hung over Brian Cowen on rte morning Ireland, how many pints do you think he had??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭Mark200

We are basically paying a clown 300 grand a year to sing, drink and do impressions of well know irish people. What a joke.

He has to go.

So you have a problem with the idea of him drinking at all do you? No doubt Enda Kenny is going to have an alcohol-free X years while Taoiseach.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Mark200 wrote: »
    So you have a problem with the idea of him drinking at all do you?

Controlling himself before radio interviews would be a start.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭Mark200

mikom wrote: »
    Controlling himself before radio interviews would be a start.

There was no mention of the radio interview in the post I was replying to. It was a complaint about his drinking, singing and impressions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

There was no mention of the radio interview in the post I was replying to. It was a complaint about his drinking, singing and impressions.

All of which he produced from his bag of tricks last night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,765 ✭✭✭Diddler1977

So you have a problem with the idea of him drinking at all do you? No doubt Enda Kenny is going to have an alcohol-free X years while Taoiseach.

I have a problem with him clowning around while on 300 grand a year.

I have a problem with him singing, drinking and doing impressions til 4am.

I have a problem doing the above while the country sinks further.

Do you think his behaviour is acceptable given the state we are in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 277 ✭✭cutymonalisa

But the point of my question was to point out the fact that the interview alone is barely 'evidence' of him being hungover/drunk/unprepared. I'm confident that the vast majority of the people who are claiming Cowen is a 'disgrace' for the interview wouldn't have batted an eyelid if they had heard it live, before all of this "he sounded hungover!" crap.[/QUOTE]

Agreed. I heard the interview in the car on the way into work and didnt notice anything untoward at all...then Pat the plank came on and the story exploded.

If he was boozing till 3am on a school night its just not good enough given his committment to the interview on Morning Ireland.

Looking forward to Vinnie Browne now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,048 ✭✭✭dolliemix

just listened to the interview.

I'm pretty convinced he wasn't drunk. He's very articulate in this interview. He probably was up until all hours but I guess networking is all part of the job.

I've been listening to reports all day on this and I was expecting him to be completely incoherent as a result of these report.

Bit of a let down for me to be honest. Drama over nothing! I'm not pro Fianna Fáil but Fine Gael's negative smear tactics annoy me even more than Fianna Fáil's c**ks ups time and time again.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭sesna

dolliemix wrote: »

I'm pretty convinced he wasn't drunk. He's very articulate in this interview. He probably was up until all hours but I guess networking is all part of the job.

I've been listening to reports all day on this and I was expecting him to be completely incoherent as a result of these report.

Bit of a let down for me to be honest. Drama over nothing! I'm not pro Fianna Fáil but Fine Gael's negative smear tactics annoy me even more than Fianna Fáil's c**ks ups time and time again.

I listened to it again, and it sounds worse than I originally thought. Clearly slurs through the ten minutes of the interview. Shame RTE didn't have someone like Paxman to ask him if he was still drunk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,556 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

I have a problem with him clowning around while on 300 grand a year.

I have a problem with him singing, drinking and doing impressions til 4am.

I have a problem doing the above while the country sinks further.

Do you think his behaviour is acceptable given the state we are in?

That makes no sence at all.

Can he celebrate christmas this year, or is that out the window too?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Gophur

............. Fine Gael's negative smear tactics annoy me even more than Fianna Fáil's c**ks ups time and time again.

What negative smear tactics?

Coveney said Cowen "sounded half-way between drunk and hungover...."

It was a very accurate observation and nothing more.

Cowen is the perfect man to lead our country. He is a bumbling idiot, with a problem, and is exactly the image we have to the outside world. Imagine the International community looking at that lump who represents us? What class of people elect such a buffoon?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,132 ✭✭✭x in the city

big bertie fan, no?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 160 ✭✭shivs

WHAT WERE YOU THINKING????

I worked in your county for a time......was told that the best thing about it was the road out......how true! Until....Big Brian.....FFS:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 895 ✭✭✭greendragon3

he is on tv3 at the minute and he still cant talk the fat slobbering **** , anyone who voted this buck eejit into power should be shot with a ball of there own ****e !!!:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 810 ✭✭✭bonzos

On the same night as 400k+ unemployed people watched the freefall programme our leader is getting loaded in Galway...what a joke of a country,at least he didnt drive down the wrong side of a dual carrageway full of beer or fly to a horse racing meeting in france with his wife and have a piss up at our expence,these are the thing irish taxpayer have to be thankfull for

Gophur wrote: »
    What negative smear tactics?

Coveney said Cowen "sounded half-way between drunk and hungover...."

It was a very accurate observation and nothing more.

Cowen is the perfect man to lead our country. He is a bumbling idiot, with a problem, and is exactly the image we have to the outside world. Imagine the International community looking at that lump who represents us? What class of people elect such a buffoon?

I don't agree with Coveney.

I'm not going in to this as a political debate. I don't believe Cowen is drunk in the interview. Full stop.

lol at the poster who wonders am I a Bertie fan for expressing this opinion. How you deduced that from what I said is beyond me!!!???:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 67 ✭✭Mick Regan

So did we buy him a pint last night, with money we're borrowing at interest from Europe, or would it have been a dip into his own wallet (oh, we put that there as well!)

