Scumbag sues Garda

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 598 ✭✭✭Lemegeton

That's a good article. Thanks for posting it. Some of it is questionable as has already been pointed out.

The outcome of that case (or this one) still doesn't change the shocking general concensus in this thread that Gardaí should be allowed to beat suspects.

ok imagine you are walking home from a night out and 2 scumbags jump you and put a kinfe to your throat and then demand your money and your phone . you refuse and they punch you in the stomach and start kicking you. just then a squad car arrives and 4 gardai drag the filth off you and start giving them a beating.

are you going to tell me you wont feel good to see them get a thrashing or are you going to ask these gardai to show restraint. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

Lemegeton wrote: »
    ok imagine you are walking home from a night out and 2 scumbags jump you and put a kinfe to your throat and then demand your money and your phone . you refuse and they punch you in the stomach and start kicking you. just then a squad car arrives and 4 gardai drag the filth off you and start giving them a beating.

are you going to tell me you wont feel good to see them get a thrashing or are you going to ask these gardai to show restraint. :confused:

tbh I'd much prefer if they dealt with them the way they are supposed to. I'm not just saying that because I'm on that side of the argument in this thread.

They are Gardaí. They should not be engaging in anything like the behaviour that is being suggested here.

Plus, in your scenario, the guards beating the shít out of them, gives the scummers a window of opportunity to weaken the case against themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

Hmmmm....last time 2 scumbags tried to jump me it was a decision they were regretting pretty ****ing rapidly.

But, i guess your question gives a good insight into the mindset of the people baying for blood, i wonder exactly how many of you are praising Garda beatings of suspects simply because the scary "knackers" make you feel powerless and scared.

Quite a few i would venture.

@Degsy, having met you i would have thought you were clever enough to realise that those elements were just the same brand of scum wrapped up in a political banner.

Clearly not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,036 ✭✭✭thebullkf

lets say you have the betterof said scumbags and are giving thema hiding...... garda arrives-kicks the bollix outta you.....

still feel the same?

Degsy wrote: »
    Agreed.

Dirty fcucking bastard..they shouldve battered him and thrown him into the liffey.

A downside of the Peace Process is that shiitheads liek this wont be dealt with at "local" level.
    Scum.

ffs.... moronic post of the day.

thebullkf wrote: »
    lets say you have the betterof said scumbags and are giving thema hiding...... garda arrives-kicks the bollix outta you.....

still feel the same?

Context is awesome.

What i want is a police force who will show up timely and arrest people, and a judicial system that is balanced and fair, effective and viable.

Empowering the cops to dish out beatings won't help any of that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,402 ✭✭✭HarryPotter41

Context is awesome.

What i want is a police force who will show up timely and arrest people, and a judicial system that is balanced and fair, effective and viable.

Empowering the cops to dish out beatings won't help any of that.

I would agree with you, whats frustrating many gardai is the lack of the second line of your post. The judicial system has these people on the streets, Gardai object to bail - they are ignored and they are back on the street. They get convicted they get lenient sentences. In any other country Mr Maughan and Mr Henry would most likely be behind bars and unable to have done anything.

It doesn't make what happened right, but the Gardai sometimes see this as the only way justice will be meted out because the judiciary won't do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,483 ✭✭✭Sgt. Bilko 09

biko wrote: »
    Lock up, throw away key.

I agree :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,182 ✭✭✭dvpower

I agree :cool:
    The guy is accused of assault causing harm. Lets not go overboard.

It doesn't make what happened right, but the Gardai sometimes see this as the only way justice will be meted out because the judiciary won't do it.

The gardai arn't in the meting out of justice business. They are in the detection and investigation business. This important distinction I'd say is covered very early on in Templemore.

dvpower wrote: »
    The guy is accused of assault causing harm. Lets not go overboard.

Well the guys car key he then flys down the quays which at night is fairly busy with taxis padestrians and he pulling hand brake turns to avoid gardai who he's also causing to risk there lives to catch so drugged up alco to get a power buzz stealing a car. If there was police brutality was in order he got what he deserve should of got more I think.
    And as he in the case "ah we just took the chase" that also is careless.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,854 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

[death penalty defence]Has anyone asked yet whether we can be confident in the legal system to know it wasn't another two completely different people? [/death penalty defence]

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

@Degsy, having met you i would have thought you were clever enough to realise that those elements were just the same brand of scum wrapped up in a political banner.

