was at a concert, but got the taxi from parnell st. To the people saying the road would have been mobbed with people, well you must not know the city centre very well. No large volume concert venues would impact that area. He obviously was at a smaller gig or walked from the o2 to that area.

But after saying all that, my gut instinct is that your problem is with your 15 year old brother. I would guess that after the gig he went somewhere else, or maybe never went to a gig. At that age I would have been off at a girls house, or drinking somewhere, and I would never have told anyone older where I had actually been!

From Parnell Street to beside the Blanch Shopping centre costs me €19-€22 at night. So, I think you were overcharged. However, you should have paid, got a receipt, reported him and then got your money back . This would also have perhaps resulted in the driver losing his taxi licence).

No.

Don't pay, if you are really being charged fairly, the driver will go to Gardai and report you for not paying full fair.

Why should the customer be ripped off and then have to do all the legwork to get their money back? F**k that.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 6,531 Mod ✭✭✭✭sharkman

No.

Don't pay, if you are really being charged fairly, the driver will go to Gardai and report you for not paying full fair.

Why should the customer be ripped off and then have to do all the legwork to get their money back? F**k that.

Because thats the law :
    In the event of a dispute, a customer should pay the fare displayed on the meter including extras, ensure they get a printed receipt and proceed to make a formal complaint which will be investigated by the Commission for Taxi Regulation as appropriate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,272 ✭✭✭Barna77

Some people are just dicks and it has nothing to do with their ethnicity.

As soon as they notice a foreign accent, they'll feel free to make some extra money

• Subscribers Posts: 17,213 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

Wibbs the OP's brother was at a concert last night, most likely 'Paradise' at The O2.

He's 15yrs old, alone and getting a cab from Parnell St. at midnight!.

I'd be more concerned at a 15 yr old out in the city at that hour of the night, and so far from a concert venue than a €20 fare.

Fare play to the driver for getting the lad home safe.

If I had a dispute I'd have paid the fare, gotten a receipt and made a complaint to the taxi regulators officer.. But I'd have paid the man his bloody wage.

lollers. yep, amazing job driving someone from A to B through the warzone and getting him there in safety. It's stunning really. Maybe a medal? Or at least a mention in the papers.

sharkman wrote: »
    Because thats the law :
    In the event of a dispute, a customer should pay the fare displayed on the meter including extras, ensure they get a printed receipt and proceed to make a formal complaint which will be investigated by the Commission for Taxi Regulation as appropriate.

Meh! ;) I like my way

copacetic wrote: »
    lollers. yep, amazing job driving someone from A to B through the warzone and getting him there in safety. It's stunning really. Maybe a medal? Or at least a mention in the papers.

Alot of drivers wouldnt of brought him home if he had no money.