Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Driving behaviour towards cyclists

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,506 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

Thanks, I know how to drive on a motorway. In rush hour traffic though it doesn't become simply an overtaking lane. Like I said there was traffic everywhere. I generally overtake, move in. In bumper to bumper traffic I think you have to apply common sense, if there is an extra lane there, use it. I wasn't holding anyone up by "sitting in" if that's what you are thinking.

Thread in Motors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭gmoorewest

There was an ad on RTE in late 70's maybe early 80's, with adults and kids cycling which had a tag line of "treat a cyclist like a small car". Used different shots of how to pass a cyclist and showed some of the dangers a cyclist might experience, car door opening etc. Think this is badly needed again to raise public awareness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,644 ✭✭✭SerialComplaint

DirkVoodoo wrote: »
    Nearly got side swiped by a taxi earlier coming back from a race with a club mate. He witnessed it and agreed that "it was close" was an understatement.

Caught up with the guy and quite politely (surprising for me) the two of us let him know what he did. He said I was in his way, f-this and f-that you f-ing little prick, ya bollix, etc. Then he threatened to call the Gardai to which we said please do. After this didn't work, he started shouting that he had a lump hammer in the back and he was going to bash our heads in. He was on the verge of getting out before he just floored it and drove off.

Absolutely mental!
    DirkVoodoo wrote: »
    Not only that, I reported it to a quite good looking female Garda.

She has my number now. Fingers crossed!
    Double your fun by reporting him to the taxi regulator as well, so he ends up with two people on his back.
    Vélo wrote: »
    My Dad told me a story of a fella he knew years ago who put his wife on a bike a cycled her to the maternity hospital, while she was in labour.:eek:
    I was told about a keen cyclist friend of a friend who cycled herself to Holles St to give birth last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,175 ✭✭✭buffalo

I was told about a keen cyclist friend of a friend who cycled herself to Holles St to give birth last year.

I know a vet who cycled to Beaumont because he thought he was having a heart attack. Gave the doctors a laugh anyway! :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,053 ✭✭✭✭BostonB

...I was told about a keen cyclist friend of a friend who cycled herself to Holles St to give birth last year.

You'd need to considering the cost of meters around there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 2500bc

Double your fun by reporting him to the taxi regulator as well, so he ends up with two people on his back.

Hero...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 730 ✭✭✭short circuit

For all cyclists complain about driving behaviour, we sometimes do not do ourselves any favour.

On Saturday, entering Sandyford from the M50, a group of 5 cyclists were coming from Stepaside direction, going across the M50 roundabout, across the Bewleys and on towards Dun Loaghaire ...

1 of them was probably weaker and well behind the rest .. but the rest were spread across 1 lane .... they would get themselves organised 2 abreast and then someone would put a wheel in between 2 upfront to listen in on a conversation and then slowly they would be 4 abreast.

If people know the road, its 2 very wide lanes ... plenty of space for cars to overtake safely if cyclists maintain some semblance of civic sense. I was only going till the industrial estate and I was pissed off ... I can only imagine what those having to follow these cyclists down till N11 were thinking considering the road is only a single lane after the leopardstown roundabout.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,113 ✭✭✭✭Leroy42

Always makes me wonder when I listen to motorists etc complain about bikes, what would they do if they come up behind a few horses, or a horse and carriage. I doubt very much they go revving their engines right behind them and beeping the horns and then finally pass by as close as possible.

But when it's a cyclist, sure they shouldn't even be on the road! Cyclists should of course try to be as courteous as possible to faster moving traffic, but that is all it is there is no legal requirement for the cyclist to make sure the motor vehicle can pass by as quickly as possible, just as there is no requirement for a slower moving vehicle to move onto the hard shoulder to let a car pass.

Was on Sutton Hill last night and the amount of abuse we got (there was two of us, cycling two a breast) from cars. How much time did we really cost them, a minute maybe???

Bcause a cyclists is relatively small, most other road users feel an advantage to them and use that as a position of dominance. As you can easily see past a cyclist, the open road in front is just begging for you to pass and that makes the sense of frustration even greater.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,484 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

Leroy42 wrote: »
    As you can easily see past a cyclist, the open road in front is just begging for you to pass and that makes the sense of frustration even greater.

Only if you're* a complete moron.

Open road is a pleasure to drive on. Being held up for a few seconds by a cyclist just means you'll spend more time driving pleasurably at a self-selected speed until you catch up with the inevitable traffic jam further down the road.

* I obviously mean "they", not "you"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 274 ✭✭Deisetrek

Leroy42 wrote: »
    Always makes me wonder when I listen to motorists etc complain about bikes, what would they do if they come up behind a few horses, or a horse and carriage. I doubt very much they go revving their engines right behind them and beeping the horns and then finally pass by as close as possible.

But when it's a cyclist, sure they shouldn't even be on the road! Cyclists should of course try to be as courteous as possible to faster moving traffic, but that is all it is there is no legal requirement for the cyclist to make sure the motor vehicle can pass by as quickly as possible, just as there is no requirement for a slower moving vehicle to move onto the hard shoulder to let a car pass.

Was on Sutton Hill last night and the amount of abuse we got (there was two of us, cycling two a breast) from cars. How much time did we really cost them, a minute maybe???

Bcause a cyclists is relatively small, most other road users feel an advantage to them and use that as a position of dominance. As you can easily see past a cyclist, the open road in front is just begging for you to pass and that makes the sense of frustration even greater.

