Students attack Leinster house with Mars Bars

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,125 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

By submission I meant submitting to the will of the Gardai, that is to say dispersing and not submission as in "I'm bleeding everywhere, please stop, argh".

A poor choice of words lads, I'll admit submission wasn't appropriate.

k_mac: A girl (maybe a guy with long hair) was dragged out by the hair, it's hardly an appropriate way to remove somebody now is it? What about the guy who's pouring blood from his head? Not the fleshy part of his arm or his leg, his head. And the really annoying mobile video with 3gp in the title where some lad is screaming "Sit down" repeatedly shows the public order unit moving in, stamping on people and throwing the baton down in a carefree fashion. That's hardly appropriate in my book.

prinz, is there a law against the use of teargas in this country? If so it should be repealed, and would have been ideal. Instead of looking at bloody heads, noses, pools of blood on the ground, Gardai tally-ho'ing into the crowd like they're in the wild west trampling people a quick burst of tear gas into the crowd outside the Department of Finance would have dispersed the crowd a whole lot quicker and a whole lot less violently than charging them. I hear there's a water cannon in the Public Order unit, where was that and why wasn't it used?

I honestly think the Gardai should be applauded in making the decision to move people away from the Department of Finance, it's a tight road, it was a public safety issue and things were getting really out of hand. It could have been so much worse so the right decision was made. The implementation of it was flawed.

I'm not sure I agree that once they got to the wider part of the road (e.g. 6:00 in that video) there was a need to charge them again. I didn't see any thuggery in that short clip or any video of that time during the protest.

There are quite a few people I know, including a few Gardai, trumpeting the whole "You're lucky this was Ireland and not France" line. It doesn't matter where this happened, it doesn't make it right. If the French would have done more and battered everybody then they're just more wrong than the Gardai, that's all.

Oh, so the Irish are lucky that we don't have politicians that stoop to the level of Sarchozy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,581 ✭✭✭TouchingVirus

Please re-read my post. I didn't say I was trumpeting the line, and the paragraph you bolded was expressing my disagreement with this sentiment. Your battle isn't with me.

Also, if you just wanted to reference that part, there was no need to quote the whole post

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,305 ✭✭✭✭K-9

They were NOT intentionally sheilding them, a crowd of Sinn Féin knackers decided to come along to the DoF protest and stir more sh*t by throwing stuff. Government buildings were not attached, a DoF spokeswomen said in the Into today that there was no security issue until the Gardaí arrived. You were not there, you didn't see what happened. I know very respectable people who were in the sit down protest that day from places like Trinity and UCD and did not to cause trouble. They were not thugs.

Who are the people being thrown out of the Dept. of Finance Building then?

Those scenes outside that building aren't the actions of respectable people.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,315 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

Wagon wrote: »
    You use boards enough mate, you must have seen it. AH has been filled with people asking why nobody protests. So people did now and well, read the posts. even just on the first few pages. It's extremely annoying that when people actually get up and do something, there's complaints about it.

So fair play to the students from Wagon! you got off your arses and shouted. And you threw things as well! You were heard at least which is more than the usual middle aged wankbags in Dublin have done so far.

I've seen certain people saying we should wreck the gaff and those who said we shouldn't, it's mainly the latter who are giving out about what happened yesterday, and not about the protest itself (as much as I disagree with them) but the rent-a-mob who showed up like they always do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

k_mac: A girl (maybe a guy with long hair) was dragged out by the hair, it's hardly an appropriate way to remove somebody now is it?

Maybe I missed that. I thought they had a hold of him by his jumper.
    What about the guy who's pouring blood from his head? Not the fleshy part of his arm or his leg, his head. And the really annoying mobile video with 3gp in the title where some lad is screaming "Sit down" repeatedly shows the public order unit moving in, stamping on people and throwing the baton down in a carefree fashion. That's hardly appropriate in my book.

