hung over Brian Cowen on rte morning Ireland, how many pints do you think he had??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 810 ✭✭✭gonedrinking

I wonder is this the end of him??

The whole situation is really very depressing, not least because there doesn't seem to be a better alternative to Cowen..

The more this thing goes on, the higher his approval rating will rise, just like when details about Berties financial scandal came out, Berties approval rating went way up. The opposition over cooked it and shot themselves in the foot, they're doing the same here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,765 ✭✭✭Diddler1977

i want to take this opportunity to congratulate FG, the media and the bored as f'uck citizens of ireland for making a show of this country once again.

how exactly a private dinner where irish people do irish things like drink and sing and have a laugh has turned into such a farce of double standards and begrudgery is beyond me. shame on all involved in this from the whingy joe duffy brigade to the opportunist opposition to the holier than thou media: you've made a laughing stock out of US...

that interview - while hardly a spectacular piece of oratory - was certainly not the ramblings of a drunken fool either.

the country has been brought down again by 'our own' people...for shame

BC is not just answerable to the Irish People. He is answerable to Europe.

Imagine what ther Germans, etc. are thinking.

The country needs to be bailed out by Europe. Do you think we will get bailed out considering the actions of BC?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 suzie999

HE WAS ON A BREAAAAKKKKKKKKK!!!

Do you honestly expect him not to ever get drunk again until the global recession is over?[/QUOTE]

Love that, brings back great memories of Friends- something Cowen is going to lack very soon as the FF back bench smell a wounded leader!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 176 ✭✭Redsquigy

I wish I could afford a pint (or more) on a Monday night or any night. Not on my €196 per week, but I'm glad to hear that auld Brian can drink himself stupid and then appear on national radio and take the whole country for fools and insult our intelligence. Shame on FF to let the leader of our country make a bigger fool of himself than he already is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,941 ✭✭✭thebigbiffo

BC is not just answerable to the Irish People. He is answerable to Europe.

Imagine what ther Germans, etc. are thinking.

The country needs to be bailed out by Europe. Do you think we will get bailed out considering the actions of BC?

do you think angela merkle would be listening to morning ireland and forming an opinion he was pissed? jesus that's a new low in negative thinking. the only reason it's an issue is, like i said, FG spin, media sensationalism and public boredom.

what EXACTLY did he do that was so wrong? seriously?

this is pissing me off tbh, the public (you) are out for blood instead of getting on with trying to support the recovery of this country. if everyone put so much energy into doing something productive instead of analysing brian cowens speach pattern i suspect our 'partners in europe' would be considerably more impressed.

do you think angela merkle would be listening to morning ireland and forming an opinion he was pissed? jesus that's a new low in negative thinking. the only reason it's an issue is, like i said, FG spin, media sensationalism and public boredom.

what EXACTLY did he do that was so wrong? seriously?

this is pissing me off tbh, the public (you) are out for blood instead of getting on with trying to support the recovery of this country. if everyone put so much energy into doing something productive instead of analysing brian cowens speach pattern i suspect our 'partners in europe' would be considerably more impressed.

If he was "pissed" he was "pissed".

It was always going to get out.

He shouldn't have been up singing, drinking and skitting til 4am when he he knew he had a nationwide interview the next morning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭omahaid

My employer wouldn't accept this behaviour from me so I don't see why we should expect it from someone we pay. He might have been on the piss on FF's dime but he was being interviewed in an official capacity and thats where the issue it.

Disgrace that people are blaming FG, no one forced Cowen to sink those pints and slur his way through an interview.

Redsquigy wrote: »
    I wish I could afford a pint (or more) on a Monday night or any night. Not on my €196 per week, but I'm glad to hear that auld Brian can drink himself stupid and then appear on national radio and take the whole country for fools and insult our intelligence. Shame on FF to let the leader of our country make a bigger fool of himself than he already is.

sniff sniff, i'm on the dole.

anyone else find this woe is me s'hite less appealing as the recession goes on? life is life, some people will drink on a monday night when you can't, get over it. just cause your on the dole doesn't make you some kind of figurehead for downtrodden ireland.

i've taken a 30% loss in pay. i am raising two kids, am paying a fortune in childcare and have an ever increasing mortgage while in negative equity. i pay a grand a month in straight tax and more if i'm lucky enough to get a few extra quid so you can have one of the best dole payments in europe. i've never, not once, taken a penny from the state (and i realise how lucky i am becuase of this). my disposable income is in minus numbers. so go look for sympathy elsewhere and if your jealous of freebie conferences??? run for TD when we're lucky enough to see a general election and get on the gravy train yourself.

i want to take this opportunity to congratulate FG, the media and the bored as f'uck citizens of ireland for making a show of this country once again.

how exactly a private dinner where irish people do irish things like drink and sing and have a laugh has turned into such a farce of double standards and begrudgery is beyond me. shame on all involved in this from the whingy joe duffy brigade to the opportunist opposition to the holier than thou media: you've made a laughing stock out of US...

that interview - while hardly a spectacular piece of oratory - was certainly not the ramblings of a drunken fool either.

