Scumbag sues Garda

• Subscribers Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭IRLConor

acme4242 wrote: »
    where is the youtube of the CCTV coverage ?

it must be available under freedom of information ACT.

It was footage taken by the security company in the port. I'm not sure if they're covered by FoI.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,116 ✭✭✭archer22

dvpower wrote: »
    Not to many of the posters here who predicted the outcome of this trial and based this on the the fact that the alleged victim guy was a scumbag. One went so far to say that if he was on the jury, he would acquit regardless of the evidence. Some went so far to suggest that it would have been ok for the garda to murder the scumbag and dump his corpse in the Liffey.

The judge, on the other hand, (I hope) remained impartial and made decisions based solely on the law and the evidence presented.
    I dont think it mattered that the plaintiff was a scumbag what was more relevant was the status of the defendant.After all the girl in the taxi in Galway was no scumbag yet the result was similar.The outcome of cases where gardai (or judges remember Brian Curtain) are charged are 100% predicable :rolleyes:.Indeed a complete farce at this stage.No wonder ordinary members of the public have lost all respect for the law.One law for the "boys" another law for the rest of us :mad:.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

After Hours remember?

I think you're just trolling now tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

I don't think anyone once suggested the Gardai are above the law although by all means provide links to correct me if I am wrong.

To be honest I think the Gardai often get the short end of the stick in this country. Either they are not working hard enough or in this case they are going too far. They can't win as far as I can see.

I think you're just trolling now tbh.

Why? Because I happen to be happy with the verdict and disagree with some of the points made? Because I don't think the accuser's social status or the Garda's profession makes any difference?

Sorry, I though we were on a discussion forum where different opinions were allowed :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

Why? Because I happen to happy with the verdict and disagree with some of the points made?

Sorry, I though we were on a discussion forum where different opinions were allowed :rolleyes:

No need for the roll eyes. I made the exact same point myself a few posts back.

You said this:
    That wasn't it and you know it. The social standing of the accuser and the fact that the Garda was a Garda were irrelevant.

You got these responses:
    Huh? :confused:

That was completely relevant. Look at the thread title. The whole point of my input here was that Gardaí shouldn't be allowed to beat a suspect.

The whole point of the vast majority here was that scumbags deserve a beating.
    Not to many of the posters here who predicted the outcome of this trial and based this on the the fact that the alleged victim guy was a scumbag. One went so far to say that if he was on the jury, he would acquit regardless of the evidence. Some went so far to suggest that it would have been ok for the garda to murder the scumbag and dump his corpse in the Liffey.

The judge, on the other hand, (I hope) remained impartial and made decisions based solely on the law and the evidence presented.

You the quoted the post directly above this and highlighted one piece completely out of context (which was actually a response to your original statement) and posted this:
    After Hours remember?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,182 ✭✭✭dvpower

biko wrote: »
    Rodney King a la Ireland :D
    Have you been advising the judge?:pac:

I don't think anyone once suggested the Gardai are above the law although by all means provide links to correct me if I am wrong.

You're very very wrong. Some examples were already quoted by elviscostello (and that was early on in the thread)
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=68387719&postcount=79

You're very very wrong. Some examples were already quoted by elviscostello (and that was early on in the thread)
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=68387719&postcount=79

Fair enough I take your point.

In response to Elvis post I was merely highlighting the fact that we are on After Hours so I'd imagine not all of the types of posts dvpower mentioned were serious.

I was not trolling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 312 ✭✭man.about.town

this outcome pleases me. so the judge directed a not guilty verdict..

i would be interested to know if there is any jury members on boards that could tell me what there consensus was throughout the trial and if they had of been allowed give there verdict, would they have found the garda guilty or not guilty??????

• Subscribers Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭IRLConor

i would be interested to know if there is any jury members on boards that could tell me what there consensus was throughout the trial and if they had of been allowed give there verdict, would they have found the garda guilty or not guilty??????

The trial hadn't concluded, so it's hard to say what the result would have been.

I don't think jury members are allowed to discuss cases with anyone but jury members.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

LOL, uhm, no. To do so would be highly questionable.

Edit: ...and by questionable, I mean basically illegal.

archer22 wrote: »
    I dont think it mattered that the plaintiff was a scumbag what was more relevant was the status of the defendant.After all the girl in the taxi in Galway was no scumbag yet the result was similar.The outcome of cases where gardai (or judges remember Brian Curtain) are charged are 100% predicable :rolleyes:.Indeed a complete farce at this stage.No wonder ordinary members of the public have lost all respect for the law.One law for the "boys" another law for the rest of us :mad:.

i believe gardai should be harder to convict, the reason for this is that, lets say for example that i am a banker and if i go out on a friday night and punch someone, ill be arrested and brought to court for it, then ill be convicted, and then ill go back to work on monday and no one needs to no.

however, if a garda punches someone, they'll be suspended, there name will be all over the paper and if convicted they lose there job.

now the garda didnt go out of his way to punch someone but it happened in his line of work, more than likely dealing with a person who is aggressive, my point is that the job hes in puts him in these circumstances more so than anyone other job.

