Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

When the going gets tough!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 kilkenny_kid

I'll have to give up spraying my jizz, nothing to clean them up with. Money.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

...a property tax and/or water charges will cripple my budget totally.
    Yea, thats going to hit badly, a lot of folk.
    There will be not one thing that will probably not be looked at in many homes.
    (I can see takeaways, taxi's and entertainment venues being effected more so)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,385 ✭✭✭✭D'Agger

focus more on finding loads of free things to do and good news is that there is loads of free stuff out there :D

In Dublin - maybe

In Cork - not so much I'm finding

To be honest I'm fine for money. And probably will be next year. Don't really spend much. I don't smoke. Only drink a little. Don't have kids. Work a lot. Get a bit of a college grant. Could probably cut back on the amount of money I spend on clothes. And maybe live in a place with cheaper rent next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Little Acorn

Does anybody have any idea on what the cuts will be in the budget, or what taxes will be increased?

For example, the widow's pension, BTEA,
    Paycuts, tax hikes etc..

I keep hearing rumours of between 30 and 50 euro being cut of every social welfare payment, more paycuts for workers, massive tax increases etc.
    I'm hoping that things won't be as bad as some people are speculating, but realise that there's a chance they are right.

Have we been given any estimate yet by the government as to how hard everyone is going to get hit yet?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,080 ✭✭✭foxinsox

Biggins wrote: »
    (I can see takeaways, taxi's and entertainment venues being effected more so)

I can't really remember what those things are ^:rolleyes:

Nothing left for me to cut back on... unless I actually stop paying the utility bills or the mortgage...

I already have cut back loads..

I buy the special offers...about to go out of date food and freeze it..
    You can save a fortune on food this way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,399 ✭✭✭Bonito

Lia_lia wrote: »
    To be honest I'm fine for money. And probably will be next year. Don't really spend much. I don't smoke. Only drink a little. Don't have kids. Work a lot. Get a bit of a college grant. Could probably cut back on the amount of money I spend on clothes. And maybe live in a place with cheaper rent next year.

You just jinxed yourself. :p

How'd you get a grant? :mad: When I was in college I wasn't approved for one and I wasn't working and my parents earned under the bracket (Just about) and there's 6 kids in my family (3 dependents).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 126 ✭✭LifesgoodwithLG

Officially well and truely fed up with all of this Recession Malarkey !

Anywho's my health insurance is in danger of being cancelled however I am more focusing on all the free stuff to do in Dublin namely Culture night, Dun Laoghaire, Street Performers Festival, Culture Festival, Museums, walking in Phoenix and Memorial Parks basically anything that gets me outdoors without breaking the bank.

ps maybe its just me getting older but less going out and more going over to friends for dinner and vino

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,251 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Bonito wrote: »
    Sure you can just make more!

For what? I'm cutting costs you know.

Pherekydes wrote: »
    For what? I'm cutting costs you know.
    To eat?

Deep freeze whatever isn't used my good man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,251 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

To eat?

Deep freeze whatever isn't used my good man.

They wouldn't be good to eat. Very little flesh.

Pherekydes wrote: »
    They wouldn't be good to eat. Very little flesh.
    Fatten her up then just before she's ready to pop, BAM.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

I keep hearing rumours of between 30 and 50 euro being cut of every social welfare payment, more paycuts for workers, massive tax increases etc.
    I'm hoping that things won't be as bad as some people are speculating, but realise that there's a chance they are right.

Have we been given any estimate yet by the government as to how hard everyone is going to get hit yet?

A simple tip for you.

If you hear a figure been touted you take that figure and half it. Then take that figure and half it again, and that is the figure that will be actually used / announced.

The media, like to stur shyte, and the government will like to look like heros for not making the cuts as painful as expected.

The reality is, socail welfare has to be cut - expect 6 euro. They may grade it 12 euro off single unemployed with no dependants and less severe off people with dependants perhaps 3- 6 euro

You can expect that the monthly ceiling on healthcare expenses to be raised from 100 - 110 or 120 per month

Expect a reductiion or removal on certain allowances from the less vunderble.

Less likely, but possible introductions are residentil property taxes and water charges. If the water charges come in it will not be based on useage its will be a flat rate tax and you can expect it to be about 100 - 130 per year. A tax on your home is been talked about alot in the media and not denied by the government but it is unlikely to be brought in this time, there are few reasons why it wont, the government arent saying that it wont come in because, a. they dont want to burn that bridge, and b. because when they dont introduce it - the budget will appear less severe and look more palatable for the other cuts and increases

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Czechoslovakian sex slaves, €100 per half hour!!

I've already had to cut down to just one hour a week, when will this government cop on.

People need their peccadilloes for Christ sake.