Clearly not.

The politics dont matter..the fact is that community policing worked in relation to joyriding and in relation to drug-dealing...these halfwits brag about their expoits and upload the joyriding videos to youtube knowing tha the guards cant touch them as long as they admit nothing.

If there was a 'community initiative' to stamp out joyriding,a few warnings and beatings dealt out to offenders they'd soon stop doing it.
    i've witnessed the effectiveness of community policing at first hand many times.

The guards work a shift and they go home..they dont live in areas scourged by these scumbags..and if they do give a few slaps to the deserving they soon find themselves facing criminal charges.

You only have to look at the open-air heroin market that is Dublin city centre to see that the Guards have lost control of the situation.

Communities themselves should fight back and run these lowlives out of their area.

The politics dont matter..the fact is that community policing worked in relation to joyriding and in relation to drug-dealing...these halfwits brag about their expoits and upload the joyriding videos to youtube knowing tha the guards cant touch them as long as they admit nothing.

The guards work a shift and they go home..they dont live in areas scourged by these scumbags..and if they do give a few slaps to the deserving they soon find themselves facing criminal charges.

You only have to look at the open-air heroin market that is Dublin city centre to see that the Guards have lost control of the situation.

Communities themselves should fight back and run these lowlives out of their area.

so have i degsy... so have i .

and to be honest

Dirty fcucking bastard..they shouldve battered him and thrown him into the liffey.

A downside of the Peace Process is that shiitheads liek this wont be dealt with at "local" level.
    Scum.

^^

doesn't make sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭senordingdong

I know LF, it's been pointed out loads of times, but I can differentiate between joke and serious. Most of them were serious unfortunately :(

Just speaking for myself but I feel this way becasue it infuriates me that I spend my life trying to be a good person, work hard for myself and my faimly, and ofcourse, obey the laws of the country.

While countless thugs go out of their way to do the complete opposite.
    And they do so in a society that has become too sympathetic to the down trodden, to the the extent that they can do whatever they like, and it is damn near impossible to punish them appropriatly.

Ofcourse I don't want innocent people to be beaten or banged up without trial but we all know the type of people I'm talking about.

So I guess I can only assume that everyone else here is in the same boat...they are tired of living their lives right, only to endure more hardship, often at the hands of the poeople who refuse to live their lives right, while the state is bending over backwards to accomodate the later.
    It would bother me.
    I'd be against a law that would allow members of the Gardai become the judge, jury and executioner and that would circumvent due process.

I'd be interested to see if someone who favours such a change to the law to come up with some very draft outline of the wording of it here. I doubt it would be possible (without leaving the civilised world).

It doesn't have to be a law that 'allows' AGS to become judge, jury & executioner.
    Just to abolish laws that protect criminals more than their victims.

Does it not bother you in the slightest to see Gardaí fighting a losing battle against the scum of Ireland, only to have their hands tied further every day, all for the sake of protecting criminals?

If there was a 'community initiative' to stamp out joyriding,a few warnings and beatings dealt out to offenders they'd soon stop doing it.
    i've witnessed the effectiveness of community policing at first hand many times.

So get out and do it! I'm not even messing, put down the ****ing self righteous bull****, step away from the key board, go out and find some like minded individuals and get your community policing on. Go crack a few skulls and break a few legs.

I'd respect that more, if you were to put it into practice, that sitting there saying how much better it would make everything but not doing a ****ing thing to make this "better" state happen.

And seriously, where do you think the provo's got their cash from, because if you think it's not got to do with drugs your bat**** crazy. Way to buy the PR though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,599 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

I always find it ironic that those who chose to live outside of the law come running to it to protect them when they feel they've been wronged.

Annoying and all as this case may be, the Department of Justice usually ends up forking out a couple of million Euros a year on out-of-court settlements of this nature concerning actions by members of AGS.

More professionalism and less testosterone please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭senordingdong

In an ideal world, I'd agree.
    But we don't live in an ideal world.

If you were in that Gardas position, and saw a speeding car, with two 'out of their heads' lunatics in it, rip roaring down the streets of Dublin, what would you do? Would you risk your career/life by giving chase?

Lets say you do, what do you do when they suspects car comes to a halt, and they get out, screaming obscenities, making threats and forcfully resisting as you attempt to make a civilised arrest?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 466 ✭✭fizzynicenice

Roaster wrote: »
    Scum like that should have no rights whatsoever.

