Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Rooney not signing a new contract?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,313 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Pro. F wrote: »
    The MUST financial adviser you are referring to is Andersred. He is saying the same thing as he has always said. That is, United are a well run club but are losing big chunks of money totally unnecessarily to interest repayments and United fans have the specter of United money being used to pay the Glazers' PIKs. Andersred has been saying this all along. You are wrong about him changing his stance.

This +1,000.

Everybody agrees the Glazers are running the club from day to day very well. Revenues good, wage costs low compared to revenues. Sure Hicks and Gillet did that at Pool.

So why the huge loss?

Anglo Irish had a brilliant set of results in 2007 too.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,303 ✭✭✭✭event

A statement from Rooney is expected at some point this afternoon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,087 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Rooney will be making a statement today according to Daniel Taylor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

Now this is where it's going to get interesting.

Is he leaving because

A. He wants more money

B. He wants to win more trophies.

A means he moves to City
    B means he moves to Chelsea, Madrid, Barca or someone like that

Both will radically alter my perceptions of him as a person in polar opposite directions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,529 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

PHB wrote: »

Is he leaving because

A. He wants more money

A means he moves to City

Both will radically alter my perceptions of him as a person in polar opposite directions.

B could be City too and he can have A whilst doing it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,068 ✭✭✭Bodhisopha

Rooney can't say he's leaving for money and he can't name any clubs. It will be something along the lines of "a new challenge", which is fair enough. It's a short career.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,747 ✭✭✭s8n

Xavi6 wrote: »

Source ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,972 ✭✭✭Paleface

Is he leaving because

A. He wants more money

A means he moves to City

You are forgetting the possibility that him and Fergie have fallen out or there are irreconcilable differences between them. Fergie just doesn't see it like that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

There's no way in hell he'd be stupid enough to come out and say he's leaving for mor money, even if thats the real reason. No player has ever come out and said that.

Not even Wayne is that thick surely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

kryogen wrote: »
    Wont leave England due to his wifes ill sister.................*shakes head in amazement*

For once I'm going to drop my level of posts to make the following statement

He is probably reluctant to leave because he got her pregnant...just saying....

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 15,256 Mod ✭✭✭✭FutureGuy

Is he leaving because

A. He wants more money

A means he moves to City

He can do both at city.

s8n wrote: »
    Source ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,153 ✭✭✭everdead.ie

Paleface wrote: »
    You are forgetting the possibility that him and Fergie have fallen out or there are irreconcilable differences between them. Fergie just doesn't see it like that!
    Fergie made fun of his hair plugs :P dressing room bullying too about it :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,134 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

Probably means a link, not that hard to figure out tbh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,081 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

All the tabloids seem to be doing everything they can't to discredit themselves again, after being right about the rumors in the first place. It's like they hate to be seen to be informative.

If you are seeking informative journalism in the British tabloids I'm afraid you are looking in the wrong place my friend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,303 ✭✭✭✭event

Trilla wrote: »

everything these days is done on twitter with sports journos

if anyone ever puts anything by daniel taylor, it'll be from his twitter

One day you'll direct a comment at me that isn't an attempt at being a smart arse. I look forward to it.

Here's your source -

https://twitter.com/#!/DTguardian/status/27928464557

event wrote: »
    everything these days is done on twitter with sports journos

if anyone ever puts anything by daniel taylor, it'll be from his twitter

To be honest I didnt know who he was, I googled him though and his twitter was first up

I'm sorry, City are coming on leaps and bounds, there's no doubt about that. But frankly, to compare them to Chelsea, Madrid or Barca is just ludicrous. At this point in time, City are no better than United, and frankly I think anyone who says otherwise is just deluded. There's argument, certainly, that City will overtake United in the future. But the idea that you'd move to City when Chelsea, Madrid or Barca want you, for footballing reasons is just stupid.

One day you'll direct a comment at me that isn't an attempt at being a smart arse. I look forward to it.

Sorry wasnt trying to be. I just checked I havent thanked a post by you in 8 months :eek:

I'm just a bit touchy and anti-City this month, apologies Xavi

I love you

Sorry wasnt trying to be. I just checked I havent thanked a post by you in 8 months :eek:

I'm just a bit touchy and anti-City this month, apologies Xavi

I love you

:o Think we're all a bit PMS at the mo. Been a bit of a whirlwind start to the season between this, Pool and City actually not being shite.

The love is reciprocated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,747 ✭✭✭s8n

Here's your source -

https://twitter.com/#!/DTguardian/status/27928464557

Thanks but still hasn't been confirmed, just rumoured.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 286 ✭✭cremeegg

its all a game lads... calm down. Rooney will be playing for united for many seasons to come.

money money money

Greed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,081 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

It all boils down to money ...:)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8cDWPvhiPWg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,836 ✭✭✭Sir Gallagher

His statement will be something the lines of him being a Liverpool fan all along and leaving Everton and now Utd in the lurch has all been part of a huge prank on both sets of fans. He'll then announce he'll be moving to Liverpool in January prompting the headline, "Roo'll never walk alone".

Or maybe not.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,872 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

kryogen wrote: »
    Its clear to most that the PIK's are going to have to be paid off by taking money from the club, its not clear to one particular chap here though

So tell me, Muppet. What do you think the Glazers are going to do to pay off the PIK's? where is the finance coming from?

I don't know what you're worried about. Sure when ye sell Rooney for 30m, Ferguson will go out and spend all of that 180 million he's keeping warm for a while now.

At least that is what will happen in muppet-land. I'm sure if Rooney does go, and January and the summer come and go with utd only having spent around 25m or so agin, it'll be the same 'no value' story we'll be hearing.

I think now (well, the end of the season) would be a good time for ferguson to cut and run.

http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11667_6454738,00.html
    "My thoughts are he will stay," Mourinho told Sky Sports.

Belongs

"He probably wants to leave for some reasons, but I believe he belongs to Man Utd, he belongs to Man Utd fans, he belongs to Old Trafford.

"I believe he is going to stay

"But if at the end of day Man Utd decides that he is to leave, give me a call."

Asked if he would be interesting in taking Rooney to the Spanish capital, a laughing Mourinho said: "Everybody would be interested, but again I don't think so.

"I think and I wish because I like him, I like Sir Alex, I like Man Utd I believe the best thing for him is to stay there for life.

Asked if he was excited at the prospect of teaming Rooney up with Cristiano Ronaldoagain, Mourinho remarked: "Yes, but he will stay at Old Trafford for sure."

Two managers now have said that they expect him to stay. Interesting stuff.

The stuff in bold is the most interesting, he's really endearing himself to United fans :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,676 ✭✭✭token56

http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11667_6454738,00.html

The stuff in bold is the most interesting, he's really endearing himself to United fans :)

As much as Mourinho would like him at Real at this present time I'd say he'd prefer for Rooney to stay at Utd for when he gets there (maybe with Ronnie too) in a few years time. Because unlike Ronnie I think if Rooney leaves Utd now given everything thats happened I can't see him coming back again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,405 ✭✭✭Lukker-

token56 wrote: »
    As much as Mourinho would like him at Real at this present time I'd say he'd prefer for Rooney to stay at Utd for when he gets there (maybe with Ronnie too) in a few years time. Because unlike Ronnie I think if Rooney leaves Utd now given everything thats happened I can't see him coming back again.

You actually think United could afford to re-sign Ronaldo?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭m@cc@

Means absolutely nothing more than professional courtesy. They'd have nothing to gain from saying they'll make a bid for him.

The most important thing is what's said by his own manager and the man himself.