Life in Ireland during the recession...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,396 ✭✭✭✭FreudianSlippers

CamperMan wrote: »
    and most people still thing that the boom will be back next week, that the government will wipe out their debts and all will be well.

you havn't seen anything yet, this is the start
    Someone sounds bitter. Things aren't bad for some people, so get over it.

I am none of the above on your previously posted list and most of the people out in town and going to the top restaurants are not either.
    Bookings are hard to get in Dublin at the moment and I'm saying that from experience.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 230 ✭✭Under A Funeral Moon

It's well for all of those folk out shopping on Grafton Street today. Some of us had to enjoy the "beautiful sunny day" from our workplaces. I'm glad you had a nice day though, OP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 171 ✭✭SamSamSammy

When I was in there, it was lunch time, everyone with a smile and having the craic, normal life goes on....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Conor108

All sold and packed off to China. Shocking.

The Chinese though, a great bunch of lads

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭Superbus

"Splash some cold water on your face and go outside. You'll see things are just the way you left them."

- Mad Men screenwriter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 827 ✭✭✭Timistry

Superbus wrote: »
    "Splash some cold water on your face and go outside. You'll see things are just the way you left them."

- Mad Men screenwriter

but he is now a multi-millionaire legend :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,835 ✭✭✭CamperMan

OisinT wrote: »
    Someone sounds bitter. Things aren't bad for some people, so get over it.

I am none of the above on your previously posted list and most of the people out in town and going to the top restaurants are not either.
    Bookings are hard to get in Dublin at the moment and I'm saying that from experience.

balls to it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,276 ✭✭✭readyletsgo

JE5US CHR!ST! You are all a big bunch of begrudgers on here!

Everyones in the **** at the end of the day, get over it and sort your own gaff out!

Christ on a stick!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,985 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

chances are that the people you saw were

public sector workers
    :mad:

Howzat?:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,129 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Still about 88% of the country are employed and town is full of happy ripped off tourists - If you want to see doom and gloom , walk around a council estate after Jeremy Kyle finishes when they decide to get up and go to the pub in their Pyjamas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,835 ✭✭✭CamperMan

If I could get dole, I would.

money for me, money for the mrs, rent paid for.. not just some crappy 2 up 2 down, no, I could afford a nice big house on the dole because the state will pay for it.. the government should slash welfare by 75%

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭nxbyveromdwjpg

Couldnt agree with the OP more, I wish people would just shut the **** up about it cos for most of them life is exactly the same.

In fact, for anyone on a salary, which again is MOST people in the country (not all, but the majority) they could even be better off financially now in day to day life.

Wage same, everything else cheaper. Grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,305 ✭✭✭✭K-9

It really is the same as the people who talked up the bubble, except in reverse.

Things will never stop going down, things will get far worse, IMF etc. etc.

As during the bubble, people will just muddle on, best they can.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,710 ✭✭✭RoadKillTs

Thats the spirit OP! F*ck the merchants of fear :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,541 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

i was in dublin on saturday night at the oktoberfest and there was a queue all the way back to georges dock luas stop to get in at 6pm

isn't it gas how this thread gets so little, yet a thread on leaving Ireland has nearly 200 posters.

Moan, moan, moan. Look on the bright side of life ffs!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,477 ✭✭✭✭Raze_them_all

If I could get dole, I would.

money for me, money for the mrs, rent paid for.. not just some crappy 2 up 2 down, no, I could afford a nice big house on the dole because the state will pay for it.. the government should slash welfare by 75%
    Ah yes, so what if I used to work between 80-90 hours a week doing two jobs, used to come home with about a grand after taxes, I'm clearly a lazy git who hasn't had to spend the bones of 5k on courses since none of them are financed, clealy i deserve 50e a week after working since I was 17-21. But I'm a young male, I don't count right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 371 ✭✭whatswhat

Never a truer word spoken.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,384 ✭✭✭gbee

whatswhat wrote: »
    Never a truer word spoken.

Without a reference, what word was never truer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 371 ✭✭whatswhat

gbee wrote: »
    Without a reference, what word was never truer?

Sorry,forgot to add quote.Was reading the guys comment about if you want to see true hardship,google The Great Famine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,549 ✭✭✭Noffles

isn't it gas how this thread gets so little, yet a thread on leaving Ireland has nearly 200 posters.

Moan, moan, moan. Look on the bright side of life ffs!

Bright side of life... while I get fleeced left right and centre for working hard every day.... Fair enough I'm fit and well and live in a nice house... but if I can't enjoy it as I'm busy trying to keep my head above water where is the bright side..?

Green tinted glasses are for holidays only.

is it an ego thing that you think you deserve more money? wages are massive in Ireland, during the recession you have to accept to work harder for less money.

You can be lazy, negative and moan.... but life goes on just the same when you're happy as when you're sad so why not just be happy?

you have a job and a house, you're doing very well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 68 ✭✭Flygimp

is it an ego thing that you think you deserve more money? wages are massive in Ireland, during the recession you have to accept to work harder for less money.

You can be lazy, negative and moan.... but life goes on just the same when you're happy as when you're sad so why not just be happy?

Sammy's obviously a troll... but a happy happy one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

Acapella wrote: »
    Take a trip to Limerick....Angelas Ashes has nothing on the Limerick City of 2010.

Limerick is still there friend! It just moved premises to an indoor location in Dooradoyle. ;)

I'd agree with the OP. I had similar thoughts when I first visited the North in the early 90s. Such was the grip of the media's dark projection of the place on my mind, I was shocked to see men delivering in lorries, kids on their way to school, and women going around with shopping bags etc. Normality is the deep still water you don't see beneath the waves of boom, bust, or other media frenzy material. Time to get on with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,549 ✭✭✭Noffles

Saying "life goes on" is a bollox argument... of course it does, that won't change unless you die and being happy or sad is a state of mind. Getting taken to the cleaners in as many ways as the **** heads who run this hole... now that's just ****e!

And I'm not lazy..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 68 ✭✭Flygimp

But as you know Noffles, Ireland is a culture of the down trodden, timid and subserviant. We skulk in the dark corners of pubs and behind the guise of public forums, anonymous and safe and procrastinate about adversity and hard times. We apologise for our own existence as has always been the way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭Mister men

grafton street was buzzing today absolutely packed and the sun shining.. beautiful.

Yes there are bad bits, but theres no need to be all depressed about the future, life it what you make it.

Having a negative attitude will get you no where in life imo.

Tourists on Grafton street i presume. I don't know what planet your living on but it ain't the same planet as myself or most people i know. The country is falling apart.

ah ffs, go out and open your eyes, you will see the country is NOT falling apart. Go into dublin for a walk, you'll see plenty of happy faces.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 428 ✭✭bigbadbear

I'm not going back to ireland until everyone stops talking about the recession. Seriously. STOP MOANING!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭Mister men

ah ffs, go out and open your eyes, you will see the country is NOT falling apart. Go into dublin for a walk, you'll see plenty of happy faces.
    I live and work in Dublin the country is falling apart. A few new buildings and a bridge down by the river does'nt mean squat to someone waiting 19 hours in emergency for someone to see them. Nor does it mean dick to my friend who got knocked down by a drunk driver 4 years ago and lives in a wheelchair pissing in a bag and has had his much needed home help cut to 5 hours a WEEK from 25 hours a week two years ago.

But hey once everyone down on Grafton street is smiling what.