People who plug in headphone and ignore everything

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 724 ✭✭✭Ms. Chanandler Bong

Biggins wrote: »
    The least I would (and have done in near similar situations) do is give out to them for being so bloody rude - and then tell them to fcuk off.
    I've no time for that schite.

I pointed out that I wasn't actually working & pointed out someone who was working to them before making a quick exit...;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,194 ✭✭✭Onthe3rdDay

My biggest worry is the trend for papers to go from broadsheet to taboild. There's nothing like a copy of the Irish Times or the Daily Telegraph to create a barrier between yourself and your fellow man. :D

Most of the time I've earphones actually off but wearing them puts off most that would want to talk. Too often in my younger days a long train trip was ruined by 3 or 4 hours of some idiot talking about nothing.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

catreyn wrote: »
    I pointed out that I wasn't actually working & pointed out someone who was working to them before making a quick exit...;)
    Fair play then for keeping civil. I wouldn't have.
    I can be a stubborn aggressive b-stard when it come to others having a go at me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,090 ✭✭✭jill_valentine

I never wear earphones. I don't even have an MP3 player. If I go for a walk, it's for the sake of a nice peaceful walk.

True, but the only way I seem to be able to guarantee a peaceful walk at all is with the headphones on - even if I'm not actually playing any music.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,463 ✭✭✭Antomus Prime

There's nothi g worse than being in the gym with the headphones in training away, and then some knob that you worked with years ago (which you were never friends with) keeps coming over every 5 mins to try engage conversation..... Eh I'm putting these back in my ears for a reason pal, now P**S OFF and stop annoying me!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Sykk

I go to the gym to work out, I get to bus to get from where I am, to where I'm going. Not to listen to you blabber on about the weather. If I wanted to listen to things I don't want to hear, I'd get a girlfriend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 262 ✭✭Awful_Bliss

I don't think it's rude to have the earphones in. Some folk are reserved and/or don't want to listen to the aforementioned people blaring music from their phones, people's conversations, teenagers saying 'like & OMG' every two seconds etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 542 ✭✭✭ILA

Some good responses. Unfortunately I couldn't read them as they were posted as I had to go to two letures and actually do something other than post on Boards all day.

Now, can't wait to get the bus, put the headphones on and get the MP3 player fired up to keep hoards of annoying nattering students away from me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 390 ✭✭happyfriday

I'm a talkative social person when it involves interacting with someone in a normal social settings but I really attract the wrong type of person altogether and without headphones and a dark pair of sunglasses I'm not sure I'd have remained sane for this long. I have stopped taking the bus altogeter and walk now because seriously people are becoming stranger and stranger. On the train it's head down, glasses on (even if it is pissing down) and headphones in (sometimes I would forget to charge my Ipod but the headphones still go in) more often than not someone will still try and talk to me. When I walk it's usually the same kind set up (although unfortunately I can't wear the sunglasses when it's raining but a hat that comes over my eyes also comes in handy in that case) and I still get stopped at least once a week and that's still far to much. I just don't get it!! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 359 ✭✭Tallaght Saint

An iPod is essential sitting on the 77 instead of listening to anto and deco's hugely inteluctual conversations :rolleyes:

Awwwwwwwwwrrriiiiiiii buuuuuuuuuddddd. Fuck off

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

An iPod is essential sitting on the 77 instead of listening to anto and deco's hugely inteluctual conversations :rolleyes:

Try listening to the great intellectuals formally known as Jedward then! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 724 ✭✭✭Ms. Chanandler Bong

Biggins wrote: »
    Fair play then for keeping civil. I wouldn't have.
    I can be a stubborn aggressive b-stard when it come to others having a go at me.

