Scumbag sues Garda

• Closed Accounts Posts: 433 ✭✭Rocky_Dennis

Mr Maughan described around 10 garda cars chasing them and said his friend was driving at full speed down the quays.

Not condoning what happened but this guy wasn't driving the car so i don't think he deserved the beating he got. As previous posters have said, the guards are there to carry out a duty, to serve and protect, not go around beating the ****e out of people. I know it is easier said than done, I'm sure after chasing 2 guys for awhile, the first thing you want to do is give them a slap when you catch them but the law is there for a reason. To protect people.
    Having said that, if i was the guard, i would have kicked him 6 foot under:D

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

Good enough for the scumbag! We need to see more of them getting the crap kicked out of them and see how they like it. But of course when it does happen they go screaming to the law about it for money. Typical scumbags.

Im not saying what the guards did was right, but in this scenario they are 100% right. I know if I was in their position that night I would have done the same thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,182 ✭✭✭dvpower

R_H_C_P wrote: »
    Im not saying what the guards did was right,
    I think you'll find you are. Look vv
    but in this scenario they are 100% right.

See :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭marcsignal

Funkfield wrote: »
    My sympathy ≤ 0

'Sympathy' - You'll find it in the dictionary in between Shit and Syphilis

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭sensibleken

Personally I wouldnt want the guards thinking they can beat anyone, even a complete scumbag up with impunity. Guards quite often get the wrong man and I wouldnt want to be on the receiving end of it if i was falsly arrested.

They cant beat up people in custody because if you beat someone up, or ten of you beat him up, theyll confess to anything. Then the prosection would most likely fall apart.

Granted this scummer was guilty of a crime and he will be punished for it but you dont want a precedent set and end up with a Judge dredd scenario

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,030 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

The alleged victim said he told the gardai to relax and then put out his arms so he could be handcuffed

Sorry, but this is not the reaction of somebody on drink, drugs and a huge adrenaline rush when confronted. If he is going to lie about this then I cast real doubt onto anything else alleged.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,676 ✭✭✭✭listermint

They pulled him out of a stolen car and gave him a few boots in the hole, whats the big deal.

He'll live to steal another day...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 194 ✭✭i_love_toast

Completely disagree

I would much sooner see our cops kicking the crap out of scumbags than this "serve and protect" nonsense.

I like nothing better than hearing of such scum getting their heads kicked in. Fair play to the cops. If you are a cop and reading this, please give the next scumbag you catch an extra kick for me. Will be our little secret :D

tbh i completely agree with you. At the end of the day the guards are like the rest of us human beings. This little dirtbag (who has previous offences the length of his arm) goes around doing what he likes, putting others and the guards in danger. The guards know when he goes to court he'll be let off with a slap on the wrist and be out to do it again. The little pr*ck needs to get the sense beat into because I sure as hell bet his parents didnt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,851 ✭✭✭veryangryman

tbh i completely agree with you. At the end of the day the guards are like the rest of us human beings. This little dirtbag (who has previous offences the length of his arm) goes around doing what he likes, putting others and the guards in danger. The guards know when he goes to court he'll be let off with a slap on the wrist and be out to do it again. The little pr*ck needs to get the sense beat into because I sure as hell bet his parents didnt.

We should be friends! I love toast too! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,191 ✭✭✭✭Shanotheslayer

I know of this guy. Hes a absolute scumbag.

I realise this guy might not be the most reliable witness, but I can't understand how some people reckon it should be fine for Gardaí to beat a suspect? Take a step back and think about it for a second and don't be so ridiculous.

Took a step back, thought about it...nah I still think scum bags need to get the sense bet into them some time in their life. They dont see the reprocrusions (?) like me and you, they go around doing what they like when they like. There f*cking adults for god sake!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭CorkMan

Echospace wrote: »
    That was the scumbag himself who said he put his hands out to be arrested. How can that be a false accusation when he is making it himself? I suppose it's also the state and society's fault he took loads of drugs and alcohol.

But he was drunk and on drugs "throughout the day" (quoting him) and just after being in a huge chase. I find it doubtful that he "told the gardai to relax and put his hands out for arrest" when the chase ended.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

Took a step back, thought about it...nah I still think scum bags need to get the sense bet into them some time in their life. They dont see the reprocrusions (?) like me and you, they go around doing what they like when they like. There f*cking adults for god sake!

Nevermind this particular case. In general, do you really think it should be the norm and be acceptable for Gardaí to beat a suspect?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,851 ✭✭✭veryangryman

Nevermind this particular case. In general, do you really think it should be the norm and be acceptable for Gardaí to beat a suspect?

Of course not but this isnt the norm so lets not go off topic

Just for that, im recommending Mr Garda who reads this (hi again :D) to give them another thump for me.

Our tax euros at work! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,113 ✭✭✭optogirl

ScumLord wrote: »
    The problem here could be that the guard did beat the snot out of him, I've heard of that happening a lot, more than likely deservedly. But within the letter of the law the guard could be in trouble.

