Scumbag sues Garda

I have very little sympathy in general for people acting as this guy did, but at the same time, gardai should be upholding the law and not acting like a lynch mob. I have no idea what happened so I can't properly comment, but supposing he DID fcuk around driving down the quays AND the gardai did beat him up: he should be prosecuted, they should be disciplined. Only force they use should be necessary for restraining. Hopefully the court will get to the bottom of it and take appropriate action, if any.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,594 ✭✭✭bonerm

The only thing I'd like to see the Garda charged with would be "failing to kick a suspects teeth in before chucking him in the Liffey."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 598 ✭✭✭Lemegeton

Roaster wrote: »
    They should be given a medal!

Scum like that should have no rights whatsoever.

agreed. Filth likes this deserve to have the **** kicked out of them by a LOT more than 10 gardai. This piece of putrid dog **** puts the lives and personal safety of the public at risk so why should gardai give 2 ****s about his safety or health

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

The only pity of this incident is that the little bastard is alive..he should've been shot dead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,182 ✭✭✭dvpower

phill106 wrote: »
    Mr Maughan said they then pulled him up and handcuffed before kicking him again and putting him in a garda van. He said he could not identify any of his alleged attackers.

Case should be thrown out. Can't nominate one of 10 garda as the attacker as he does not know who attacked him. Was it one of them? was it 3? 4? all 10?
    Reasonable doubt, cannot be proven, toss it out.
    Thankfully we have judges and juries to decide these things (and don't decide them based on a newspaper article)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,058 ✭✭✭Gurgle

Bazzo wrote: »
    He admitted himself he was off his face on drugs & drink.
    Admitted?
    That will be his defence, the old reliable "it wasn't me it was the >>insert scapegoat substance<< but I'm clean and sober now so it will never happen again".

Gurgle wrote: »
    Admitted?
    That will be his defence, the old reliable "it wasn't me it was the >>insert scapegoat substance<< but I'm clean and sober now so it will never happen again".

What defence?
    The 'scumbag' is NOT on trial here; the cop is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 82 ✭✭Echospace

dvpower wrote: »
    10 cops beating up a suspect. That ought to be investigated.

Suspect???? That's the funniest statement I've ever read on boards. Suspect implies there is still a chance he was innocent. Pulling him out of the drivers seat of a crashed stolen car pretty much eliminates that chance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭CorkMan

Damn scumbag, they should have killed him and dumped him in the sewer/under 2 feet of mud.

His family already took enough money off the state through their heroin rehabilitation programs, now he is taking money through this bullcrap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭aDeener

True. If this was America he would have been shot in the head and no more would have been said about it. Im not condoning 10 coppers beating the **** out of him after being apprehended but my sympathy for the guy is fairly light

i am.

vermin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭senordingdong

I'm all for taking dirt off the streets, but kicking somebody shouldn't be necessary.
    Shouldn't be, but some times it is.

I can't believe people are defending that scum bag.
    If attitudes like this continue then we will eventually have a police force who won't tackle scum like this for fear of being sued.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭CorkMan

Echospace wrote: »
    Suspect???? That's the funniest statement I've ever read on boards. Suspect implies there is still a chance he was innocent. Pulling him out of the drivers seat of a crashed stolen car pretty much eliminates that chance.

But who pulled him out? He already said he doesn't know who attacked him. I somehow find the scummer "putting his hands out to be arrested" to be a false accusation.

He was off his head on drink and drugs, I find it unlikely he was in a coherent state when he crashed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,058 ✭✭✭Gurgle

dvpower wrote: »
    What defence?
    The 'scumbag' is NOT on trial here; the cop is.
    Isn't there a law or two which would outlaw rampaging around the city in a stolen car?

If not, there should be...

It's just lucky that no innocent pedestrians were killed by this prick tearing down the quays at 120km/h in a stolen car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,883 ✭✭✭smokedeels

CorkMan wrote: »
    Damn scumbag, they should have killed him and dumped him in the sewer/under 2 feet of mud.

His family already took enough money off the state through their heroin rehabilitation programs, now he is taking money through this bullcrap.

So you don't want the state to rehabilitate drug addicts?

CorkMan wrote: »
    But who pulled him out? He already said he doesn't know who attacked him. I somehow find the scummer "putting his hands out to be arrested" to be a false accusation.

He was off his head on drink and drugs, I find it unlikely he was in a coherent state when he crashed.

That was the scumbag himself who said he put his hands out to be arrested. How can that be a false accusation when he is making it himself? I suppose it's also the state and society's fault he took loads of drugs and alcohol.
    The alleged victim said he told the gardai to relax and then put out his arms so he could be handcuffed, but he claimed the group of gardai ignored him and started to hit him with their batons and kick him, leaving him with cuts and bruises over his body.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

Shouldn't be, but some times it is.

If attitudes like this continue then we will eventually have a police force who won't tackle scum like this for fear of being sued.

I'm not defending him. I am completely and utterly opposed to what he done.

I just don't think that it should be acceptable for Gardaí to beat a suspect.

Echospace wrote: »
    It implies that he hadn't been convicted of an offence. That's all.
    We still have due process, a presumption of innocence and all that.
    Isn't there a law or two which would outlaw rampaging around the city in a stolen car?

