Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wirecard

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,634 ✭✭✭✭Richard Dower

You' think the Garda ould be enough....seems like alot of hassle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38 JAKEYCAKEY

DONT USE UKASH THERE CUSTOMER SERVICE IS ATTROCIOUS , THEY DONT CARE ABOUT A CUSTOMER AND JUST SEE YOU AS A HEAD ACHE
    TWICE NOW I HAVE HAS TECHNICAN FAULTS WITH VOUCHER AND IT TAKES THEM NEADRY 3 DAYS TO GIVE YOU A REPLACEMENT .

THIS IS JUST A CODE THAT CAN BE GENERATED IN SECONDS YET IT TAKES THEM 3 DAYS TO GIVE IT TO YOU AND ONLY IF YOU HASSLE THEM. I THINK THEY THINK YOU WILL GO AWAY AND THEY WILL NOT HAVE TO REFUND

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 183 ✭✭IMC042

Im getting an ulster bank visa debit card now and i want to shut down my wirecard account, but i cant seem to see anything on their website to close the account!

What is that about like?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,852 ✭✭✭Fnz

IMC042 wrote: »
    Im getting an ulster bank visa debit card now and i want to shut down my wirecard account, but i cant seem to see anything on their website to close the account!

Try here: http://mywirecard.com/en/TermsAndConditionsPage.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,892 ✭✭✭kn

Their virtual prepay Mastercard (for Ryanair purposes) is perfectly OK. I signed up to it on Saturday and was booking flights (and denying Micko his €5 rip-off charge) that evening. The only security check as such is that when they set up your account they charge your attached credit card a random amount from €1.01 to €2.99 and you then just have to call your credit card customer service number to get the amount charged and input this figure to activate your prepaid Mastercard. The amount charged, €1.92 in my case, is then credited to your prepaid Mastercard.

Charges are a simple 3% of money deposited subject to a minimum of €1. I deposited €40 so the total charge to my credit card was €41.20. It is a really good option if you are really only using it for Ryanair flights. The Moneybrokers card is a €10 annual charge plus you have to upload/post in a range of documents. The Wirecard is a much less hassle and cheaper option for most people I reckon.

I booked two €5 fares on Saturday and all I paid was a tenner (plus 30c in Wirecard charges) - up yours Micko! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 815 ✭✭✭mp31

kn wrote: »
    Their virtual prepay Mastercard (for Ryanair purposes) is perfectly OK. I signed up to it on Saturday and was booking flights (and denying Micko his €5 rip-off charge) that evening. The only security check as such is that when they set up your account they charge your attached credit card a random amount from €1.01 to €2.99 and you then just have to call your credit card customer service number to get the amount charged and input this figure to activate your prepaid Mastercard. The amount charged, €1.92 in my case, is then credited to your prepaid Mastercard.

Charges are a simple 3% of money deposited subject to a minimum of €1. I deposited €40 so the total charge to my credit card was €41.20. It is a really good option if you are really only using it for Ryanair flights. The Moneybrokers card is a €10 annual charge plus you have to upload/post in a range of documents. The Wirecard is a much less hassle and cheaper option for most people I reckon.

I booked two €5 fares on Saturday and all I paid was a tenner (plus 30c in Wirecard charges) - up yours Micko! :)

How long did you have to wait from registering to booking flights? Hours or a few minutes.... I ask coz I don't have enough on my Dublin City Gift Card Prepaid Mastercard and I need to book some Ryanair flights now without paying another 40 Euros in booking fees.
    Is it possible to sign up for a Wirecard Prepaid mastercard, top up the new card with my Ulsterbank Visa Debit card and pay for the flights in the next 10 mins?

mp31 wrote: »
    How long did you have to wait from registering to booking flights? Hours or a few minutes.... I ask coz I don't have enough on my Dublin City Gift Card Prepaid Mastercard and I need to book some Ryanair flights now without paying another 40 Euros in booking fees.
    Is it possible to sign up for a Wirecard Prepaid mastercard, top up the new card with my Ulsterbank Visa Debit card and pay for the flights in the next 10 mins?
    You can work away immediately after you activate the account. To activate your account you have to find out how much wirecard charged your account and input that figure into the activation. For practical purposes that means that if you register your account tonight you only have to wait until the morning when you can phone your credit card customer service number to find out the amount charged. When I did it Saturday I could have booked flights straight away as I got the amount charged, €1.92, from my credit card provider almost immediately.

