If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Rooney not signing a new contract?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 199 ✭✭tribesman78

killwill wrote: »
    Name all these United fans that are saying Rooney is not that good? He is brilliant, would be an asset to any team in the world full stop. Will be sorely missed but United will replace him and it will be exciting to see the young lads and Owen getting more playing time.

Rooney is totally over rated. Yes he is a good player but imo Tevez is a far better player and i personally felt rooney should have been let go and Tevez kept.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,089 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

most likely city have tapped him up in the summer, parasites.

Come back with your name calling when you have a shred of evidence, good lad.

most likely city have tapped him up in the summer, parasites.

pot...kettle...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13,016 ✭✭✭✭jank

killwill wrote: »
    Name all these United fans that are saying Rooney is not that good? He is brilliant, would be an asset to any team in the world full stop. Will be sorely missed but United will replace him and it will be exciting to see the young lads and Owen getting more playing time.

Plently to see in this thread. Any Tevez thread is also a good source..

Rooney is totally over rated. Yes he is a good player but imo Tevez is a far better player and i personally felt rooney should have been let go and Tevez kept.

Tevez was sub standard to say the least in his last season with United. Had absolutely no desire to fight for his place and wanted everything to be handed to him on a platter. You could say the same about Rooney now though I suppose but Rooney did strike me as having a lot of love for the club and definitely the fire to keep pushing himself. It surprised Fergie so it totally blew me away that he wanted to leave...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,065 ✭✭✭kingshankly

this time 9 months ago Rooney was probably the best player in the world messi apart. was in devastating form scoring for fun and was on a different planet at times.
    now he's overrated :confused:

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,742 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Question for United supporters.
    What reception will Rooney get at the next home game, will he be booed?
    Hopefully not, it would be a sad day for the club if they did. I can't remember any United player being booed by United fans while playing for United. Even Ronaldo when he was throwing a strop didn't get booed, he just got plenty of stick for not putting in the effort.

I would expect United fans to be very disappointed and not chant his name, and I would also expect them to respect the fact that he is still a United player.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,051 ✭✭✭✭L'prof

I can't see him playing for United again to be honest, but if he's in the stadium, he'll be booed.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,742 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

this time 9 months ago Rooney was probably the best player in the world messi apart. was in devastating form scoring for fun and was on a different planet at times.
    now he's overrated :confused:
    He was over rated back then. Only for Valencia putting the ball on his head he wouldn't have scored half the goals he scored last season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,757 ✭✭✭CR 7

I personally feel you should post more in this thread. I could do with a laugh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,732 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

The Muppet wrote: »
    Would they, AFAIK Liverpool and Chelsea are the only premier league teams to have been found guilty of tapping players , perhaps you'll link us to united being caught at it?

Part of the Berbatov deal was throwing Spurs an extra couple of million to not take a case to the FA. You know this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,276 ✭✭✭Memnoch

Would they, AFAIK Liverpool and Chelsea are the only premier league teams to have been found guilty of tapping players , perhaps you'll link us to united being caught at it?

Oh come off it, Fergie has been bullying smaller clubs for god knows how long. Berbatov is a classic example.

It's not like any of the other big clubs don't do it, but this holier than thou, we are better than that attitude really grates because no, United AREN'T better than that and it's nice to see a bit of what goes around comes around, first with Ronaldo and now hopefully with Rooney.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭CorkMan

Look at Roy! When he was going to be bought by Blackburn Fergie caught him at the airport and convinced him to sign for United.

If that is not that tapping up I don't know what is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

The tapping up in itself doesnt bother me particularly, it happens in football, by everyone

There is nothing that can be done about it imo, just a fact of life. This must be great times for anti united lads, serious **** material everywhere ye look eh?

CorkMan wrote: »
    Look at Roy! When he was going to be bought by Blackburn Fergie caught him at the airport and convinced him to sign for United.

If that is not that tapping up I don't know what is.

Think you may have him mixed up with someone else (Berba maybe?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,814 ✭✭✭Gone Drinking

Its interesting to see what Jose said, he obviously wants Rooney to stick around at united for when he takes over.

I think Fergie should have came out and maybe asked the fans to try and change Rooneys mind, by not giving him stick and trying to encourage him when he plays.