There's only one scumbag in this story and it ain't the guy who was beaten by a blood hungry crew of Gardai

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,113 ✭✭✭optogirl

charlemont wrote: »

they get wound up and full of testosterone during a chase, its only natural they wanna give someone a few slaps...

and therefore acceptable? Jebus, I despair

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,154 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

optogirl wrote: »
    and therefore acceptable? Jebus, I despair

There is one way that the 'scumbag' could avoid this situation in the future.

Do you think he can guess what it is ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

Of course not but this isnt the norm so lets not go off topic

I'm not going off topic. Plenty of people (see below) have commented on the general scheme of things. You said yourself "I would much sooner see our cops kicking the crap out of scumbags than this "serve and protect" nonsense." Plenty have said the guards should have went further with the beating.

All I'm asking is: If it is acceptable in this case, should it be acceptable all the time?

Roaster wrote: »
    They should be given a medal!

Scum like that should have no rights whatsoever.
    ejmaztec wrote: »
    He was probably so high on drink and drugs, that he didn't feel it. They should have waited for him to sober up first, then kicked the lard out of him. No pain no gain.
    Degsy wrote: »
    Car thives..cowards..if they ran somebody over in a stolen car would they own up and take the repecussions in law?

I heard a dirtbag girl talking on the bus about how a local garda had 'tried to run her over' after she'd smashed the window of the patrol car.."I'm gonna get her chaaargged" she was saying..real criminals these people..they go running to the guards when they get caught by the guards.
    They can stew in hell for all i care and fcuck thier "civil rights"..a sledgehammer to the kneecaps is too good for them.
    Completely disagree

I would much sooner see our cops kicking the crap out of scumbags than this "serve and protect" nonsense.

I like nothing better than hearing of such scum getting their heads kicked in. Fair play to the cops. If you are a cop and reading this, please give the next scumbag you catch an extra kick for me. Will be our little secret :D
    bonerm wrote: »
    The only thing I'd like to see the Garda charged with would be "failing to kick a suspects teeth in before chucking him in the Liffey."
    Lemegeton wrote: »
    agreed. Filth likes this deserve to have the **** kicked out of them by a LOT more than 10 gardai. This piece of putrid dog **** puts the lives and personal safety of the public at risk so why should gardai give 2 ****s about his safety or health
    Degsy wrote: »
    The only pity of this incident is that the little bastard is alive..he should've been shot dead.
    CorkMan wrote: »
    Damn scumbag, they should have killed him and dumped him in the sewer/under 2 feet of mud.

His family already took enough money off the state through their heroin rehabilitation programs, now he is taking money through this bullcrap.
    Shouldn't be, but some times it is.

I can't believe people are defending that scum bag.
    If attitudes like this continue then we will eventually have a police force who won't tackle scum like this for fear of being sued.
    Its attitudes like yours that mean the criminals and even the little skangers hanging around think they own the streets and aren't one bit afraid of the guards.
    topper75 wrote: »
    There are human rights.

And then there is the forfeiture of human rights.

Time the system started to recognise the latter.
    Good enough for the scumbag! We need to see more of them getting the crap kicked out of them and see how they like it. But of course when it does happen they go screaming to the law about it for money. Typical scumbags.

Im not saying what the guards did was right, but in this scenario they are 100% right. I know if I was in their position that night I would have done the same thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,310 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Mr Maughan said he had been drinking and taking drugs throughout the day and that he and a friend, Gary Henry, stole a set of car keys from a drunk man they met in the street.
    They mugged someone.
    They got into the car and drove off before they "took a chase".
    Mr Maughan described around 10 garda cars chasing them and said his friend was driving at full speed down the quays.
    They somehow avoided people.

They reached the docks and Mr Henry crashed the car after performing a handbrake turn to avoid going into the water.
    Mr Maughan said gardai surrounded the car before the passenger window was smashed with a baton and he was pulled through.
    When the car was crashed, they stayed in the car, until the gardai dragged him out of it.
    The alleged victim said he told the gardai to relax and then put out his arms so he could be handcuffed
    When being taken out of the car, he raises his fists.
    the group of gardai ignored him and started to hit him with their batons and kick him, leaving him with cuts and bruises over his body.
    They responded by hitting him with their batons.

=-=

It's not acceptable. But if the suspect responds to their efforts to restrain him with violence, they should be able to defend themselves.

I don't belive his version of events, and suspect that a lot of his injuries were inflicted when he was taken out of the car, and hit with the baton. I also suspect that if all 10 Gardai had hit him with their batons, he'd be in a coma atm.

How come the story never covered what will happen to the mans car? I assume it is wrecked now, will the scummer pay for the repair?

The gardai had to break the window to get at them, but they drove it at full speed, crashed it in the end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

Our tax euros at work! :D
    And thousands of our tax euros will be paid to scumbags because the courts won't be too happy with gardaí beatingt he f*ck out of them.
    optogirl wrote: »
    There's only one scumbag in this story and it ain't the guy who was beaten by a blood hungry crew of Gardai

So two guys who are off their heads, mug someone, steal a car and then joyride down the quays, putting many lives at risk somehow aren't scumbags. But gardaí who have only been accused and so far have not been proven to have done anything, are scumbags?

You need to get your priorities right.

