Students attack Leinster house with Mars Bars

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,106 ✭✭✭flyton5

Mr E wrote: »
    €3000 vs. €2?
    Ummm.......

You've missed the point there my friend. Completely. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,102 ✭✭✭easyeason3

maxxie wrote: »
    better believe I am!

I feel sorry for you so, I really do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,258 ✭✭✭Tora Bora

SeaFields wrote: »
    RE video. Sinn Fein, Eirigi and socialist workers party flags. FFS :rolleyes:

Can you imagine "Talk to Joe" tomorrow:cool: Sure, sure, sure,sure,sure,sure.sure,sure,sure,sure,sure ............... to the woman in Clontarf when she rings in to whine, whine,whine,whine ..................... whine ................... whine, ................ sure,sure,sure,sure

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,038 ✭✭✭jackiebaron

I went to University in Ireland from '86 to '90. My fees were 1500+ punts per year back then. So now they're going to be 3000 Euros which is still cheaper than what I had to pay adjusting for conversion and inflation.
    I had to work every summer to pay for it and I didn't qualify for a grant as my single parent's nurse salary of 14K was a couple of quid above the cutoff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,024 ✭✭✭Redpunto

Pack of fecking tossers - the pubs are gonna be jammers this evening, was 30 mins late picking up my 5 year old becuase of them, i have never been late for picking my kids up and now am gonna have to brave the traffic chaos theyve created to get into work. If i see one of them and their stupid yellow tshirts i might try and run them over. That'll make me feel better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

ntlbell wrote: »

You're man on the dutch gold

Throwing stuff at the Gardaí and laughing at hitting them in the head and then they wonder why things get rough? Maybe colleges need a bit of pruning. Clearly any idiot can get in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,287 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

Mr E wrote: »
    €3000 vs. €2?
    Ummm.......

well maybe spend less on drink and you might save up part of the fee??

umm?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,396 ✭✭✭✭FreudianSlippers

They do realise that there will be the ability to take out relatively low interest loans on these amounts as well... They don't have to drop out :rolleyes:

Redpunto wrote: »
    Pack of fecking tossers - the pubs are gonna be jammers this evening, was 30 mins late picking up my 5 year old becuase of them, i have never been late for picking my kids up and now am gonna have to brave the traffic chaos theyve created to get into work. If i see one of them and their stupid yellow tshirts i might try and run them over. That'll make me feel better.

Run over them in your Red Punto?

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,159 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

ntlbell wrote: »
    well maybe spend less on drink and you might save up part of the fee??

umm?

€3000 euro from students in the age bracket with the highest rate of unemployment?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,080 ✭✭✭Gunsfortoys

LOL at your man with the can of dutch gold.:D

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 31,624 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

Glad I didn't end up going into town today then!

While I agree with the protesting, considering our country's a bit of a laughing stock at the moment, I don't think 'rioting' is the most effective way of getting your point across. I'm curious to see how bad things actually are once the over enthusiastic twittering dies down. Still, force should only be used if there was genuine trouble a-brewin'. Given the amount of people that seem to have been marching, I'm sure there were probably a handful of troublemakers in the group...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,315 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

OisinT wrote: »
    They do realise that there will be the ability to take out relatively low interest loans on these amounts as well... They don't have to drop out :rolleyes:

I also would've thought that for the people who will have to pay it that their parents would be fairly easily able to get such a loan, for the extra grand a year or so it would be for them. But hey, what do I know?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

Tora Bora wrote: »
    Can you imagine "Talk to Joe" tomorrow:cool: Sure, sure, sure,sure,sure,sure.sure,sure,sure,sure,sure ............... to the woman in Clontarf when she rings in to whine, whine,whine,whine ..................... whine ................... whine, ................ sure,sure,sure,sure

"Go on......go on.....go on.....ah you poor thing. And you say the guard hit you with his baton you say, blood everywhere you say?! And it was just a peaceful protest I'm sure. My poor pet."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,405 ✭✭✭Lukker-

Fair amount of ignorant posts in this thread.

