Students attack Leinster house with Mars Bars

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,272 ✭✭✭Barna77

Good to see that some of the students that made their way up to Dublin, took the opportunity to visit some of the capital's most important landmarks, like Doyles and so on. All of them with free admission, have to save money to pay fees :D :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,125 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

Well they were breaking the law, so yes they were bound to face some negative consequences. As I asked in my post can you suggest an alternative way to move a crowd?

Clarify for me do you think its appropriate for protesters to throw missiles at gardai who are just standing nearby and haven't yet interacted with them in any way?

You mean non-interested hooligans disrupting a separate protest outside the DoF. A protest that was not affiliated with the USI.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,309 ✭✭✭giftgrub

Eirigi and the 32 County Sovereignty movement were there today. I saw them. I dont know what their position on college fees is...

giftgrub wrote: »
    Eirigi and the 32 County Sovereignty movement were there today. I saw them. I dont know what their position on college fees is...

I don't know if they have any position on this issue. They are drawn to large protests so they can voice their open; opinions that are no always directly associated with the protest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭Miss Lockhart

Well they were breaking the law, so yes they were bound to face some negative consequences.

Facing the consquences for breaking the law does not necessarily have to entail being beaten with a baton.

If that were the case then Gardai could beat people with a baton for such things as parking illegally, not paying for their TV licence etc.....

I never suggested there shouldn't be negative consequences - in fact I agreed there should be.
    As I asked in my post can you suggest an alternative way to move a crowd?

It is my opinion that, on assessment of the situation, clearing such a crowd is not such a priority that beating should be considered an option.

However, I am not an expert and don't claim to be. It is not for me to come up with ways to disperse a crowd. It is for the Gardai to come up with ways - which are within the guidelines set out for use of appropriate force etc.

I cannot see how beating people who are, at that time, not threatening, is appropriate.

I would have zero respect for a police force that would officially consider beating an appropriate response in such a situation.
    Clarify for me do you think its appropriate for protesters to throw missiles at gardai who are just standing nearby and haven't yet interacted with them in any way?

No, I don't think it is appropriate for protesters to throw missiles at gardai under any circumstances.

If you read my post you would know that - as I said anyone who throws a missile at Gardai should be arrested.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 648 ✭✭✭Plumpynutt

i too was there today. i went without any intention of partaking in violence. i took part in the sit-down protest. i did not throw anything, or incite violence in anyway.
    however when i saw the actions of the riot police, i was infuriated. there was no need for the excessive force they used on the peaceful protesters.

i'm not talking about the ones that charged at the riot police, or who threw the missiles,(they deserved to be arrested) im talking about the people who were sitting down, and had their heads clobbered by those police. i saw one woman get bashed, and another man who was sitting calmly on the ground get hit 3 times.
    after i witnessed this, it made me even more adamant that i would not move. i only moved when they started moving in with the combination of riot police, dogs, and mounted police as i had no intention of getting batoned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭TashaMonster

You mean non-interested hooligans disrupting a separate protest outside the DoF. A protest that was not affiliated with the USI.

Ahh well I wasn't there so I can't tell you who was throwing the missiles ! Thought one of the videos I saw was of the crowd walking along a road with Gardai walking behind them, there was lots of people wearing yellow t-shirts, were they USI? In that video you can clearly see missiles being thrown. I'm in NO way saying that USI was involved in that but I doubt the gardai had a chance to ask each individual were they affiliated with the USI or a non-interested hooligan.

I fully support the USI and I fully support the students that were protesting and their reason for protesting, my only problem is with the biased view towards the Gardai.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 271 ✭✭scorpioishere

It shows how immature they are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,078 ✭✭✭foxinsox

giftgrub wrote: »

I know I should google them and see who and what they are about..

But ..

SAY Eirigi OUT LOUD...

All I can think of is hairy gee :D

Apologies if this post offends anyone :p
    Maybe its just my bad gaeilge pronunciation..

It is my opinion that, on assessment of the situation, clearing such a crowd is not such a priority that beating should be considered an option.

I cannot see how beating people who are, at that time, not threatening, is appropriate.

Listen I don't want to get into an argument with anyone here, obviously I don't think anybody should be beaten but the Gardai had a job to do and what other way is there to move people who refuse. Like I said there is no magical solution. NO country has a better way of doing it, in fact other police forces use even MORE force.

It might not seem like a priority to you but it obviously was a priority to whoever was giving those Gardai their orders.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,119 ✭✭✭Wagon

Boards (for a year): "someone should protest" "why doesnt anyone protest?" "we're all sheep in this country!"

Students protest.

Boards: "lousy students" "wasters" "retards" ":rolleyes:"

Least they did something. But OH NO! No no no. That's retarded.

Fúck you Ireland. Enjoy complaining. you're best at what you like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

Anyone interested, Topic is currently on the FM104 Phoneshow. Although the topic title is not the same... :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,554 ✭✭✭steve9859

Oh please, nobody here is advocating violent protests. The violence was centered around a group of hooligans (a.k.a., Sinn Féiners) who decided to disrupt a separate protest outside the Dept. Finance by throwing stuff. We need more tacticians in the gardaí who target the people who are creating the violence and not just mowing down anyone they see. Brut force will never work.

Oh please. There are many posts crying out for us all to hit the streets in protest. You think all those posters just want to walk along and sing some songs?

