What have you seen change big time in your life so far?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭problemchimp

My hair has disappeared and re-appeared on my back. Farmers used to grow things for their money. Stuff used to get fixed and not dumped in the past. T.V. through the night now and no test card. Milk doesn't go off the way it used to. Mental health budget has almost disapeared. Not enough honey bees left. No punks, mods, skins, rockers, goths, new romantics etc... Now it's short skirts for the girls and regular shirts for the lads, no individual style left. Now I'm off to wax me back and shoulders!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 423 ✭✭madrabui

Black Tower, Blue Nun and La Piat d’Or were fine wines.
    Instant showers - I don't know I survived, or how smelly the population was.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,562 ✭✭✭scientific1982

Less organized religion.
    Growing popularity of the internet.
    Increased consumption of drugs and alcohol.
    Growing importance of biotechnology and science in general.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,946 ✭✭✭✭Neyite

being able to get the pill without being married.

being able to buy condoms without a prescription, in a chemist.

being able to buy condoms in the Gents toilets.

being able to buy condoms in the Ladies toilets.

not having to save for a year for a plane ticket to america.

having an MP3 thats the size of the play button on my old walkman

... and i am only 35.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,808 ✭✭✭✭smash

Neyite wrote: »
    being able to get the pill without being married.

being able to buy condoms without a prescription, in a chemist.

being able to buy condoms in the Gents toilets.

being able to buy condoms in the Ladies toilets.

not having to save for a year for a plane ticket to america.

having an MP3 thats the size of the play button on my old walkman

So you like sex, music and travel? It's like a bio in a playboy magazine :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,106 ✭✭✭flyton5

There was a time when the police were friends of the church. Drink driving charges quashed, a blind eye turned to the odd murder...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 749 ✭✭✭Bill2673

I went away backpacking in Asia & South America, for 18 months, leaving in early 1999. When I left, nobody had a mobile phone. When I came back, everyone had one. (slight exaggeration, not quite everyone, but most people did).

Stepping back, how we communicate is much much easier. When I was 15, I would ring my mates gaff. If he wasn't there, he wasn't there, and that was that. Ten years later I could send him a text from Beijing and he could reply straight back to me.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

I remember as a kid just having to ask permission to use the house phone to call a friend or girlfriend (if I had one my parents then didn't seemingly know about), ever cautious that ma and da might be listening in.
    If I was on the phone more than 5 minutes, I was interrupted on my call and given stern looks!

Now a days using the phone is just like picking up a pen, a simple communication tool. But back as a kid, it was a major thing for children to be allowed even make a call at home.
    How things change!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 749 ✭✭✭Bill2673

Biggins wrote: »
    I remember as a kid just having to ask permission to use the house phone to call a friend or girlfriend (if I had one my parents then didn't seemingly know about), ever cautious that ma and da might be listening in.
    If I was on the phone more than 5 minutes, I was interrupted on my call and given stern looks!

Now a days using the phone is just like picking up a pen, a simple communication tool. But back as a kid, it was a major thing for children to be allowed even make a call at home.
    How things change!

Yeah, I remember there being uproar when one of the girls down the road from us rang her friend in Wexford and stayed on the line for 40 minutes......"jaysus that must have cost a fortune".....(and it probably did too).

Bill2673 wrote: »
    Yeah, I remember there being uproar when one of the girls down the road from us rang her friend in Wexford and stayed on the line for 40 minutes......"jaysus that must have cost a fortune".....(and it probably did too).
    During the late 70's/early 80's recession I remember things were that bad that there was an actual small wooden coin box beside the phone in the house, to try and cover the calls alone.
    We (my sisters and I) didn't dare use the black round dial phone unless we hand coins in our pockets.
    We feared the wrath of ma and da. :o

(That 'fear' too now has gone from parents grasp in their attempt to control wayward child strife, another thing that has changed - and often not for the better.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,392 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

Communications:

In the late 70's when my Mam wanted to phone my Granny she had to go to the phone box at the end of the street to call her.

In the 1980's she could call from the phone we had installed in the house! Making an international call was out of the question though because it was too expensive!

In the late 90s, mobile phones meant we no longer had to wait under Cleary's clock for ages looking up and down the street to see if our date was coming. Our dates could just phone us to say they would be late (or had dumped us :()

In the 21st Century, my international calls to 30 countries are free (Talk Talk) and I can actually hold Video calls with my parents in Ireland via VoIP services like Skype or Google chat.

In 1997 my email address (before hotmail was bought by Microsoft) was a novelty and I thought I'd never really have any use for email. :D

Politics:
    Communism in Russia and Eastern Europe has all but disappeared and 'the Reds' have been replaced by Muslims as the new bogeymen.

