Students attack Leinster house with Mars Bars

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,915 ✭✭✭cursai

Everyone has a right to protest. Everyone knows protests can get out of hand! When the Gardai have to use physical force to effect arrest and ensure public safety the protesters AND their supporters shouldn't complain when physical force IS used. Although from what i gather their were the few usual extremists and protest chasers at it. The Gardai aren't gonna hold anything personal against the protesters either, even the ones that got the slaps with the Mars bars!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

At the end of the day... Before and after a protest, the only winner is the pub's.

It's not like the government have listened to us before.....

France do it right though.. They add two years to the retirement age so they shut down the country... We walk with signs..

Who is heard better by the government?

Just like today, no one here or in the media would be talking about this issue so much if they just walked....

Those guards were scum though... I was there and didn't see any violence by us students.. I was at the back though so not sure what the socialists/sinn fein lads up front were at....

Neither ;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,287 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

France do it right though.. They add two years to the retirement age so they shut down the country... We walk with signs..

Who is heard better by the government?

The retirement age is still changing in France so they changed nothing with their whinging.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭TashaMonster

Those guards were scum though... I was there and didn't see any violence by us students.. I was at the back though so not sure what the socialists/sinn fein lads up front were at....

I wasn't there either but I saw lots of videos of missiles being thrown at gardai, So if you label all the gardai scum I guess ALL the protesters were scum as well. Generalisations work both ways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭flas

its going to be funny to see how the gardai riot squad do during the europa cup final being played in dublin in may. 60,000 odd drunken football fans all together in the city centre and going to and from the aviva stadium, the gardai seperating them and trying to keep crowd control. i certainly hope for their sake they go to european cities in the run up to this match and see how proper crowd control is done. if they tried their antics like they did today it would not be a few drunken students and socialist's they have to deal with, it would be a different kettle of fish altogether and it will be broadcast all over the world.

they might mistake crowd chanting and normal boistrious behavious by the fans as being aggressive and misjudge the situation and go running in like they have done so so so many times in the past. this would be ridiculous!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,939 ✭✭✭mikedragon32

Having attended ICTU demonstrations previously it strikes me that the Socialist Workers Party are rent a mob who seem intent on disorder.

Even at the last demo on the day the Dail resumed after the summer recess, SWP were there with their usual rants/chants/slogans and disrupted the speeches from the platform by using megaphones.

To cap it all off, when that demo finished and everyone dispersed to return to work, they heckled everyone leaving branding us "part timers". I retorted, "no, I'm a full time worker, I'm going back to my job"

After seeing them in action today on Merrion Sq., I must confess, they'd put me off attending any further demos as the message gets lost in headlines like we're reading/seeing this evening.

Same applies to incidents like the Harney V Paint one. There was a lawful protest going on, but again the headlines were about the rights and wrongs of the attack, not the veneer of Harney's visit to the site.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

Few storys from 104

'Some lad saying he has to sell drugs to get an education so he went and started trouble . '

Another caller

'He turned up too make it like France, they have the right attitude. Just run amuck. Run amuck. His reason for high jacking the protest, too let the government know there not dealing with ejits. And we will be there every protest and there will be ****ing myhem at every protest.'

msg11 wrote: »
    Few storys from 104

'Some lad saying he has to sell drugs to get an education so he went and started trouble . '

Another caller

'He turned up too make it like France, they have the right attitude. Just run amuck. Run amuck. His reason for high jacking the protest, too let the government know there not dealing with ejits. And we will be there every protest and there will be ****ing myhem at every protest.'

....maybe its about time? Were being turned into slaves shackled by debt!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,939 ✭✭✭mikedragon32

Flas wrote:
    60,000 odd drunken football fans

I know they're football fans but surely they're not all odd?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

Great to see what most ircollege students do best. Get **** faced on cheap drink and then causing problems. (not all are like that of course but too many are)

This would never had happened on cannabis. Infact everyone would be sitting down, chilling to Marley in a peaceful protest. :p

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,287 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

cursai wrote: »
    ....maybe its about time? Were being turned into slaves shackled by debt!

