If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Official bitch about daily life in UL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 751 ✭✭✭Daisy Steiner

There are 3 staff working downstairs in the library where the pcs are who won't stfu! They are bellowing at each other. I was in here the other day and the security guard was walking around telling people to stfu. Where is he now I wonder?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,652 ✭✭✭✭Busi_Girl08

The noise in the library is ridiculous.

A friend of mine, who goes to UCC, told me she was in here a few weeks ago and she was shocked at the noise.

In UCC, if you barely go over a whisper in the library, you get attacked with an army of "SSSSHHHHHHHHH!"s.

I've been in the library less than half an hour.
    Behind me there are 2 guys having a chat.
    Downstairs there was a large, loud discussion going on.
    A loud cackle of laughter
    Phones going off (FFS, put it on SILENT!)
    More laughing and talking
    People going up the stairs and dragging their ring finger along the rail, so you get the lovely screech of metal against metal.
    People slamming down books on desks.
    Walloping chairs when pulling them out (fair enough, they are a bit awkward, but at least make some effort to not be too noisy)

God almighty, sometimes the bloody Common Room is quieter. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭Mossin

Why oh why can't people reference?!

I'm editing a thesis for a student, and omg its ridiculous how a masters student cannot do the simplest of things.

I'll be at this all night, and its due tomorrow!

Oh my God! Get off your :mad:ing phone YOU ARE IN THE LIBRARY

I've never been a shusher but I am seriously tempted . . .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,965 ✭✭✭SarahBeep!

I've never been a shusher but I am seriously tempted . . .

Hahaha, during the repets just gone a friend of mine had the funnist FB status update. Mr Parties and loudness himself;

'I've become everything I ever hated....I just shushed someone in the library....'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,200 ✭✭✭Mindkiller

You shushers are my heroes. I never have the courage to tell someone to STFU.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,608 ✭✭✭✭cson

What the **** are ye all doing in the library? It's only week 4 like :eek:

-Mid-term exam next week.
    - Shed-load of notes to catch up on
    - Case studies to...study

So yeah, I've been spending quite a while in the library. :P

Jeez, some folk are just 'pure tic', waiting for stuff to print out, eejit barges in and instead of taking the pile of printed stuff off the tray, starts searching through it, which causes the next print job to get stuck, which causes the printer to pack in and we all have to wait for the attendant to come and fix it. She explained why it happened and what does eejit do? As soon as the printer starts printing again she starts searching through the pages again as they're coming out. :rolleyes:

A weenchy bit of common sense would surely help a lot of people here . . .

Oh yeah, forgot to post this yesterday.

To the girl in the loo outside the Red Raisin yesterday:

You were disgusting, and I don't say that lightly. You came out of the cubicle without flushing your waste. I know you didn't even try because those loos are tiny and I was waiting outside for my turn. I asked you was the flusher not working, you said no and then left the toilet without washing your hands

I flushed the loo and surprise surprise it flushed first go.

I doubt you would leave poo floating in your own toilet at home . . . why do people have such little respect for campus facilities?

It's bad enough that the majority of loos have no lid on them, it's worse when people leave their waste floating for the next person to gag over. :mad:

Mindkiller wrote: »
    You shushers are my heroes. I never have the courage to tell someone to STFU.

I can never manage more than a dirty look. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 330 ✭✭diddley

Oh yeah, forgot to post this yesterday.

To the girl in the loo outside the Red Raisin yesterday:

You were disgusting, and I don't say that lightly. You came out of the cubicle without flushing your waste. I know you didn't even try because those loos are tiny and I was waiting outside for my turn. I asked you was the flusher not working, you said no and then left the toilet without washing your hands

I flushed the loo and surprise surprise it flushed first go.

I doubt you would leave poo floating in your own toilet at home . . . why do people have such little respect for campus facilities?

It's bad enough that the majority of loos have no lid on them, it's worse when people leave their waste floating for the next person to gag over. :mad:

:eek: that was me! Apologies! I was in a rush!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,486 ✭✭✭highlydebased

Why does everyone find the need to print at the same time -.- major backlog not ftw...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,605 ✭✭✭Testament1

Probably been said already but what the f*ck is up with the lights in the Library?? Its pretty annoying when you're sitting down trying to get some work done and all of a sudden the lights switch off :mad:

Testament1 wrote: »
    Probably been said already but what the f*ck is up with the lights in the Library?? Its pretty annoying when you're sitting down trying to get some work done and all of a sudden the lights switch off :mad:

Or if you're epileptic...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 302 ✭✭lallychops

right....i have the utmost respect for mature students who return to full time education. however i have encountered a small group of them on my course who are highly highly irritating. in tutorials they are almost in competition with each other striving to answer each and every question within seconds of it being asked....young first yrs such as myself have the same amount of knowledge..i just cant get a word in edgeways..or if i ask a question im answered by a mature who seems to have the attitude "i know everything" i appreciate they want to learn...i appreciate they are working hard...i do not appreciate the fact that they seem to think they know it all and have a callous disregard for other people in the class.....it does my head in!!!:mad:

lallychops wrote: »
    right....i have the utmost respect for mature students who return to full time education. however i have encountered a small group of them on my course who are highly highly irritating. in tutorials they are almost in competition with each other striving to answer each and every question within seconds of it being asked....young first yrs such as myself have the same amount of knowledge..i just cant get a word in edgeways..or if i ask a question im answered by a mature who seems to have the attitude "i know everything" i appreciate they want to learn...i appreciate they are working hard...i do not appreciate the fact that they seem to think they know it all and have a callous disregard for other people in the class.....it does my head in!!!:mad:

A cmon now...... we've all behaved like that....

