Students attack Leinster house with Mars Bars

• Closed Accounts Posts: 326 ✭✭whitesands

Stev_o wrote: »
    So what do you expect to do protesting then.

Sounds like you just want a riot for the sake of it tbh.
    What do I expect? it would let the bond markets know were not idiots & the bailouts are not happening, let the rich take the hit, it was their gamble.

I think it's unacceptable a couple of morons can give away our sovereignty & all we do is write strongly worded letters :rolleyes:

Ye, a riot would be good...it would be a start anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Chorcai

sdonn wrote: »
    What a pile of utter morons. Do they actually think the government is going to fall because they attack the Gardaí?

People with no respect for the law need to be locked up and the key thrown away, and that means almost everyone in the frames of that video not wearing a badge.

Fair play to the Guards when that girl went to the ground they immediately managed to get everyone away, An mhaith.

@anyone who protested violently - get out of this ****ing country, you're not wanted.

Thumbs up there for the Garda alright, she looked to be in a bad way. For shame that it ended up with a mini riot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

whitesands wrote: »
    What do I expect? it would let the bond markets know were not idiots & the bailouts are not happening, let the rich take the hit, it was their gamble.

I think it's unacceptable a couple of morons can give away our sovereignty & all we do is write strongly worded letters :rolleyes:

Ye, a riot would be good...it would be a start anyway.

What the fook do you know or care about bond markets?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 736 ✭✭✭Dilynnio

Fair ****ing play to them!

Go team students! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,532 ✭✭✭WolfForager

Was there today, left shortly after we reached kildare street, was perfectly peaceful up until then and i thought we had done a good job.

Then i heard about the rioting and knew that i had wasted my day.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,721 Mod ✭✭✭✭Twee.

I was at the protest today and thankfully left at Merrion Square at around 3 o'clock when I realised everyone around me was ****faced drunk. Such disgraceful behavior seen from many, many colleges and youth political parties.

A large group of students definitely saw this event as a big day out, up in the city, let's get pissed. The theme of the day was lost and will be ignored in subsequent reporting. The USI called for a peaceful protest to culminate up at Merrion Square, and it has been overshadowed by the behavior of a few idiots saying **** you to the government.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,125 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

There ya go, the Reds using an occasion to promote their failed agenda.

Immature students used as a ripe field to influence the failed politics and socialist agenda which seeks to beat down the the people who actualy want to achieve, and promote the wasters who want to enjoy the benefits of the state from cradle to grave.

The game is up.:rolleyes:

I support the left and I'm a proud member of Labour Youth but not these moronic hard line socialists who just wish for a Soviet Union style constant revolutionary republic. The left has many attributes and can only be promoted under the hands of the right people which is why I outrightly do not support the present organisational set up of Ógra Sinn Féin or the Socialist Workers. Note that a labour-fianna fáil coalition helped introduce the 'free-fee' scheme in the 90's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,299 ✭✭✭sdanseo

Dilynnio wrote: »
    Fair ****ing play to them!

Go team students! :D

Charter says attack the post, not the poster.

That post is STUPID.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 326 ✭✭whitesands

What the fook do you know or care about bond markets?
    Hows this, it hit a new record high today & it reflects risk, the bond markets are of the opinion (quite rightly) that we are at a high risk of defaulting.

If that idiot in the Dail didn't say "We guarantee everything" we wouldn't be in this mess, we would have had a correction & be growing again.

But you carry on there flutterinwhatever & give out about protesters while the Gov & banks rape you. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,421 ✭✭✭major bill

sdonn wrote: »
    Charter says attack the post, not the poster.

That post is STUPID.

actually your post is stupid he didnt even quote you.

FAIL...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 456 ✭✭Trog

I don't see what the fuss is about, clearly things aren't bad until we start breaking out the smarties.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,125 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

Just a note;

Please note a distinction in the future between "THE PROTEST" which I though was a wonderful event and it made me proud to be a student, and "THE RIOT" which was perpetrated by a crowd of wasters who had no real interest in the theme of the march and just came along to cause trouble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,299 ✭✭✭sdanseo

major bill wrote: »
    actually your post is stupid he didnt even quote you.

FAIL...

What is the name of God are you talking about, I never incinuated that he quoted me, I was addressing his post directly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 456 ✭✭aine-maire

flyton5 wrote: »
    Hahahahahahaha. POST OF THE DAY.