That guy was one of the ones thrown out of the Dept of Finance. You can see in another video where he is pushed towards the crowd, who promptly move out of the way and allow him to fall on his face. Happened to another fell with long hair.
    prinz, is there a law against the use of teargas in this country? If so it should be repealed, and would have been ideal. Instead of looking at bloody heads, noses, pools of blood on the ground, Gardai tally-ho'ing into the crowd like they're in the wild west trampling people a quick burst of tear gas into the crowd outside the Department of Finance would have dispersed the crowd a whole lot quicker and a whole lot less violently than charging them. I hear there's a water cannon in the Public Order unit, where was that and why wasn't it used?

Teargas isn't used in public order situations like this. The idea in this situation was to push the crowd back and when they got to an open area to disperse them in as many directions as possible. The water cannon was on loan from the PSNI for the meeting in the Pheonix park.
    I'm not sure I agree that once they got to the wider part of the road (e.g. 6:00 in that video) there was a need to charge them again. I didn't see any thuggery in that short clip or any video of that time during the protest.

As i said it was to disperse them as wide as possible and to prevent the trouble makers reforming. I think they made this mistake in the Orange Order riots.

K-9 wrote: »
    Who are the people being thrown out of the Dept. of Finance Building then?

Those scenes outside that building aren't the actions of respectable people.

Not all of the people outside the dept. of finance when the protesters were thrown out were actually in the building in the first place. Many of them were Sinn Féiners looking to start trouble outside, they advanced towards the the building when they saw a group of guards entering the building. And in the scenes shown of the people been thrown out of the department of finance in one of the above videos it didn't show what happened before that. The first of the people thrown out were literally kicked and stamped out and thrown around like rag dolls. The DoF protest was hijacked by Militant dickheads which made matters even worse and were the cause of the riot squad being called. And as I said before a spokeswomen for the department of finance said in the Indo today that there was no security issue with the sit in protesters before the guards arrived.
    A number of students went into the outer lobby of the Department of Finance, but a spokeswoman said there was "no security issue".
    http://www.independent.ie/national-news/two-are-charged-following-angry-clashes-with-students-2406942.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,073 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Kiwi_knock wrote: »
    That video is awesome.
    It has everything. It's like Die Hard in 2 and a half minutes.
    There's the hot chick being abducted by hostile government forces, the token black guy, the party scene, the violence and a few other things I've forgotten since watch ing it.

I wasn't at the protest today, I actually woke up late and missed it.

But I want to address one recurring theme in this thread and something which has actually pissed me off for a long time, even before today:

Where the **** do people get the idea that the gards have a right to order you around when you're not breaking the law?

A public place is a public place. It is not a crime to stand at any point in a public place UNLESS you are causing trouble.
    So whan a gard says "move along" or "go home", why the F.UCK should I? I'm breaking no laws. There's no curfew in this country. Unless it can be proven that I am actually breaking the law, IMO I have NO obligation to go ANYWHERE.

This isn't in relation to breaking in to the department of finance. It's just in relation to the general "if a gard tells you to move, move" BS in this thread. I'll ****ing well obey the law, but that's ALL. My allegiance is to the law itself, not to the people who are enforcing it. Therefore if I am breaking no law doing what I'm doing, I see no reason whatsoever why I should pay them any attention.

Obviously if I'm interfering with someone else this doesn't apply, but in general, the gards don't have the right to enforce no go areas or curfews. At least in principle they don't. In practice they do it all the time. Like clearing Grafton street at a certain time in the morning after a night out. It's a ****ing public street. OUR public street. There's no curfew which says "this street must be emptied of pedestrians by X time."

Ask me to move and I will (politely but firmly) ask you to cite what law I am in violation of by remaining where I am.
    Judging by this post, you're the sort of person who would have fitted right in with those breakaway clowns.

If you're standing around in the middle of Grafton Street at 4am after a night out, then chances are you are drunk.
    Off the top of my head, you're drunk in a public place and you're loitering.