It thinking like this that put these scumbags in a position to sue the state.

If you were in that Gardas position, and saw a speeding car, with two 'out of their heads' lunatics in it, rip roaring down the streets of Dublin, what would you do? Would you risk your career/life by giving chase?
    The garda (if he is guilty) has risked his career by beating up the suspect.
    Lets say you do, what do you do when they suspects car comes to a halt, and they get out, screaming obscenities, making threats and forcfully resisting as you attempt to make a civilised arrest?
    Gardai are allowed to use reasonable force to make an arrest (and indeed bring a charge of resisting arrest). What they are not allowed to do is go beyond reasonable force and beat up a suspect. It may be tempting for them, but if they can't resist that temptation, they should look for another line of work.

It doesn't have to be a law that 'allows' AGS to become judge, jury & executioner.
    Just to abolish laws that protect criminals more than their victims.

I'm all in favour of abolishing laws that protect criminals more than their victims. I'm just not in favour of bringing in laws that permit gardai beat up anyone.
    Does it not bother you in the slightest to see Gardaí fighting a losing battle against the scum of Ireland, only to have their hands tied further every day, all for the sake of protecting criminals?
    I don't know where you got this idea?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭CorkMan

What's annoying in this country is you can't legally dish out any physical punishment.

These scumbags are knifing people, petrol bombing places, yet a lot of the time they walk away free. They should get 10 strokes of a cane if they rob something, their hands cut off if the knive someone and bludgeoned to death if they kill someone.

They apply these rules in Saudi Arabia, and they are incredibly efficient.

I always find it ironic that those who chose to live outside of the law come running to it to protect them when they feel they've been wronged.

Annoying and all as this case may be, the Department of Justice usually ends up forking out a couple of million Euros a year on out-of-court settlements of this nature concerning actions by members of AGS.

I'd be in favour of a system where criminals are fined for their actions (along with whatever other sanction the courts would like to dispense). When they can't pay the fine, an account is opened by the courts service, with a negative balance.
    Then whenever the courts award or oversee a compensation payment to someone with a negative balance, that balance must be paid off before anything is paid out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭CorkMan

The garda (if he is guilty) has risked his career by beating up the suspect.

Gardai are allowed to use reasonable force to make an arrest (and indeed bring a charge of resisting arrest). What they are not allowed to do is go beyond reasonable force and beat up a suspect. It may be tempting for them, but if they can't resist that temptation, they should look for another line of work.

Will you just shut the fu*k up. The scumbags should have been killed on the spot and flung into the liffey.

It was a complete mistake that they got here in the 1st place, old slapper Moma didn't have the education to use contraception, so unexpected scumbag Jimmy pops out (WHHHHAAAATTS DAT?)

CorkMan wrote: »
    Will you just shut the fu*k up. The scumbags should have been killed on the spot and flung into the liffey.

It was a complete mistake that they got here in the 1st place, old slapper Moma didn't have the education to use contraception, so unexpected scumbag Jimmy pops out (WHHHHAAAATTS DAT?)

Nononsense.ie qualtiy reply ;)
    can't believe someone would try defend them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 67 ✭✭ihateclowns11

Gardai can be pri*ks though, they think they rule the world when they are an embarrassment really. Useless bunch of fu*ks for the most part, im sure some are good at their jobs.

Saying that though this little toerag deserved a beating for the risks he took, could have knocked some poor child down or anybody else for that matter!

If the Gardai did beat him, they should face charges, but this little gimp should be locked up for what he done.

I agree,the guards are on a power trip as usuall,chances are they did beat the crap out off him,and he has every right to sue,i hope he wins his case.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

but not doing a ****ing thing to make this "better" state happen.

How do you know what i do or dont do to make things happen?

You dont have to be a provo to be active.Remember that.

These scumbags are knifing people, petrol bombing places, yet a lot of the time they walk away free. They should get 10 strokes of a cane if they rob something, their hands cut off if the knive someone and bludgeoned to death if they kill someone.

This thread is descending into the dregs.

Nononsense.ie qualtiy reply ;)
    can't believe someone would try defend them
    Why can't you believe it? The law of the land defends them (against being unlawfully assaulted). No political party is advocating a change. Are you living in the same country as the rest of us?:confused:

What's annoying in this country is you can't legally dish out any physical punishment.

then move to saudi arabia....