Polish man dead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,925 ✭✭✭th3 s1aught3r

On conviction, whats the sentence for murder these days ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,692 ✭✭✭Dublin_Gunner

I hate these type of threads. I agree that it's a sad thing to hear of the murder of anyone - but you can be guaranteed that all that follows is page after page of calls for retribution, the death penalty & eradication of "scumbags".

It'd be like reading the letters page of the Daily Mail if they had one.

When someone is killed, the last thing I want to read is calls for more blood to be spilled.

Bloody liberal wimp.

:p

In fairness though, there is no correction or rehabilitation for scum like this. All we would be doing by placing these thugs in jail is to feed their criminal appetite and pay for it.

Bring back the chain gangs. Let these type of people suffer for their crimes, and REALLY make them not want to be back there again.

If they are back again, then maybe the bullet.

We really should as a country be taking a MUCH harder line on criminals and murderers. Everyone has known this for years. But our inept legal system just doesn't have the balls to do this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 Fearaserin

:(I agree with the poster who said that he was saddened by a needless death and also by the fact that the boards will be full of postings calling for retribution and revenge. Perhaps it would be more constructive to lok at the reasons why someone like this young man would do such a thing and what it says about human society. Indeed, it is an important question to ask, what should any society do to punish someone who viciously beats a total stranger to death without provocation?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

that poor man, its lousy, my sympathy to his family....may he rest in peace...

those who done it, will get no luck for it..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

On conviction, whats the sentence for murder these days ?

for murder its always been "Life " which nowadays is roughly 17 years, but you will be on licence for life..

manslaughter can be anything from a suspended sentence to life..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 62 ✭✭Connie_c28

I read somewhere today that the Gardai think there may have been anywhere up to 12 people involved yet only one on the full charge and a further 2 in custody???

God love his poor family!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

I bet you they wont even get convicted of murder, Manslaughter, out in 5 or some crap. Bet the scummers never worked a day in their worthless chavvy lives

• Closed Accounts Posts: 458 ✭✭Boxoffrogs

I really have no idea if his nationality was a factor, but I do think that relative to our population, we have seen a surprising number of newcomers murdered or seriously injured over the last few years, when you strip out the figures for gang related incidents which many seem to have become a little desensitised to.

Maybe there is no correlation, but I have a feeling if we go sorting through the figures we may not like what we see.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,562 ✭✭✭scientific1982

Horrible, senseless crime. IMO most of these types of crimes are a ultimately a result of bad parenting. People have kids and dont raise them properly. Then its left to the rest of society to suffer the consequences.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,094 ✭✭✭✭ED E

I'd be quite willing to pull the trigger on that piece of sh1t.

If a party were to campaign on a proper judicial system I think they'd soon find themselves in the Dail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 326 ✭✭Volthar

Completely agree with this. What the f#k is up with these kind of scumbags?

I have asked the very question here:
    http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?threadid=2056051849

their zombie like rotten brains do not comprehend that if you hit someoene's head wit ha hurley, stab someone's head with a screwdriver, toss a petrol bomb into someone's bedroom in the middle of the nite, kick someone unconsious and leave lying in a puddle of blood etc. it is more then likely to cause death...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭Mister men

Horrible, senseless crime. IMO most of these types of crimes are a ultimately a result of bad parenting. People have kids and dont raise them properly. Then its left to the rest of society to suffer the consequences.
    Most parents don't know how to raise their kids. They drag them up through life. I'm sorry but the more i think about it the more i'm convinced people should need a licence to have kids because we can't just go on and on producing scum like this fella or we will never have a just society.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 AnselmSakky

Do any of you remember Guido Nasi. He was beaten up in Fairview park in 1999 and is Italian. He's paraplegic now. I've seen photos of him since then though back in fairview and he's smiling and saying how he loves ireland. The guys that did that are walking free. There should be a statue of that guy up in that park.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Bloody liberal wimp.

:p

In fairness though, there is no correction or rehabilitation for scum like this. All we would be doing by placing these thugs in jail is to feed their criminal appetite and pay for it.

Bring back the chain gangs. Let these type of people suffer for their crimes, and REALLY make them not want to be back there again.

If they are back again, then maybe the bullet.

We really should as a country be taking a MUCH harder line on criminals and murderers. Everyone has known this for years. But our inept legal system just doesn't have the balls to do this.

It's such an obvious point as to be a cliche by now but it's possible to be filled with sadness at this young man's death - and to detest he person that did it - without going on some draconian law and order trip. The harder line you are proposing hasn't really provided a long-term answer to this kind of behaviour although I can understand the thirst for revenge. Certainly a part of me would like to see the guys that did this beaten to death (so I can only imagine the victim's family - if it was my son or brother I don't think I could stay sane) but it's hardly the long-term answer and if we must be anything, we have to be better than the pond-life that did this or what are we?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,683 ✭✭✭✭listermint

stovelid wrote: »
    It's such an obvious point as to be a cliche by now but it's possible to be filled with sadness at this young man's death - and to detest he person that did it - without going on some draconian law and order trip. The harder line you are proposing hasn't really provided a long-term answer to this kind of behaviour although I can understand the thirst for revenge. Certainly a part of me would like to see the guys that did this beaten to death (so I can only imagine the victim's family - if it was my son or brother I don't think I could stay sane) but it's hardly the long-term answer and if we must be anything, we have to be better than the pond-life that did this or what are we?