I'm gonna give you the benefit of the doubt here and say that you're just talking with friends. You are now putting yourself in danger of being attacked by the usual violent dicks knocking around at that hour.
    This is another reason for the Gardaí to ask you to move on.

You're well able to defend yourself, you say?
    Why the fúck would you want to stand around an area in which you are at risk of being attacked, even if you can defend yourself?

iamstop wrote: »
    Try to watch this an not feel the garda over reacted:

The Gardaí in now way over-reacted in that video.
    You can clearly see at the start theat people were provoking them by verbally abusing them, kicking them and pushing them.

Also visible is the long haired crustie from the north who made an appearance in another video trying to make out that he had done nothing to deserve the baton smack he recieved.

If you check the end of the clip, you'll see that one of the students is quite clearly drunk. He's swaying back and forth whilst talking to the Garda. To claim that all the students were sober and peaceful (lets' be honest, some people tend to get violent when drunk) is naive at best. You can also hear someone shout out "Wanker" in what is clearly a country accent too. Don't go blaming the Dubs (I'm not one) on all of this either.

I got a laugh out of the sight seeing bus driving by too. :)

Now here's a little tip for all of you wanna-be rebel students out there.
    However, before I continue I would like to point out that I have the utmost respect for those who engaged in the peaceful protest.
    You made an impact. It may have only been a small one, but if it inspires outher who are being screwed over by the government, then it will have been well and truly woth it. Kudos to you.

When a Garda tells you to move, then you fúcking move. Don't tell them that you're waiting for a friend, or you have the right to be there or whatever. Just move. Go somewhere else. Anywhere else.

If you don't move, then you run the risk of being arrested for public order offences. All well and good when you're 18 and think you know everything, but you'll regret it when you grow up. Just remember that nobody will ever know everything. Except for me, but I'm better than all of you.

I've seen this countless times over the year.
    Like most of you, I grew up in a small town. Very little trouble and very little negative interaction with the Gardaí. I did hang around with the local trouble makers for a few months though.
    I remember a Garda telling us to move on from outside the local chippers one night. We were all drunk and stoned. The mouthpiece* of the group piped up and began going on and on about civil rights and all that other hippie crap.
    He got a slap for his efforts.

I was then taken aside by a Ban Garda. She saw that I was a few years younger than the others and told me that I would be better off not hanging around with them. I just nodded my head and tried not to look drunk. I was only 14.
    After the Gardai were gone, the sane member of the group asked me what she had said. I told him, and he said that she was right, so I moved on. A year later I was the mouthpiece of the next generation of local trouble makers.

For the next two years I was in the back of a squad car more times than I care to remember. I was also knocked around by the Gardaí, but I deserved it every time.
    If you think that being down €20 a week will lower your self esteem, then try spending the night in the drunk tank. It's basically a small room with a toilet on the floor and walls covered with excrement. The rest of the room, including the bed, is covered in urine. The previous occupants quite clearly preferred anywhere but the toilet when they had to go.

This is what happens when the Gardaí tell you to move and you disobey their orders.

The next time you decide to play Gandhi, remember that you're just an everyday jackass in a democratic country where most of the people don't give a flying fúck what happens to you when you're sitting in the middle of the street, and not the inspirational leader of a country of Hundreds of Millions who is fighting off the oppression of the British Empire.

Heed my words when I tell you that disobeying the orders of the Gardaí will land you in a cell with the people you most despise (you know, the knackers that you are always mouthing off about).
    You will not be a hero when your potential employers check your records. You'll just be another of those dole bums you are always whining about.

If you want to overthrow the government, you would want to have a much better plan than a sit-in in the DoF. I'd suggest garnering the support of the majority of the country, building a small army, armin yourself to the teeth, and then storming Leinster house and various other places of interest.

Or, you know, just don't vote for FF or FG at the next election.

You're welcome.

