What kind of people do you like?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

I find it interesting though how sometimes people with whom you have loads in common aren't easy to get on with at all, and people whom you have nothing in common with can become great friends.

People who don't think they're the coolest thing going because they "like totally stayed out drinking all night but have a huge hangover now ugh".

I love sensible and witty people. I have very few friends.

EDIT; I also hate, hate, hate, HATE people who are only interested in themselves and have to try and turn every conversation into a story about themselves. These people are usually the least interesting people in the world, anyway. Drives me up the walls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Little Acorn

Dudess wrote: »
    I find it interesting though how sometimes people with whom you have loads in common aren't easy to get on with at all, and people whom you have nothing in common with can become great friends.

Yeah, I've noticed that too. Obviously my friends would have a fair bit in common with me[regarding interests, and being fairly easy going etc.], but when you meet people who are almost identical to you in every single personality trait, it can leave you feeling like you've just got too much in common, which could lead to being slightly irritating or something?
    I think most people have a certain way in which they view themselves and their own character, and whilst sharing these traits with new friends is important, if there is too much in common it's a bit annoying.
    It's much more interesting to find different personality traits in people that complement/bounce off your own traits, makes them more interesting to spend time with imo.

I don't always know why I instantly like some people and dislike others.

I like confident outspoken people, and don't even mind a wee bit of cockiness if it's in a humorous way---but I hate people who are TOO loud, and just attention seeking eejits.

I also like people who are a bit shy, but turn out to be very sweet and friendly once you start chatting to them.----but I find people who are so quiet that no matter what effort you make, they just remain very quiet and give no input into a conversation a little difficult to be around.[Wouldn't actually dislike them though]

I just tend to find the majority of people who have a nice warm smile, a friendly hello, and the ability to have a nice chat and abit of a laugh, as likeable people.

Some people I just immediately click with, and feel like I know them ages, don't know exactly why it happens, but when this happens they tend to be very easy going, very friendly, and I can have a laugh with them, so I guess these must be the kind of people I like the most, whilst also enjoying other types of people's personalities-but maybe in smaller doses?:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 145 ✭✭h8scobes

i can be friends with most people, i have friends whose parents are multi millionaires and friends who live in the flats in the city centre with their single mum.

there is only a certain type of person i can't be friends with, really serious people. annoy the **** out of me. in college i have a tutor for history and the guy is like a serious geebag. hes about 25/26 but acts double his age. **** off you absolute loser get a life you nerd :mad:

i like people who are easy going and are just nice.

in school i was part of the jock group but i mixed with everyone except for the losers(i dont mean people who have no friends im talkin about the types that are 17 and read neitzche and post pics of guns on fb **** off u faggits.

someone said non pretentious that is literally exactly wat would make me hate someone

oh and i like making friends with people like me who mite not have much friends(quiet types) im like the shyest quiestest person but everyone thinks am rly cute :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,265 ✭✭✭SugarHigh

I like weird people who have been socially isolated for a long time. They don't understand social dynamics enough to be able to manipulate you.

DanGerMus wrote: »
    Weird people.

why :confused:

i mean it depends what you call weird as well, some people can pull off weirdness better than others(appearence has a lot to play) some of my friends call me weird but i like play rugby and wear hollister/cantos/af clothes etc.) and am a jock. im weird becoz of the bands i like and the fact i still watch nickeloden shows from da 90s :D i can pull it off tho because im the boy next door :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭ElaElaElano

Does anyone else build up scenarios of peoples' lives and personalities on the bus or DART, based solely by looking at them, or is it just me? Ridiculous and shallow, but it's something to do.

Anyway, down to earth, slightly self deprecating but not in a miserable self-loathing way, who are really interesting to talk to but at the same time don't have a love of their sound of their own voice, are the kind of people I like. Everyone else is rubbish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

easy going.....why all the fuss?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 458 ✭✭Boxoffrogs

I like human people..I'm a humanist

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

People that are true to their word, dependable people.