Not being small-minded (honest) - just amused by the irony!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭duckysauce

he is on tv3 at the minute and he still cant talk the fat slobbering **** , anyone who voted this buck eejit into power should be shot with a ball of there own ****e !!!:mad:

who did you vote for in the last election ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭brendansmith

moonpurple wrote: »
    hung over Brian Cowen on rte morning Ireland, how many pints do you think he had??

listen on rte.ie

Brian and his buddies are at a Fianna Fail drink in at the ardilaun hotel in Galway

I would say 15 pints and I doubt he went outside into the drizzle for his fags:pac:

Is C-Unit a smoker?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭sesna

Is C-Unit a smoker?

Yup

I'm not going in to this as a political debate. I don't believe Cowen is drunk in the interview. Full stop.

lol at the poster who wonders am I a Bertie fan for expressing this opinion. How you deduced that from what I said is beyond me!!!???:p

BERTIE???????? Deluded!
    Cowen not drunk? HE IS OUR TAOISEACH!.....Prentending to even give a %^&* about the country would be acceptable.:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,954 ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

I have heard the interview today and Cowen is most definitely slurring his words. This to me is evidence that the man gave the interview not just tired and hoarse but so hunover to the degree that he was still drunk. The stench of booze of his breath this morning must have been something.

This is NOT acceptable for the leader of this country to do when we are staring into the abyss.:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 423 ✭✭chosen1

Here is the drunken Cowen interview on YouTube

Election in 18 months.. WTF.
    Was thinking there was something up with this youtube clip. It has been slowed down and makes it sound like he was slurring his words.
    Check out the actual interview to see the difference

• Closed Accounts Posts: 685 ✭✭✭Carlos_Ray

The very fact that Cowen stayed out until after 3am drinking when he had an national interview the next morning was an insult to all Irish people and demonstrated how far removed Fianna Fail are now from the Irish people. This is an extremely hard time for many people in Ireland. People are losing their houses, being forced to emmigrate, and half a million are on the dole. This type of behaviour may be forgiven if he was a college student and had to be up early for a part-time job, but this man is getting up to run the country!

Some people are saying " he was just letting his hair down." Are these people for real?? How many days off did politicians in this country have this year!!!??? How much money are they taking from the people to pay their ludicrously high wages??? And yet they have the audacity to have a mid week piss up after announcing that Anglo-Irish bank is going to cost the tax payer an amount that would buy 10% of France!!!

And if things in this country weren't bad anough, RTE news, keeping up the Fianna Fail back scratching, even hinted that opposition parties accusing Cowen of being hungover were damaging Irelands reputation internationally!! Of Course, thats not Fianna Fails fault:rolleyes:

The current state of this country is the biggest "Irish Joke" of all time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 83 ✭✭zinx

He is paid 250,000 euro of our money and he appears on national radio at 8.50 in the morning sounding drunk/hungover/elated,after being drinking till 3.30 that same morning.
    Add this to the fact that he was asked to put out a cigarette in a non smoking area of Croke park a couple of weeks earlier.

Some fu*king joke.

HOW can you defend this eejit???? Takes one to know one....... Are you too from Offaly?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,090 ✭✭✭questionmark?

Christ above who gives a flying fu@k? This is the sort of non-news that Joe Duffy makes a living from. The high horse brigade are already going into overdrive on Ray Darcy.

A few pints, a bit hungover so what? Its not like he has the power to nuke the planet or anything or is going to be making any earth shattering decisions right at this moment. He is entitled to blow off a little steam and get plastered if he wants to.

And can I point out I detest the sight of him, Bertie and all FF'ers.

FFS Mattie mcGrath just because you were not invited to the party you come on here to bitch and yet you give out about Dan Boyle!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,065 ✭✭✭WallyGUFC

He's not drunk, sure Bertie stammers like a very drunk stammerer all the time. But anyway, conservatively estimating his weight to be 15 stone, times the fact that he's from Offaly divided by the amount of water in the pints in that hotel, I'd say he had 23 pints, generously supplemented by 12 packs of KP salted and roasted peanuts, 5 mini-tins of salt and vinegar Pringles and 4 carvery dinners.

shivs wrote: »
    BERTIE???????? Deluded!
    Cowen not drunk? HE IS OUR TAOISEACH!.....Prentending to even give a %^&* about the country would be acceptable.:mad:

Whats with the capital letters?

I just think this is a no news story. There's more important things happening. Headlines speculating as to whether somebody was drunk or not is a waste of space.

I listened to the interview. I don't think he was drunk. He did discuss economic and tax issues in the interview. I understood what he was saying. I am not convinced by him but that opinion is not based on his voice this morning.

I would rather see people debating more important issues where we have concrete facts. I feel like I've wasted loads of time today listening to people claiming he was dunk/ hungover or not.

This whole thing is crazy and I think people need to calm down.

I don't listen to Joe Duffy but listening and watching the news today was like one big Joe Duffy Fest. :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭duckysauce

JupiterKid wrote: »
    I have heard the interview today and Cowen is most definitely slurring his words. This to me is evidence that the man gave the interview not just tired and hoarse but so hunover to the degree that he was still drunk. The stench of booze of his breath this morning must have been something.

This is NOT acceptable for the leader of this country to do when we are staring into tyhe abyss.:mad:

lol think you had more than Brian check your spelling, sinus , edit horse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,456 ✭✭✭Jev/N

Jesus the amount of rabble rabble opinions in here is ridiculous