In Ireland, our Fianna Fáil (in particular)politicians have been shown to be self-serving and corrupt unlike in the 80's...oh, wait! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

I remember when a packet of Tayto went from 2p to 4p in price. It was the first time I felt a true sense of injustice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,801 ✭✭✭Big Pussy Bonpensiero

The quantity and quality of entertainment on TV.

I remember when a packet of Tayto went from 2p to 4p in price. It was the first time I felt a true sense of injustice.
    LOL true ...and you could buy a sweet for a penny. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 KilaWhale

No more Cilla Black every Sat night followed by Glenroe on a Sunday .... if you didn't see Fidelma and Miley rolling around in the hay and the red light wasn't on the VCR, it meant that the moment was gone forever!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

The ring pulls dont pull away from the cans no more. I miss that. I was in China last month and they still have them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,241 ✭✭✭Sanjuro

Yeah, a can of coke used to cost 50p. And a mars bar, 30p. Now you need to sell a lung to afford to get really really fat.

I remember our old local shop (closed 10-12 years) used to sell individual cigarettes, I was only a (non-smoking) youngster at the time. I can remember been sent to said shop with a note from my mother for a pack of fags too!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,239 ✭✭✭✭KeithAFC

Lots. A new police force set up, a power sharing government, the 'war' ending, got a job etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

This change to this.

These change to these.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,655 ✭✭✭Faith+1

kfallon wrote: »
    The size of me cock!

Can't believe nobody has said it already, AH your standards are slipping!

It got smaller? :confused::confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,012 ✭✭✭kincsem

Being sent to the shops to "do a message". The shops were 3/4 mile away. It usually involved bringing two bags, one for each side of the handlebars for balance and cycle back with them loaded with spuds. You went up to the man in the shop and told him what you wanted. No self-service, no supermarkets, no automatic tills, not many cars, no traffic-lights just keep your eyes open at junctions. You walked to school or cycled if rich. If it rained you put on your coat and hat.

Now children are "dropped off" in 4X4s, have activities, play Xbox, put on weight, and imo are not street smart, but better educated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,984 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

Modern robotics. (no, not dancing.)

When i was a nipper the terminator & robocop films had me daydreaming about robots, drawing robots & made me generally obsessed with the idea of a walking talking machine.

The evolution of the honda/Asimo robot has always impressed me. Yeah its a bit of a runt but look at the feckin thing? its a proper robot than can walk up stairs & run & even fetch you a sandwich. A rasher sandwich. With brown sauce.

I'd still like to give it a crafty shove if i was walking past it though. Or a sneaky foot sweep. Just to see it clatter on the floor.

*obligatory southpark vid......

This change to this.

Ah yes July 19th, Galway liberated from Indians that day too Ted. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 603 ✭✭✭Chicken Run

madrabui wrote: »
    Black Tower, Blue Nun and La Piat d’Or were fine wines.
    Instant showers - I don't know I survived, or how smelly the population was.

Vesta curries were "exotic" and "foreign" food.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,082 ✭✭✭sheesh

end of cold war

ira ceasefire

current financial problems

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,357 ✭✭✭punchdrunk

the smell of coal fires burning on the way to school,all my mates had coal bunkers at the side of the house

we used to have a milk man,coal man,egg man,paper round...all gone

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,204 ✭✭✭FoxT

IN -ATMs-> GONE - Cheque books

IN -Credit cards-> GONE - Travellers cheques

IN -cheap, instant communications-> GONE - OPerator assisted calls

IN -NCT-> GONE - Bald tyres

IN -Fajitas-> GONE - tripe

IN -fresh strawberries....in October-> GONE - crab apples

IN -digital HDTV-> GONE - Black & white, valves

IN -MP3 players -> GONE - 8-track, cassettes, Walkmen, CDs(on the way out)

IN -Apartments-> GONE - They wont last:eek:

IN -Unleaded petrol-> GONE - Morris minors

IN -Bionicles-> GONE - board games

IN -Transformers-> GONE - tree climbing

IN -Regulations-> GONE - individual responsibility

IN -12 hour waits in emergency rooms-> GONE - GPs who could give you a plaster cast or a few stitches

IN -You can get anything you want on the internet, delivered to your door-> GONE - decent bookshops ( almost)

IN -decimal currency-> GONE - L, s, d

IN -Euro-> GONE - punt

Bit of a quiet night here at chez FoxT...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,674 ✭✭✭Teutorix

They stopped selling fat frog ice creams

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭Lab_Mouse

jujibee wrote: »

If you told anyone in the '90s that 10 years later they would be walking through an x-ray that showed them naked in order to get on a plane they would laugh in your face.
    till you showed them footage off the 9/11 bombing