Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Spanish Ireland

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,576 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Jaysus, we would have young ones with a good coating of fur on their boxes, not like the wispy stuff we are getting now:mad:

Good thick coat to hold in the fent and make it easy to 'wood up big'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,214 ✭✭✭wonton

one interesting angle there would not have been the same irish diaspora and therefore the world as we know it would be completely different.

so anyone with irish decent or any part of irish culture that influened the world would not have happened in that way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Pauleta

We would of won the World Cup this year :(

• Registered Users Posts: 2,401 ✭✭✭Royal Irish

And Robbie Keane would be called Roberto Keano and he would actually score goals.

Pauleta wrote: »
    We would of won the World Cup this year :(

'Have won'

• Registered Users Posts: 3,612 ✭✭✭Dardania

wonton wrote: »
    one interesting angle would not have been the same irish diaspora and therefore the world as we know it would be completely different.

so anyone with irish decent or any part of irish culture that influened the world would not have happened in that way.

Who'd step into the friendly drunks of the world spot? The Ruskies would get a better image?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,565 ✭✭✭southsiderosie

Dardania wrote: »
    Who'd step into the friendly drunks of the world spot? The Ruskies would get a better image?

Nyet.

Excellent point.

Would Olav Blotgeg shell out 5k for 'drinks' on a train and be carried shoulder high?

Would unemployed people from the stalags form an 'army 'and 'set up camp' in the nearest 'Russian bar and have a sing song after getting beat.

Would the local vintners of whoever was hosting Russia rub their hands and say .'We'll fleece these fookers who drink like gannetts and be on the pig's back for the year. How do the cunts do it? and the place in recession:eek:None of the fuckers seem to work.

Good point horse.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

skangers would only have to go to bray instead of santa ponsa.

instead of a paddys day parade we'd have a running of the bulls.

we would have a terrible eurovision record.

cigarettes would cost sweet feck all.

guinness??? nah, ill have a san miguel or some sangria.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

And Robbie Keane would be called Roberto Keano and he would actually score goals.

Would that be the same Robbie Keane that's Ireland's all time top goal scorer, with 45 goals?

The same Robbie Keane that's scored a total of 208 goals in 425 goals at club level?

And the same Robbie Keane who is 29th in all time list of top international goal scorers for their country, beating the likes of Kenny Daglish, Dennis Law, David Villa, Michael Owen and Ian Rush ?

Oh yeah - he couldn't score to save his life.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,014 ✭✭✭Paddy Samurai

Gunnerkid wrote: »
    What do you think Ireland would be like today if the Spanish Armada arrived and had been successful and had paved the way for the spanish to force the British out of Ireland, would we be speaking spanish and be part of Spain or would they have picked up and left after helping us ( which I doubt very much) anyways bored out of my head right now and just been thinking about this for awhile so just wondering what the rest of ye think

Theres a good chance we might now ,have a government that knows whats its doing.:eek:

You obviously don't read the Spanish papers. :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

How do you figure that one out? The Spanish economy was battered by the recession & their public deficit is massive.

Their unemployment rate stands at 20% - the highest in Europe. Public sector workers are facing a 5% paycut in the next budget, which is also set to see €15 billion in austerity cuts on top of the €50 billion cuts they announced in January.

In comparison to the Irish government, they are hardly models of what we should be aiming for.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I don't know how much of the Spanish culture would have crossed over to us, their weather has a huge effect on their lifestyle. Siestas and the food are regional because of the weather they get.

I don't think the English would have rested until they drove the Spanish out of Ireland so we would have been a war zone until that happened and I'd have to tip the Brits to win out due to ease of access.

If the Spanish did hold control over Ireland and we didn't go through the hardship we did we may just be some small island no bodies ever heard of.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,294 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Spanish girls for life, not just for summer.

ScumLord wrote: »
    I don't know how much of the Spanish culture would have crossed over to us, their weather has a huge effect on their lifestyle. Siestas and the food are regional because of the weather they get.

True, but the best food is in the green, rainy northern regions. Maybe Ireland would have been a global foodie paradise the way the Basque Country is today.

