Which People are you allowed to talk about?

• 20-09-2010 09:21AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭

Just wondering who you are allowed to talk about in AH. It's obviously alright to talk about Brian Cowen or Jedward and other well known public figures, yet it's not alright to talk about, say for arguments sake, Martin Rogan; the assistant head of the HSE for mental health.

So, where is the line?

We can talk about "knackers" who are up for arrest, so where's the line?

Or do we not talk about "good people" ?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,720 Mod ✭✭✭✭dory

Good question. I'd like to know with regards the many people who have entire threads dedicated to insulting them. No real consistency.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,659 ✭✭✭Chaotic_Forces

Just wondering who you are allowed to talk about in AH. It's obviously alright to talk about Brian Cowen or Jedward and other well known public figures, yet it's not alright to talk about, say for arguments sake, Martin Rogan; the assistant head of the HSE for mental health.

So, where is the line?

We can talk about "knackers" who are up for arrest, so where's the line?

Or do we not talk about "good people" ?

Once you don't insult them it's okay, at least as far as I can tell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭AskMyChocolate

Once you don't insult them it's okay, at least as far as I can tell.

But, if that was the case, I can come up with no rational reason for my thread being deleted.
    The only thing I can think of is if Boards is scared of The Hospitaller Order of St.John of God. (Or Arthur Cox)

But, if that was the case, I can come up with no rational reason for my thread being deleted.
    The only thing I can think of is if Boards is scared of The Hospitaller Order of St.John of God. (Or Arthur Cox)

Did you not read the stuff you were mean to when you signed up?
    PM the mod that deleted the post and ask nicely why it was deleted. If you don't get an aswer within around... 24 hours or so PM another mod for that forum/PM the categorey mod.

I always go by the rule of acting as if who ever you're talking about is at the next table & can overhear you. Doesn't matter if it's the taoiseach, the work tea-lady or some local tea-baggers.

If you're pullin the piss, make it obvious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

Rather than asking "Which People are you allowed to talk about?" maybe the title should be "Which People are you allowed to give out about?".
    Think about it this way - "attack the post, not the poster" = "attack the policy, not the politician".

As a general rule the above post is good, if you wouldn't say it to them personally you probably shouldn't say it here either. There's a natural need in people to vent but mostly this is left for when the object isn't around. People talk about each other behind their backs or post about terrible service while being too afraid to complain to the manager.
    Start complaining to the manager, it'll help you more than biting your lip and then logging on to boards to complain.

About knackers, this apparently has been watered down from meaning travellers to just "unsavoury individuals" in the pale?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,755 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

you can talk about anything really. AH is like a pub chat, pretty much anything can come up (apart from sport). Maybe people don't bring it up cos its not interesting...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,916 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Your ma. We can talk about her

I am always amazed about the things people don't understand....boards cant let people make what could be liable statements about people....its like the thread about whatever boards need moderates....people seem to be very Innocent about the internet and don't seem to realize the kind of insane stuff that people want to put out there....not saying that the original poster is like that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,748 ✭✭✭Cunny-Funt

Sucks the way boards is getting. Everyone's so afraid about getting sued now, people are no longer able to talk about anyone in the Irish public eye.

The internet is public domain , picture some stupid irish celeb walking through a school yard and over hears some kids saying something crass about their latest TV appearance.

Instead of just ignoring it they sue the damn school and now talking in the yard is banned. feck sake.

biko wrote: »
    Rather than asking "Which People are you allowed to talk about?" maybe the title should be "Which People are you allowed to give out about?".
    Think about it this way - "attack the post, not the poster" = "attack the policy, not the politician".

As a general rule the above post is good, if you wouldn't say it to them personally you probably shouldn't say it here either. There's a natural need in people to vent but mostly this is left for when the object isn't around. People talk about each other behind their backs or post about terrible service while being too afraid to complain to the manager.
    Start complaining to the manager, it'll help you more than biting your lip and then logging on to boards to complain.

About knackers, this apparently has been watered down from meaning travellers to just "unsavoury individuals" in the pale?

I can assure you that the people I spoke about in my thread have heard an awful lot worse face-to-face than I posted here. The people I posted about are high ranking (and extremely well paid) public servants. They have it within their power to silence me. This is why I chose to post a thread here in a media forum that I believed was not owned by the privileged inner circle.

Obviously, that is not the case.

Cookie M, this isn't WRC. People with chips on their shoulders don't get to post reams & reams of off-topic repetitive ranting. ;)

Remember, there are limits. I saw those suicide-mocking posts of yours on "it's good to talk" before they were modded out.

OP how can they silence you? and why cant you use appropriate channels to complain....why do you need to post on a public chat site?

biko wrote: »

Interesting. And if I knew there was organised child molestation being perpetrated by the Catholic Church and being backed up by the state, which of their policies would you like me to attack as I obviously can't attack them? Or would you just prefer that I kept quiet?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

Cunny-Funt wrote: »
    Sucks the way boards is getting. Everyone's so afraid about getting sued now, people are no longer able to talk about anyone in the Irish public eye.

The internet is public domain , picture some stupid irish celeb walking through a school yard and over hears some kids saying something crass about their latest TV appearance.

Instead of just ignoring it they sue the damn school and now talking in the yard is banned. feck sake.

Start your own board/forum on the net then, and remember to send us all invites when you have it up and running. See ya over there.;)

orourkeda wrote: »
    Your ma. We can talk about her

That slag? Shur she's as boring as fcuk. You'd be better off ridin' her.

Interesting. And if I knew there was organised child molestation being perpetrated by the Catholic Church and being backed up by the state, which of their policies would you like me to attack as I obviously can't attack them? Or would you just prefer that I kept quiet?

You could attack the whole... molesting children thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

The Catholic Church would prefer it if everybody kept quiet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,748 ✭✭✭Cunny-Funt

MidlandsM wrote: »
    Start your own board/forum on the net then, and remember to send us all invites when you have it up and running. See ya over there.;)

Yeah cause that works for all the people in those backwards countries who wanna watch youtube videos but their country banned youtube cause the free speech on there threatens their government.

"Now just make your own video sharing site then. Until people start watching it then we'll ban that too."

That slag? Shur she's as boring as fcuk. You'd be better off ridin' her.

Now *that's* more like it! Welcome to After Hours AMC! *slaps shoulder* let's put the conspiracy theories away and talk wimmins & booze! :D

I can assure you that the people I spoke about in my thread have heard an awful lot worse face-to-face than I posted here. The people I posted about are high ranking (and extremely well paid) public servants. They have it within their power to silence me. This is why I chose to post a thread here in a media forum that I believed was not owned by the privileged inner circle.

Obviously, that is not the case.
    I see, you're still pissed about the deleted thread and not interested to speak about people in general.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

Is this pretty much not the same as the new sticky at the top re the charter?

It is but AskMyChocolate is referring to a specific case.
    AMC - PM the closing mod as I suggest in the last closed thread.