Students attack Leinster house with Mars Bars

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,763 ✭✭✭Sheeps

Few pointers for students finding it hard to get by financially. Use college wireless internet or tap in to a neighbors. There's plenty of wifi around that is free or can be stolen. Get college resources from online sources like wikipedia. Download all the music you listen to and the latest films for free online. This will save you a few extra euro a month from your social budget. Equally, scab cigarettes from people outside night clubs if your a smoker, then edge your way in to their group as they head back in to the night club and the bouncer will think you're with them and that you've already paid in. When you get inside you can then steal peoples drinks. That way you can maintain your outgoing social life while still paying massive tuition fees. Also, pick up 1 and 2 cent coins off the ground that people throw away. 100 of these is enough for a hamburger on the eurosaver menu.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,943 ✭✭✭wonderfulname

OisinT wrote: »
    Get a loan then.

You know what, why don't you take out a three grand loan to do a 40 hour week plus additional work so some poor little inner city junkie can get their dole payment, or so a teacher with a three year degree can retire early with a full pension? This budget shouldn't be pulling money from the sectors that may actually provide income in the future it should be straightening out the ridiculous waste of money in social services and the public sector.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,106 ✭✭✭flyton5

nommm wrote: »
    McD's and other complanies like that don't employ people who are over qualified.

Pull your head out've your arse. McD's was an example. And even then...you can't discriminate against someone for having qualifications.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,369 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

The size of the crowds protesting seems to be getting bigger, 10,000 on the Navan hospital protest, and, according to the Irish Times, 25,000 at today's.

The government must be sh1tting blue bricks at this stage, and we haven't had the budget yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,396 ✭✭✭✭FreudianSlippers

Why do people object so much to the government paying for part of my degree.

Part of your degree. Part. You have to contribute to that too.

Students are complaining about €20 a week extra. That money can be found, FFS it's less than €3 a day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,118 ✭✭✭Professional Griefer

johngalway wrote: »
    I'm not here to defend or get a dig into the Gardai.

Students organized the protest, the onus on them is to manage it and know who's involved.

Which was poorly done. On the facebook page, it was just countless posts on going up to Dublin and drinking for the day, most were there for the laugh and so on, as most of their parents pay the fees for them. Its shocking.

Now all us students look like pricks. Glad I didn't go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

Why do people have this great belief that all students spend most of there time and money drinking and going to nightclubs. You would swear some of the people posting have never gone to a pub the way they talk. True I do go out once a week in college but I have to have some sort of social life. I spend the rest of the week in the library or at my lectures. I work at the weekends so I can offord my extravagent lifestyle that consists of a drafty bedroom with peeling wallpaper and microwave dinners. Alot of other students I know are in the same boat as me. Why do people object so much to the government paying for part of my degree. When I qualify I will hopefully work in Ireland I will pay tax to the irish government which will pay for pensions and hospital beds. Its a circle and we all will contribute and benifit from it at certain times during our lives.

My problem is with people like you who think they are entitled to that one outing a week and then claim they cant afford stuff. If money is that tight you dont go out at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 137 ✭✭Banji

easyeason3 wrote: »
    RIGHT STOP THIS SH!T NOW!

This has turned into a thread about people running students, guards, dubs, culchies, mothers collecting kids from school into the ground. I'm not stupid enough to think everyone is perfect but ffs is there really a need for everyone to be at each others throats?
    I'm sure there were students protesting in a normal fashion today. Just as I'm sure there were asshole students acting the maggot which meant the Guards had to be brought in.
    Some people live in Dublin, some people live in the country.
    Some people drop their kids to school in a car, others walk or get a bus.

Get over it. Not everyone is the same. But what this country needs at the moment is unity if anything is going to be achieved to better our lives at the moment & to better the lives of our children & grandchildren.

Bickering over ridiculous crap will get us nowhere, fast.

A nice sensible post.

The problem with the student protests is that it is a bit like the situation where a kid is crying for Christmas presents but the parents can't afford them.

On one hand bringing fees back will affect a lot of students. Some can cut down on their social life, some can get a job and they will be fine. Others won't be able to afford it.

On the other hand, the country does not have the money.

The only solution that I can see is that the government sets up a specific scheme for student loans. When students are accepted into a college position, they are eligible for the loan. They get their course fees plus living expenses if needed and they pay that back over a ten year period when they get a job. The load would obviously have to have low-ish interest rates. If they drop out, the government covers the fees. (This will could be possible because it is a minority case).

Not a revolutionary by any means but seems to be the only plausible one. Paying back the loan when you start working wouldn't be that much trouble.

Are there any objections to this?

You know what, why don't you take out a three grand loan to do a 40 hour week plus additional work so some poor little inner city junkie can get their dole payment, or so a teacher with a three year degree can retire early with a full pension? This budget shouldn't be pulling money from the sectors that may actually provide income in the future it should be straightening out the ridiculous waste of money in social services and the public sector.
    That makes no sense. I don't need a loan... why would I get a loan?

Even if I did, how would me getting a loan have anything to do with junkies on the dole!? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,315 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

This is the point that everyone is overlooking. It's not being able to see the wood for the trees that is the problem with a large majority of people in this country.

The point I keep trying to make is that I want fees brought back exactly because I'd like to have a choice as to whether or not I stay here, if fees aren't brought back then I don't see much chance in staying here when I finish college because the country will be gone.

http://www.rte.ie/news/2010/1103/education.html#video Looks like an overreaction by the Gardaí here for sure. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,445 ✭✭✭mloc123

So I see twitter is alive with reports from the march. Students tweeting from their smartphones as they complain they do not have enough money to live, oh the ironing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 700 ✭✭✭nommm

flyton5 wrote: »
    Pull your head out've your arse. McD's was an example. And even then...you can't discriminate against someone for having qualifications.
    How is my head stuck up my arse? You made a point, I said why I thought you were wrong. This is a discussion forum isn't it?

