Father In Law's Continued 70th Birthday Celebrations

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,001 ✭✭✭recylingbin

It's like a modern take on King Lear.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

dclane wrote: »
    I don't know if it is me or my imagination. The situation goes like this:
    My wifes father turned 70 some weeks back, he has 6 daughters the oldest is 44 and the youngest (my wife) is 35. For the father in laws 70th birthday the "girls" organised a slap up dinner out for him (just the girls, mother and himself) which was all paid for by the daughters. During the dinner he was presented with a voucher for €600 for a new suit from Louis Copeland and also another voucher for a photographic portrait to be done with him and his daughters today. It so far has costed us/me 150 euro and counting.

Two days after the dinner we all had to congregate in one of the other sisters' houses to have a "birthday cake cutting party" for Daddy dearest. Which lasted 4 hours, again at the behest of one of the older daughters.

My wife is due our third baby in two weeks time and I had an argument with her yesterday evening about having to make a long trip to visit a photographer to get a family portrait done with the father in law and the rest of the sisters, when she does not want to make the journey. Given the fact that she is very uncomfortable and very near the due date I thought it a bit much that she had to participate in a family portrait at the behest of the older sisters. Further to this it now transpires that we have to get another family portrait done because the older sisters wants to have a picture of all the families given to daddy dearest as well.

My simple question is:

When the fu3k is his birthday going to come to an end, and what do you guys and girls think of this?

Thanks folks.

That's what you get for marrying a DUB,fcukers love that sort of thing.

Barrel arsed aul fella out with the extended family and all that.

Sorry for your trouble son.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,102 ✭✭✭easyeason3

From experience I'd say you should keep your mouth shut, smile & agree with whatever your wife wants to do.
    There's two very important things you have to keep in mind here if you want to hang onto your ballsack:

1) She's a woman so can change her mind whenever she likes. This also means she has a memory like an elephant so any negative remarks will be stored away to be used the next time she drinks wine & goes crazy.

2) She's heavily pregnant. You don't want the wrath of a heavily pregnant woman to fall on you. Not only does she have the memory of an elephant but she has probably started to look, feel & move like one too. Remember that compliments, chocolate & foot rubs are not only her friend but yours also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,294 ✭✭✭jos28

dclane wrote: »
    Yeah I guess that's the right thing to do. I just feel bitter because I got criticized for spending 60 quid on a jumper for my own fathers birthday last year and he turned 60. It was deemed to be too much money to spend.

Damn the begrudgers I say, you put a bit of thought (and cash) into your Dads
    60th. Fair play to ya !