Ahh well I wasn't there so I can't tell you who was throwing the missiles ! Thought one of the videos I saw was of the crowd walking along a road with Gardai walking behind them, there was lots of people wearing yellow t-shirts, were they USI? In that video you can clearly see missiles being thrown. I'm in NO way saying that USI was involved in that but I doubt the gardai had a chance to ask each individual were they affiliated with the USI or a non-interested hooligan.

I fully support the USI and I fully support the students that were protesting and their reason for protesting, my only problem is with the biased view towards the Gardai.

The USI hadn't planned a protest outside the DoF, the group who did broke away from the main protest. Some of the students who went to join the DoF protest took off their yellow t-shirts before doing so. TBH, I know that technically they had a right to protest but in fairness that brake away section of students is now painting a bad imagine from the other students who were involved in the main protest.

it seriously concerns me that people think that someone who is sitting down protesting - even if they are blocking a public area, should be beaten. There are ways to move them without the use of such force.

Sitting down protesting ..... in the middle of a road and refusing to comply with the directions given to them by the police force of this country.

Tell me a way to move them so?

steve9859 wrote: »
    Oh please. There are many posts crying out for us all to hit the streets in protest. You think all those posters just want to walk along and sing some songs?

No, I think that most of them wanted to have their voices heard (not specifically in the form of singing songs). Violence was not intended.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,315 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

Wagon wrote: »
    Boards (for a year): "someone should protest" "why doesnt anyone protest?" "we're all sheep in this country!"

Students protest.

Huh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Little Acorn

Wagon wrote: »

Students protest.

I just logged in to thank this post.

I'm off again now.

Sitting down protesting ..... in the middle of a road and refusing to comply with the directions given to them by the police force of this country.

Tell me a way to move them so?

JCB???

....obviously I don't think anybody should be beaten.........

Ok.

Though,obviously I think we can all imagine circumstances where significant force is required.

.......... but the Gardai had a job to do and what other way is there to move people who refuse.

It concerns me that you, and probably others, are so quick to find excuses for these actions. Even in a hypothethical situation where no violence is involved, you seem to be determined to excuse the beating of protesters as "doing a job" or "following orders".

The USI hadn't planned a protest outside the DoF, the group who did broke away from the main protest. Some of the students who went to join the DoF protest took off their yellow t-shirts before doing so. TBH, I know that technically they had a right to protest but in fairness that brake away section of students is now painting a bad imagine from the other students who were involved in the main protest.

Don't take this the wrong way but ye probably got more media coverage because of this incident, fair enought it's negative coverage but at least it'll be remembered :) The media coverage also references that it was a break away group so I think it's clear enough that the non peaceful part of the protest was not the intention of the USI

I just logged in to thank this post.

I'm off again now.
    If i was more of a man and you were a real woman, id buy you a drink ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,246 ✭✭✭✭Riamfada

Can anyone spot the president of USI in this picture?

Spoiler :
    second orange shirt from the right

Ok.

It concerns me that you, and probably others, are so quick to find excuses for these actions. Even in a hypothethical situation where no violence is involved, you seem to be determined to excuse the beating of protesters as "doing a job" or "following orders".

It concerns me that people are so quick to play the victim, just think acceptance of action equals consequence is an important factor to bear in mind.

Obviously we have different opinions on this, you think i'm excusing the actions of the Gardai, I think you're excusing the actions of people refusing to comply with the law.

We'll have to agree to disagree :)

JCB???

That's the first suggestion I got.

I like your style :D

amacachi wrote: »
    Huh?
    You use boards enough mate, you must have seen it. AH has been filled with people asking why nobody protests. So people did now and well, read the posts. even just on the first few pages. It's extremely annoying that when people actually get up and do something, there's complaints about it.

So fair play to the students from Wagon! you got off your arses and shouted. And you threw things as well! You were heard at least which is more than the usual middle aged wankbags in Dublin have done so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,539 ✭✭✭ghostdancer

Des Carter wrote: »
    Of course the USI aren't going to condone the attacks if they promote violence they will lose all credibility.

You should and are allowed to enter a government building and yes the Gardai will move you its just HOW they move you is the problem.

Uts a PUBLIC road you are allowed onto it you dont see police beating up homeless people who are sleeping on the streets.

The Gardais job is to protect the public, not harm them.

it's also to protect the people working in the Dept of Finance from thugs protesting in the building.
    it's also their job to disperse hostile crowds who ignore multiple warnings to move.
    it's also their right to protect themselves.

if the "protesters" hadn't been throwing missiles, and getting physical with gardai, they wouldn't have gotten hurt.

fu_ck them.

Obviously we have different opinions on this, you think i'm excusing the actions of the Gardai, I think you're excusing the actions of people refusing to comply with the law.

We'll have to agree to disagree :)

Obviously we will.

I made excuses for nobody.

I said those who did not comply with the law should face negative consequences - so did you.

It's the negative consequences we disagree about.

You think beating peaceful protesters is acceptable (since they just have to be moved no matter what). I don't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 653 ✭✭✭creativedrinker

At the end of the day... Before and after a protest, the only winner is the pub's.

It's not like the government have listened to us before.....

France do it right though.. They add two years to the retirement age so they shut down the country... We walk with signs..

Who is heard better by the government?

Just like today, no one here or in the media would be talking about this issue so much if they just walked....

Those guards were scum though... I was there and didn't see any violence by us students.. I was at the back though so not sure what the socialists/sinn fein lads up front were at....

You think beating peaceful protesters is acceptable.

Well I don't consider breaking the law "peaceful" even if you're sitting down when you do it.