If there was like an arena place that you could go sign up and have a one on one fight with a scumbag junkie and a chance to beat the living crap out of them (without them having having the usual knife/screwdriver in their sock) I would definitely be a regular visitor!!revisit some of the old wwf moves that as a kid used to wrestle with mates out back gardens :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,919 ✭✭✭Einhard

I too believe that the gardai should have the power, nay right, to beat the lard out of any suspect they want. Never mind about your pinko liberal notions of due process and presumed innocence! I mean, why on earth should they be subject to the same laws as the rest of us?! That's an absurd notion. Indeed, why bother with the judiciary and the idea of a trial, when the gardai could just go around doling out justice as they saw fit? And it would save us money to boot! Great idea. And anyone who objects is a wooly headed liberal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,919 ✭✭✭Einhard

humanji wrote: »

So two guys who are off their heads, mug someone, steal a car and then joyride down the quays, putting many lives at risk somehow aren't scumbags. But gardaí who have only been accused and so far have not been proven to have done anything, are scumbags?

You need to get your priorities right.

I think you should check yours while your at it. The officer in question took the law into his own hands which is completely incompatible with any notion of justice. He's a gaurd, not a vigilante, and people should remember that before congratulating him.

Incidentally, the scumbag hasn't been convicted of anything either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,416 ✭✭✭reprazant

Einhard wrote: »
    I too believe that the gardai should have the power, nay right, to beat the lard out of any suspect they want. Never mind about your pinko liberal notions of due process and presumed innocence! I mean, why on earth should they be subject to the same laws as the rest of us?! That's an absurd notion. Indeed, why bother with the judiciary and the idea of a trial, when the gardai could just go around doling out justice as they saw fit? And it would save us money to boot! Great idea. And anyone who objects is a wooly headed liberal.

Tbf, why bother with the guards at all. People thinking that those who are there to uphold the law should also work under the same laws are what is ruining this country.

Let mob rule and vigilante justice have a go.

Its not as if a worked up crowd baying for blood have ever done anything wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,756 ✭✭✭highdef

What a crock of ****e.....I am shocked that this case has even got as far as making it to the media. I'm more or less speechless

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 312 ✭✭man.about.town

scumbags always feel like we society owes them something, he feels that it was wrong to get hit with the baton etc... but what about all the wrong he has done, stealing a car possibly at knife point, driving at speed etc... what audacity to say that he is now the poor innocent person in society.

for all you people that feel he should not have gotten a few slaps, ask yourself, if your mother, father, sister, brother, child, loved one had been driving along the quays that night and this car had of hit them leaving them seriously injured, how remorseful would you feel for the scumbag then that he got a few slaps. people should look at the big picture, for one, the courts do nothing to lock these up and i quote "a long list of convictions", surely at 19 years old if mr.maughan had a long list of convictions he should be locked up, the courts and our system don't lock up these degenerates in society, its time to bring in the 3 strike rule and then our streets would be safer.

instead, our system will give scumbags €196 a week to get off there faces. they steal, they rob, the assault and yet we support them, cut them off altogether. when they get a sentence, they're out on temporary release, when they're in prison they get tvs and playstations in their cells... im finding myself asking that what the hell is wrong with us that these scumbags get everything but provide nothing, they dont work or pay taxes yet there are treated better than good honest hard working people.

lets not forget that if hes sueing the gardai, hes in for a payout that frankly will be spent on booze and drugs and cause more havock on our streets.

dublin has turned into a dirty city because of so many addicts and beggers and scumbags, lets take a tougher approach and lock these thugs away. we should praise the gardai and not sack them for hitting a fella

im going to say something that most decent people are thinking and lets be honest with ourselves, they should of hit him harder or they didnt hit him enough!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,402 ✭✭✭HarryPotter41

The Guards are a civil protection force and should do their jobs with the utmost dignity. If they did beat the snot out of the guy then they are lowering themselves to his level and, in my opinion, lose a hell of a lot of respect. Of course, the whole thing could be a load of ****, which is the good thing about the courts. But if it's true, these are really serious allegations and should definitely be investigated.

I don't know about anyone else, but I don't want a police force that goes around beating the **** out of criminals, that's not their job. The job is to serve and protect, not deal out retribution.

Perhaps if they saw some toe rag like the poor put upon John Paul Maughan climbing out the window of your house with your prized possessions your tone might be slightly different. They have to put up with the crap of the likes of him in the course of what is after all a job they do to earn a crust like everyone else and every neo liberal in the country bleats about how they should be dealing with these thugs. No wonder the crims laugh at the Gardai.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,402 ✭✭✭HarryPotter41

dvpower wrote: »
    True.

This is a case taken by the state against a guard. The scumbag/victim in question is just a witness.

He is actually the injured party, for the state to take the case someone had to make a formal complaint of assault which in this case was this poor much maligned car stealing, drug taking, drink driving individual. Therefore he is a witness in his own complaint.

Einhard wrote: »
    I think you should check yours while your at it. The officer in question took the law into his own hands which is completely incompatible with any notion of justice. He's a gaurd, not a vigilante, and people should remember that before congratulating him.

Incidentally, the scumbag hasn't been convicted of anything either.

He has, many times.