I wasn't all that civil in fairness :p It was more a case of 'stare at her for a few seconds, look at my headphones, look at her & say "I'm not actually working right now, John's over there if you need help" before walking away while putting my headphones back in':D

I remember a day when my CD player batteries died (in the days before my iPod) & I was on the Castlepark bus in Galway. Not too many people on it but left the headphones in because I fancied some peace & quiet. Two girls aged between 10 & 12 were sitting at the back of the bus discussing school when out of the blue, one says to the other "Do you spit or swallow?" Girl 2 asks what that means? Girl 1 says "No idea, my sister asked her friend last night & Mam heard & flipped" Looked around the bus to see everyone trying not to pee themselves laughing...:D Priceless...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 SusieDx

I do it all the time and dont see anything wrong with it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 149 ✭✭MingulayJohnny

bonerm wrote: »
    I was actually wondering how people would react to the following scenario:

Typical scene of a couple of scummer kids down the back of the bus blaring music out of their cheap shítty phones. A lone dissenter confronts them and tells them to turn their music off.

Obviously if the scummers acquiesce to the dissenter then you'd prob think the he or she was a legend. However if they refuse and things start to get a bit verbal/tasty would you be prepared to back the dissenter if need be (not even physically, I mean just verbally) or would you just sit there quitely hiding in your shell?

I am convinced there is absolutely no one on a bus (other than the scummers themselves) who want to hear this music, so by that logic there should be enough willpower to the contrary to make sure these portable scumbag discos never occur on a bus. So why does it happen? How is the best way to turn a majority against scum who are only playing off self-imposed isolation?

People just freeze nowadays when it comes to confrontation. It's sad but true most of the time. It would be refreshing to see a group of people rally together and chuck the scum off of the bus\train.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,012 ✭✭✭kincsem

Some people posted that they listen to music at work. Which are you doing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 149 ✭✭gravityisalie

catreyn wrote: »
    I work in retail & was on my lunch break one day, walking through the store with my coat on & headphones in, sandwich & coffee in my hands. A customer walks up behind me & rips the phones out of my ears, saying "Did you not hear me calling you? I need some help with something"!!!:eek::mad: WTF?!?!?! I have headphones in my ears, no I did not hear you calling!!! Also, not in uniform=not working!!!

Those of us who choose to listen to our headphones in public places are doing so because we want to step back from the chatter for a while. I can quite happily talk for Ireland at the best of times. I also like to go for walks with nothing but birdsong ringing in my ears.:) Sometimes, usually when I'm commuting/on a break at work, I like to listen to music.

It's not that I have anything against talking to people...:o

jesus , that customer is lucky it wasnt me , i'm really REALLY jumpy , the fool definitely would have ended up showered in coffee !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 363 ✭✭Rockn

A long journey without earphones is a nightmare. I hate when my mp3 player battery dies before I get home. Especially when it's around 4pm and a bunch of school kids get on the bus. Don't you just want to strangle them?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

kincsem wrote: »
    Some people posted that they listen to music at work. Which are you doing?

Working while listening to music makes me very productive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

think most of the regulars in my gym think im an ignorant prick but i didnt join the gym to make friends, ive a certain amout of time that i want to get as much done as possible,not stand around talking **** about their latest protein shakes and how "burrrddddsssss luv me bleeeeedin gunnnnns!"

sauna/steam room/jacuzzi........NO ESCAPE!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 542 ✭✭✭ILA

bonerm wrote: »
    I was actually wondering how people would react to the following scenario:

Typical scene of a couple of scummer kids down the back of the bus blaring music out of their cheap shítty phones. A lone dissenter confronts them and tells them to turn their music off.

Obviously if the scummers acquiesce to the dissenter then you'd prob think the he or she was a legend. However if they refuse and things start to get a bit verbal/tasty would you be prepared to back the dissenter if need be (not even physically, I mean just verbally) or would you just sit there quitely hiding in your shell?

I am convinced there is absolutely no one on a bus (other than the scummers themselves) who want to hear this music, so by that logic there should be enough willpower to the contrary to make sure these portable scumbag discos never occur on a bus. So why does it happen? How is the best way to turn a majority against scum who are only playing off self-imposed isolation?

