Students attack Leinster house with Mars Bars

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

What brutality:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,135 ✭✭✭TheVoodoo

What brutality:confused:

Probably the Public Order Guards striking the unarmed protesters who were sitting on the ground, maybe?

That being said, They were given fair warning to get the f*uck away from the area.

Still don't think it justifies the response that was received.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭smk89

k_mac wrote: »
    Are you suggesting you ask for payment? I would be sure its pro bono.

It doesn't really affect us anyway, we get our fees paid for by the government just with 200 or so to pay. Some people bomb trains to get even with the Brits, I give them my education bill :D

if ya want something,like better conditions, ya gotta work for it.:D

We're not asking for better conditions, we're asking for the same conditions without their cost increasing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,539 ✭✭✭ghostdancer

the common thing in these videos seems to be the guards getting missiles thrown at them, or facing hostile and non-compliant "protesters".

it's a pity more of these little sh1ts didn't get arrested.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 811 ✭✭✭mal1

TheVoodoo wrote: »
    Probably the Public Order Guards striking the unarmed protesters who were sitting on the ground, maybe?

That being said, They were given fair warning to get the f*uck away from the area.

Still don't think it justifies the response that was received.

ah come on, play with fire...etc etc etc. What the hell do you expect? A pillow fight to break out?

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 13,475 Mod ✭✭✭✭iamstop

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,167 ✭✭✭gsxr1

What's cool about a herd of crusties moaning about having to pay for something.?

Backed up by the shadowy figures of the 'Socialist left' a bunch who never paid for anything in their lives.

lads!!!

news for ya

if ya want something,like better conditions, ya gotta work for it.:D

Like produce something that other people want to buy..

Sorry if that's an alien concept.

I get the feeling you are trolling this a bit now with the impression that you think you are paying for the education system on your own.

The fact is.

Young people need to study and be educated for the country to make money.

I am not a "shadowy figure of the 'Socialist left'" as you put it and have payed over 130000 in tax over the last ten years. More than most!

I also appreciate that I am part of society and hope that my money is also put to good use. To the benefit of EVERYONE who is a citizen in Ireland. Not just those who pay tax as you would have.

As said, I am not educated to a high level but fully appreciate the need for more technical people to be grown from our country to attract inward investment. Which in turn will inject enormous amounts of tax money into the this country.

Tell me tax payer .

What is your big plan attract investment if we cant provide a decent education system? I would love to know..

Gimp will have a 200k job in RTE in a few years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,135 ✭✭✭TheVoodoo

mal1 wrote: »
    ah come on, play with fire...etc etc etc. What the hell do you expect? A pillow fight to break out?

Oh i know, i did state how they were given fair warning, i was there myself, and i took heed of the warning. Defiantly playing with fire, dogs, horses and riot police by sticking around.

But i still think whacking someone whose sitting on the ground is a tad excessive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,125 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

Actually guys, I just saw a video on the incident at the Dept of Finance. I retract above comments.

There was an excess amount of violence used against students;

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,540 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

Pay your way buddy, don't expect John Q Taxpayer to bank roll you to a easy street.

Cop yourself on man.

I'd rather my taxes at going at least partly towards a proper education system in this country than seeing people like Bertie, Cowen, their buddy developers and all of the rest of the so-called elite who are still living the life of reilly while people are suffering on the streets, committing suicide, suffering in the schools, in the hospitals etc.

Have a look at any special needs school, take a trip down to them, see what they have to go through to get funding, and how the children suffer from the lack of it, it's absolutely heartbreaking.
    Then trot along to you nearest hospital, that's if it's still open, and see the people who are still awaiting surgery because there's not enough beds.
    Now trot along to your nearest St. Vincent De Paul's and ask them how they're getting along, they're doing fantastic work in this current climate, saving a lot of families with lots of debts etc.

If the government asked me for an extra 1% on the already excessive rate of tax I pay in this country I'd quite happily do so knowing that it was being put towards the education/special needs system and that my children, my nephews and nieces, my grandchildren and so on was able to get a proper education in this country, and a high level of 3rd level education if they required it.

We're no longer a low cost manufacturing company and so need to upskill in order to compete with other countries.
    The fact of the matter is other countries are miles ahead of us in education in spite of what the idiots in DoE say and we need to start removing the barriers to a proper education, not placing more in the way.

So I say fair play to the students for protesting, sure the Sinn Fein crowd were only there for trouble etc but people shouldn't be slagging off students for protesting. Instead they should grow a set of balls and join them instead of sitting at home on their pc slagging them off on boards and on another thread whining about the state of the country and how fúcked we are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 811 ✭✭✭mal1

Oh i know, i did state how they were given fair warning, i was there myself, and i took heed of the warning. Defiantly playing with fire, dogs, horses and riot police by sticking around.