Didn't seem to bother people too much when they were taking out ridiculous mortgages or personal loans for flatscreens, new cars and holidays during the boom.

People were falling all over each other to become debt-slaves back then.

Didn't seem to bother people too much when they were taking out ridiculous mortgages or personal loans for flatscreens, new cars and holidays during the boom.

People were falling all over each other to become debt-slaves back then.

Ive no mortgage or any other kind of debt. Like it or not were ALL gonna be constricted by enormous debt for a long time to come.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,099 ✭✭✭Dean820

Protest looked very out of control on the news, there's no need to be bloodying up people like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 228 ✭✭BickNarry

I never got anything from the Celtic Tiger-in fact we did worse during it. I didn't even want to go to college,but i had to cause it was the only choice of ever having enough money.

So now I've nearly got a degree. Already struggled (financially) through three years of something I don't enjoy to find out i might not be able to finish the course. The course with which I will be using to get a job with which i will suffer financially because of the recession. (And yes I have working since I was fifteen.)
    Well I don't consider breaking the law "peaceful" even if you're sitting down when you do it.

Seriously though?I mean if we're going to be pragmatic about.

I don't have a chip on my shoulder,I didn't go protesting. I went to college. I wasn't going to comment, but this really pisses me off.

Go throw **** at guards or burn down a Mc Donalds, I don't give a ****,but don't act like life is all rosy and lets be nice and get through this together. We're all screwed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 417 ✭✭muffy

Plumpynutt wrote: »
    i too was there today. i went without any intention of partaking in violence. i took part in the sit-down protest. i did not throw anything, or incite violence in anyway.
    however when i saw the actions of the riot police, i was infuriated. there was no need for the excessive force they used on the peaceful protesters.

i'm not talking about the ones that charged at the riot police, or who threw the missiles,(they deserved to be arrested) im talking about the people who were sitting down, and had their heads clobbered by those police. i saw one woman get bashed, and another man who was sitting calmly on the ground get hit 3 times.
    after i witnessed this, it made me even more adamant that i would not move. i only moved when they started moving in with the combination of riot police, dogs, and mounted police as i had no intention of getting batoned.
    hear,hear

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,125 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

it's also to protect the people working in the Dept of Finance from thugs protesting in the building.
    it's also their job to disperse hostile crowds who ignore multiple warnings to move.
    it's also their right to protect themselves.

if the "protesters" hadn't been throwing missiles, and getting physical with gardai, they wouldn't have gotten hurt.

fu_ck them.

I'm not exactly sure if 'thug' is the right word to use in this case. They had a sit-in in the Dept Finance lobby; not exactly a characteristic thuggery. Such sit-in are quite common, remember St. Patrick's cathedral a few years ago? At this point we must understand correctly the groups of students involved in this separate protest. Many were left or moderately left leaning - such as SWP and Labour Youth. Of course as the dept finance is private property the owner have right to through them out. I myself am affiliated with LY but I did not and do not support the lobby sit-in as it was just counter-productive and pointless, I have even more reason now to disapprove of them. I think that the cohort who did enter the department were naive in thinking that it wouldn't have been seen as a provocation - I don't think it was even planned that well. Nonetheless, it wasn't intentionally a hostile sit-in. The rest I am not totally clear on; having refused to take part in this separate protest and sit-in and only seeing the tale end of the riot. I have been filed in by friends who were in the sit in and understandably it may be quite biased. The Gardaí through the students out of the Dept. Finance lobby. Some students outside seeing this got angry, thinking that the students inside were being physically assaulted by Gardaí. At this point missile were thrown and a small skirmish broke out between Gardaí, riot police and students. Most of the students engaged in the sit-out outside the department remained on the ground, some of the students who were involved in the sit-in inside the lobby joined the sit-down outside (this is clearly visible in videos circulating the internet).