Yeah big brave boys aren't they ? Insulated inside by a ton of metal ..their impatience cost lives ...not theirs yours and mine ......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 414 ✭✭aquanaut

My wife is great towards cyclists, horses etc, but when driving on a country road where there are cyclist 2 abrest, she always says 'come on lads, single file' - at the same time, clubs normally ride 2 abrest. What is right here?? I've always said 2 is the size of a small car so treat it as such

aquanaut wrote: »
    My wife is great towards cyclists, horses etc, but when driving on a country road where there are cyclist 2 abrest, she always says 'come on lads, single file' - at the same time, clubs normally ride 2 abrest. What is right here?? I've always said 2 is the size of a small car so treat it as such

Yeah, I think for two or four cyclists going single file can help, any more and the snaking line of bikes is hard to pass and if the car attempts a dangerous overtake and has to pull in to avoid oncoming traffic.....

Really though, how much do people get delayed by cyclists? I get delayed far more by cars :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 589 ✭✭✭PAULWATSON

hate to break the news to you, but drivers are sick to the back teeth with jumped up cyclists. Was out the other day and a couple were cycling two abreast taking up the whole lane, upwards of ten cars behind.

Get over yourselves.

What's that noise?

EDIT: Shouldn't bother replying to blind ignorance, but a large number of people on here who cycle also drive, get over your own self.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

PAULWATSON wrote: »
    hate to break the news to you, but drivers are sick to the back teeth with jumped up cyclists. Was out the other day and a couple were cycling two abreast taking up the whole lane, upwards of ten cars behind.

Get over yourselves.

Shocking stuff. What did Joe have to say about it?

TROLL ALERT TROLL ALERT!!

This Paul Watson character can usually be found starting troll like threads on AH.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

That was a short week, great to have the start of the bank holiday arrive so soon.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,277 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

Cycling two abreast is legal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 236 ✭✭WAPAIC

I've been cycling in Dublin for twenty years now....maybe I'm getting older but it definitely seems to have gotten worse in the last year or so.

Personally I find not cycling in the gutter forces drivers to overtake me properly when there is no on-coming traffic rather than try to slip past me in traffic. Leave as much distance between you and the kerb as you'd like to have on the other side, about a foot and a half does it for me. If they can't overtake you, they wouldn't have been able to do it safely anyway. Naturally if there's a bit of space or you're feeling safe and civic, you can move left and let them slip past. Hopefully they'll leave space for you on the left at the next lights.

Adding a pannier on the right had side also seems to have helped - it makes me look wider than I am or maybe it makes me look like a ould fart who might wobble around the road. I'm thinking of getting one of those reflectors on a stick that sticks out another foot...they're very cool....

That said I nearly got clipped this evening near Airfield farm, scared the bejayis out of me because I hadn't heard her behind me. Kind of funny having a good looking girl scream and shout abuse at me though; she had a very attractive middle finger, I could see it quite clearly. She overtook me again later but I still beat her past my house:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 303 ✭✭SleepDoc

TROLL ALERT TROLL ALERT!!

This Paul Watson character can usually be found starting troll like threads on AH.

He also plays golf.

"Porto golf links.

75, with a nice 34 on the back nine. Two club breeze, but the flat stick was hot."

Says it all.

SleepDoc wrote: »
    He also plays golf.

"Porto golf links.

75, with a nice 34 on the back nine. Two club breeze, but the flat stick was hot."

Says it all.

And his name is Paul Watson.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,635 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

some are quite funny actually ;)

But seriously, Paul, whats wrong with cyclist cycling 2 abrest? You could overtake them when its safe and if you can't overtake the two you probably shouldn't be overtaking a single one anyway on most roads

some are quite funny actually ;)

But seriously, Paul, whats wrong with cyclist cycling 2 abrest? You could overtake them when its safe and if you can't overtake the two you probably shouldn't be overtaking a single one anyway on most roads

If he hadn't bought a Saab he probably could overtake them with ease, I reckon it's something of a struggle in one of those (sorry Saab drivers, they lost their cool after the 80s).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭coolbeans

PAULWATSON wrote: »

Get over yourselves.

Fcuk off there Paul like a good man. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,952 ✭✭✭✭tomasrojo

WAPAIC wrote: »
    Adding a pannier on the right had side also seems to have helped - it makes me look wider than I am or maybe it makes me look like a ould fart who might wobble around the road.

Affecting a slight wobble definitely makes cars overtake you with greater care and more clearance. Probably should be used very sparingly.

tomasrojo wrote: »
    Affecting a slight wobble definitely makes cars overtake you with greater care and more clearance. Probably should be used very sparingly.

On a slightly related note...
    I once heard a very experienced racer advise people to ride a little erratically in the bunch just to make others a little less inclined to want to ride past you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,644 ✭✭✭SerialComplaint

WAPAIC wrote: »
    That said I nearly got clipped this evening near Airfield farm, scared the bejayis out of me because I hadn't heard her behind me. Kind of funny having a good looking girl scream and shout abuse at me though; she had a very attractive middle finger, I could see it quite clearly. She overtook me again later but I still beat her past my house:)

I'm trying to avoid the shouting matches these days, but I will generally try to have a little chat with the driver once I catch them up. I explain that a pothole or gust of wind will have me under their wheel if they don't leave enough room. Mixed reactions, as always.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 78,477 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

coolbeans wrote: »
    Fcuk off there Paul like a good man.

Personal abuse will not be tolerated

Beasty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭coolbeans

Quite right too. Apologies PW.