Don't turn this on FG or the Irish people.

This was all BC and FF.

You have some cheek blaming US for Brian Cowen's behaviour.

If he was "pissed" he was "pissed".

It was always going to get out.

He shouldn't have been up singing, drinking and skitting til 4am when he he knew he had a nationwide interview the next morning.

jesus h love of christ do you seriously think the interview was that bad???? have you even heard it? what exactly, in your opinion, gave you the opinion he was pissed??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭bryaner

anyone else find this woe is me s'hite less appealing as the recession goes on? life is life, some people will drink on a monday night when you can't, get over it. just cause your on the dole doesn't make you some kind of figurehead for downtrodden ireland.

i've taken a 30% loss in pay. i am raising two kids, am paying a fortune in childcare and have an ever increasing mortgage while in negative equity. i pay a grand a month in straight tax and more if i'm lucky enough to get a few extra quid so you can have one of the best dole payments in europe. i've never, not once, taken a penny from the state (and i realise how lucky i am becuase of this). my disposable income is in minus numbers. so go look for sympathy elsewhere and if your jealous of freebie conferences??? run for TD when we're lucky enough to see a general election and get on the gravy train yourself.

Sniff sniff I'm working and have to pay childcare, dip the wick you pay for the oil..

jesus h love of christ do you seriously think the interview was that bad???? have you even heard it? what exactly, in your opinion, gave you the opinion he was pissed??

The "pissed" came from what you said above. See your quote about Angela Merkle.

Personally I thought he was badly hungover - not in a fit state to run this country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,241 ✭✭✭Sanjuro

If Brian Cowen wants to drink on his own time, on his own penny, more power to him. He can get as rat-arsed drunk as he likes. However, when he's supposed to be working, it's unacceptable. You can argue that it was after-hours. But really, it's not. It was a nationwide conference of the party that is in power in the government. As a show of leadership, this, the guy who's in charge of this country, should have had more control and foresight. Of course the eyes of the media were going to be on the conference. The country's in the worst financial situation it's ever faced. And stories of a pissed-up taoiseach are going to be national news. I don't blame Cowen for getting drunk. But it shows an inherrent lack of foresight and leadership, and that is far more worrying than a few pints.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭sensibleken

I listened to the interview yesterday, he didnt sound drunk or hungover at all.

bryaner wrote: »
    Sniff sniff I'm working and have to pay childcare, dip the wick you pay for the oil..

i'm trying to point out that just because you're on the dole doesn't mean you're the only one struggling to make ends meet - so this attitude that 'i cant drink cos i'm on the dole boo hoo' doesn't really make me cry into my breakfast.

suppose i'm worse to take suchh a juvenile response so seriously anyway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,258 ✭✭✭Tora Bora

Well said. Couldn't agree more. FFS, are we going to have a bunch of tweeters running the country after the next election.

PS: Brian Cowan said the words Good Friday Agreement in a slip of the tounge, and corrected himself in an instant.
    Remember John Bruton's faux pas regarding the Goof Friday Agreement!! Yes , this was it "f uck the good Friday agreement", when door stepped by some reporter or other.

Where was tweeting twit Simon Coveney!

i'm trying to point out that just because you're on the dole doesn't mean you're the only one struggling to make ends meet - so this attitude that 'i cant drink cos i'm on the dole boo hoo' doesn't really make me cry into my breakfast.

suppose i'm worse to take suchh a juvenile response so seriously anyway

I hear you, it seems everyone feels a bit sorry for themselves this weather.

Tora Bora wrote: »
    Well said. Couldn't agree more. FFS, are we going to have a bunch of tweeters running the country after the next election.

PS: Brian Cowan said the words Good Friday Agreement in a slip of the tounge, and corrected himself in an instant.
    Remember John Bruton's faux pas regarding the Goof Friday Agreement!! Yes , this was it "f uck the good Friday agreement", when door stepped by some reporter or other.

Where was tweeting twit Simon Coveney!