After a time however, things got ugly, missiles were thrown (prominently by more militant protesters not specifically associated with LY or SWP - many of my friends are calling them 'militant d*ckheads' who were just looking for trouble). The sit-down protesters were hit with batons and forced from their positions - note that these individuals were not engaged in violence. One or two people were dragged behind the riot police lines and beaten (videos of this are circulating this thread).

My conclusion is that it was totally irresponsible of LY, SWP and other political organisations to engage in this break away protest. Not only has it blackened their image but it has blackened the image of all of the other students who were engaged in the OFFICIAL USI protest. It was thoroughly unproductive. The riot is dominating the news instead of the real issues that the other 40,000 students came to voice their opinions on. A few die-hards wanted to make a name for themselves and their respective organisations. While their intentions were good (i.e., non-violent) I find that it was quite naive of them to assume that the undesirable militant socialists wouldn't follow the break away protest and start causing a lot of the violence - a further indication to the fact that the break away protest wasn't organised or thought out properly. Word of the plans would have spread fast as all of the other political left wing parties were in the same place at the same time - in other words the break away protest was doomed to failure. At the same time, I am concerned at the level of violence used against the sit-down protesters by riot police and Gardaí.

Given today's incident I am now reviewing my affiliation with Labour Youth. I support the Labour Party but I believe that the youth wing needs greater organisation and planning. It there was a greater structure to the LY and indeed other Youth leftist organisations, today's incidents could have been avoided. If LY goes back the militant stance it had in the 70's and 80's I certainly will be withdrawing my membership. I will be bringing this issue up at the National LY Conference on Friday in Maynooth.

Regards,

KP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,670 ✭✭✭Doc

To the people who are saying just cut down on your socialising please remember that most of the time the money comes from the parents of the people going to university and this increase will hit them along with the increases that we are bound to be hit with in the budget. They are going to struggle to find an extra 1000 a year (or more depending on how many kids are in collage). True most will find a way to pay it but the people who are just scraping by at the moment wont and will have to drop out so once again it is the poorer people in Ireland that will ultimately suffer.

To the people who say it is more or equally expensive in England please remember that in England they have the student loan system which allows means tested students (although I never meet anyone who couldn’t get the student loan) to be given a loan by the government to pay for there fees which they do not have to repay until they are working in a job earning above a certain pay level. If a similar scheme were to be introduced here and the fees raised then I think people could cope but simply raising the cost at a time when jobs are very hard to come by will only cut the number of people who can afford a 3rd level education.

Having a less educated population with people who have existing qualifications leaving the country to find work and young people not being able to afford education will not do our prospects for economic recovery any good.

Its about time people protested the fact that the government are spending our money in such bad ways propping up failing banks and having ridicules expense clams paid and then taking it from education and other services. If you are getting angry about being delayed in traffic because of protests or the costs of the clean up you are really getting angry at the wrong things.

The government will continue to do and act the same way as long as we do and act the same way.

Fair play to the students!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 720 ✭✭✭Des Carter

Ok just to clear things up I think this is what happened.

1.official student protest - was a success and was peaceful.

2. A large number of students thought it wasnt enough and planned a peaceful sit-in in DoF and sitting on the street outside.

3. Trouble makers come and start throwing things at Gardai from the crowd standing up.

4.Gardai get frustrated cause they cant get the people throwing the objects.

5. Gardai snap and start beating the living hell out of the peaceful protestors sitting down.

6. Many protestors react to this and start fighting back and are joined by the troublemakers.

7. A lot of bloodied students and 3 injured cops.

Is this accurate?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,965 ✭✭✭SarahBeep!