McD's will give a job to someone with no qualifications over some one with a law degree. The person with the law degree will quit as soon as something better comes along.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭mojesius

The problem with students being taken seriously in this matter largely boils down to the fact that they have an extremely low turn-out rate at elections. When the OAPs marched, they were listened to. Why? Because they vote in their thousands.*
    Until this voting pattern changes, students' concerns will be very low on the government's radar.

*Plus they weren't necking dutch gold en route to Leinster House.

mloc123 wrote: »
    So I see twitter is alive with reports from the march. Students tweeting from their smartphones as they complain they do not have enough money to live, on the ironing.
    You don't have to have a smartphone to use twitter.

Sheeps wrote: »
    Few pointers for students finding it hard to get by financially. Use college wireless internet or tap in to a neighbors. There's plenty of wifi around that is free or can be stolen. Get college resources from online sources like wikipedia. Download all the music you listen to and the latest films for free online. This will save you a few extra euro a month from your social budget. Equally, scab cigarettes from people outside night clubs if your a smoker, then edge your way in to their group as they head back in to the night club and the bouncer will think you're with them and that you've already paid in. When you get inside you can then steal peoples drinks. That way you can maintain your outgoing social life while still paying massive tuition fees. Also, pick up 1 and 2 cent coins off the ground that people throw away. 100 of these is enough for a hamburger on the eurosaver menu.

Online sources like wikipedia? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,763 ✭✭✭Sheeps

fine, use a library or something but dont blame me if u get called a nerd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Fukuyama

k_mac wrote: »
    My problem is with people like you who think they are entitled to that one outing a week and then claim they cant afford stuff. If money is that tight you dont go out at all.

People need an outlet man. Going out to one student night a week is hardly an excuse not to get financial assistance.

I see what you're saying. I honestly do. Why should the government pay reg fees whilst college people go out once a week. But everyone is entitled to go out. When I do, I spend at max twenty euro.

Without that outlet every now and again I'd probably get even more stressed and do **** in college.

Ps. I have a part-time job and don't sponge off my parents. I agree with people who do that should not get a grant.

How is my head stuck up my arse? You made a point, I said why I thought you were wrong. This is a discussion forum isn't it?

McD's will give a job to someone with no qualifications over some one with a law degree. The person with the law degree will quit as soon as something better comes along.

You know this for a fact do you? That's McDonalds hiring policy? Are you Ronald McDonald or something? No jobs for those with a law degree in case something better comes along? There's always something better than working in McDonalds. But while that's not available you work there.

And your head is stuck up your arse as you didnt make a point you made an uninformed point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Fukuyama

You don't have to have a smartphone to use twitter.

Phones that cost 99 euro have access to Twitter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

Which was poorly done. On the facebook page, it was just countless posts on going up to Dublin and drinking for the day, most were there for the laugh and so on, as most of their parents pay the fees for them. Its shocking. Now all us students look like pricks. Glad I didn't go.

The same reason I avoided student protests like the plague during college. The same fecking rent-a-mob prats who often times didn't have a clue what they were protesting about.
    k_mac wrote: »

That gave me a laugh too. Working full time and studying for professional exams.... I'd love to be able to go out one night a week. Maybe the government would give me a slice of tax back so I can get my one night out per week entitlement.

Dean0088 wrote: »

You can buy phones for €20. Why buy a €99 one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,159 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

99 euro? Sure there's 5 weeks of the increase right there, and that's before you factor in credit.

Get yourself a call card and keep it old skool :cool:

That's almost 4 weeks towards the new registration fee! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,701 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

maxxie wrote: »
    When the general public finally gets the balls to vent their anger on the streets will they be made fun of here like the students??

hope so

Mine cost 30quid a year ago, I can access twitter. Before anyone says going online on your phone costs a fortune, it doesn't if you find a decent price plan.

Indeed the phone I bought 2 years ago that cost 70 euro can even access twitter.
    You know this for a fact do you? That's McDonalds hiring policy? Are you Ronald McDonald or something? No jobs for those with a law degree in case something better comes along? There's always something better than working in McDonalds. But while that's not available you work there.

And your head is stuck up your arse as you didnt make a point you made an uninformed point.

I actually know someone who works in recruitment so yes.

Do you know the McDonalds employment policy? Looks like you're the one making an uninformed point. ;)

Mine cost 30quid a year ago, I can access twitter. Before anyone says going online on your phone costs a fortune, it doesn't if you find a decent price plan.
    oh la la.

A price plan?

Very fancy! Why not €20 a month on credit instead of expensive plans with internet?

oh la la.

A price plan?

Very fancy! Why not €20 a month on credit instead of expensive plans with internet?

Lol mine is 20e a month for texts and internet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

amacachi wrote: »
    http://www.rte.ie/news/2010/1103/education.html#video Looks like an overreaction by the Gardaí here for sure. :rolleyes:

I thought it was pretty restrained and well organised on the part of the Gardaí. All the items were being thrown at them and people were pulling at the shields. All they did was push back the crowd.
    I see what you're saying. I honestly do. Why should the government pay reg fees whilst college people go out once a week. But everyone is entitled to go out. When I do, I spend at max twenty euro.

Entitled to go out? No they aren't. That's what we in the real world call a luxury. Welcome. That twenty euro you spend is what you will have to pay for your fees next year.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 949 ✭✭✭maxxie

Tigger wrote: »
    hope so

So you enjoy the government crippling our nation for years to come!

I dont get people like you!