Not all of the people outside the dept. of finance when the protesters were thrown out were actually in the building in the first place. Many of them were Sinn Féiners looking to start trouble outside, they advanced towards the the building when they saw a group of guards entering the building. And in the scenes shown of the people been thrown out of the department of finance in one of the above videos it didn't show what happened before that. The first of the people thrown out were literally kicked and stamped out and thrown around like rag dolls. The DoF protest was hijacked by Militant dickheads which made matters even worse and were the cause of the riot squad being called. And as I said before a spokeswomen for the department of finance said in the Indo today that there was no security issue with the sit in protesters before the guards arrived.

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/two-are-charged-following-angry-clashes-with-students-2406942.html
    A number of students went into the outer lobby of the Department of Finance, but a spokeswoman said there was "no security issue". She said they left shortly after entering the building.
    A garda spokesman said 50 people entered the lobby but were removed a short time later by gardai.
    However, Madeleine Johansson of the Socialist Workers Party (SWP) said they were never asked by gardai to vacate the building.
    "We were forcefully removed, with several people sustaining injuries and taken to hospital," she said.

That is the actual section, probably 2 sides to it.
    Like, do you think it would have been a good idea keeping that mob outside, while protesters where inside?

From the video evidence I've seen, I think they handled it well over all.

Pretty good thread on the Politics section as well.

Student Protest Kicks Off (see video only posts warning) - boards.ie

I wouldn't be surprised a few Guards over reacted but I'd sayinnocent people were very naieve, at best, to stay around that long after the main protest was over.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,721 Mod ✭✭✭✭Twee.

My friend gave me a good laugh with this description of the culprits
    But with every protest you're going to get a few of people who either aren't students or students who have read too many Wikipedia articles about great revolutionary figures before going off and doing something stupid...

That is the actual section, probably 2 sides to it.
    Like, do you think it would have been a good idea keeping that mob outside, while protesters where inside?

From the video evidence I've seen, I think they handled it well over all.

Pretty good thread on the Politics section as well.

Student Protest Kicks Off (see video only posts warning) - boards.ie

I wouldn't be surprised a few Guards over reacted but I'd sayinnocent people were very naieve, at best, to stay around that long after the main protest was over.

I don't agree with the Baggot street protest as I thought that they were going to be counter-productive in the first place but I believe that the Gardaí were using excessive force on the Sit down protesters, not the sinn féiners and drunk clowns. I'm sorry but my opinions aren't going to be changed on that just because a couple of know-it-alls decide to desend on boards.ie and say what they think happened just because they saw a couple of videos. The whole incident happened over 1 hour not a 9 minute video. You're just assuming, have you actually spoken to any of the sit down protester and got a real account?

Overheal puts it nicely on the politics forum;
    You misunderstand my post: douchebag throws a rock at the gards. Gards advance. In response to gards advancing, 100 students choose to sit down and have a protest not knowing they're getting in the way of arresting the rock throwing douchebag.

The decision to have the sit down protest where it was was not planned out properly, my argument is against the people who claim that everyone on baggot street that day were looking for trouble and inciting violence, which they weren't. This is questioning the sit down protesters integrity.

I don't agree with the Baggot street protest as I thought that they were going to be counter-productive in the first place but I believe that the Gardaí were using excessive force on the Sit down protesters, not the sinn féiners and drunk clowns. I'm sorry but my opinions aren't going to be changed on that just because a couple of know-it-alls decide to desend on boards.ie and say what they think happened just because they saw a couple of videos. The whole incident happened over 1 hour not a 9 minute video. You're just assuming, have you actually spoken to any of the sit down protester and got a real account?

The decision to have the sit down protest where it was was not planned out properly, my argument is against the people who claim that everyone on baggot street that day were looking for trouble and inciting violence, which they weren't. This is questioning the sit down protesters integrity.

That's why I mentioned naieve.

Some "innocent" people are going to get hurt with "rent a mobbers" like that around.

Chalk it down to experience and next time, move on, when it looks like these thugs are starting.