I don't think jury members are allowed to discuss cases with anyone but jury members.

really? even after the case is over and done with?

i believe gardai should be harder to convict

How would that work? Beyond reasonable doubt + 1?

really? even after the case is over and done with?

afaik

Jurors must
    • decide the facts of the case only
    • take directions relating to law from the trial judge, whether or not they agree with him/her
    • remain impartial and independent
    • remain uninfluenced by any person. It is an offence for any person who is not a member of the jury to attempt to influence a juror in any way. If any person speaks to a juror about the case, the juror should inform the court or a member of the Gardai.
    • keep statements made in the jury room confidential. Jurors should not discuss the case with any person other than members of the jury. It is contempt of court punishable by fine and or imprisonment to repeat any statements made in the jury room.

afaik

Jurors must
    • decide the facts of the case only
    • take directions relating to law from the trial judge, whether or not they agree with him/her
    • remain impartial and independent
    • remain uninfluenced by any person. It is an offence for any person who is not a member of the jury to attempt to influence a juror in any way. If any person speaks to a juror about the case, the juror should inform the court or a member of the Gardai.
    • keep statements made in the jury room confidential. Jurors should not discuss the case with any person other than members of the jury. It is contempt of court punishable by fine and or imprisonment to repeat any statements made in the jury room.

oh, thats very interesting, thanks a million

How would that work? Beyond reasonable doubt + 1?

ha ha fair enough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,565 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

ha ha fair enough

so the people who work for the state should be harder to convict, and that would discourage gaurds on a power trip how?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Glad to see a Not Guilty verdict personally.
    If the guards assaulted a person, I'm certainly not glad. Not saying the guy wasn't a scumbag (and for the retards who think that that's defending him, I don't know, look up the dictionary definition of "defend") but I don't want a police force with the power to use that kind of physical aggression.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,851 ✭✭✭veryangryman

Dudess wrote: »
    If the guards assaulted a person, I'm certainly not glad. Not saying the guy wasn't a scumbag (and for the retards who think that that's defending him, I don't know, look up the dictionary definition of "defend") but I don't want a police force with the power to use that kind of physical aggression.

22,000 + posts and you still dont know that its against the rules of the site to insult other posters. Tut tut

Im going to (yet again) ask every boardie who's a cop to whack the scumbags one extra time for me (on top of the 2 already asked)

And one more for each person who disagrees that the scumbags need to get sense beaten into them.

22,000 + posts and you still dont know that its against the rules of the site to insult other posters. Tut tut
    Didn't mention any names - and all I'm saying is that they seem very dumb if they can't understand what defending means. Fair comment, no?
    Im going to (yet again) ask every boardie who's a cop to whack the scumbags one extra time for me (on top of the 2 already asked)

And one more for each person who disagrees that the scumbags need to get sense beaten into them.
    Ah but advocating physical violence is ok? Btw, I didn't say anywhere the guy doesn't deserve a beating, just that I don't want it done by the state's police force.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 348 ✭✭Drake66

He also questioned why gardaí decided to smash the car’s windows instead of waiting for Mr Maughan and his accomplice to get out when Mr Maughan was clearly not going to escape after the stolen vehicle crashed.

Pretty dim opinion from the judge. The report that the gardai got was that the guy had a knife. What should they have done? Asked them nicely to disembark from the car and sing Kumbaya?

I'm glad the young garda will not be convicted but this case should never of been brought before the courts ffs.

Drake66 wrote: »
    Pretty dim opinion from the judge. The report that the gardai got was that the guy had a knife. What should they have done? Asked them nicely to disembark from the car and sing Kumbaya?
    No?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,599 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

Drake66 wrote: »
    Student Guards are taught the correct way to subdue a violent and demonstrative person.

Now that stab-vests, pepper-spray and retractable batons are standard issue (at last), there's no excuse for any member going Stacey Koon.

Again, this is almost a repeat of the Temple Bar incident where a lack of supervision fails to reign in a younger members when the blood is up...queue the State (i.e. we taxpayers) being sued for millions.

As for those baying for blood here, I'll say if you want to live in a police state then go live in China. It's all very well for you to say 'shoot the scumbag' until it's one of your own relatives involved when you sharply U-turn and start braying about police brutality.

I'm not standing up for the guy who stole the car, far from, I'd just like our police force to act more like professionals and follow prescribed procedure than weigh in like belligerent mules and end up costing state millions of Euro year-on-year in court cases such as this.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 112 ✭✭someuser905

I also approve the beating of scumbags.

Thank you for your input. Your suggestion will be put on file and if we need any further information we will be in touch with you.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 112 ✭✭someuser905

Thank you for your input. Your suggestion will be put on file and if we need any further information we will be in touch with you.

i also suggest that said beatings should be videoed so we can all share in these wonderful moments, and that the lucky gardai receive medals and tazers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 348 ✭✭Drake66

I am sure that the logic behind breaking the windows is that the gardai can have immediate access to the entire vehicle and be able to control all potential exits. Seems like a logical course of action to me; especially when the suspects are reported to be armed.
    As for those baying for blood here, I'll say if you want to live in a police state then go live in China.

You are aggrandising the case. Robustly subduing an aggressive and belligerent suspect does not mean we live in a police state. A Garda is also entitled to defend himself/herself.
    Now that stab-vests, pepper-spray and retractable batons are standard issue (at last), there's no excuse for any member going Stacey Koon.

The use of a retractable baton was why this garda was prosecuted :eek:.
    costing state millions of Euro year-on-year in court cases such as this.

Well then naturally the DPP should stop making erroneous prosecutions like this one.