Yes, I'm aware of the events of 1993 thanks very much, but these particular ladies are not ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,080 ✭✭✭Gunsfortoys

Its going to be a tough one for a lot of people, I was thinking of doing volunteer work etc, anyone else doing it?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

my number one rule is i will never go hungry for to pay anyone and i have decided to alter this a bit...

i will not give up anything i enjoy to pay anyone

How'd you get a grant? :mad: When I was in college I wasn't approved for one and I wasn't working and my parents earned under the bracket (Just about) and there's 6 kids in my family (3 dependents).

Well you should have got one if they were under the bracket. That makes no sense. Unless one of them works for the government...?

I get one because my Mother is a single parent I suppose!

Lia_lia wrote: »
    Well you should have got one if they were under the bracket. That makes no sense. Unless one of them works for the government...?

I get one because my Mother is a single parent I suppose!
    No, Biggins is not my Dad. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Little Acorn

snyper wrote: »
    A simple tip for you.

If you hear a figure been touted you take that figure and half it. Then take that figure and half it again, and that is the figure that will be actually used / announced.

The media, like to stur shyte, and the government will like to look like heros for not making the cuts as painful as expected.

The reality is, socail welfare has to be cut - expect 6 euro. They may grade it 12 euro off single unemployed with no dependants and less severe off people with dependants perhaps 3- 6 euro

You can expect that the monthly ceiling on healthcare expenses to be raised from 100 - 110 or 120 per month

Expect a reductiion or removal on certain allowances from the less vunderble.

Less likely, but possible introductions are residentil property taxes and water charges. If the water charges come in it will not be based on useage its will be a flat rate tax and you can expect it to be about 100 - 130 per year. A tax on your home is been talked about alot in the media and not denied by the government but it is unlikely to be brought in this time, there are few reasons why it wont, the government arent saying that it wont come in because, a. they dont want to burn that bridge, and b. because when they dont introduce it - the budget will appear less severe and look more palatable for the other cuts and increases

Thanks for reply. I was worried last years budget, but I have been getting much more panicky about this one from all the hype. Not just for myself, but also for my mum, my sister & her husband and kids, and my boyfriend. Your post has reassured me a bit and seems to make more sense compared to the massive figures some people keep saying. I know cuts will be made, all I hope and ask for is that they are still manageable for people to live with.

Anyhow on topic, can't think of much more than shopping sensibly for food, cooking things that can last more than a day, and maybe buying a weekly bus ticket instead of paying full price each time, and walking more. Using my free web texts more, or starting a better value deal with my mobile company. Shop around to see if there's better offers to be had for internet etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 542 ✭✭✭cleremy jarkson

I intend on doing the following from now on:

- not buying lotto tickets or scratchcards...must spend 5 euro a week on average between these ie. some weeks I'll spend 10 or 15 and then quit for 2 or 3 weeks! Returns are generally very little. So I'd save about 200 quid a year at least by giving these up.

- never buying a newspaper. Reading news on the internet instead. I'd say I'd save about 70 quid a year if I do this.

- never going to the pub (haven't went in ages anyway) and splitting a cheap crate of drink with a friend or two (eg. the previous 24 stella for 15 euro in tesco)
    - never taking a coat or jacket out to a nightclub (2 euro a go = about 30 plus euro a year)
    - never giving anything to the guy working in the jacks
    - never buying any girls drinks in a nightclub unless they're my friend and its 3 quid a drink (max)
    - watching the ground at the bar for loose money that people dropped on the ground while drunk (have found fivers, tenners and twenties before and when I'm pissed I will most likely keep them!)
    - making sure that I get a bus into town to head out if possible and that I share a taxi home with the maximum number of people.

- saving up dublin bus refunds from when I have no small change. Probably amount to about 25 quid over the course of a year which equates to my share of the esb bill for 2 months.

- Avoiding going to the cinema and downloading or streaming stuff instead. Probably save about 80 quid in a year doing this!

- using webtexts wherever possible to avoid having to spend 20 quid to get "free-texts". I'd guess I could save a good 100 quid from webtexts over the course of a year.

- no fizzy drinks, only tap water and maybe miwadi. Would save probably 6 to 8 quid a week doing this. So about 400 quid a year...wow! :eek:

- keeping takeaways to once a month max instead of about 5 times a month(approximately 120 a year on takeaways instead of about 600, minus of course the cost of making a dinner for those 48 days a year where you would otherwise have eaten a takeaway..still probably saving a net 150 or so)

Also...only getting pizza when splitting 2 for the price of 1 with at least 2 others, so you can use economies of scale to beat the rule that pizza is always more expensive than other take-away foods. Good for the health obviously to cut that crap food out and the money saved can be spent on buying good quality fresh meat.

- Buying lunch in a deli - I'd probably buy a roll from a deli about once a week so I'm going to knock that on the head and make my own lunch on that day as per usual. At an average of one a week, say 40 weeks a year, thats about 40 x 4 = 160 euro.....take away cost of making a lunch of fruit and 2 decent sandwiches (about a 1.50 daily?) = 100 saved.