If Ireland were still a province of Spain when the Spanish Civil War broke out (which is unlikely, but lets entertain the notion nonetheless), that could have really changed the course of European history. Who would the Irish have sided with: Franco or the Republic? If they were Republicans, or had used the opportunity to declare independence, would Franco have allowed the Germans to destroy Dublin the way they destroyed Guernica? Would Britain have intervened in order to prevent the Germans from gaining a foothold right across the Irish Sea? Would Britain and France have taken the German threat more seriously?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,388 ✭✭✭gbee

Assuming the invasion of Kinsale took hold, could be reinforced and defended. In another 150 years the Spanish might have had a better chance in her invasion attempt of Britain.

But seriously, someone should have invented meteorology ~ for such a powerful nation to have so much destruction done to her fleet from storms is inexcusable in the first instance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,916 ✭✭✭RonMexico

She's greek!!! Anyway she couldn't really be much hotter than she is now!!!!

Her father is. Her mother is Irish. Imagine the outcome of a Greek&Spanish combo.

And yes she could be hotter. She could be single.:D

True, but the best food is in the green, rainy northern regions. Maybe Ireland would have been a global foodie paradise the way the Basque Country is today.
    I suppose fish is big in Spanish food but then the whole aversion to fish comes from the Catholic church and we'd probably be a very Catholic country if we where under Spanish rule.

• Registered Users Posts: 454 ✭✭KindOfIrish

I have just imagined Spanish language with an Irish accent... he he he:D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

Admit it, you're really just fantasising about Spanish girls invading the country!

WRONG

we are fantasizing about invading the spanish girls:D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,615 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Thief

Mmmmmm Spanish girls!!..............................What was the question again?

ScumLord wrote: »
    I suppose fish is big in Spanish food but then the whole aversion to fish comes from the Catholic church and we'd probably be a very Catholic country if we where under Spanish rule.

I don't think Ireland could be any more Catholic than it has been tbh.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

Considering the Spanish slaughtered millions in the Caribbean, Central and South America and brought down the Inca civilisation, I don't think Ireland would have been any better off under Spanish rule as opposed to British rule but atleast the Spanish were Catholic, so they may not have persecuted Catholic's here and discriminated against them like Protestant Britain did later on.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,271 ✭✭✭Barna77

The invasion began ages ago, there are lots of Spanish in Ireland.

It's a slow process you know. Ever been to Dublin 8? :D

• Registered Users Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

The Spanish and Irish have always got on quite well, probably due to the collective Catholic guilt thing going on. They certainly wouldn't have colonised Ireland after the Armada, we were religious allies after all. Besides it was much to cold for them here anyhow.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,715 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

It would make learning Spanish a whole lot easier and also unnecessary. We'd also speak the second widest spoken language in the world, so a small step back there.

Also, After Hours would be half the size it is due to all the missing "are European women better than Irish women" threads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,388 ✭✭✭gbee

Augmerson wrote: »
    Considering the Spanish slaughtered millions in the Caribbean, Central and South America and brought down the Inca civilisation,

And gave us a new race of people, the Latino. As the Spanish inquisitors moved around South America they killed most of the male population and ordered their own men to mate with the women.

It's probably not the first case of ethnic cleansing, but it was one of the top most secrets held in part by the Catholic Church as these assaults were done in the name of the King & Queen and in a form of Catholicism that would put radical Muslims to shame.

I don't think Ireland could be any more Catholic than it has been tbh.
    We had a long period of relative freedom from the Catholic church under British rule. While we wanted to follow Catholic rules the government wouldn't care that we did as they would in a predominantly Catholic country. In a way religion was more of a choice in Ireland under British rule.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,202 ✭✭✭Jeboa Safari

Probably be eventually be retaken by the British, but I'd say the British plantations probably wouldn't have happened on such scale, and we'd probably be an independent united Ireland by now. Probably wouldn't be neutral either, not sure whose side we'd take in any European wars either, depending on the Spanish and British legacy probably, interesting to think about though. If we were independent early with any sort of decent rule over the country and not conquered again, we might have a few colonies around the world.