hung over Brian Cowen on rte morning Ireland, how many pints do you think he had??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,941 ✭✭✭thebigbiffo

Redsquigy wrote: »
    Yes I am on the dole and have been since last February after working all my life, (since I was 17) I am now 52. I have paid into the tax system, paid for childcare, paid my mortgage, etc. and unfortunately through no fault of mine was made redundant. I have never claimed off the State before and when I was working I did go out and have a few pints at the weekend and will again when I find a job, have never been afraid of hard work, all my bills are paid up to date and I owe nothing to anybody. So I am not sniffing as you put it just merely making an observation as I am quite entitled to do.

i have no issue with you personally and have sympathy for anybody who's out there trying their best to make ends meet - especially considering you've worked all your life for this country.

it's just a huge amount of moaning starts on boards with the preface 'well, on my €196 a week rabble rabble rabble' - it gets on my nerves is all. people on the dole do not have any right to a more relevant opinion than anybody else. i'm being screwed by the recession, so are you and so are the vast majority of people in ireland - tieing this into a thread on whether BC was pissed/hungover on radio is just another sympton of what wrong with peoples attitudes in this country imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 atomohawk

:)We need a revolution.
    Lets follow our government and leader who are already revolting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 810 ✭✭✭gonedrinking

Redsquigy wrote: »

Yes I am on the dole and have been since last February after working all my life, (since I was 17) I am now 52. I have paid into the tax system, paid for childcare, paid my mortgage, etc. and unfortunately through no fault of mine was made redundant. I have never claimed off the State before and when I was working I did go out and have a few pints at the weekend and will again when I find a job, have never been afraid of hard work, all my bills are paid up to date and I owe nothing to anybody. So I am not sniffing as you put it just merely making an observation as I am quite entitled to do.

I'm sorry I got to stop you right there chief. Let me tell you something you already know. The world ain't all sunshine and rainbows. It is a very mean and nasty place and it will beat you to your knees and keep you there permanently if you let it. You, me, or nobody is gonna hit as hard as life. But it ain't how hard you hit; it's about how hard you can get hit, and keep moving forward. How much you can take, and keep moving forward. That's how winning is done. Now, if you know what you're worth, then go out and get what you're worth. But you gotta be willing to take the hit, and not pointing fingers saying you ain't where you are because of him, or her, or anybody. Cowards do that and that ain't you.

Whats the dole situation at the minute- is 9% or 10% of the working population unemployed? That'll mostly be made up of students who have come out of university and don't have any experience yet. There's no excuse for someone of your age to be unemployed for long. We are all in control of our own destiny. But I guess its easier to just sit back in your armchair and blame someone else for your problems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,114 ✭✭✭mike kelly

is this photo real?

if so, will the girls in it please ring Liveline!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,941 ✭✭✭thebigbiffo

mike kelly wrote: »
    is this photo real?

was on the front of the irish mail this morning - although they photoshopped the girls out so yeah it's real. pretty god awful photo - but there are dreadful photos of obama, putin, berlusconi, sarkozy and every other leader out there - it's only in our country that every paper will try to find the worst possible picture of their prime minister for the front page the morning after they accuse him of something that's questionable at best

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

I'm sorry I got to stop you right there chief. Let me tell you something you already know. The world ain't all sunshine and rainbows. It is a very mean and nasty place and it will beat you to your knees and keep you there permanently if you let it. You, me, or nobody is gonna hit as hard as life. But it ain't how hard you hit; it's about how hard you can get hit, and keep moving forward. How much you can take, and keep moving forward. That's how winning is done. Now, if you know what you're worth, then go out and get what you're worth. But you gotta be willing to take the hit, and not pointing fingers saying you ain't where you are because of him, or her, or anybody. Cowards do that and that ain't you.

Whats the dole situation at the minute- is 9% or 10% of the working population unemployed? That'll mostly be made up of students who have come out of university and don't have any experience yet. There's no excuse for someone of your age to be unemployed for long. We are all in control of our own destiny. But I guess its easier to just sit back in your armchair and blame someone else for your problems.

Brian, is that you? :pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,287 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

is this photo real?

irelandsbestandbrightest.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

As a matter of interest is Dan Boyle twitting gadget broken or something? The silence from the greens on this issue is deafening.

irelandsbestandbrightest.jpg

link (?) not working

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 109 ✭✭louloubella

I listened to him and strained to hear the difference in his usual dialogue with the public- drenched in apathy and lethargy when asked a basic question. He sounded as dull/uninsightful/vexed at being questioned as ever.
    Did anyone see him on Prime Time last week? What a disgrace.:mad:
    It is simply not good enough to say it was TOO early for the man.

is this photo real?

moar here http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=67997141&postcount=50

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,388 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

I listened to him and strained to hear the difference in his usual dialogue with the public- drenched in apathy and lethargy when asked a basic question. He sounded as dull/uninsightful/vexed at being questioned as ever.
    Did anyone see him on Prime Time last week? What a disgrace.:mad:
    It is simply not good enough to say it was TOO early for the man.

The guy just needs to look after himself a bit more, if he was any way physically fit he wouldn't have sounded that bad, the guy is out of shape.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 408 ✭✭questioner

http://theadvocates.org/admin/system/images/2010-07/dr_phil_mcgraw1.jpg
    There's no excuse for someone of your age to be unemployed for long. We are all in control of our own destiny. But I guess its easier to just sit back in your armchair and blame someone else for your problems.

incredibly naive sentiment. our ida welcomed factories to these shores for thirty years, people who worked there often received (through no fault of their own) no transferable skills. Unsurprisingly these factories have now relocated - leaving huge swathes of PAYE workers " sitting back in their Armchairs".

condescending motivational speaker talk does little to help the reality of their situation.

on topic.