Also, I don't have sky, but if I did I'd get rid of it and just keep broadband...sure anything you want to watch can be found on the internet somewhere. And the internet really is a more necessary thing, although if you're on the absolute breadline then you should get rid of it.

Just skimming through the list above and I could save well over 1200 a year just making small changes. Ya just have to live within your means as much as possible and you'll be grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Cutting back to just one serving of caviar and champagne a day. Might also leave the M3 at home alittle more and take the diesel Mercedes instead. :(

Life isnt fair.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,565 ✭✭✭southsiderosie

Neither of which anyone would consider 'essentials'
    I feel more for people who are facing a winter with the threat of having their ESB cut off

Well, to be fair, there are knock-down effects when people stop eating out and buying new clothes, etc...people in restaurants and shops lose their jobs or have their hours cut because business is slow...and so they spend less money...and the downward spiral continued.

I rarely eat out anymore, buy food when it is on sale, and if I have to go somewhere that is less than an hour's walk away, I walk instead of taking public transport. I only buy one newspaper a day instead of two, and I've only bought clothes to replace items that are falling apart - and only if the clothes are on sale. I've also moved out of my studio into a shared apartment to save on rent and utilities.

Also, because little things tend to add up over time, I take out cash once a week, and put my credit and debit cards away. I'm pretty strict about it: if I'm out of money for the week, I'm out of money. And if I have a surplus at the end of the week, I can roll it over, and 'splurge' a bit the following week. This forces me to think twice about buying a coffee here, or buying a magazine there; that kind of stuff really adds up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭123balltv

cleremy jarkson = not buying lotto tickets
    the lotto is my only hope of living the life
    I get a thrill each time I buy one thinking this could be the lucky one it could be me.
    Most times it just makes me more depressed when I read the checker thing and it says 1 euro scratchcard or nothing at all but I keep playing

10 million tomorrow :):D:) lot of dosh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Tbh there's nothing left to cut, we're barely paying all the bills as it is. If they bring in water/property tax it's bye bye house, hello cardboard box.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 125 ✭✭Who_owns_this?

Thanks for reply. I was worried last years budget, but I have been getting much more panicky about this one from all the hype. Not just for myself, but also for my mum, my sister & her husband and kids, and my boyfriend. Your post has reassured me a bit and seems to make more sense compared to the massive figures some people keep saying. I know cuts will be made, all I hope and ask for is that they are still manageable for people to live with.

The little cuts on social welfare are one thing, but if they do the same to the public workers as they did the last time, there will be more than one guy driving his van into Leinster House. I, thank Jebus, am a private worker, but my mum, in particular, is down seriously vital money as a public worker. She wasn't on a huge amount to begin with and now she's just about making the cut and she never buys anything for herself! She has colleagues (especially one with a second child on the way) who are on the verge of desperation. Young couples who sit at home every weekend and go to bed early to avoid keep electricity costs down and because they're just so depressed with the way their lives have gone. This is like living in Dickensian times in ways!!! I've taken a hit re. pay, but my heart goes out to people like I've mentioned above, all of who I know. It's been happening throughout history but a couple expecting a baby that they have wanted so much should be looking forward to their future, not lying awake scared out fo their minds as to how they will cope financially. Constitutional protection my arse - it's minimal at best!

On topic, for me, I'll be taking more of steps that I've taken already. Duvets instead of radiators, Lidl instead of Dunnes, Penneys instead of... anywhere else at all. Thankfully we have a coffee machine at work because the days of getting an Insomnia latte to get the morning started are long gone. Sandwich material is bought in bulk at the start of the week - no more of the deli visits.

I know things could be so, so much worse, but life is so short and it's a pain that so much of our time at the moment is dominated by worry and regret and frugality!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Could you post some numbers to support the post Who_owns_this?
    There was plenty of room for cuts in many areas of the public sector, they were far out earning the private sector for no discernible reason.
    Expenditure rises to meet income, just because people were used to spending everything they earned does not mean that they were not overpaid in the first place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

Because I train a lot I like to eat good wholesome, fresh food. But I've been thinking about investing in a deep freezer and making trips up north to stack up on cheaper, frozen foodstuffs.

Keep buying your fresh stuff and freeze it. Thats what I do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭yoshytoshy

I'm completely anal brushing my teeth the last couple of months ,the fear of root canal treatment has my teeth super clean.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 391 ✭✭btard

The-Rigger wrote: »
    Could you post some numbers to support the post Who_owns_this?
    There was plenty of room for cuts in many areas of the public sector, they were far out earning the private sector for no discernible reason.
    Expenditure rises to meet income, just because people were used to spending everything they earned does not mean that they were not overpaid in the first place.

Exactly what numbers do you expect him to post ? His mothers salary ? He said she was one of the lower paid public workers. That's not good enough for you? There's a million other threads where you can bash the hard working people who provide your public services. This is not one of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭karlog

When the going gets tough. The people get going.