I think the current Ryanair sale is until Monday night so you should be grand anytime tomorrow.

You can work away immediately after you activate the account. To activate your account you have to find out how much wirecard charged your account and input that figure into the activation. For practical purposes that means that if you register your account tonight you only have to wait until the morning when you can phone your credit card customer service number to find out the amount charged. When I did it Saturday I could have booked flights straight away as I got the amount charged, €1.92, from my credit card provider almost immediately.

I think the current Ryanair sale is until Monday night so you should be grand anytime tomorrow.

Thanks for the reply 'kn'. I signed up, added my Ulster Bank Visa Debit card and tried to get the activation amount online but it didn't show. I waited for another half hour and then went to bed. This morning, I went into an Ulster bank branch but they couldn't see any debit from wirecard either so I'm still waiting as we speak. I then went into Stephen green shopping centre and the Prepaid card machine at Ticketmaster was out of action as well so it looks like a trip to the Jervis st centre for me.

mp31 wrote: »
    Thanks for the reply 'kn'. I signed up, added my Ulster Bank Visa Debit card and tried to get the activation amount online but it didn't show. I waited for another half hour and then went to bed. This morning, I went into an Ulster bank branch but they couldn't see any debit from wirecard either so I'm still waiting as we speak. I then went into Stephen green shopping centre and the Prepaid card machine at Ticketmaster was out of action as well so it looks like a trip to the Jervis st centre for me.
    Is there a phone number with Ulster Bank you can call? I am sure they will be able to tell you straight away.

I went into another branch to deposit a cheque and asked the assistant at the counter to look at the debits and still nothing.
    So I bought a Dublin City Prepaid Gift Card from the Ticketmaster outlet in the Jervis St shopping centre to top up the wirecard BUT discovered there's a limit of 150 Euros for top up via a credit card .... and the flights are twice that.... so I had no choice but to pay the Ryanair 5 euro credit card fee because the cheap'er' seats were selling out rapidly. :( and :mad:

Anyone know why I have a 150 Euro limit on deposits into the wirecard from another credit card? I tried looking at the site FAQ and fees section but couldn't see anything. :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 98 ✭✭bestie

In one's mywirecard account under 'My Profile' there are three options. The middle one stating 'Deposit Methods' is what I'm curious about.

I had previously added my local current bank account understanding that it was possible to top up wirecard via your bank account via wirecard.

I'm pretty much sure that when I first added the bank account which was confirmed to be added successfully by email ; I then logged into mywirecard account and it asked me if I wanted to transfer monies at this time - I declined.

But now it just seems to be a greyed out option as per the name I gave it.

So what I'm curious to know, what is the purpose of this adding a deposit method, is it simply to speed up transfers when crediting mywirecard account via my local bank account?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 247 ✭✭Carne

Just fyi the login page seems to have changed urls, the new one is:

https://secure.wirecardbank.com/mywirecard/Home.html?languageCode=en

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,634 ✭✭✭✭Richard Dower

^ cheers...just wondering about this, the default old homepage has changed + in German.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,200 ✭✭✭oneweb

Obviously it pays to be careful about logging into unfamiliar pages... but why on earth do Wirecard have to make it so difficult? You've to click at least 3 links from the homepage to get to login, and the new domain means that password managers won't offer to fill in your details!

It is what it's.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,810 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

Does anyone have a number for them that can be called from Irish mobile? My account is locked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,894 ✭✭✭mp3ireland2

anybody having trouble using wirecard? seems like it's not working on ryanair anymore :-( my friend tried his account and somebody else's and is getting the same error..... he contacted wirecard and was told it should work fine.

No way to contact ryanair apart from ringing them for stupid money!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 budmccartan

anybody having trouble using wirecard? seems like it's not working on ryanair anymore :-( my friend tried his account and somebody else's and is getting the same error..... he contacted wirecard and was told it should work fine.

No way to contact ryanair apart from ringing them for stupid money!!

