hung over Brian Cowen on rte morning Ireland, how many pints do you think he had??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭Vladidim

snyper wrote: »
    Sadly, there is no opposition in this country other than enda "no policies" kenny

Of course, Kenny could never come close to Cowen's economic prowess - master of his brief and financial genius.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,556 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

Vladidim wrote: »
    Of course, Kenny could never come close to Cowen's economic prowess - master of his brief and financial genius.

Again more of the same one liners, no substance.. other than "look at this mess" arguement.

How are we supposed to know who to vote for if we dont know the reasons behind it.. And bankers buddies builders nonsence is not the cause, and an idle vote in the dark for someone else isnt either.

I will vote for the party in the next general election that gives me the best solutions to the current situation.. None of the solutions i hear from any party including the government are very comforting, but i believe the reason nobody has definate answers is that nobody knows fully

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭Vladidim

snyper wrote: »
    Again more of the same one liners, no substance.. other than "look at this mess" arguement.

How are we supposed to know who to vote for if we dont know the reasons behind it.. And bankers buddies builders nonsence is not the cause, and an idle vote in the dark for someone else isnt either.

I will vote for the party in the next general election that gives me the best solutions to the current situation.. None of the solutions i hear from any party including the government are very comforting, but i believe the reason nobody has definate answers is that nobody knows fully

Please refrain from lecturing me on lack of substance when you are writing tripe like that.

Back to serious stuff - Cowen should be re-elected, he's a true IRISHMAN who could drink any of the opposition under the table any day !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

Genetically we are well able to drink better than any other nation on earth.

Not Russians or Poles.

Trust me on that one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭odnauq

He usually sounds like this most times. Give him some credit - the man can drink pint with the best of them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭Callan57

Where was the Alister Campbell equivilant?

It wouldn't have happened in P J Mara's day!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,556 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

Vladidim wrote: »
    Please refrain from lecturing me on lack of substance when you are writing tripe like that.
    !

Ok, again,show me how the banks could have got into such a mess if the regulator was properly controlling lending habits in this country..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭mark17

After listening to the Six One News, Cowan wasn't drunk at all. It was Simon Coveney, Simon Coveney, Simon Coveney, and Simon Coveney. It's all his fault O.K. end of story, now on with the programme for government o'h and Simon Coveney............................................................

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,599 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

Irish people get drunk/hungover but we STILL get up and function and do a good hard day's work.
    Yeah, but in fairness, we're not waking up the next morning and getting behind the wheel of a feckin' COUNTRY!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 176 ✭✭LarrytheLantern

Not Russians or Poles.

Trust me on that one.

Fair point donkey!

for years the Russians (not so sure about the polaks?) have had leaders who loved a drink, and it didn't do them any harm! Churchill loved his brandy. JFK his whiskey, and Stalin his vodka!

fair play to Cowan if he likes a few pints. there's nothing wrong with that imo, or maybe the PC crowd would prefer someone like George Bush or Maggie in charge?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭losthorizon

Hes always been a bit gullible in fairness

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BzN0Js0tKZ4&feature=related

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,984 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

Just listened to the interview, he's a little groggy. End of story.:rolleyes:

Can't believe the moaning & whinging this has triggered. I was expecting him to sound completely wasted.

What a load of bollox.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,113 ✭✭✭PCros

What aload of crap, just heard the interview there and he sounds exactly the same.

Some people are idiots.

I think the Simon Coveney chap has too much time on his hands....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭AskMyChocolate

Crosáidí wrote: »
    Why dont you march on the hotel

I'm scared of heights.

Fair point donkey!

for years the Russians (not so sure about the polaks?) have had leaders who loved a drink, and it didn't do them any harm!

You mean a country with no Democracy, with no Press Freedom, where over 50% of the men die from alcohol poisoning instead of the norm of around 4%.

A Historty of Forced Labour, Prison Camps, KGB, Man Made famine etc etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,021 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

Yeah so what!!.. If I was in Galway I would go on the pisx as well... The country is fcuked anyway. I dont think 10 pints of Guinness is going to make or break us...:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭AskMyChocolate

You can lead a hoarse to water but you can't stop him drinking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

You mean a country with no Democracy, with no Press Freedom, where over 50% of the men die from alcohol poisoning instead of the norm of around 4%.