Expecting nobody to get hurt, including the odd innocent bystander is nice, idyllic and touching, but not real world stuff.

PS. The Guards responsibility was to remove the protestors from the building, so that a siege didn't start there. That's why the horses, dogs and riot squad was used. The training they got was well used.

That's why I mentioned naieve.

Some "innocent" people are going to get hurt with "rent a mobbers" like that around.

Chalk it down to experience and next time, move on, when it looks like these thugs are starting.

Expecting nobody to get hurt, including the odd innocent bystander is nice, idyllic and touching, but not real world stuff.

Yes, I agree, all I'm trying to say is that the people involved in the peaceful protests weren't all thugs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

In the videos you can see the ones sitting down were the same ones who had just before hand been kicking the Gardaí and charging the lines.

k_mac wrote: »
    In the videos you can see the ones sitting down were the same ones who had just before hand been kicking the Gardaí and charging the lines.
    Shh. You're pointing out the obvious.
    The video was edited to make it look like the Gardaí were the instigators of violence, but the editor ****ed up by leaving in the first bit.

The crusties just want to see the Gardaí being violent. They have deliberately ignored the start of the clip.

k_mac wrote: »

Oh and you think that some sinn féiners weren't going to try and blend in to avoid arrest. The only person I noticed was who was attacking the Gardaí before sitting down was one ginger guy. This was not the case with everyone. The protest was hijacked by thugs. I'm not going to stand by and have people I know who are not naturally violent and I know to be very good natured be called thugs.

Hi. I'm Terry.
    It's nice to meet you, Mr. I know every single student in the country.
    Thank you for pointing out that all of those causing trouble were not students.
    SF look forward to getting 1,000 votes from all those present outside the DoF.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭EvilMonkey

I hope An Garda Síochána use all these videos to identify the hard men throwing stuff from the crowd and prosecute them.

Throwing stuff at the horses in the mounted unit should count as assaulting a guard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,943 ✭✭✭wonderfulname

EvilMonkey wrote: »
    I hope An Garda Síochána use all these videos to identify the hard men throwing stuff from the crowd and prosecute them.

Throwing stuff at the horses in the mounted unit should count as assaulting a guard.

I was wondering this myself, in many other countries it would be done but not sure about here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

prinz, is there a law against the use of teargas in this country? If so it should be repealed, and would have been ideal..

Even if tear had of been available it shouldn't have been used. The situation was far from ideal, in a narrow enough street, with a large compact crowd, some sitting down. Fire a tear gas canister into that and what you're going to have is something approaching a stampede with the possibility of far more serious injuries than a couple of grazes. Firing of tear gas should only be done where there is space enough for people to safely vacate the area quickly. Tear gas on that crowd outside the DofF could have ended in needless deaths.

When Mr & Mrs Bloggs are told that little Mary was trampled and died by the fleeing crowd because gardaí fired tear gas into an overcrowded area I am sure you'd be back saying 'why didn't they just take people out one by one/ pushing the crowd back slowly, until they are in a location where they can safely be dispersed.That would have been ideal'.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

Terry wrote: »
    That video is awesome.
    It has everything. It's like Die Hard in 2 and a half minutes.
    There's the hot chick being abducted by hostile government forces, the token black guy, the party scene, the violence and a few other things I've forgotten since watch ing it.

Well done, contributes so much wisdom and insight to the topic.

The Gardaí in now way over-reacted in that video.
    You can clearly see at the start theat people were provoking them by verbally abusing them, kicking them and pushing them.

Aw, were the poor officers feelings hurt when people called them ****? I'm sure the riot shields are all bruised and sore this morning from those mean students pushing and kicking their poor perspex frames!

When a Garda tells you to move, then you fúcking move. Don't tell them that you're waiting for a friend, or you have the right to be there or whatever. Just move. Go somewhere else. Anywhere else.

If you don't move, then you run the risk of being arrested for public order offences.

What a load of absolute bollocks.