But i still think whacking someone whose sitting on the ground is a tad excessive.

I know, but that whack creates the fear than retains the public order.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

Those guys are hardcore!!111!1!!

Should have catapulted themselves against the building.

It reduces fee's and makes a point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 106 ✭✭Laserhead

Seems like these were just a bunch of self righteous thugs who wanted to cause trouble, and got more than they bargained for. If you mess around with riot squads, you obviously have a thick enough skull to take a few knocks...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

Actually guys, I just saw a video on the incident at the Dept of Finance. I retract above comments.

There was an excess amount of violence used against students;

That video was clearly edited. Look at the speed of the batons. A baton swung that hard has no force. Something isn't right there. I also like how the bit at the bottom where the protesters are kicking the Gardaí has been omitted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,078 ✭✭✭foxinsox

From rte.ie

Union of Students of Ireland President Gary Redmond said he is saddened by the actions of a minority of protestors today.

Mr Redmond said the occupation of the Department of Finance by a number of protestors was not representative of the USI.

Gary Redmond said the actions of protestors engaged in a sit-down protest outside Leinster House were also not condoned by the USI.

A garda spokesperson said 50 people entered the lobby of the Department of Finance on Merrion Row but were removed a short time later by gardaí.

Just thought I'd add my bit to this...

No matter who you are or what makes you mad..

You can't just waltz into a government department and think you can just sit down..

The Gardai will move you..

If you sit on a public road, you are in the way..

They are doing their jobs and protecting the government..

Ireland is a democratic country..

Whatever ejits are in government, the majority voted them in..

The Dept. of Finance is probably quite busy at the moment trying to sort out the country, last thing it needs is 50 people on the floor to be tripping over.. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,851 ✭✭✭veryangryman

I think its kind of cringeworthy listening to the students being interviewed. Some quotes from today

Reporter: So why do you think doubling the reg fee will affect you
    Student: Cos like, i dont wanna be paying extra like.

Inspiring stuff. When put up against those HSE cutbacks, gut wrenching stories etc, the students are fecked. It doesnt help that they are young and not really upto public speaking yet, so any point made by the USI people just becomes a "bit of a laugh" or day in the local.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,943 ✭✭✭wonderfulname

That video was clearly edited. Look at the speed of the batons. A baton swung that hard has no force.

Hmm i feel an experiment coming on :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Agree with you there.
    Ghandi would've been fucked today.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,721 Mod ✭✭✭✭Twee.

Just saw the bit on the news. Good on RTE for stating that it was a peaceful protest until a group separated and caused the riots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭twincamman

alot of those students willl be boozing tommorow night .more money.:D

Sc@recrow wrote: »
    I'd rather my taxes at going at least partly towards a proper education system in this country than seeing people like Bertie, Cowen, their buddy developers and all of the rest of the so-called elite who are still living the life of reilly while people are suffering on the streets, committing suicide, suffering in the schools, in the hospitals etc.

Have a look at any special needs school, take a trip down to them, see what they have to go through to get funding, and how the children suffer from the lack of it, it's absolutely heartbreaking.
    Then trot along to you nearest hospital, that's if it's still open, and see the people who are still awaiting surgery because there's not enough beds.
    Now trot along to your nearest St. Vincent De Paul's and ask them how they're getting along, they're doing fantastic work in this current climate, saving a lot of families with lots of debts etc.

And why are there not enough beds may I ask, I'll tell you, because the majority tax money goes into paying inflated wages to the denizens of the HSE who refuse steadfastly to make change and adopt the norms of European standards, that's why.[/QUOTE]
    If the government asked me for an extra 1% on the already excessive rate of tax I pay in this country I'd quite happily do so knowing that it was being put towards the education/special needs system and that my children, my nephews and nieces, my grandchildren and so on was able to get a proper education in this country, and a high level of 3rd level education if they required it.

Well I most certainly wouldn't, why the fcuk would I shovel more tax eurons into a black hole which only serves to aggrandise the people in there and their union bosses. Teachers and educationalists are at the top of the pay scale in Europe thanks to Bartholmew A. and a pay cut across the board is needed
    We're no longer a low cost manufacturing company and so need to upskill in order to compete with other countries.
    The fact of the matter is other countries are miles ahead of us in education in spite of what the idiots in DoE say and we need to start removing the barriers to a proper education not placing more in the way..

other countries my be ahead of us in education, but they do it cost effectively, not the shambles and greed we have from educationalists.[/QUOTE]
    So I say fair play to the students for protesting, sure the Sinn Fein crowd were only there for trouble etc but people shouldn't be slagging off students for protesting. Instead they should grow a set of balls and join them instead of sitting at home on their pc slagging them off on boards and on another thread whining about the state of the country and how fúcked we are.