A Historty of Forced Labour, Prison Camps, KGB, Man Made famine etc etc

We didn't have the KGB, but otherwise that's probably us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 173 ✭✭amos13

firstly, I despise the man, but come on, yis are all a pack of hypocrits. so the fk what if he was on the sauce last night. he went to work and done his job. how many of you have called in sick with a hangover? ah none of yis of course. angels yis are. the man ruined the country and passes the blame, then makes us pay for what shareholders should be. shouldnt that be the issue?:mad:

I did lose that argument didnt I :p

yeah we had the IRA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,414 ✭✭✭LC2010HIS

Dear Brian Cowen,

Thank you for giving Nob Nation at least six months worth of material to work with.

From, Nob nation listener. :).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,059 ✭✭✭Uriel.

amos13 wrote: »
    firstly, I despise the man, but come on, yis are all a pack of hypocrits. so the fk what if he was on the sauce last night. he went to work and done his job. how many of you have called in sick with a hangover? ah none of yis of course. angels yis are. the man ruined the country and passes the blame, then makes us pay for what shareholders should be. shouldnt that be the issue?:mad:

I have never called in sick cos of hangover.

However in my almost 7 years in my current job I truely have lost count of the number of times I have went in drunk from the night before!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 176 ✭✭LarrytheLantern

this whole thing is probably part of the PC conspiracy to have alcohol banned completely.

time people in this country got real, and started to focus on the real issues facing us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 Augustine Hipp

LC2010HIS wrote: »
    Dear Brian Cowen,

Thank you for giving Nob Nation at least six months worth of material to work with.

From, Nob nation listener. :).

He gets knocked down, but he gets up again...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FKXrcj62qws

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,059 ✭✭✭Uriel.

this whole thing is probably part of the PC conspiracy to have alcohol banned completely.

time people in this country got real, and started to focus on the real issues facing us.

I concur. The number of ducks in St. Stephens Green is diminishing rapidly... fecking pigeons taking over everything! This needs to be sorted soon!

amos13 wrote: »

I think this is totally flawed reasoning. The man is supposed to be a statesman, not some average joe who works in a shop. I guarantee you'll never see anyone from any other country that maintains and demands some sort of respect from their leaders doing an interview in any sort of similar state. It simply wouldn't be put up with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 202 ✭✭Peppapig

Ikky Poo2 wrote: »
    Hnads up everyone here who's never gone into work hungover..? I know it's not essentially the same but you know what I mean!

Are you for real?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 636 ✭✭✭drunken_munky52

Christ above who gives a flying fu@k? This is the sort of non-news that Joe Duffy makes a living from. The high horse brigade are already going into overdrive on Ray Darcy.

A few pints, a bit hungover so what? Its not like he has the power to nuke the planet or anything or is going to be making any earth shattering decisions right at this moment. He is entitled to blow off a little steam and get plastered if he wants to.

And can I point out I detest the sight of him, Bertie and all FF'ers.

If Barrack Obama or any other Prime Minister went on air in that condition, there would be uproar over it too, so dont assume this is something to be tolerated. Its just this kind of tolerance and double standards on the matter that is the cause of Ireland's excessive alcohol problem and when a prime minister of a country, big or small, gets pissed, has 4 hours sleep and then goes on his mantra to the nation is an absolute disgrace and embarrassment for the country.

Rojomcdojo wrote: »
    I think this is totally flawed reasoning. The man is supposed to be a statesman, not some average joe who works in a shop. I guarantee you'll never see anyone from any other country that maintains and demands some sort of respect from their leaders doing an interview in any sort of similar state. It simply wouldn't be put up with.

I give you one of the apparently most respected premiers in the world:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1uxb0JHqzlA

Add to that Berlusconi and numerous Eastern European premiers. I agree he's not some average joe but the publicity does not fit the "crime".