Yea I don't think this tweeting malarkey has any place in politics..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,287 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

I'm not a big fan of Cowen but i think his behaviour once again showed our unheathly attitude to drink in this country.

The fact that half the population is coming out and saying 'ah shure de man ony had a few pints, lave the poor lad alone' shows how bad we are when it comes to drinking. He didn't do anything that hundreds of thousands of normal citizens don't do every Sunday night/Monday morning.

There are still thousands a month caught drink driving 'the next morning' on our roads FFS. Cowen isn't to blame directly, our culture of drinking to excess is. What he did would be seen as perfectly acceptable by most people if Jim the plumber or Pat the shopkeeper did it.

The "pissed" came from what you said above. See your quote about Angela Merkle.

Personally I thought he was badly hungover - not in a fit state to run this country.

newsflash

if he was indeed hungover, which in itself is not even a certainty, he was not in the dail and was not at that moment 'running the country'. he was at party conference...seriously. it's this kind of wanton distortion of the whole thing that has me so pissed off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

he was not in the dail and was not at that moment 'running the country'. he was at party conference...seriously.

Seriously, he is supposed to be our leader all the time. Why is he accepting the interview if he's not working as our leader? It doesn't matter where he was, it was still a working day and he's still the Taoiseach.
    It is important that the Parliamentary Party get together like this once a year and take time out to discuss issues, debate policy and hear from outside experts. It helps to fuel our thinking and fresh ideas and approaches are always welcome.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 852 ✭✭✭moonpurple

'cry havoc and let loose the dogs of hell..' shakespeare

(or election 2010)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 895 ✭✭✭greendragon3

the bottom line is , brian cowen couldnt give two shiny ****es for you me or the rest of the country , he was placed into his job by the fabolous flirty bertie , another ****in chancer that nearly crippled us !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,051 ✭✭✭gazzer

newsflash

if he was indeed hungover, which in itself is not even a certainty, he was not in the dail and was not at that moment 'running the country'. he was at party conference...seriously. it's this kind of wanton distortion of the whole thing that has me so pissed off

Yeah but like Cowen keeps saying "We have to plan ahead to come out of this crisis". Why wasnt Cowen planning ahead on Monday night and saying to himself "I have to do an interview early in the morning that close to half a milion people will be listening to, maybe I should take it handy and have an early night"

According to the guy on Prime Time last night (from the SBP) It was a journalist from Reuters who first inferred that Cowen was either drunk or hungover. The storys were out there long before Simon Coveney's remarks were taken seriously.

Cowen knew he was going to be on national radio at 8am but instead of having an early night and preparing for it he decided to stay up till past 3. His appearance on Morning Ireland had to be pushed back to near 9 as he wasnt even up in time for his scheduled interview.

I wouldnt go out for night on the lash if I had to be up 5 hours later to give a presentation or to attend an interview and most other people would be the same so what the f**k makes Brian Cowen so different that he doesnt follow the same logic?

newsflash

Rubbish. So the only time he's leader of the country is when he's in a specific building? While he's the TAOISEACH, he's leading the country. It's not a 9-5 job, it's a 24/7 job. This country needs competent leadership. And Cowen is not providing that what so ever. This debacle just highlights how unsuited for the job he is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,976 ✭✭✭Brendog

Just thinking...

When was the last time we had a Taioseach was thin not a money thieving git.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Sanjuro wrote: »
    Rubbish. So the only time he's leader of the country is when he's in a specific building? While he's the TAOISEACH, he's leading the country. It's not a 9-5 job, it's a 27/7 job. This country needs competent leadership. And Cowen is not providing that what so ever. This debacle just highlights how unsuited for the job he is.

Jasus he's incomptent enough with 24 hours in a day don't give BIFFO any more time to **** us up.

mike65 wrote: »
    Jasus he's incomptent enough with 24 hours in a day don't give BIFFO any more time to **** us up.
    Well spotted. Need a dialing wand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 176 ✭✭Redsquigy

Yes I am on the dole and have been since last February after working all my life, (since I was 17) I am now 52. I have paid into the tax system, paid for childcare, paid my mortgage, etc. and unfortunately through no fault of mine was made redundant. I have never claimed off the State before and when I was working I did go out and have a few pints at the weekend and will again when I find a job, have never been afraid of hard work, all my bills are paid up to date and I owe nothing to anybody. So I am not sniffing as you put it just merely making an observation as I am quite entitled to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 895 ✭✭✭greendragon3

well said redsquidgy , here here