I say fair play too, but instead of targeting the taxpayer maybe they should look at the fat cats and academics and teachers who are earning a good crust, whilst being amongst the most militant and intransigent of the public sector unions.

If these overpaid and over privileged bunch decided to face reality maybe the students mightn't need to protest as much.

like sell the apartments in Bulgaria and take a bit of pain themselves.

reality buddy, that's what it is all about, not idealistic aspirations:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,745 ✭✭✭laugh

Wreck our capital city, our buildings and waste the time of our police force, I hope it goes up to €4000, why bother educating people with that level of respect for the country?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 417 ✭✭muffy

I have new found respect for the swp after today, always thought they were a bit too out there, but have to say they were exactly what we needed today. A peaceful protest was taking place until a few thugs/rent-a-mob started pushing and shoving. The gardai completely over reacted. Of course it turned ugly under those circumstances, if I'm to be classed as a violent thug for sitting on the ground then so be it...at least I wasn't pansying about moaning about how **** things are. Got a whack of a baton for my troubles. By a coward in riot gear with no identification number. Who are the gardai protecting? Not the people...
    (although a garda did say at one stage "I should sit down and join ye"...he didn't though).

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭flash1080

laugh wrote: »
    Wreck our capital city, our buildings and waste the time of our police force, I hope it goes up to €4000, why bother educating people with that level of respect for the country?

Dublin is a complete ****hole anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,315 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

laugh wrote: »

I agree, my sister and I weren't at the protest today so I hope our registration fee will be waived while those who were at it will have theirs up to 4k as you suggested.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,532 ✭✭✭WolfForager

A handful of people caused some trouble and you think we should all suffer? About 39.8k of that 40k dispersed quite peacefully after the demonstration.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭smk89

That video was clearly edited. Look at the speed of the batons. A baton swung that hard has no force. Something isn't right there. I also like how the bit at the bottom where the protesters are kicking the Gardaí has been omitted.

Are you saying it looks like a shop?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 720 ✭✭✭Des Carter

foxinsox wrote: »
    From rte.ie

Union of Students of Ireland President Gary Redmond said he is saddened by the actions of a minority of protestors today.

Mr Redmond said the occupation of the Department of Finance by a number of protestors was not representative of the USI.

Gary Redmond said the actions of protestors engaged in a sit-down protest outside Leinster House were also not condoned by the USI.

A garda spokesperson said 50 people entered the lobby of the Department of Finance on Merrion Row but were removed a short time later by gardaí.

Just thought I'd add my bit to this...

No matter who you are or what makes you mad..

You can't just waltz into a government department and think you can just sit down..

If you sit on a public road, you are in the way..

They are doing their jobs and protecting the government..

Ireland is a democratic country..

Whatever ejits are in government, the majority voted them in..

The Dept. of Finance is probably quite busy at the moment trying to sort out the country, last thing it needs is 50 people on the floor to be tripping over.. :D

Of course the USI aren't going to condone the attacks if they promote violence they will lose all credibility.

You should and are allowed to enter a government building and yes the Gardai will move you its just HOW they move you is the problem.

Uts a PUBLIC road you are allowed onto it you dont see police beating up homeless people who are sleeping on the streets.

The Gardais job is to protect the public, not harm them.
    Twee. wrote: »
    Just saw the bit on the news. Good on RTE for stating that it was a peaceful protest until a group separated and caused the riots.

Of course they did the Govt has a large share in RTE and so RTE spin and edit stories in favour of the government.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭TashaMonster

muffy wrote: »
    The gardai completely over reacted. Of course it turned ugly under those circumstances, Got a whack of a baton for my troubles. By a coward in riot gear with no identification number. Who are the gardai protecting? Not the people...
    (although a garda did say at one stage "I should sit down and join ye"...he didn't though).

You were sitting in a public place blocking the movement of people going about their daily business. YOU were in the wrong. Of course you have the right to protest but once you're informed it's time to move along and YOU refuse to do so then YOU must face the consequences.

As for calling the garda a coward, how dare you? 3 gaurds ended up injured today and they were just doing their job, they weren't to know if and when somebody in the crowd would pull out a weapon or try to harm them, you got hurt because you put yourself in a position where you were disobeying the law, what did you expect them to do once you refused to follow instructions, say pretty pretty please. His orders were to clear the street and thats what he did, Grow up and accept responsibility !