hung over Brian Cowen on rte morning Ireland, how many pints do you think he had??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 176 ✭✭LarrytheLantern

Boris Yeltsin was a drunk, but he commanded worldwide respect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭Mark200

If Barrack Obama or any other Prime Minister went on air in that condition, there would be uproar over it too, so dont assume this is something to be tolerated.

I really doubt there'd be uproar if Obama seemed to have a hoarse voice in an early morning radio interview.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 636 ✭✭✭drunken_munky52

amos13 wrote: »
    firstly, I despise the man, but come on, yis are all a pack of hypocrits. so the fk what if he was on the sauce last night. he went to work and done his job. how many of you have called in sick with a hangover? ah none of yis of course. angels yis are. the man ruined the country and passes the blame, then makes us pay for what shareholders should be. shouldnt that be the issue?:mad:

How many people go into work without a hangover? Id say the majority, but for the minority who do, you will all be pulling more sickies, justified by our so called leader's antics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,244 ✭✭✭✭bnt

Berlusconi, respected? He's barely tolerated, but gets away with a lot because of all the media he controls directly. That and the fact that Italian voters have a sick sense of humour. (Remember Andreotti?)

As for Cowen: the story has hit the Reuters wires, here:
    Renowned for his gruff public persona, Cowen traditionally lets his hair down at the annual conference with ballad songs and pints of beer into the small hours.

But headlines about a party-time Taoiseach (prime minister) are the last thing the government needs as it seeks to squeeze more cutbacks out of a badly stretched electorate and convince investors that Ireland is not on the rocks.

"This is an exhausted man running an exhausted government. For me, this is just another example of why we could really do with another election as soon as possible," said David Farrell, professor of politics at University College Dublin.

"He is a person who is clearly under a lot of stress and strain and this is revealed by this morning's very poor performance."

Government resting upon the will and universal suffrage of the people has no anchorage except in the people's intelligence.

— Grover Cleveland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 895 ✭✭✭greendragon3

just caught the tail end of it , thought at first it was a traveler speaking ! and this is our countrys main representetive , he sounded and looks like a pig eating out of a trough ! thankfully i didnt vote for the fat bastard ! ****ing disgrace

Mark200 wrote: »
    I really doubt there'd be uproar if Obama seemed to have a hoarse voice in an early morning radio interview.

Yeah right... horse voice. His tone was that of a late night bar fly coupled with a repetitive mantra about "the government getting on with the job at hand".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91 ✭✭musings

To those of you who are sympathising with "media victim" Mr Cowen.

lets not forget:

Mr Cowen thinks he is entitled to earn €310,000 per annum, a higher salary than Barack Obama, David Cameron and other small time premiers such as Merkel.

He's entitled to go on the sauce alright, but when you and I are paying him 6 grand a week, I think we deserve better than our leader speaking to us smelling of curry chips!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 173 ✭✭amos13

bnt wrote: »
    Berlusconi, respected? He's barely tolerated, but gets away with a lot because of all the media he controls directly. That and the fact that Italian voters have a sick sense of humour. (Remember Andreotti?)

As for Cowen: the story has hit the Reuters wires, here:

Nah berlusconi aint respected outside Italy but the clip I showed was of Sarkozy, who is, at a press conference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,549 ✭✭✭Noffles

The dribbling slurring mess that runs your country goes on the radio and appears to be half drunk... I'm shocked by the surprise... his ****ing actions have been that of a monumentally pissed drunk off the street since they were elected!

Its just the first time hes been caught.

His weekday boozing sessions were mentioned on Ray Darcy before; popping out to the Dail bar for 1 or 2, then heading back in to debate bills.

The usual reaction from Ray's listeners, "leave the man alone", "hes entitled to have a few pints", "no harm".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,811 ✭✭✭Stompbox

If Barrack Obama or any other Prime Minister went on air in that condition, there would be uproar over it too, so dont assume this is something to be tolerated. Its just this kind of tolerance and double standards on the matter that is the cause of Ireland's excessive alcohol problem and when a prime minister of a country, big or small, gets pissed, has 4 hours sleep and then goes on his mantra to the nation is an absolute disgrace and embarrassment for the country.

Someone hasn't listened to the interview....

Sweet wrote: »
    Someone hasn't listened to the interview....

I did listen to it and he was clearly not fit to drive a car, never mind be at the helm of a sinking ship called Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

Never mind this going international. There could be a civil war over it by the looks of this thread now. I don't agree with him working with a hangover, some do. Let's all be a happy family, we're still stuck with the same shít at the end of the day.