:confused: There is.
    But that's not what this case is about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,047 ✭✭✭Bazzo

Of course, but I think he's trying to say that they are being treated as 2 seperate cases, though I'm not sure. ;)

Who'se defending him?
    Who'se being sued?

Are we reading the same thread? You seem to be commenting on an entirely different story.:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

gardai are grown men too, i got heaps of hidings off gardai and i deserved almost all of them because of my big mouth, if you were arresting someone who insists on insulting you and lashing out, its only to be expected...i always gave them a good go though, took good few of them to get me into the cells, but once i was woken by cell door opening i got a bad kicking , it was uncalled for as they (2 asshole guards) thought i had something to do with another fairly serious crime, which the others guards who actually know my form knew i wouldnt have been involved.. but earlier that night when i got arrested with a girl for public order offences, i got some kicking , i was coughing up blood but i dont hold no grudge about it, i deserved what i got ..

they get wound up and full of testosterone during a chase, its only natural they wanna give someone a few slaps...
    those joyrider fools could have killed someone on the quays..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,677 ✭✭✭✭listermint

I'm not defending him. I am completely and utterly opposed to what he done.

I just don't think that it should be acceptable for Gardaí to beat a suspect.

I gather you would have a different attitude if you had to deal with this type of little vermin on a daily basis. Stealing / Assaulting / Pulling Knifes and generally giving two skinny little fingers to the rest of society to be protected by the laws designed to keep this type of individual off the streets.

"the witness denies taking the keys from the owner of the vehicle at knifepoint" Your blind man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭BlaasForRafa

I don't know about anyone else, but I don't want a police force that goes around beating the **** out of criminals, that's not their job. The job is to serve and protect, not deal out retribution.

Its attitudes like yours that mean the criminals and even the little skangers hanging around think they own the streets and aren't one bit afraid of the guards.

listermint wrote: »
    I gather you would have a different attitude if you had to deal with this type of little vermin on a daily basis. Stealing / Assaulting / Pulling Knifes and generally giving two skinny little fingers to the rest of society to be protected by the laws designed to keep this type of individual off the streets.
    Many gardai deal with this type of thing on a daily basis and most gardai don't resort to beating up suspects.

Its attitudes like yours that mean the criminals and even the little skangers hanging around think they own the streets and aren't one bit afraid of the guards.

Its also the law (hence this criminal trial).
    I don't see any political parties looking to change the law to allow the gardai beat up suspects and I don't think the public would support such a change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

listermint wrote: »
    I gather you would have a different attitude if you had to deal with this type of little vermin on a daily basis.

No, I don't think my attitude would change if I was a member of GS.

Gardaí beating the "vermin" is not the way to go IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

There are human rights.

And then there is the forfeiture of human rights.

Time the system started to recognise the latter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,080 ✭✭✭Gunsfortoys

This, if it happened, is absolutely unacceptable. 10 Gardai beating on someone is never acceptable. If this hadn't of happened the little twat would be locked up and it would be over with. Instead, we are footing the bill because of some poorly trained idiot on a power-trip decided to beat a little junkie.

Yes the little scumbag deserves to be locked up, but this sort of behaviour from our law enforcement is ludicrous and is quite disturbing.

As for the people that said "the poor Gardai risked their lives chasing him", I thought it was their job??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,517 ✭✭✭Quandary

charlemont wrote: »
    gardai are grown men too, i got heaps of hidings off gardai and i deserved almost all of them because of my big mouth, if you were arresting someone who insists on insulting you and lashing out, its only to be expected...i always gave them a good go though, took good few of them to get me into the cells, but once i was woken by cell door opening i got a bad kicking , it was uncalled for as they (2 asshole guards) thought i had something to do with another fairly serious crime, which the others guards who actually know my form knew i wouldnt have been involved.. but earlier that night when i got arrested with a girl for public order offences, i got some kicking , i was coughing up blood but i dont hold no grudge about it, i deserved what i got ..

where i live now iv no problems with the cops..

they get wound up and full of testosterone during a chase, its only natural they wanna give someone a few slaps...

Mountjoy?

I wonder if the two boys had killed someone during their joyride would people have cared about the Gardai giving them a hiding? How many times do we hear about people killed in hit and runs and the Gardai never find the culprits - this could have been one of those situations ( i know it wasnt) but you get the idea. Its at least understandable that the Gaurds were aggressive with them...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,154 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

Mr Maughan told Maurice Coffey, prosecuting, that he had been "on a session" in the city centre before the incident.

Mr Maughan said he had been drinking and taking drugs throughout the day and that he and a friend, Gary Henry, stole a set of car keys from a drunk man they met in the street.

They got into the car and drove off before they "took a chase".

Mr Maughan described around 10 garda cars chasing them and said his friend was driving at full speed down the quays.

They reached the docks and Mr Henry crashed the car after performing a handbrake turn to avoid going into the water.

Drunk, drugged up, stole a car, reckless driving, high speed chase, with 10 gardai in also in chase ?

They never would have found his body if I was one of the guards.

Case closed.