Students attack Leinster house with Mars Bars

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭FatherLen

^^ and 3 grand a year for registration is just rediculous ^^:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

Dean820 wrote: »
    Yorkie bars would hurt them more.

Imagine gettin a toblorone in the eye, jaysus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,581 ✭✭✭TouchingVirus

Pherekydes wrote: »
    So they're a mob now?

:rolleyes: - Did I say they were a mob?

You've got a fair few leftist parties who aren't known for their peaceful protesting, in conjunction with a couple of thousand ordinary students and you can't make the jump that a mob could just assemble and absolutely wreck a regular Garda car? It doesn't take fifteen people to rock and roll over a car. Why take the risk, why just show up with a regular car and risk being unprepared if something kicks off when you can show up with a Garda van instead?

That was my point, thanks for missing it.

cedan wrote: »
    45 pounds per week for accomodation in England, close to university. How much is it in Ireland......

In Dublin it's closer to £80 for close to the university, unless you live in a house with a bigger number of bedrooms when it might come down closer to £65-70.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,557 ✭✭✭bladespin

FatherLen wrote: »

Guessing you're not a student from the spelling :p

It's not as ridiculous as throwing mars bars at a gate.
    Untitled Image

MasteryDarts Ireland - Master your game!

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,159 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

Just got a text and saw some tweets from some friends. The crowd went a bit out of control and tried to escape the violence. The Gardai are using excessive force and have large groups surrounded now.

He's been hit and bleeding badly, and literally asking for help on Twitter :mad:

bladespin wrote: »

It's not as ridiculous as throwing mars bars at a gate.

yes it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

:rolleyes: - Did I say they were a mob?

I asked a simple question. No need to get touchy. If you're in situ tell us what's going on. Are they storming the Bastille yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

bladespin wrote: »

It's probably how the majority of students going to "collage" spell 'rediculous' these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 538 ✭✭✭mjquinno

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 829 ✭✭✭Long Term Louth

Cowen is eating all the Mars Bars. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,315 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

He's been hit and bleeding badly, and literally asking for help on Twitter :mad:

Did he twitter #ambulance or something? He does realise he could phone one, or walk to one? Looks like what people say about twitter taking over your life is true in one case at least.

It's probably how the majority of students going to "collage" spell 'rediculous' these days.

i am so sorry
    grammar nazis

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,733 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

cedan wrote: »
    45 pounds per week for accomodation in England, close to university. How much is it in Ireland......

You're kidding right?! I paid £130 a week plus travel card for the privilege of living in the south east of the UK. Granted the beer is a bit cheaper over there but not much

I asked a simple question. No need to get touchy. If you're in situ tell us what's going on. Are they storming the Bastille yet?

You know I'd have issued an apology for taking you up wrong if you'd have left it after your second sentence. Clearly you're taking the piss with your last line.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,390 ✭✭✭Stench Blossoms

Just got a text and saw some tweets from some friends. The crowd went a bit out of control and tried to escape the violence. The Gardai are using excessive force and have large groups surrounded now.

Asking for help on twitter? Seriously? If he's bleeding he should go to the hospital.

Throwing Mars bars is not only childless but completely idiotic.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,159 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

amacachi wrote: »
    Did he twitter #ambulance or something? He does realise he could phone one, or walk to one? Looks like what people say about twitter taking over your life is true in one case at least.

He said it's been too loud for the emergency services to comprehend what he was saying

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,106 ✭✭✭flyton5

FatherLen wrote: »

It's not really. Look at the cost of education in the US. Go get yourself a haircut. Dirty students...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,828 ✭✭✭KerranJast

Gardai in doing their jobs shocker. Sorry about your mate but if they arrest and charge the usual riot starters then less future peaceful protests will get hijacked.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,315 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

He said it's been too loud for the emergency services to comprehend what he was saying

Ya'd think they'd be able to see how "badly bleeding" he is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,733 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

Asking for help on twitter?! Clearly hasn't demonstrated the intelligence to be a university student. :rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Wait until the budget, there will be wide scale riots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,255 ✭✭✭Renn

lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,287 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

Wait until the budget, there will be wide scale riots.

Are you new here?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,102 ✭✭✭easyeason3

Well he won't be as quick to go to another riot will he?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,314 ✭✭✭Marcus.Aurelius

KerranJast wrote: »
    Gardai in doing their jobs shocker. Sorry about your mate but if they arrest and charge the usual riot starters then less future peaceful protests will get hijacked.

If those morons don't behave decently, we could have a mass riot on our streets. Well done to all those who are protesting peacefully, but a colossal "fuck you!" to the violent halfwits.

Make all students look bad (Was one myself not long ago). :mad:

amacachi wrote: »
    Ya'd think they'd be able to see how "badly bleeding" he is.

Funny man. Very hard to be seen if you're stuck in the middle of a large crowd.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 949 ✭✭✭maxxie

KerranJast wrote: »

Doing their jobs. Just shows they cant control any situation! Government foot soldiers doing their bidding!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,255 ✭✭✭Renn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 905 ✭✭✭Vudgie

That post about Twitter raised a smile.

'Excuse me guard, please be careful of my iphone 4 I am twittering here!'