He said it's been too loud for the emergency services to comprehend what he was saying

Maybe you should tweet for him to go somewhere quieter? Rather than staying and looking for another smack.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 949 ✭✭✭maxxie

easyeason3 wrote: »
    I feel sorry for you so, I really do.

and I feel sorry for you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭Remmy

amacachi wrote: »
    Well talking about it on twitter ain't the way to do it.

You have no idea how much I loathe those kind of people. At least once a week in the computer room I'll hear a few girls saying how broke they are then follow it up with what they did the previous weekend and how they'll only be able to go out once the weekend coming. While sipping their 2.50 cup of coffee.

ugh I hate these people too!A while ago this one was b#tchin to me that she had no money left for rent this month and she has to call daddy to get more money.Maybe if you didnt buy 400 euro bags every week and drink like a fish you would have enough money for rent you fcukin twerp..

k_mac wrote: »
    Throwing stuff at the Gardaí and laughing at hitting them in the head and then they wonder why things get rough? Maybe colleges need a bit of pruning. Clearly any idiot can get in.

I hope the guards gave them a good hiding. Throwing cans is fucking stupid and I'd like to see someone get caught for it. Fast forward a few years when they have a degree and a criminal record and can't get an interview because of it. Assholes...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,287 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

€3000 euro from students in the age bracket with the highest rate of unemployment?

No.

I'm for if the familiy/student can afford it, pay it, if they can't, get the grant.

But turning up at a protest looking for the tax payer to pay for your education while drinking cans of dutch gold while the tax payer works is f*cking down right retarded, I'm sorry.

2500, an increase of 1000 or 20 quid a week. I know plenty around who if they cut down to only one or two cups of coffee a day could cover that pretty easily.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 870 ✭✭✭Lemsiper

In a punto? HAHA!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,594 ✭✭✭bonerm

In fairness it's all you parents picking up and dropping off your little darlings from school that cause all the traffic chaos. If you lot got off the roads and stopped wasting everyone else time with your pandering then getting in and out of the city might be an almost tolerable experience for the rest of us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

Glad I didn't end up going into town today then!

While I agree with the protesting, considering our country's a bit of a laughing stock at the moment, I don't think 'rioting' is the most effective way of getting your point across. I'm curious to see how bad things actually are once the over enthusiastic twittering dies down. Still, force should only be used if there was genuine trouble a-brewin'. Given the amount of people that seem to have been marching, I'm sure there were probably a handful of troublemakers in the group...

Don't underestimate mob rule. A handful of troublemakers can become a much larger group very quickly.

amacachi wrote: »
    2500, an increase of 1000 or 20 quid a week. I know plenty around who if they cut down to only one or two cups of coffee a day could cover that pretty easily.

Give up their daily mocha? :eek:

Remmy wrote: »
    ugh I hate these people too!A while ago this one was b#tchin to me that she had no money left for rent this month and she has to call daddy to get more money.Maybe if you didnt buy 400 euro bags every week and drink like a fish you would have enough money for rent you fcukin twerp..
    It's funny actually, was at a mate's house for his graduation the other night and he had most of his class around. It was the first time in a year that I'd been in a group of people my age where most people had a non-touchscreen phone. Don't see many of them in Trinity. :pac:

maxxie wrote: »
    and I feel sorry for you!
    `

No need, I'm perfectly normal thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,024 ✭✭✭Redpunto

bonerm wrote: »
    In fairness it's all you parents picking up and dropping off your little darlings from school that cause all the traffic chaos. If you lot got off the roads and stopped wasting everyone else time with your pandering then getting in and out of the city might be an almost tolerable experience for the rest of us.

How fecking off topic is that post - dont make idiotic comments that you have no idea about

Don't underestimate mob rule. A handful of troublemakers can become a much larger group very quickly.

Most likely, just takes a couple of dozen ****ers to get a few thousand in the ****.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 31,624 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

Indeed, it's a shame because this many people could make a (non-violent) protest work if they actually put their minds to it. And laid off the Dutch Gold.