Sing alongs at parties??

• 18-10-2010 02:03PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,463 ✭✭✭

Here's a thought, when me and the lads started throwing house parties we always used to bring along the guitars and have a good auld jammin session where the golden oldies and crowd pleasers would come out and everybody used to sing along and have a great laugh. But over the years it died down and now never happens.

The closest to it was saturday nite in a friends apartment when we brought the guitar and bongo out to the balcony and just did one or two songs with a very small amount of people taking part. It just reminded me of the way we used to do it.

What are peoples thoughs on and does anyone here do it regularly??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

What are peoples thoughs on and does anyone here do it regularly??

Depends on the people involved.

Used to be quite popular a few years ago, often times they were pretentious twats and people got sick of listening to them rather than catching up with friends and having a chat/laugh. If I wanted to go watch one man and his guitar I'd go to a concert.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,967 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

I see
    Are you one of those who goes to house partys and demands that everyone hushes while you sing sad soppy ballads and everyone gets depressed, party ruined

Sorry OP, if that was my houseparty you'd be out the door :mad:
    You may be a decent lad, but some do it to show off and pick obscure songs. "I'd like that band before they were famous and went mainstream" types

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Love the ould sing song, this is always my party piece, only sang it two weeks ago at a session:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

People getting out guitars for a jam at a party: cool

People getting out guitars at parties, monopolizing the room and (themselves or their acolytes) shushing people that are not paying sufficient attention: smack of a wine bottle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

I love a good sing song. Its usually at 4am with a few of the girls to some 80's song on MTV and we're using sweeping brushes and remotes to sing into :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

House parties for me involve playing PS3 and talking operating systems....
    I thought thats what everyone did :confused:..... shít!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,297 ✭✭✭Jaxxy

That's all well and good when you have people present who can actually play. There was a session a while back with a lad and his guitar, he had his chord book open at his feet and played "Wonderwall" over and over.

I'd rather listen to some pop tripe over that in fairness.

That said you can't beat a good sing song, and they're still fairly popular among one of my groups of friends. Usually lads though, because the girls seem to want music they can "dance" to at parties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

Sounds like a fresh patch of hell, slap on a Kode 9 mix and dance ffs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

There's a difference between a sing-song and listening in silence to some knob covering the likes of James Blunt or Damien Rice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

The old ballads are the best, fook the guitar tho my two brothers are quite good at it, I'm more of a front man meself :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,463 ✭✭✭Antomus Prime

I see
    Are you one of those who goes to house partys and demands that everyone hushes while you sing sad soppy ballads and everyone gets depressed, party ruined

Sorry OP, if that was my houseparty you'd be out the door :mad:
    You may be a decent lad, but some do it to show off and pick obscure songs. "I'd like that band before they were famous and went mainstream" types

Well i agree with you on that, if someone came in and told people to quiet down while he played his songs i'd think the same. These were partys where everybody got involved and had fun.

And dunno where you got the Obscure songs part, as I said, we used to play the crowd pleasers and the golden oldies..........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,967 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Yeah sorry anthonyk.is, my post was harsh, apologies :)

Not realy aimed at you.

I might stroll over to Ranting & Raving

Kiera wrote: »
    I love a good sing song. Its usually at 4am with a few of the girls to some 80's song on MTV and we're using sweeping brushes and remotes to sing into :o

Geebags.....

*dons tin hat*
    *runs*
    Faster
    Faster
    Quicker

Yeah sorry anthonyk.is, my post was harsh, apologies :)

Not realy aimed at you.

I might stroll over to Ranting & Raving

Lol no worries dude

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

kfallon wrote: »
    Geebags.....

*dons tin hat*
    *runs*
    Faster
    Faster
    Quicker

Ah shut up you! You're just pissed that i closed the blinds when it was time for the pillow fight!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

We didn't even play any songs, we just jammed on my balcony at about 5:30am. I bet my neighbours love me. Anyway, the party was good, y'all missed out.

Ah shut up you! You're just pissed that i closed the blinds when it was time for the pillow fight!

Don't worry I caught the tail end of the hot oil wrestling, you should have your mates round more often :p

Back on topic, I hate when people play Wonderwall at these shindigs, does my nut!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

prinz wrote: »
    There's a difference between a sing-song and listening in silence to some knob covering the likes of James Blunt or Damien Rice.

thank fully my friends cant play the guitar. tho being honest nothing like a good foo fighter mosh on the sitten room table with a carboard beer box on your head if you ask me.. ! 1 man bands at house partys suck any sort of life out people go quiet as you said and just ruins the atmosfear....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,387 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Nothing worse than being at a party and some edjit finds an acoustic guitar and decides he’s going to kill the night by boring the ****e out everyone playing bad Radiohead and Neil Young covers. Gurning it up at all the single girls playing Fake Plastic Trees when everyone is hoping that someone will smash the bloody guitar up.

NothingMan wrote: »
    We didn't even play any songs, we just jammed on my balcony at about 5:30am. I bet my neighbours love me. Anyway, the party was good, y'all missed out.

I'm pretty sure they Adore you after that incident!! And yes it was a good party!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,297 ✭✭✭Jaxxy

kfallon wrote: »
    Back on topic, I hate when people play Wonderwall at these shindigs, does my nut!

+1. And then you have the "musically inclined" one who starts playing the Ryan Adams version, you know, just to shake things up, because he's edgy like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,740 ✭✭✭Asphyxia

There's always singing at the house parties I go to the majority of the people I am friends with are musicians so it's impossible not to have music going. I prefer having the music going though it adds to the atmosphere and makes the night great especially when you start making up songs as you go along... Hilarious :D

So eh.... where do these partys be?? lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,916 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Lisening to oul ones singing sweet caroline isnt my idea of fun.

So eh.... where do these partys be?? lol

Look there's only room for one up the tree ffs!!!

Another good one for the sing song:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,916 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

stovelid wrote: »

People getting out guitars at parties, monopolizing the room and (themselves or their acolytes) shushing people that are not paying sufficient attention: smack of a wine bottle.

wine drinkers are pretentious twats too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,857 ✭✭✭Reloc8

stovelid wrote: »

^ This

If you're any good, sing/play up there and we'll all dip in and out and enjoy it. If you're bad but good craic, probably the same goes and no harm done.

Whether you're objectively brilliant or bad, if you think people have come along for an audience with you and your bad taste in music, you deserve to have the run put on you, double quick.

Good session = can be fantastic. Mopey, deluded attention seekers = here's your coat, what's your rush.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,388 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Nothing worse than being at a party and some edjit finds an acoustic guitar and decides he’s going to kill the night by boring the ****e out everyone playing bad Radiohead and Neil Young covers. Gurning it up at all the single girls playing Fake Plastic Trees when everyone is hoping that someone will smash the bloody guitar up.
    ha that reminds me of a party a group of 6 or so colleagues and myself were invited too and when we got there, there was only 3 other people...and yer man started playing radiohead....during the guitar intro we all just went quiet, kind of awkward....then the high pitched radiohead imitation singing started and all 6 of us just broke our bollix laughing...so hard we couldn't stop... right fit of the giggles.....that ended that session...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

orourkeda wrote: »
    wine drinkers are pretentious twats too.

Neither are as bad as wine-drinking buskers, I'm sure you'll agree.