FF/Green to go the full term.

• 21-09-2010 11:44AM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,207 ✭✭✭

Over the past week with all the nonsense about Cowen having a hangover it occured to me that a lot of people are under the impression that some sort of FF implosion is imminent and we will have early elections.

Personally I think these people are deluded, look at the events of the last 3 years and the hand FF have played in our current difficulties. The dogs on the street know that Cowen and his ff colleagues are at fault for most of the economic disaters on our small Island and yet they are still in power today!

I could list the failings of FF and their caball of civil service arse lickers but why repeat whats on a hundred other threads,

Am I deluded in thinking that the machine that is FF have the beating of the second rate opposition and the people dont have any real power to force an election and am I right to worry that in a couple of years FF will again defy logic and persuade a good proportion of the population to vote for them and placing them in a position to gain power once again?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,364 ✭✭✭ei.sdraob

noooooooo :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,207 ✭✭✭meditraitor

ei.sdraob wrote: »
    noooooooo :(

What do you think, tell I'm wrong please...... :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,663 ✭✭✭JoeyJJ

Not sure if they will go the distance however once the Budget is over and people recieve their paypacked at the end of Jan, I suspect there will be a lot of people who it will dawn on that we are in the ****, or maybe it will be the first dole day of the new year.

The budget will piss a lot of people off anyway, there are a lot of deluded people in this country.

What do you think, tell I'm wrong please...... :(

I think they will go a full term (unfortunately) they have a way of hanging on like a bad smell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭BlaasForRafa

JoeyJJ wrote: »
    Not sure if they will go the distance however once the Budget is over and people recieve their paypacked at the end of Jan, I suspect there will be a lot of people who it will dawn on that we are in the ****, or maybe it will be the first dole day of the new year.

The budget will piss a lot of people off anyway, there are a lot of deluded people in this country.

I'd broadly agree with that. If they're are large scale taxed increases on the low paid and middle income earners then there will be substantial ill-will in the country. Added to that if there are cuts to hospitals, especially closures then this will bring pressure on TDs in those areas to break ranks.

The only way I can see the government falling is if the budget is rejected and realistically it would take the independants all being against plus disaffected FF tds voting against to see it fail. Its more likely that staring into the abyss of electoral defeat that disaffected FFers will chicken out and choose to get nearly 2 more years of guaranteed paydays rather than be out on their a**es

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

All indications at the moment are that any change in leadership will collapse the Government.

The issue is that everyone currently in the coalition (except maybe for JH-R :rolleyes: ) will be annihilated when the next General Election rolls around, so they will do everything in their power to keep their seats on this gravy train until 2012. The Greens won't jump ship, they're dead men/women walking. FF's backbenchers won't try to squeeze Cowen out because that'll risk collapsing the Government. The Independents are in big trouble in their constitutencies for allowing the government to continue so they will...eh...allow the government to continue.

Unless a few TD's get an attack of conscience and leave the coalition or there are a few deaths/resignations, I think we're stuck with this shower for another 18 months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,767 ✭✭✭nuac

Two quotations should be put up on the Cabinet wall

" Events, dear boy, events" Harold McMillan speaking of the risks to government.

"It's the little things that trip you up" Albert Reynolds.

Mediatraitor - I don't agree with your description of civil servants as a "caball of arse lickers".

The British left us a fine Civil Service which has continued on the traditions of independence and professionalism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,789 ✭✭✭rugbyman

Meditraitor
    i would be reluctant to call you deluded. However, the FF led govt. has had,and still has more votes (in the Dail) than the weak opposition(on that i agree).. this is not any indication of their strength or the opositions weakness.

re your fear that they will get a substantial vote, yes they will, under 20 % of the voters will vote for them, regardless.
    I dont think there is a snowballs chance that a FF led govt will be back ( though even in your fears ,you have not suggested that)
    If the next budget cuts expenditure(which it will) ,it will help lift our presently abject levels of confidence
    If the GOVT does not fall by Nov 2011, a third haircut budget will help more.
    At that stage SOME voters may well return to them.

I have met a few people who intend to vote FF, though they have not before, their logic is "they (FF) cannot be allowed to walk away from the mess they created"

I will be canvassing for FG in the next election and reckon they will lead a coalition into Govt., but I do not believe that that Govt. will have the balls that Brian Lenihan is displaying in cuts(more to come).

Regards Rugbyman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭markpb

rugbyman wrote: »
    I have met a few people who intend to vote FF, though they have not before, their logic is "they (FF) cannot be allowed to walk away from the mess they created"

I can't understand that logic at all. If I created a problem, I wouldn't have a problem trying to fix it if I was paid €100,000 a year to do so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 408 ✭✭toxicity234

Thank god. Now if RTE would start reporting news and stop talking ***T about who might have said what or where someone got a hangover.
    Let have some real news for a change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

markpb wrote: »
    I can't understand that logic at all. If I created a problem, I wouldn't have a problem trying to fix it if I was paid €100,000 a year to do so.
    More to the point, if I hired a guy to do a job and he made an almighty balls of it, not only would I fire him and get someone better to fix it, but I wouldn't pay the guy either.