Or failing that, my animals.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,305 ✭✭✭DOC09UNAM

h8scobes wrote: »
    i can be friends with most people, i have friends whose parents are multi millionaires and friends who live in the flats in the city centre with their single mum.

there is only a certain type of person i can't be friends with, really serious people. annoy the **** out of me. in college i have a tutor for history and the guy is like a serious geebag. hes about 25/26 but acts double his age. **** off you absolute loser get a life you nerd :mad:

i like people who are easy going and are just nice.

in school i was part of the jock group but i mixed with everyone except for the losers(i dont mean people who have no friends im talkin about the types that are 17 and read neitzche and post pics of guns on fb **** off u faggits.

someone said non pretentious that is literally exactly wat would make me hate someone

oh and i like making friends with people like me who mite not have much friends(quiet types) im like the shyest quiestest person but everyone thinks am rly cute :)
    why :confused:

i mean it depends what you call weird as well, some people can pull off weirdness better than others(appearence has a lot to play) some of my friends call me weird but i like play rugby and wear hollister/cantos/af clothes etc.) and am a jock. im weird becoz of the bands i like and the fact i still watch nickeloden shows from da 90s :D i can pull it off tho because im the boy next door :)

I'm not sure what kind of people I like, argumentative people and honest people, love a good debate.

But i'm certain I don't like you, and that's only after two posts, I don't know why.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,810 ✭✭✭Mackman

I think someone mentioned it before, no drama, cant stand people who make a mountain out of a molehill.
    I like people who can have a laugh, and not be serious all the time. And be honest and up front about things, and dont mind me being honest and upfront either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 711 ✭✭✭Dr_Phil

Does anyone else build up scenarios of peoples' lives and personalities on the bus or DART, based solely by looking at them
    Yes! Try to read thir past, present and future...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

chin_grin wrote: »
    People whose smiley faces look like a dos prompt.

Hehe, I was thinking the same. We should totally ditch these losers and hang out some time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

Generally light hearted, funny, friendly, filthy, depraved, honest, open, decent taste in music and can enjoy a drink or 20.

If any of my friends don't fall under those categories it's because they've grown on me like a fungus that I can't scrape off. I love them no less but they annoy me and I like to scratch at them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

I like people with wicked sence of humors can get that I'm a filthy pervert and that i don't mean any of it... :D I don't care what they do what they like just as long as they have a sence of humor....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Does anyone else build up scenarios of peoples' lives and personalities on the bus or DART, based solely by looking at them, or is it just me? Ridiculous and shallow, but it's something to do.

I do in the morning before I've had coffee.

I just look at everybody and think, cunt, cunt, cunt etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,941 ✭✭✭thebigbiffo

people who just want to have a bit of craic and dont take life too seriously

DOC09UNAM wrote: »
    I'm not sure what kind of people I like, argumentative people and honest people, love a good debate.

But i'm certain I don't like you, and that's only after two posts, I don't know why.

why becoz i seem like a d4???? look beyond the stereotype. didnt u ever watch the movie mean girls?

No, because your attitude is shít, you seem to have a big ego, and lastly, you spell like a retard.

That's about it at the moment, but i'm sure there's more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,562 ✭✭✭scientific1982

No, because your attitude is shít, you seem to have a big ego, and lastly, you spell like a retard.

People who are funny, open minded, intelligent and up for a good ****in laugh. Party people.

Sorry didnt mean to quote you.

Yeah I agree. Hes the kind of person I try and avoid at all costs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,485 ✭✭✭✭Ickle Magoo

Interesting people who are reasonably well travelled and fairly open minded, generally.

I'm allergic to parochialism. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,038 ✭✭✭jackiebaron

Women with collossal boobs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,787 ✭✭✭g5fd6ow0hseima

straight-up people, people who over-think, people who dont take life to seriously, liberal folk, odd people (as I myself am odd).

Basically people like me - those who flounder about in life, never achieving much.

Dudess wrote: »

Indeed, my best friend and I are pretty much opposites.

People I like... people who aren't into drama, are not two faced, are honest and forthright, are genuinely nice and kind. People who are happy enough in themselves, I think. People who are open minded.

bluewolf wrote: »
    Indeed, my best friend and I are pretty much opposites.

People I like... people who aren't into drama, are not two faced, are honest and forthright, are genuinely nice and kind. People who are happy enough in themselves, I think. People who are open minded.

What about if being honest isn't being nice and kind? Rather blunt and hurtful?

You can be a nice and kind person while still being honest. I don't think there's any difficulty in both at once. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

It's because he likes to think of himself in pre-determined social constructs, because without words like "jock" to relate to, he can't ascertain a position for himself, while also being incredibly keen to assert his "alternative" nature, with "quirky" tendencies. Drives me nuts too.

Basically, I like people who don't feel the need to do the above, who know enough about the world to understand the fluid nature of their position within it and their role, who are personally strong and confident, understand the relative importances of laughing like an idiot and kicking back and of working like a dog and pushing through barriers and limitations as the situation demands it. I like intelligent, well-read and well-informed people. Basically, I like humble, intelligent and self-aware people, who understand their position in the world, appreciate it and can laugh as a result.