I've been thinking through the scenario for the last week, before I got time to actually upload music onto my MP3 Player at the weekend, during the torture on the bus.

It's truly an interesting lesson in Sociology and how people have relegated themselves to self-imposed isolation, appeasing scummer behaviour which goes against all social norms but yet no one individual takes a stand, and certainly no group takes a stand even while they are clearly in the majority in the scenario.

Out of 50 people on the bus, the same group of about five cause the annoyance which visibly gets to people, at least I know have an MP3 player, but can still hear some of the noise, so it must be excruciating for those without any protection.

How can it be changed? People need to stop isolating themselves, show that they too are pissed off and collectively take action by one individual communicating the intent to stop the scummers. It needs a certain amount of communication and rehearsal, if one person gets up on their own they'll get targeted by the scummers and others will not intervene, having being deterred from action by seeing the failure of the individual.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,997 ✭✭✭Adyx

flas wrote: »
    maybe in dublin, but not in the rest of the country!

Yes in the rest of the country. Waterford may not be as bad as Dublin, but there are still plenty of weirdos, scumbags and people who need ignoring here. I've spent the last 10 years in a job listening to the public and most weren't worth listening to. People are NEVER as interesting as they think they are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭TanG411

What annoys me are people who have a phone that can be used as an mp3 player (Like the Nokia Xpressmusic), but still insist on having a separate mp3 player for music.

Having music on your phone is the bee's knees. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

flas wrote: »
    and there we have it, the reason ireland has lost its tag of a warm friendly country! people hiding behind a wall of music the whole time and who have the social skills of a feckin table!get out and talk to people,you would be pleasantly surprised! for every weirdo you talk to there is a really interesting person aswell.

Bollix, i'll stay with the music thanks.

People talking to me on the bus are right up there with annoying pricks who want to talk to me when i am outside a club having a smoke on the list of people who should **** right off and realise they are not even close to as interesting as they want to be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭Callan57

chin_grin wrote: »
    Here's one. Does anyone put their earphones in but are not listening to any tunes? I do it the odd time. Just to listen in............cos I'm curious........Or just paranoid. Dunno.

Yea ... you can hear great conversations that way. It's like wearing dark glasses people think you're blind so therefore you can't hear! So if you have headphone in you can't hear anything else so they feel free to vent. Mind you you could hear unflattering comments on yourself also.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Pauleta

I usually have ear phones in and sunglasses on. It repels chuggers, the homeless and junkies :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 639 ✭✭✭Seillejet

I use earphones while surfing boards......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭Callan57

I was on the Limerick to Ennis train yesterday evening & headphones didn't insulate us from a barrage of filthy language and very, very aggressive behavior from a 'couple'.

I haven't lived an especially sheltered life but I was stunned that a man & woman (whatever their relationship) would used such a barrage of filth against each other and in public ... OK maybe I have been sheltered!

And before anyone asks No they were not foreigners but definitely our very own home grown linguistically challenged variety ... I now know the origin of the expression 'Common as muck'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,197 ✭✭✭Eutow

Ah yes, the 77. More than any other route this bus seems to attract those idiots that like blaring sh**e out of their phones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 384 ✭✭Erica<3

If I'm on a bus or train with headphones in it means that I DON'T WANT TO BE BOTHERED.

I've either started the day and don't want to be spoken to by a complete ****ing stranger or I'm coming home, in which case, I pity the fool who wants to talk to my tired self.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 711 ✭✭✭Dr_Phil

ILA wrote: »
    Interested in what the esteemed inhabitants of AH think about people who hide behind an iPod/Phone/Mp3 player and refuse to communicate with others in a public setting (bus, library, train, tram, gym, etc.)
    Am I under some sort of obligation to communicate with whoever wants to communicate with me RIGHT NOW? I quite often have my earphones on without actually listening anything, just to keep people away so that I can think (ancient, nowadays forgotten activity, often way to relax).