BC - i do not doubt the stress the man is under - nor do i deny him the right to have a few drinks, I do expect him to have the political nous to stay off the airwaves the morning after the night before.

BCs implicitly sanguine expectation of understanding treatment at the hands of Joe duffy et. al. is moronic to say the least.

Simon coveney is to be congratulated for playing no small role in introducing Glenn Beck style discourse into the political sphere. three cheers for the political lightweight. which leader are you voting for this week simon?

those are real photos? God help us!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Gophur

SeaFields wrote: »
    As a matter of interest is Dan Boyle twitting gadget broken or something? The silence from the greens on this issue is deafening.

That gentleman is refraining from commenting on anything alcohol related after the story in yesterday's news about his daughter being convicted for drink driving.

(Partly, also, because this is FF screwing up on their own bat, and not needing the Greens to take the rap for anything)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

Perhaps someone might put in a call to Paul "Loose Canon" Gogerty then and see what he makes of the situation!

those are real photos? God help us!

They seem to be. I'm not sure where they originated from, but judging by the FF posters, he must have been there in an official capacity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭aDeener

Only in Ireland would you have people defending the leader of the country appearing on a national radio programme drunk and/or hungover.

I don't care that other people have shown up for work drunk or hungover.

Perhaps it says something about our expectations of our politicians.

thats because he was neither drunk nor hungover :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,388 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

questioner wrote: »
    That's lazy talk, I started a new job 5 years ago, it's fairly mundane and I became concerned that my cv may be lacking in the future as competition for jobs increased, so i started a degree. Next year i'l have it.
    If you're in a job and not gaining transferable skills, it's up to YOU to get those skills. If college isn't your thing there were lots of government sponsered fas courses to attend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 55 ✭✭iceman7

aDeener wrote: »
    thats because he was neither drunk nor hungover :rolleyes:
    i cant see what all this is about,everyone is blowing this outta proportion,every radio show,including the walking knitting needle pompous ponce tubridy.the man apparently had 8 pints of carlsberg according to a media scource.big deal,.now if he would have got behind the wheel of a car, ala jim mc daid then there would have been a problem.it must be a really slow news week :cool:

iceman7 wrote: »
    the man apparently had 8 pints of carlsberg according to a media scource.

it's a pity someone didn't introduce him to Buckfast, seeing as he wa sin Galway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 408 ✭✭questioner

That's lazy talk, I started a new job 5 years ago, it's fairly mundane and I became concerned that my cv may be lacking in the future as competition for jobs increased, so i started a degree. Next year i'l have it.
    If you're in a job and not gaining transferable skills, it's up to YOU to get those skills. If college isn't your thing there were lots of government sponsered fas courses to attend.

and someone who was just happy to raise their kids and didnt have time to engage in off the job upskilling. thats their fault too? profligate fas spending is a feature of the last decade. many many individuals had become long entrenched in factory employment prior to this.

shift work is not amenable to outside commitments. fair play to you, you had the wherewithal to recognise a gap developing and you dealt with it. that is not reflective of the majority working within factory employment. n

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,349 ✭✭✭✭starlit

Might have been a good idea to have had the interview either later in the day or the next day if he wasn't feeling so good. Don't think he had been drinking before the interview though, more likely just had a few pints the night before. If he had sinus problems that would make him feel worse after just a few pints. So is it the case that our taoiseach is either a not a morning person who has a bad case of grumpiness in the mornings or is it that we have a drunken or hungover taoiseach running the country? :eek:

So is it the case that our taoiseach is either a not a morning person who has a bad case of grumpiness in the mornings or is it that we have a drunken or hungover taoiseach running the country? :eek:

He is a lush. End of.

So is it the case that our taoiseach is either a not a morning person who has a bad case of grumpiness

The chief whip was on Today FM yesterday evening saying that Mr Cowen is great in the mornings, and he is usually the first person in work. At the same time over on RTE 1, Mary Hanafin (I think, please correct me) said that Mr Cowen is not a morning person. :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

A section of the interview transcript.
    More here...... http://www.irishtimes.com/blogs/politics/2010/09/14/taoiseach-transcript/
    Interviewer: One of the key elements of the Government’s strategy, the Croke Park Agreement, was criticised earlier in the programme by Leo Varadkar, who said that very little had been done to implement it.
    When are we going to see the kind of flexibility, the mobility, the big changes in the way the civil service, public service, works that that agreement promised?

BC: Well what’s going to happen now of course is, what people need to know is for next year we’re beginning discussions…what we have to do is align the estimates campaign with the industrial relations agenda. And what that’ll involve is where every department is setting out a [unclear] on the amount it’ll be able to have next year.

It will be dealing with its on management and its own personnel and its own staff over coming months explaining that simply we have to get more from less, we want to avoid impact on those who…it’s during the course of this estimates campaign that we’ll be ending up with the situation where the allocations that will be made will require the implementation in many respects of the Good Friday of the, ah, sorry, the Croke Park Agreement, which is about redeployment, which is about better work practices…
    I've never heard such waffle in my life.
    We'd better hope that he was drunk on this occassion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

anyone have any funny shooped pics?

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,159 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

Will this do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Kudos for the Rocky Balboa quote :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 337 ✭✭thecleverone

TheHangoverSml.jpg