The After Hours Everything Google Street View Is Now Live In Ireland....I see ya.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

I actually think its quite cool, and its gas to see places I only heard about as a kid semi-live in front of me...

As one who travells a lot, it will be invaluable in knowing my way around before I go somewhere. It does not work for Serbia yet though...

A dark use for it will be its invaluable for military operations if a war ever started. Of course only the Americans could use it... they can restrict access from anywhere they desire.

Big Brother and all that...

I'm pretty sure that countries who are serious about war have their own satellites to spy on other countries, rather than depending on google maps....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 221 ✭✭tomasocarthaigh

If your road is not on Google maps, they take it as a private lane, and did not go up it. So it didnt get streetviewed either.

"streetviewed" - have I just coined a phrase? lol

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,098 ✭✭✭Stinicker

A dirty old man complete with trench coat near some sex shops in Waterford :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 268 ✭✭NetNinja

Bigcheeze wrote: »
    Just realised that street view doesn't work on the iPad. :mad:

Yes It does.

* Do a search in Maps app or drop a new pin.
    * Click on one of the result pins.
    * If you find an orange "person" icon next to the left of the location name, click the icon to see a street view

• Closed Accounts Posts: 159 ✭✭Bus77II

This is absolutely gas to use. Spent the day showing me mam her old house and the surronding area, finding out 'exactly' where things took place in the stories from her childhood she's told me 100's of times over the years.

NSFW.

Probably old news, but did anyone hear about when Street View in Brazil actually captured 2 dead bodies on the street? There's the news article here from PCWorld and G1 here for pictures.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 226 ✭✭GarethWA

Stinicker wrote: »
    A dirty old man complete with trench coat near some sex shops in Waterford :D

Bit short for a trench coat...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭Sea Sharp

Jaysus, I would have tried to be more witty with the first reply 18 months ago had I known how epic a thread this would turn into.:pac:

Sea Sharp wrote: »
    Jaysus, I would have tried to be more witty with the first reply 18 months ago had I known how epic a thread this would turn into.:pac:

And I would've tried to come up with a wittier thread title too. Though that being said, it probably would have been changed anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,857 ✭✭✭Bigcheeze

NetNinja wrote: »
    Yes It does.

* Do a search in Maps app or drop a new pin.
    * Click on one of the result pins.
    * If you find an orange "person" icon next to the left of the location name, click the icon to see a street view

Yeah I worked it out eventually. I was trying to click on links in this thread which don't work on the iPad so a pain if somebody wants to show you something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 521 ✭✭✭alexa5x5

How do you attach links from street google street view? When I attach a link it just links as the map and not the picture.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭CorkMan

If you are in google maps click "Link" above the full screen icon and "X" on the top right of the maps picture.

I am not sure with google earth, only copy and paste in paint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 204 ✭✭Meleftone

When you are in street view right click and turn on 3D mode

• Closed Accounts Posts: 64 ✭✭conno3001

Bigcheeze wrote: »
    Just realised that street view doesn't work on the iPad. :mad:

Remember this feeling.

Because surely more of it is to follow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

Have been messing around with it over the weekend.

Isn't it just amazing the amount of work that went into it? Seriously, work on a massive scale.
    They seem to have stopped completely on the road up to my Nans about a mile before her place.

Any reason, did they just get bored and turn around?

Same with the road to my Grannys house. I think it is because there is grass in the middle of the road and it goes to a cul de sac, so they probably make a call on it as private or something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

Have been messing around with it over the weekend.

Isn't it just amazing the amount of work that went into it? Seriously, work on a massive scale.

Same with the road to my Grannys house. I think it is because there is grass in the middle of the road and it goes to a cul de sac, so they probably make a call on it as private or something.

That's interesting, because they have pictures from private roads inside a place I used to work...the drivers must have be given a certain amount of independence on choosing where to go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,545 ✭✭✭Hogzy

Jesus would people stop posting the house from Father Ted. Its appeared like 5 times on this thread already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,976 ✭✭✭Brendog

anyone notice that the guy in this is one of the guys who was in the driveway?

He actually chased the Google truck to moon it a second time.
    Now only if he put that effort into finding a job....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,775 ✭✭✭JohnK

Brendog wrote: »
    ...He actually chased the Google truck to moon it a second time....
    Apparently he did follow them for a while and I'm sure I heard that he rang some radio station and gave them something like 5 locations where his arse could be seen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 283 ✭✭mikerowsopht

Google Street View has hit Ireland

If you see a Van with cameras on it pull down your pants like these lads did in Balinteer

see link:

http://aindreas.com/archives/18792

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭Smcgie

Wow your on the ball. Shows how the media use AH to write their stories, boards should demand royalties!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,976 ✭✭✭Brendog

This should be in the "Last week" forum...

< hahaha 9/11

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,503 ✭✭✭adamski8

you do realise OP that they arent taking pictures now, they did that last year! and it was a car nnot a van

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

............................................________
    ....................................,.-‘”...................``~.,
    .............................,.-”...................................“-.,
    .........................,/...............................................”:,
    .....................,?......................................................\,
    .................../...........................................................,}
    ................./......................................................,:`^`..}
    .............../...................................................,:”........./
    ..............?.....__.........................................:`.........../
    ............./__.(.....“~-,_..............................,:`........../
    .........../(_....”~,_........“~,_....................,:`........_/
    ..........{.._$;_......”=,_.......“-,_.......,.-~-,},.~”;/....}
    ...........((.....*~_.......”=-._......“;,,./`..../”............../
    ...,,,___.\`~,......“~.,....................`.....}............../
    ............(....`=-,,.......`........................(......;_,,-”
    ............/.`~,......`-...............................\....../\
    .............\`~.*-,.....................................|,./.....\,__
    ,,_..........}.>-._\...................................|..............`=~-,
    .....`=~-,_\_......`\,.................................\
    ...................`=~-,,.\,...............................\
    ................................`:,,...........................`\..............__
    .....................................`=-,...................,%`>--==``
    ........................................_\..........._,-%.......`\
    ...................................,<`.._|_,-&``................`\

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,880 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

Wow. I used to live on the end of Balinteer drive many moons ago.... See it hasn't changed much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 471 ✭✭checkyabadself

I pity foreigners that are watching hoping to see some of the famous Irish craic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭smk89

You are loike soo 3 days ago