I've used mywirecard with Ryanair a few times before and it worked fine until now, however now when I enter the details (exact same as before) I get the following message:

Payment Error
    Your card payment could not be processed due to one of the below reasons. Please review the below issues and go back to the previous (Payment) page and resubmit:
    1. You have mistyped the card number or some of the digits are missing go to the previous (Payment) page and resubmit.
    2. The card type selected (e.g. Mastercard, Visa, Visa Electron) is invalid for the card number provided go to the previous (Payment) page and reselect.
    3. You have incorrectly entered the card number into the cardholder name box or vice versa go to the previous (Payment) page and re-enter.
    4. The billing address is incorrect- go to the previous (Payment) page and re-enter, ensuring the billing address matches the address on your card statement.
    -
    I've checked all the details and they're fine, my cards in credit and I've even email Wirecard to check and they say there shouldn't be a problem, I've also tried with an other card and receive the same error message :mad: Can anyone shine any light on the issue?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,188 ✭✭✭wil

I've used mywirecard with Ryanair a few times before and it worked fine until now, however now when I enter the details (exact same as before) I get the following message:

Payment Error
    Your card payment could not be processed due to one of the below reasons. Please review the below issues and go back to the previous (Payment) page and resubmit:
    1. You have mistyped the card number or some of the digits are missing go to the previous (Payment) page and resubmit.
    2. The card type selected (e.g. Mastercard, Visa, Visa Electron) is invalid for the card number provided go to the previous (Payment) page and reselect.
    3. You have incorrectly entered the card number into the cardholder name box or vice versa go to the previous (Payment) page and re-enter.
    4. The billing address is incorrect- go to the previous (Payment) page and re-enter, ensuring the billing address matches the address on your card statement.
    -

I've checked all the details and they're fine, my cards in credit and I've even email Wirecard to check and they say there shouldn't be a problem, I've also tried with an other card and receive the same error message :mad: Can anyone shine any light on the issue?

I had this before on 3 mobile site. Never worked out the problem for definite but reckon it was something to do with the name checking.
    It kept sticking MR in front of my name where as wirecard just has name, no mister in the details. Ended up using plastic instead.

Now my wirecard has expired but I havent received a new number even though I have credit. No obvious method to request or check on the site, I can only see my expired card details, partially obscured. There used to be an option to view card number, but not there now.
    Any ideas?

My current virtual card has an expiry date of 04/11. I've been waiting for an email giving me new card details but alas nothing has arrived. I'm sincerely doubtful one will arrive tomorrow given that it's a Saturday of a bank holiday weekend. Should I spend the money in the account before the end of the month? It's only a small amount though. Any advice or am I the last person still using it? :D

Maybe I'm wrong but isn't there a renewal fee of €10 or something, so if you don't have the funds in your card does it get cancelled as a result?

Likewise my card is expiring soon and has about €30 remaining so I'm thinking about spending as much of it as I can and then hoping to cancel it.

Carne wrote: »
    Maybe I'm wrong but isn't there a renewal fee of €10 or something, so if you don't have the funds in your card does it get cancelled as a result?.
    feck it! I hope not! IIRC the last time they said I needed to have a minimum of €10 in the account to get it renewed. They emailed me then I think but there's been no contact from them this time :confused:

Probably best to spend as much of it as you can and then try cancel it regardless, at least that's what I'm trying to do since there's other options now like the O2 card.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,146 ✭✭✭chasm

My virtual card expired 03/11, and today i received an email saying

"Your virtual card was successfully renewed. Your available balance was transferred automatically to the new card. You may now continue shopping online safely"
    This part worries me though : "Any fees associated with card renewal were debited from the available balance on your card."
    Looking at the fees section it looks like their is a charge of €10 for a new card, can anyone verify this? Am a bit annoyed as i didn't realise that the card was renewed it automatically:(

I think that €10 charge applies if you got the physical Mastercard they were offering.

I thought that too at first but it is listed in their fees as €10 under both the virtual and the classic wirecard.

What what happens if you have less than €10?

Well i had less than €10 on mine and it has been applied to the new card but i have my bank a/c linked to mine so i don't know if they will take the money from that? or perhaps take it when i top up the card?
    I've emailed them to ask for clarification, so hopefully hear tomorrow, i know it's only €10 but i'd prefer it in my pocket than theirs;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

Can Wirecard be used to avoid Ryanairs €6 credit card fee?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,894 ✭✭✭mp3ireland2

Stinicker wrote: »
    Can Wirecard be used to avoid Ryanairs €6 credit card fee?

yes. It wouldn't work a couple of month ago but is back working with ryanair again now, seems like there was some technical issue on the ryanair website... wonder was it intentional!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

yes. It wouldn't work a couple of month ago but is back working with ryanair again now, seems like there was some technical issue on the ryanair website... wonder was it intentional!

Nice one, thanks! :D