If you actually cause a public order offence you run the risk of being arrested for a public order offence.
    If I am sitting/standing/spinning around in circles/whatever in a public place and a Garda comes along and tells me to move on, I will point out that I have a right to do as I wish in a public place so long as I am not breaking any laws, if he tells me move or I'll be arrested I will ask him under what law will I be arrested, if he cannot give me an answer I will tell him to jog on and mind his own ****ing business and go back to whatever it was I was doing.

I remember a Garda telling us to move on from outside the local chippers one night. We were all drunk and stoned. The mouthpiece* of the group piped up and began going on and on about civil rights and all that other hippie crap.
    He got a slap for his efforts.

The mouthpiece you mention should have taken the ID number of the garda in question and reported him. That is assault and the garda is nothing more than a common thug for hitting an adolescent.
    For the next two years I was in the back of a squad car more times than I care to remember. I was also knocked around by the Gardaí, but I deserved it every time.

If you hadn't been breaking laws you wouldn't have been arrested. If you weren't breaking laws and were still arrested then you should have done somehting about it. So either you were (a) a bit of a scumbag when you were a young lad or (b) perfectly content to let authority figures break the law and violate your civil rights. Either way, you should have had mroe cop on.

Heed my words when I tell you that disobeying the orders of the Gardaí will land you in a cell with the people you most despise (you know, the knackers that you are always mouthing off about).
    You will not be a hero when your potential employers check your records. You'll just be another of those dole bums you are always whining about.
    If you are breaking a law by ignoring the garda this is a valid point, but if you arrseted for no reason then you are well within your rights to seek justice in whatever way the law allows for your specific case.
    If you want to overthrow the government, you would want to have a much better plan than a sit-in in the DoF. I'd suggest garnering the support of the majority of the country, building a small army, armin yourself to the teeth, and then storming Leinster house and various other places of interest.

Or, you know, just don't vote for FF or FG at the next election.

Who here actually said they wanted a revolution? People have been saying that the garda used excessive force, nothing more than that, they havent been calling people to arms and iciting insurgency!
    You're welcome.

Thank you for your pearls of wisdom:rolleyes:

Seaneh wrote: »
    Aw, were the poor officers feelings hurt when people called them ****? I'm sure the riot shields are all bruised and sore this morning from those mean students pushing and kicking their poor perspex frames!

Last I heard three gardaí were injured.
    If I am sitting/standing/spinning around in circles/whatever in a public place and a Garda comes along and tells me to move on, I will point out that I have a right to do as I wish in a public place so long as I am not breaking any laws, if he tells me move or I'll be arrested I will ask him under what law will I be arrested, if he cannot give me an answer I will tell him to jog on and mind his own ****ing business and go back to whatever it was I was doing.

It also depends what the people around you are doing Seaneh.
    Who here actually said they wanted a revolution? People have been saying that the garda used excessive force, nothing more than that, they havent been calling people to arms and iciting insurgency!

Yet no one has been able to actually show excessive force..

prinz wrote: »
    Last I heard three gardaí were injured.

And that's bad form, but many, many more non-violent protesters were injured.
    It also depends what the people around you are doing Seaneh.

In his post he says, "when a garda tells you to move you move" implying that the garda ALWAYS have a right to tell you what to do. this is not true. I was replying on that context.

I never said the garda used excessive force, I said "People have been saying that the garda used excessive force". I didn't give my opinion either way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,682 ✭✭✭LookingFor

04:25 of the video posted.

Garda grabs man and drags. Subsequently grabs him by his hair and drags.

Was unnecessary and excessive IMO. He could have continued to pull him by the scruff of his neck or got a new hold elsewhere on him.

Look, a number of the people in this protest were no angels. What they were doing was wrong, throwing **** at the police and horses was bang out of order. But you do expect more from police. Many of the police here may have stuck to their training and not used excessive force but I don't know if they all did.

And that's bad form, but many, many more non-violent protesters were injured..