Anyone fancy a pint?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

I did listen to it and he was clearly not fit to drive a car, never mind be at the helm of a sinking ship called Ireland.

Would you let him drive the train to Cork?

mikom wrote: »
    Would you let him drive the train to Cork?

Would you let a drug addict drive a train to Cork? I wouldnt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

would ye let him take the horse to France?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 895 ✭✭✭greendragon3

i hears a guy on joe duffy one day saying BC wouldnt find his arse hole with both hands ! how right he was !!!! :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,765 ✭✭✭Diddler1977

I think it is more worrying if he wasn't hungover (as he claims).

If that was him in fighting form he needs to go.

The state of the country is just too serious to have this mess of a man leading us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 173 ✭✭amos13

mikom wrote: »
    You're getting that 88% employment figure by guessing that 88% leaves just 12% unemployed.
    Totally wrong
    The live register does not equate to the true number of those unemployed.

Your right it doesn't. It includes people who are working part-time and claiming the dole for the days they don't work.

I think it is more worrying if he wasn't hungover (as he claims).

If that was him in fighting form he needs to go.

The state of the country is just too serious to have this mess of a man leading us.

He was never elected by the people as our leader; I think he should go.

Thanks Brian and Bertie for fukcing up my future. I hope you can both find solace looking down into a half empty glass of Bass or Carlsberg; pair of gurriers ye

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Just listened to it on youtube. What a storm in a fúckin teacup. I was looking forward to slurred speech, maybe the odd verbal gaffe, all I got was Brian Cowen, sounding alittle rougher than usual. But otherwise, waffling his way through an interview in the exact same way he always does.

People make me sick. If Bertie had come on the radio 5 years ago after an annual FF event, sounding like he had one too many pints of Bass, we would all have had a right aul laugh about it. Sure Bertie is an aul character, fair play to him. Now because its Cowen, and we're in a recession, people want to crucify him for not being ............ his normal chirpy self! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭bryaner

Of course we can. Other nationalities (especially Chinese or Japanese) cannot, but us Irish are different. Genetically we are well able to drink better than any other nation on earth.
    It's part of who we are, and of our innate charm.
    It's not a problem, so please stop trying to make it into one!

Will you call a meeting with yourself, pure bollox talk out of you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,456 ✭✭✭Jev/N

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,765 ✭✭✭Diddler1977

Agricola wrote: »
    People make me sick. If Bertie had come on the radio 5 years ago after an annual FF event, sounding like he had one too many pints of Bass, we would all have had a right aul laugh about it. :rolleyes:

An Annual FF event!!!!

Ha ha, what a joke - you make it sound like a social occasion.

You do know that it was suposedly a "think-in" - there was meant to be serious work going on regarding digging the country out of the hole that FF has got us in to. Obviously you just are mistakenly thinking it was a "drink-in".

But maybe you are right - certainly it is evidenced by the state of BC after his night of ballads & pints.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭Storminateacup

I listened to the interview and he sounded nothing more than nasally. Who can really tell if he's hungover or coming down with a cold?

Frankly this uproar is absolutely ridiculous. I'm more horrified at the fact that FG are acting like children in a playground. Starting rumors on a social networking site.

As bad as FF are I'd rather them in the saddle as opposed to Enda Kenny, who's main objective is not to serve the people that voted for them, but instead shout down the leader of our country, in front of every other country in the world.

Also I find the use of the word biffo being used in media outrageous. Can you imagine the uproar if the media in America kept referring to Obama as a nig*er?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

People of Ireland, fear not. This man has it under control! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

@ storminateacup - This is the only place I've seen him described as that, where else?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Agricola wrote: »
    People of Ireland, fear not. This man has it under control! :D

Is this the same lad?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭duckysauce

Also I find the use of the word biffo being used in media outrageous. Can you imagine the uproar if the media in America kept referring to Obama as a nig*er?

:D jayus the country is hilarious Biffo getting loaded , Enda drinking tea and dying his hair , Rabbit talking ****e no opinions of his own , whats the alternative ???? Gormley :pac: Adams :eek: we are screwed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭Lone Stone

I heard him on the raido there and i really dont know what the hell anyone is talking about sounded fine to me, But i do how ever think having meetings about the future or economic job creation meetings in a pub is the most ****ing retarded i ever heard of in my life who do these people think they are do it in the dail or some where no booze no wonder the country is a poxy state. :mad: