Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Why is AH so misogynistic?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,193 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

It's a joke ffs.

Don't call AH sexist if you don't have a sense of humour.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,838 ✭✭✭midlandsmissus

pmcmahon wrote: »
    so why complain about something but not report it and then complain that after hours isn't being cleaned up even though you know how to clean it up?

But on other threads where there is racism/ discrimination there is usually a quick mod comment after it with XXXX banned.

Surely all these posts are not reported? The mods just know it is unacceptable.

Whereas we are told that the mysoginy is acceptable, by the inaction of mods, and as there is a majority of male posters on here and a majority of male mods on here we don't know what to do!

In fairness to the mods this has obviously led to the situation where they didn't realise how big a deal it was.

But it is a HUGE deal. It can't go on like this, it's actually really bad. I hate it to be honest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 544 ✭✭✭Pookah

liah wrote: »
    For those of you asking. I didn't see infractions by any of them (except one, I think). The mods had been aware of the thread and could have taken action.

Do they have to be reported first or can the mods take action by themselves?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

But on other threads where there is racism/ discrimination there is usually a quick mod comment after it with XXXX banned.

They aren't jokes....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

EMF2010 wrote: »
    Isn't your argument a little bit circular?

You said earlier that nobody was asking her to read the thread. I think this is a bit of a silly argument btw - why shouldn't somebody read a thread which looks interesting? They shouldn't read it because it might offend them or contain an opinion they disagree with? That's mad.

I actually understand what you're saying - there is a method in place and I for one will look at using the report function more often rather than just ignoring things, but saying 'you don't have to read the thread' and then 'read the thread and report it' is a tad unfair. Which is it to be?

surely if you don't like a post or a thread you have two options,ignore it and let it run off you or report and deal with the matter in a structured manner,not let it boil up and totally lash out causing a big commotion attacking people because they found something funny

Well Billy Connolly doesn't resort to an endless array of kitchen/I'd do her jokes.

I was aware of that, thanks. He used have a bigger beard too....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,079 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

For those of you asking. I didn't see infractions by any of them (except one, I think). The mods had been aware of the thread and could have taken action.

These examples are from one single thread btw.

Again I will say not one of those posts were reported, why were they not reported?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,649 ✭✭✭Catari Jaguar

of course not,however it is a public forum,just because you don't find something funny doesn't mean that nobody else can

It's not a PUBLIC forum. It's private and can be censored. A lot of people find racist jokes funny. Can you tell them here? Nope.

And just because YOU find it funny doesn't mean that we can't have a problem with it. It works both ways.

Besides, any one that finds degrading another person/ race/ gender funny needs to grow up and cop on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭liah

IvySlayer wrote: »
    It's a joke ffs.

Do the posts I quoted seem like just jokes? Because they come across as quite patronizing and misogynistic to me.
    Pookah wrote: »

Pretty sure the mods can take action for themselves. Could be wrong?

Again I will say not one of those posts were reported, why were they not reported?

Because on AH sexism is teh win

Well if you believe that, that is the way it will be.

Because we feel intimidated! 'All lads for themselves' kinda thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,118 ✭✭✭AnnyHallsal

It's a joke ffs.

Yeah everything in AH is hilarious in a completely innocent way.

Nodin wrote: »
    They aren't jokes....
    You think the posts just quoted there from the other thread were all jokes?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 544 ✭✭✭Pookah

Could a mod answer this question, please?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

The Mods can & do take action when they see fit. One of them yellow carded me earlier for one of my posts, but I think he was trying to impress the ladies with that one.

(Just kiddin' Mickey!)

Because we feel intimidated! 'All lads for themselves' kinda thing.

If you feel "intimidated" by a stupid joke on the internet in the safety of your own home, the intarwebz - and indeed the real world - is not the place for you.

As Mickey the Mod pointed out earlier... if you find a post offensive, report it. I'm not going to go reporting posts for you.

Nice attitude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,118 ✭✭✭AnnyHallsal

surely if you don't like a post or a thread you have two options,ignore it and let it run off you or report and deal with the matter in a structured manner,not let it boil up and totally lash out causing a big commotion attacking people because they found something funny

This is lashing out causing a big commotion rather than a rational discussion?

Why had the mods not taken action? At least the majority, if not all of quoted posts (save the one I remarked on) above should have been immediately recognized as far less than good natured ribbing. I don't believe I'm being oversensitive as seeing them in this light, but perhaps I'm wrong. Maybe they really are hilarious jokes all meant in good fun but it doesn't seem that way to me. And it certainly doesn't come across as attacking the post in a lot of cases, there's more than a few direct references to various female posters.

I also assumed someone else may have reported it, and as I mentioned before, I haven't bothered with the report system basically ever as even when people do, nothing changes, so what's the point in wasting effort if in the next thread the exact same thing happens?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

Well Billy Connolly doesn't resort to an endless array of kitchen/I'd do her jokes.

Is making a comment on finding somone attractive what bothers you or is it the joke made of it that bothers you.

If its the former, read the ladies lounge, they have plenty of eye candy threads,

If its the latter, well - you just dont like the jokes,

It's not a PUBLIC forum. It's private and can be censored. A lot of people find racist jokes funny. Can you tell them here? Nope.

And just because YOU find it funny doesn't mean that we can't have a problem with it. It works both ways.

Besides, any one that finds degrading another person/ race/ gender funny needs to grow up and cop on.

it is a public forum people aren't invited to join,i agree you can have a problem with it,however why not stick to the charter rules of the "censored" forum and report posts?,users who find certain posts funny aren't responsible for censoring and if it is found to be offensive they are penelised under the charter rules.If you want something done,do it by the structure,i'm not responsible for your hang ups on what you find offensive therefore i won't censor my sense of humour for your benefit,i sympathise but don't apologise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,720 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

Again I will ask; does a post need to be reported in order to be acted upon? Would similar posts, based on a poster's nationality, be acted upon?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Nice attitude.

Now you are just giving out for the sake of giving out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,193 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

Do the posts I quoted seem like just jokes? Because they come across as quite patronizing and misogynistic to me.

Don't rise to trolls, report them.
    Yeah everything in AH is hilarious in a completely innocent way.

There's been far worse jokes. Rape, jokes about Maddy, animal abuse jokes , Bono. If I don't like a joke, I'll move along. And use the report button if necessary. I won't scroll through threads looking for something to get offended at.

What do you want, a complete ban on women jokes?

This is lashing out causing a big commotion rather than a rational discussion?

well maybe a bad choice of words,but it's a tad over rational

You think the posts just quoted there from the other thread were all jokes?

Most of them most certainly were. Others were certainly wind ups. Whether you find them funny or not is another matter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 902 ✭✭✭DoneDL

I have known women who hate women, men who hate men, women who hate men, men who hate women, beautiful men and women who were ugly, men and women who would curdle water who could light up your life but I have to say I have never met so many people who work on the assumption that to find something funny defines your ability to know right from wrong or good from bad.

Why had the mods not taken action? At least the majority, if not all of quoted posts (save the one I remarked on) above should have been immediately recognized as far less than good natured ribbing. I don't believe I'm being oversensitive as seeing them in this light, but perhaps I'm wrong. Maybe they really are hilarious jokes all meant in good fun but it doesn't seem that way to me. And it certainly doesn't come across as attacking the post in a lot of cases, there's more than a few direct references to various female posters.

I also assumed someone else may have reported it, and as I mentioned before, I haven't bothered with the report system basically ever as even when people do, nothing changes, so what's the point in wasting effort if in the next thread the exact same thing happens?

liah, we don't always read every post of every thread. Now that we are aware of the thread, action will be taken where appropriate.

Also the "some will else will report it" or "It wouldn't change anything anyway" are weak arguments and you should really reconsider your position on those opinions.

Don't rise to trolls, report them.

There's been far worse jokes. Rape, jokes about Maddy, animal abuse jokes , Bono. If I don't like a joke, I'll move along. And use the report button if necessary. I won't scroll trhough threads looking for something to get offended at.

What do you want, a complete ban on women jokes?

Nope. We want "attack the post, not the poster." Everything you referenced was NEVER made in reference to ANY boards poster, and if it was I guarantee it was immediately remedied by the mods. I've never seen anything like that last more than a few minutes, tops.

Normally the mods are incredibly good about the attack the post not the poster rule, but when it comes to women, it's no holds barred, and I took quite a few references out of one thread alone if you don't believe it to exist.