WHEN WE WERE IN FIRST CLASS! :pac::pac::pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭Stuxnet

new student to ul myself, cant believe how peeps treat the library like the pub, shut teh f000k up ! its chronic in there, every day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 93 ✭✭breedie

As a mature I can assure you that it's not just the younger students who get frustrated by this. Not all matures are like that but some definately are!
    If you're asking a question and they butt in then respectfully point out that you would prefer to get the answer from the tutor or ask the tutor privately at the end if they could please try to ensure that all students get the same chance to answer as the tutor might just be delighted that someone is answering!!! It's your degree as well mate so make your voice heard.

Was just told to move away from the PC with my tea in the A block computer lab.

There are at least 2 other people with a cup, and I saw a guy eating a muffin in here the other day.

Whatever. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 302 ✭✭lallychops

breedie wrote: »
    As a mature I can assure you that it's not just the younger students who get frustrated by this. Not all matures are like that but some definately are!
    If you're asking a question and they butt in then respectfully point out that you would prefer to get the answer from the tutor or ask the tutor privately at the end if they could please try to ensure that all students get the same chance to answer as the tutor might just be delighted that someone is answering!!! It's your degree as well mate so make your voice heard.

yeah. It's just incredibly frustrating. I should probably say it alright. At least it's not just me who finds this!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭billy the squid

Why does everyone find the need to print at the same time -.- major backlog not ftw...

It's called leaving **** to the last minute :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭fionav3

lallychops wrote: »

That would do my head in too and I am a mature student!! :rolleyes: We're not all like that though, I promise! And I'm having the opposite problem in some of my tutorials. I'm the only mature student in a lot of them and so far (one tutorial in particular is really irritating for this), I seem to be the only one showing up with the work done or the reading prepared. And whats happening is, everytime the tutor asks a question, the entire class looks at the desk so they don't have to answer and then she turns and looks beseechingly at me because she knows I have the work done so I end up having to answer most of the questions. Its really doing my head in because aside from thinking 'why do I bother doing the work when no one else is,' I'm coming across as a knowall (which I HATE) and the turtorials are really boring! Seriously, I don't want to sit there and listen to myself answer questions, I'd love to hear what the other students have to say and get a really interesting class discussion going. Nobody seems to want to participate though. I get that people were shy at the begining but we just finished week 5 for crying out loud, and the tutorials are small (there's only 10 people including me and the tutor in the really quiet one)!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭Mossin

God damn Salaries dept! Why wont you just pay me what I'm owed!

I know my ID card is out of date since June, but I dont graduate till January, so give me my god damn money!!

I've been told that I need to get an updated ID card stating that I wont graduate until January, but how can I if I'm not registered?

I've contacted SAA, and am awaiting a response, but ffs, such hoops to jump through for some payment...I was registered in January for payment, so wtf has changed!!!!!!! :mad:

/rant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 196 ✭✭JohnnyQuid

Ah my first rant in this thread.

I was looking forward to my days off thanks to the open days,then I found out that one of my lecturers wasn't happy with us missing her lectures or labs so she decided that we had to come in for them.So I got up early this morning instead of a lie in and walked all the way from groody in the freezing cold to the lab.Barely anyone has showed up so far.Why do I have to be so studious :mad: I suppose it's my own fault though,I could've stayed in bed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 918 ✭✭✭Agent_99

Rant/

People using the tables in the stables courtyard as ashtrays and rubbish bins, for god sake grow a pair and pick up your rubbish and at least flick your ash on the ground not over the table and then put your butts in the bin.
    :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 Nagoh

Mossin wrote: »
    God damn Salaries dept! Why wont you just pay me what I'm owed!

I know my ID card is out of date since June, but I dont graduate till January, so give me my god damn money!!

I've been told that I need to get an updated ID card stating that I wont graduate until January, but how can I if I'm not registered?

I've contacted SAA, and am awaiting a response, but ffs, such hoops to jump through for some payment...I was registered in January for payment, so wtf has changed!!!!!!! :mad:

/rant

Not answering your emails either eh?
    I can't get on the Core portal since registration week, I'm behind on nearly two months pay by now :mad:

And another thing: 4 years of being in the CSIS has spoiled me with good campus PCs. How on earth do you normals bear to use those library computers? Jebus they're terrible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27 10rooney10

is it possible to drop out at this stage and keep your registration fees for college next year?! dont think i want to continue in my current course :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,486 ✭✭✭highlydebased

10rooney10 wrote: »
    is it possible to drop out at this stage and keep your registration fees for college next year?! dont think i want to continue in my current course :/

If its before the end of October I think so...

Is anyone else having trouble with Sulis?

All but one of my modules have disappeared.

The only hidden sites are the ones from previous years/semesters :\