This Is England 86

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,947 ✭✭✭D-Generate

This is no longer a comedy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,200 ✭✭✭youcancallmeal

I knew it was coming but Jesus that was some strong stuff there tonight!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,657 ✭✭✭baldbear

Fairly dark episode! Jaysus the auld fella will get whats coming next week, i hope. Big difference between the first and last two episodes.:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,424 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Superb episode..
    but jesus, that turned quite dark in the final 10 minutes.

It had lots of great stuff including the return of Flip ("I'm gonna count down from 13! 13?!?"). I particularly felt very sorry for Woody in this episode.. say what you want about the guy but there's not a harmless bone in his body.

The closing scene was very VERY dark, but along with the return of Combo.. it has left us with a lot of unresolved stories and simmering tension for the final episode - plenty to deal with next week.. the rape, Milky and Lol, Combo, Meggy's "lovechild" etc

I have loved this series... yeah, it's not as dark and brooding as the movie (for the most part) but it's extremely well written but the performances are all top-notch.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 31,417 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

Was ready to come in here and give out stink about this episode: first forty five minutes was the same frivolous, OTT comedy that overtook the worst parts of the first few episodes, and just felt like it was taking too long to get to the real meat of the show.
    But wow: that last few minutes is when **** finally started getting real. Film followed a relatively similar path - it was quite light at parts, only for the hints of darkness to finally bubble through. I'd say we're in for a tough hour next week, if that deeply uncomfortable final couple of minutes are anything to go by. I still think it has taken a little too long to get where it needs to be, and barring the deeply shocking rape sequence the episode felt like a step back from last week,
    but hopefully Meadows (who actually seemed much more confident and ambitious a director too, compared to the guy who directed the last two) has a masterplan that's finally starting to come together. If the first few episodes lured us into a false sense of security and confidence, I think we're being brought straight back into a harsh, grim reality.
    The barking like a dog though? What. The. ****. Shaun and Smell: most bizarre romantic subplot I've come across, that's for sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

intriguing episode, at first i taught Lol was being unfair on her old man but low & behold he's a badun

just goes to show never trust a man with a beard

thankfully nothing happened between Smell & Shaun now that was a relief

I took the same message away from it Johnny..
    the final episode will more than likely echo the final act in the film in terms of tone.

From the This Is England Facebook page..
    A few comments about how the rape scene shouldnt have been shown, I agree it didnt make for comfortable viewing but I think it was an important statement and had far more impact in showing the disgusting character of Mick. All credit to Johnny Harris and Danielle Watson.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

That was a very disturbing ending. Meadows did a great job in luring us into a false sense of security there what with the way Lol was acting throughout the episode and her dad's convincing rant at her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

Ahh forgot all about this. When is it usually up on 4OD?

Johner wrote: »
    Ahh forgot all about this. When is it usually up on 4OD?
    I think it was up about midnight last week..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,346 ✭✭✭positivenote

first episode that has really been up to the standard that we know Meadows is capable of. The concluding ep should be excellent, but im hoping it doesnt disapoint like the first two did... but i supose thats what comes with being an excellent director... a high level of expectation

basquille wrote: »
    I think it was up about midnight last week..

Cheers. :)

first episode that has really been up to the standard that we know Meadows is capable of. The concluding ep should be excellent, but im hoping it doesnt disapoint like the first two did... but i supose thats what comes with being an excellent director... a high level of expectation

He didn't direct the first two episodes did he?

Johner wrote: »
    He didn't direct the first two episodes did he?
    Nope, the first two was directed by Tom Harper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭clikityclak

very different from the first two episodes... i hope he does a second series.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,185 ✭✭✭Tchaikovsky

Jaysus, that was fair shocking stuff :eek:

very different from the first two episodes... i hope he does a second series.
    No.. that won't happen. It's a mini-series, that's it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭clikityclak

I thought he said if he got a good response from these few episodes that he'd make a follow up next year? hmmm, must look for an link for where i read that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,267 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Jaysus, that was fair shocking stuff :eek:

sure was...jaysus

although.....ENGINES.........OFF!! lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,836 ✭✭✭Vokes

Am not certain (maybe I imagined it) but I think in an interview, Meadows had expressed interest in getting the gang back for a This is England 1990 a few years down the line.

Fairly dark and gripping final 15mins tonight. And Combo back too! Roll on next week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,092 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

its getting really good now isn't it?
    great to see that motorbike gang got another look in in the series:D
    Lol's character is getting some depth now, its great, and Milky is finally starting to feel the guilt, better late than never I guess.
    Poor aul Gadget, hes aweful funny, what a character!
    That stuff with Lol's dad was pretty disturbing viewing, really contrasted to the rest having a laugh watching the footy, it was really well done.
    And himself landing in at the very end, roll on the final episode, can't wait to see what happens there!
    Fantastic episode.

Vokes wrote: »
    Am not certain (maybe I imagined it) but I think in an interview, Meadows had expressed interest in getting the gang back for a This is England 1990 a few years down the line.
    Really? Hmmm.. I'd be interested to read that.

Hopefully that'd be it then.. it wouldn't be like Meadows to flog a dead horse like that. But he wouldn't do it unless he had a story to tell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,857 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

Really? Hmmm.. I'd be interested to read that.

Hopefully that'd be it then.. it wouldn't be like Meadows to flog a dead horse like that. But he wouldn't do it unless he had a story to tell.

Stolen from wiki (I know) but
    He said if the series succeeded, he would follow it with another series.[16]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

A lot of stuff to fit into the final episode, I don't suppose if anyone knows if it will be more than an hour long?

LZ5by5 wrote: »
    A lot of stuff to fit into the final episode, I don't suppose if anyone knows if it will be more than an hour long?
    Nope, it's the same length - 10pm - 11.05pm next Tuesday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭squeakyduck

My god, I was so uncomfortable watching that episode. Lol's dad is such an evil man.

I fell sorry for Woody and Milky, Lol is just stringing them both along now, I'd love to that two lovely lads mad about me! :mad: I've such a soft spot for them! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 283 ✭✭Trafford Lad

Really enjoyed last nights episode, a real return to form after the flat feel to the first 2, I loved the start with "English Rose" by the Jam playing, and such a transition from the comedy early on with "Clark Cable" in the jumper etc.."Come on and finish me off..keep the jumper on" etc :) to that uncomfortable scene near the end. Such a great cast and some really great acting accross the board last night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 729 ✭✭✭Kazooie

The end had the same uncomfortable feeling that the beating scene had towards the end of the movie. Really enjoyed that episode, sets things up nicely for some fireworks in the final ep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36 Rebellious Jukebox

definitely the best episode, the first half of the series just kind of trudged along, I enjoyed it, because I liked returning to those characters but felt it like it was going to be a real non event. The comedy just wasn't that funny. I think next week's episode will redeem the whole series. All the actors are fantastic, the direction and some of the writing was very off though. I wish Meadows had just directed it all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

I'm here for the ginge!:D