Do you know everyone who was drinking?

I'm guessing that they knew because the yellow t-shirts had their own SU's name on them.

So by 'culchies' they meant people who go to college in places apart from Dublin. And by 'dubliners', people who go to college in Dublin.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 13,475 Mod ✭✭✭✭iamstop

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

There ya go, the Reds using an occasion to promote their failed agenda.

Immature students used as a ripe field to influence the failed politics and socialist agenda which seeks to beat down the the people who actualy want to achieve, and promote the wasters who want to enjoy the benefits of the state from cradle to grave.

The game is up.:rolleyes:

Failed agenda? As opposed to rampant capitalism which is working out so well for us? Give it a break, yizzve been found out

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,721 Mod ✭✭✭✭Twee.

iamstop wrote: »
    Injuries. He looks more like a crustie then a scumbag.

You can also see this guy (99% sure it's him) on the RTE site charging towards guards with a wall of shields.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 J_Keays

Twee. wrote: »
    You can also see this guy (99% sure it's him) on the RTE site charging towards guards with a wall of shields.

+1, such a shame about the volience... It more or less will be all that will be remembered from what happened today... I'm gutted

Bambi wrote: »
    Failed agenda? As opposed to rampant capitalism which is working out so well for us? Give it a break, yizzve been found out

Pay your way buddy, don't expect John Q Taxpayer to bank roll you to a easy street.

Cop yourself on man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 811 ✭✭✭mal1

I hear a lot of Northern accents in those videos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 635 ✭✭✭Bucklesman

Just a note;

Please note a distinction in the future between "THE PROTEST" which I though was a wonderful event and it made me proud to be a student, and "THE RIOT" which was perpetrated by a crowd of wasters who had no real interest in the theme of the march and just came along to cause trouble.

I'm now very pissed off at the Socialist Workers Party et al. Things were great until they showed up.

Also, I saw nobody drunk there, though I did see drink. I honestly didn't even know there was any trouble until I got home and saw the news.

RTÉ's coverage was very, very negative and didn't really give a fair account of the march. Over 40,000 students turned up, and just three were arrested. Yet they gave more time to the bust-up on Merrion Row than the rest of the protest, y'know, the peaceful bit. Priorities eh?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

There was obviously gonna be some trouble - im glad i didnt go now but the 'is this the queue for the Justin Bieber tickets??' sign i made is useless :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,214 ✭✭✭afatbollix

http://pix.ie/jimeatsmenu/2011486/in/album/392900

Here's the tit asking for it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Well at least we can stop moaning that we didn't have any riots and we can say we're as cool as all the other countries that rioted now. At the end of the day all that matters is how cool you look. :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

He looks like the one that was thrown out of the Dept of Finance towards his friends, who promptly parted like the Red Sea so that he fell on his face.

There is another video on the free education site which shows Gardaí using the batons and dragging protestors behind their lines. It's heavily edited but it still does not show anything near excessive force.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭smk89

mal1 wrote: »
    I hear a lot of Northern accents in those videos.

We're subcontracted in because of our experience in rioting peaceful protesting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,964 ✭✭✭ToniTuddle

whitesands wrote: »
    Fair play to the kids, they are going to have to pay for the bailouts like everyone else, we need to march on the dail in the hundreds of thousands to be heard, if it's violent so be it, they won't listen otherwise :mad:

All you people saying they are scumbags make me sick, NONE of us should be paying ANY bailouts, it's the banks & bondholders problem, not the people of Ireland. It's the scum in the Dail that have given away our sovereignty, they should pay, not us :mad:

Thumbs up.

I say we all up and leave.

Move to various different countries. Whooooo's with me? :pac:

What's cool about a herd of crusties moaning about having to pay for something.?

Backed up by the shadowy figures of the 'Socialist left' a bunch who never paid for anything in their lives.

lads!!!

news for ya

if ya want something,like better conditions, ya gotta work for it.:D

Like produce something that other people want to buy..

Sorry if that's an alien concept.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,484 ✭✭✭Kiwi_knock

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

smk89 wrote: »
    We're subcontracted in because of our experience in rioting peaceful protesting

Are you suggesting you ask for payment? I would be sure its pro bono.