I wouldnt consider criminals having to pay for their prison up keep with actual labour any form of draconian law. As it is they dont have to participate in councelling or rehab. Its pretty free reign.

We should be taking a harder line and prison should involve mandatory work.

Besides there is nothing worse than an idle mind. and work itself provides a form of self worth / rehab.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,916 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

me@ucd wrote: »
    Ed byrne, never would have had him down as that kind

I've wanted to do it to him on several occasions.

I'd be quite willing to pull the trigger on that piece of sh1t.

If a party were to campaign on a proper judicial system I think they'd soon find themselves in the Dail.

Off you go. Nobody is stopping you. (on both counts)

Volthar wrote: »
    I have asked the very question here:
    http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?threadid=2056051849

their zombie like rotten brains do not comprehend that if you hit someoene's head wit ha hurley, stab someone's head with a screwdriver, toss a petrol bomb into someone's bedroom in the middle of the nite, kick someone unconsious and leave lying in a puddle of blood etc. it is more then likely to cause death...

That's exactly why they're doing it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 817 ✭✭✭Mr Magners

I know it's AH and usual rules etc are out the window but really the thread title is in such poor taste, a young man is dead and the title is a very tenuous link to where the alledged perpetrator is living.

It should be changed, I thought it was going to be a light hearted thread, not what it actually is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Mr Magners wrote: »
    I thought it was going to be a light hearted thread, not what it actually is.

I thought life was gonna be light hearted.

There's one on the same subject here in politics for you.... http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056051603

Title may be more to your liking, but it's locked.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,305 ✭✭✭DOC09UNAM

mikom, i don't think you got enough appreciation for a great title.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

DOC09UNAM wrote: »

Yeah, I was considering using "Polish man dead", but there's been a lot of that recently.
    I didn't want to confuse anybody.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,692 ✭✭✭Dublin_Gunner

....we have to be better than the pond-life that did this or what are we?

Soft.

Criminals literally get away with murder in this country. Its a farce. Its a farce on the self respecting law abiding citizens of this country that we went through hell to call our own, that little knacker scumbags can basically get away with anything they like, without fear of retribution or punishment.

Correction / rehabilitation does not work in most cases. This has been proven in the states. And looking at the number of scummers walking the streets and re-offending here, it quite obviously doesn't work here either.

We need a harder line judicial system. People need ot fear breaking serious laws.

Obviously, you can't go hanging everyone - but letting everyone scum criminal off after a few years is hardly an adequate solution.

Poland have recently stepped up their hard line on certain crimes - chemical castration for perpetrators of sexual crimes. We and other countries need to follow suit. (yes, I'm aware that Poland may not be the best example, considering their government etc).

Its sickening to think, that this guy will be either out after a few years, or will have his sentence suspended if he's not convicted of murder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

DOC09UNAM wrote: »

The thread title is a poor attempt at juvenile humour tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 177 ✭✭sassychick

dlofnep wrote: »
    Probably. It's moot.

Fact of the matter is - this Polish lad was on his way to work in the early hours of the morning, probably busting his balls to make a better life for himself when this scumbag took his life from him.

I hope they prosecute this guy to the fullest extent.
    I totally agree this poor fellah did not deserve this..:(Such a young life tragically taken...i hope that scum rots in jail...RIP lucasz they cant hurt you anymore....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,919 ✭✭✭Einhard

I hate these type of threads. I agree that it's a sad thing to hear of the murder of anyone - but you can be guaranteed that all that follows is page after page of calls for retribution, the death penalty & eradication of "scumbags".

It'd be like reading the letters page of the Daily Mail if they had one.

When someone is killed, the last thing I want to read is calls for more blood to be spilled.

Amen to that. Great post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,396 ✭✭✭✭FreudianSlippers

I know it's AH and usual rules etc are out the window but really the thread title is in such poor taste, a young man is dead and the title is a very tenuous link to where the alledged perpetrator is living.

It should be changed, I thought it was going to be a light hearted thread, not what it actually is.
    This is AH, where the rules are only enforced randomly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Why not actually proffer an opinion in this, a serious thread, instead of bellyaching about the title?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,396 ✭✭✭✭FreudianSlippers

Why not actually proffer an opinion in this, a serious thread, instead of bellyaching about the title?
    So you're complaining about a post that is complaining about the title of a stupid thread?

Just making sure I'm up to speed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,144 ✭✭✭gracehopper

diddledum wrote: »
    I really have no idea if his nationality was a factor, but I do think that relative to our population, we have seen a surprising number of newcomers murdered or seriously injured over the last few years, when you strip out the figures for gang related incidents which many seem to have become a little desensitised to.

Maybe there is no correlation, but I have a feeling if we go sorting through the figures we may not like what we see.

i am not sure about his nationality being a factor. A young irish guy called Alan Higgins was killed for a mobile and a wallet coming home from the cinema which is very near the industrial estate in this instance.

It makes me sick and embarrassed to be honest. We are known for our warmth and welcoming attitude towards others. This polish guy was getting up and heading to work on a saturday morning to earn a few quid in a fish factory and then to be confronted by a group of these little ba5tard5. I do feel ashamed and angry that this can happen so close to where i live.