Were they? How many? What kinds of injuries? How many were directly inflicted by gardaí? Remember the last kerfuffle up at the gates of Leinster House... we saw a fella being brought away with a bloody face... apparently the gardaí had tried to crack his skull... only problem was he was caught on video getting injured and it was one of his fellow protestors who gave him a smack.
    In his post he says, "when a garda tells you to move you move" implying that the garda ALWAYS have a right to tell you what to do. this is not true. I was replying on that context..

In general it's a good rule of thumb to follow instructions. Chances are if a garda is telling you to move along they have good reason.
    I never said the garda used excessive force, I said "People have been saying that the garda used excessive force". I didn't give my opinion either way.

That's why I said no one who claimed it had been able to back it up properly.

LookingFor wrote: »
    Garda grabs man and drags. Subsequently grabs him by his hair and drags.
    Was unnecessary and excessive IMO. He could have continued to pull him by the scruff of his neck or got a new hold elsewhere on him. .

One instance that is really much ado about nothing. The lad has to be removed and for his own safety it is best if he is taken behind the front line as quickly as possible. Not best practice to grab someone by the hair but if that's the worst thing that happens..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 32,690 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

Being flung at a solid piece of mass is not fun I tell ye...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,682 ✭✭✭LookingFor

One instance that is really much ado about nothing. The lad has to be removed and for his own safety it is best if he is taken behind the front line as quickly as possible. Not best practice to grab someone by the hair but if that's the worst thing that happens..

I agree he should have been removed. But the manner in which it was done was excessive and unnecessary IMO. There is probably a valid complaint to be made in that interaction.

All I'm saying is I would not be confident in saying that the police all acted appropriately or that excessive force was not used in some cases. If we can pinpoint one incident in one video there's a good chance others were happening. It might not have been the majority or even a significant minority of the low level interactions that were going on, but it was probably there.

In the terms of the wider general response, I don't disagree that this part of the protest needed to be dispersed. But I do wonder if the gardai would have reacted the same way with all groups. If you substitute students for pensioners, with all the same context, would they have reacted quite the same way? I can't imagine pensioners ever would put themselves in this situation, but just a hypothetical. I don't know if we'd be seeing the same stuff. I think the gardai know they can get away with different amounts with different types of people, and I'm not sure that goes down well with me.

Were they? How many? What kinds of injuries? How many were directly inflicted by gardaí? Remember the last kerfuffle up at the gates of Leinster House... we saw a fella being brought away with a bloody face... apparently the gardaí had tried to crack his skull... only problem was he was caught on video getting injured and it was one of his fellow protestors who gave him a smack.

I have no idea what you are talking about....
    As for numbers, I have no idea, odds are the majority of them weren't recorded and there have been no figures reported that I can find, as is usually the case in such instances.

In general it's a good rule of thumb to follow instructions. Chances are if a garda is telling you to move along they have good reason.

In my personal experience, no, they don't.
    Just one example, sitting on the banks of the shannon reading a book about 6 months ago, garda comes up to me and asks me what I am doing, I glance to my book, glance back at him and said "reading a book". He tells me to stand up. I ask why. He tells me to "do what I tell you or I'll arrest you". I asked what he would arrest me for, he starts giving me some speach, I cut him off mid sentence and told him that unless I was breaking any laws I wasn't aware of, could he please go bother someone else.
    this lad was about 23, probably just out of templemore, probably bored and probably just trying to be a dickhead.
    Why the hell should I have listened to him?
    That's why I said no one who claimed it had been able to back it up properly.
    The posted above backed it up fairly well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 884 ✭✭✭ya-ba-da-ba-doo

The guards chose to act in an unjustified, aggressive manner towards what was a peaceful protest. This power-tripping ignorance created confrontation..

It would be laughable how badly the Gardaí handled it only a good few people got hurt.

What's worse is the attitude shown by the USI and its leadership in blaming peaceful protesters for starting the confrontation.

Nothing but a bunch of sell-outs looking to make it in politics.