I've been saying "fcuk him", but truth be told, id rather he change his mind.

kryogen wrote: »

There is nothing that can be done about it imo, just a fact of life. This must be great times for anti united lads, serious **** material everywhere ye look eh?

I won't lie, yes it's bloody fantastic. What do you expect from fans of other clubs? Books of condolences?

It's the nature of the beast and what goes around comes around. You'll have your day when City go bust and Pool get relegated ;)

Xavi6 wrote: »
    I won't lie, yes it's bloody fantastic. What do you expect from fans of other clubs? Books of condolences?

It's the nature of the beast and what goes around comes around. You'll have your day when City go bust and Pool get relegated ;)

I dont expect anything from football fans! (or some of the guys on here who pretend to be fans)

I will be **** also when city go bye bye and chelsea too, must just be a nice change for non man united fans to be able to sneer at us is all my observation was about

edit: your sig is rather offensive actually ;) na only joking, tis pure stupid!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,007 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

And its been proven against city? As for united proof, read jaap stams biography. Fergie did once and jaap was gone after it. I'm sure Berbatov's biography will be intetesting when he discusses bumping into Alex in the airport. Most if not all clubs do it.

I never said it had been proven against City. I said Liverpool and chelsea.

Jaap said he was tapped Fergie said he wasn't. It never went any futher than that so It's one mans word against another, It depends who you wish to believe. Bebartov could be a similar situation but nothing has been proven to date.

I doubt he'll play for United again.

jank wrote: »
    Plently to see in this thread. Any Tevez thread is also a good source..

if only there was way to link to these "plenty" of posters. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

I think myself that Blueney is making a correct decicion.
    Utd are on the way down the league and I would be surprised if silverware will grace the trophey room this with or without.
    City is the place to go if its money your after, and give it another season and another big spending spree will be challanging for tropheys.
    Why do you think Wayne and Coleen took a second honeymoon to Dubai at the beginning of the month?

I dont expect anything from football fans! (or some of the guys on here who pretend to be fans)

I will be **** also when city go bye bye and chelsea too, must just be a nice change for non man united fans to be able to sneer at us is all my observation was about

edit: your sig is rather offensive actually ;) na only joking, tis pure stupid!

It is a nice change. You've been at the top for a long, long time and a lot of your supporters have either forgotten what it's like to be on the receiving end of a slagging or grown up through a period when it was never an issue in the first place.

I took sh*t for nearly 20 years so it's payback time :D

P.S. Of course the sig is silly, I'm well aware of that, but if there's one thing this forum lacks is cheeky light hearted digs. Too many sensitive souls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,891 ✭✭✭allthedoyles

I doubt he'll play for United again.

He should be left to sit on the bench until January - The boy has only scored a handful of goals in 6 months .-

Man U will make the right decision

Xavi6 wrote: »
    It is a nice change. You've been at the top for a long, long time and a lot of your supporters have either forgotten what it's like to be on the receiving end of a slagging or grown up through a period when it was never an issue in the first place.

I took sh*t for nearly 20 years so it's payback time :D

P.S. Of course the sig is silly, I'm well aware of that, but if there's one thing this forum lacks is cheeky light hearted digs. Too many sensitive souls.

You know I'd expect you guys would have learned by now, We had the same sort of doom predicted when Beckham left repeated when Ruud left and Keane , Ronaldo and Now Rooney. So you don't know if it's actually payback time yet, you're just hoping.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,814 ✭✭✭Gone Drinking

antod wrote: »

I'm not going to read that because A) Its from the Daily Sihte and B) United have never sold Wayne Rooney Short

This post is what is wrong with some "fans" these days.

Fickle.com

You know I'd expect you guys would have learned by now, We had the same sort of doom predicted when Beckham left repeated when Ruud left and Keane , Ronaldo and Now Rooney. So you don't know if it's actually payback time yet, you're just hoping.;)

Oh it's by no means a forgone conclusion of course but personally I think this is far worse than any of the previous times due to the majority of the squad being either too old or too average.

A hell of lot of money would need to be forked out over the next 24 months to replace the genuine quality that is on the way out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,292 ✭✭✭The Rooster

Think you may have him mixed up with someone else (Berba maybe?)

Nothing to do with an airport but I thought Keane says in his autobiography that Ferguson called him up and told him not to sign for Blackburn because United would come in with a bid.