There are always cunts who ruin it for everyone....it was only ever meant to be a peaceful protest :(:mad::(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 64 ✭✭conno3001

I was at the protest today. Great stuff all around, didn't spot any trouble at all to be frank. I just stuck with the main crowd and did the usual march. Got in town at 11:30am with the SU crowd and left at 3:30pm when the main protest officially finished.

I was surprised to find anything about rioting or anything similar when I checked the news online at home though.

As far as the actual "minority" protest/rioting goes if people want to have a sit-down outside a public building on a public road fair enough, I wouldn't expect them to the batoned. To the above poster about the accusations of a video of the sit-down being shopped I say this: "lol". However doing it inside a building is taking the piss a bit and I would expect some degree of action if the crowd hasn't moved on. To the so called protesters stirring **** and throwing things and I'm sure there was a few even if it was 0.1% of the crowd, feck off somewhere else.

As far as drinking and drunk protesters goes, can't say I spotted any, however I did spot two people with cans drinking and they didn't seem very pissed. They did happen to be culchies also, which is irrelevant tbh but since it was discussed earlier I might as well mention that.

This has been my first proper protest and I can say I will be going to any future ones that will be planned in relation to the education budget and fee's.I also thought the national and ITT SU did a brilliant job imo.

Des Carter wrote: »

2. A large number of students thought it wasnt enough and planned a peaceful sit-in in DoF and sitting on the street outside.

3. Trouble makers come and start throwing things at Gardai from the crowd standing up.

5. Gardai snap and start beating the living hell out of the peaceful protestors sitting down.

6. Many protestors react to this and start fighting back and are joined by the troublemakers.

Is this accurate?

In a nutshell, yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,305 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Is this accurate?

I'd add, people were forcefully evicted from the Dept. of Finance building, which was a fair enough response.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 417 ✭✭muffy

Is this accurate?

Yes, and just to further this, many people, like myself, might like to distance themselves from USI for many reasons, one being the fact that there are strong Fianna Fail connections. Now the blame starts to fly about onto other political organisations ..."ooo its those pesky socialists/republicans/not centre right party again". The troublemakers were just the rent a crowd thugs until the gardai showed up and made a balls of things.

muffy wrote: »
    Yes, and just to further this, many people, like myself, might like to distance themselves from USI for many reasons, one being the fact that there are strong Fianna Fail connections. Now the blame starts to fly about onto other political organisations ..."ooo its those pesky socialists/republicans/not centre right party again". The troublemakers were just the rent a crowd thugs until the gardai showed up and made a balls of things.

The "rent-a-mob" group, as you say were to prime cause of the violence, I agree. I do however believe that the other LY, SWP, etc.. should have expected the militant thugs to show up, given that there was a huge amount of people there and word spreads fast. They should have just remained in the main protest. You have to see though that given the scale of the events today, the Dof sit-in was bound to be fairly unproductive. They should have done that on another day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭PanchoVilla

K-9 wrote: »
    I'd add, people were forcefully evicted from the Dept. of Finance building, which was a fair enough response.

Seems you can only hold a sit-in when you have any sort of power in this country, which students do not. Imagine what would happen if Gardaí had dragged these two men out of the taxi regulator's office.

http://www.rte.ie/news/2010/0309/taxi.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,965 ✭✭✭SarahBeep!

You also have people with agendas on the internet. Often you'll find they rarely have a good word about the Guards and that has to borne in mind too, it's just another chance to get a dig in.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

Seems you can only hold a sit-in when you have any sort of power in this country, which students do not. Imagine what would happen if Gardaí had dragged these two men out of the taxi regulator's office.

http://www.rte.ie/news/2010/0309/taxi.html

Maybe I'm missing something?

Where did they attack the Guards?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 720 ✭✭✭Des Carter

K-9 wrote: »
    Maybe I'm missing something?

Where did they attack the Guards?

When did the students inside the DoF attack the guards? :confused::confused::confused:

Answer my question first.

Is the protest of 2 taxi men in anyway comparable to what went on today?

Answer that and we can then address the next point.