I have heard other people say the "Let them burn in their own mess" nonsense too though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,001 ✭✭✭✭thebman

seamus wrote: »
    More to the point, if I hired a guy to do a job and he made an almighty balls of it, not only would I fire him and get someone better to fix it, but I wouldn't pay the guy either.

I have heard other people say the "Let them burn in their own mess" nonsense too though.

They fail to realise that mess is our country.

thebman wrote: »
    They fail to realise that mess is our country.

I think they know well the hole they dug, but admitting and apologising is something FF are not good at...

ei.sdraob wrote: »
    I think they know well the hole they dug, but admitting and apologising is something FF are not good at...

I was talking about the people that want to let them burn in their own mess :P

That mess is our country :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 62 ✭✭FINGAL FAN

This country is in a terrible state largely due to the actions of FF and their cronies. However,it seems to me there is between 20% and 25% of the population that will vote for them come what may. So ,they only need to get about another 15% and there in power again. Thats not possible at the moment but might be if things pick up over the next two years.This is there hope .
    On the other hand you have a weak opposition headed by a man-Enda Kenny-That polls have consistantly shown the people to not want as Taoiseach. This opposition also do not want an an election as if elected would have to try an clean up FF's mess.
    So yes I think this godawful government could run its full term.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,066 ✭✭✭✭Happyman42

The Fianna Fail establishment must be delighted that Cowen is becoming the focus of anger. It's playing right into their hands an they know from past experience how to capitalise. That is why last week didn't topple him imo. There is a huge unthinking element to the electorate who Fianna Fail know well. They will see Cowen as the reason or one of the main reasons why we are where we are. The party can take the pressure to be rid of Cowen, let it run, then eventually sarcrifice him and go to the polls with a squeakier clean new leader. They may not win but they will limit the damage.
    I don't think they will make the full term, but I think they are trying to choose the timing of an election.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

They're all lepers now from sleeping in the FF bed, so they may as well go full term in the hope some minor or major miracle happens to rescue some of them. I still hear the guff that the opposition don't have what it takes to be in Government.

Seriously.

Blind monkeys could hardly do a worse job than FF/Green/Independents.

Personally I would prefer an election before Christmas and let the opposition have a go at sorting out Yet Another FF mess.

Just hope that the election after next people still remember how spectacularly FF have failed this country - again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 Dawkins

Finna Fail will do there upmost best to see out their terms to secure their TD pensions as they are fully aware most of them will never be re-elected! Thats how shamefull these people are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,371 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

Kenny holding on to the leadership of FG during the challenge just demonstrated that they are as concerned about holding on to power just as FF is. Their thinking is that because he's been around so long then he deserves to be taoiseach despite the fact that he doesn't appeal to a substantial portion of the electorate.

People want to see change but because they are getting the same old thing, they are more inclined to stick with what's there.

Who knows what will happen by the time 2012 comes around, if there is growth in the economy and recovery is underway then FF are likely to have their support increased. That's what they hope for too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 234 ✭✭scr123

I do not know if the FF/Greens will go the full term but I do know if they fail to last the full term it will be an act of gross irresponsility. Every time a Labour or FG TD comes on radio or tv I cringe at the thoughts of these people coming to government. If anyone is serious about voting for either of these parties I suggest they get a blank sheet of paper and make a list of the policies they so far have offered. The only thing they have in common is a determination to cancel forever the idea of recessions !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

Kenny holding on to the leadership of FG during the challenge just demonstrated that they are as concerned about holding on to power just as FF is.

If he stepped aside you're say he was weak.

By the way, which country are FG in Government in please, seeing as they're "concerned about holding on to power" :confused: I'd like to move there out of this shambolic affair.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,152 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

OK, I'll probably regret this, but I'll bite and take one for the anti-bull team....
    scr123 wrote: »
    If anyone is serious about voting for either of these parties I suggest they get a blank sheet of paper and make a list of the policies they so far have offered.

Do you have a list of policies that FF have offered, other than the bailout of Anglo & other Galway Tent buddies that seems to have taken up most of their efforts for the past 2 years ?
    The only thing they have in common is a determination to cancel forever the idea of recessions !!

Well if it's a determination to do that, then that's a perfect reason to vote for them - "no recessions" is achieved by sustainable economic policies, and if they're determined to implement that, that's a massive improvement on the current shower of incompetents.

FG don't want to be in power right now. That's as plain as the nose on your face.

LAB don't want to be in power right now. They really think they can go out and win a majority election next time.

GP just want to swap around a few more ministerial posts so their lads can get their ministerial pensions, because no way will they have a career in national politics after the next election.

FF are stuck. A lot of them don't seem to give a flying f*ck about the country as they know they're out the door next election. Leave it for FG/LAB to clean up and be back in power in 6-8 years.

I do not know if the FF/Greens will go the full term but I do know if they fail to last the full term it will be an act of gross irresponsility. Every time a Labour or FG TD comes on radio or tv I cringe at the thoughts of these people coming to government. If anyone is serious about voting for either of these parties I suggest they get a blank sheet of paper and make a list of the policies they so far have offered. The only thing they have in common is a determination to cancel forever the idea of recessions !!

Their policies are on their websites I imagine.