Are you racist?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,916 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

derfderf wrote: »
    Minstrel27 wrote: »
    Black people?
    QUOTE]
    Nah, don't see many black people begging on O'Connell street

We leave that to the junkies, homeless and romanians

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,916 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Racism is just a part of life. Always was and always will be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,395 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

orourkeda wrote: »
    derfderf wrote: »

We leave that to the junkies, homeless and romanians

Romas, not Romanian. That mistake always pisses me off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭Truley

Through my job I work with people of lots of different backgrounds and races from Easten European to Pakistani, Saudi, Sudanese, Nigerian and I have always found that we are all human beings with the same predictabily 'human' charactersitcs. The only real difference between us is our cultural background. So while I may have an opinion on different cultural beliefs and practices I am not a racist in the sense that a person's race determains their personality traits and abilities.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 334 ✭✭Ollchailin

BattyInNZ wrote: »
    crap ventriloquists! Can there be an "I hate mediocrity" no matter what higher plane they're supposed to be serving thread?

They're not ventriloquists, they're part of a Broadway show called Avenue Q where they use loads of puppets like Sesame Street ones so they just carry around the puppets but talk & sing normally. Weird concept but it works. Other songs from it are "The internet is for porn" and "What do you do with a BA in English", one of the funniest things I've ever seen!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 45 rooney111

speaking of racism,youtube should be shut down with the amount of racist comments on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,128 ✭✭✭cynder

Paparazzo wrote: »
    orourkeda wrote: »

Romas, not Romanian. That mistake always pisses me off

My great granny was a Roma from Italy, (thankfully that ended when she settled in the uk over 100 years ago (because i dont like Roma's (travellers) and to add, i don't like Romanians)). Im open and honest about that, i dont wish any of them any harm, i just dont have any time for any of them. I have a few friends who are Bengali and Pakistani,i i even had an Indian uncle and still have a Saudi uncle.

Most beggars that i see are Romanians a few might be
    Roma Romanians.......

Roma were persecuted in Romania for a very long time but you still get Romanians that are Roma.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,119 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

No I am not a retard, which is the real question here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

I don't think I'm racist, I mean I don't hate anyone because of their race or see it as a sign of being a lower form of human.

Having said that, I may be slightly xenophobic.. A Nigerian family lived not far from me and they were always unusually loud.. and instead of putting that down to the individuals I always ascribed it to be some sort of exotic trait. I know that's not fair, but I don't think it's terrible either.. we're all different, and try to explain those differnces in the most simplistic of ways

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,384 ✭✭✭gbee

No I am not a retard, which is the real question here.

OT actually.

Why not make a new post about being a retard or not?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,119 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

I know the answer already.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,202 ✭✭✭Jeboa Safari

Abit possibly, especially against travellers and romas. Although I don't really consider people inferior because of their race.

What annoys me is the pc types who jump to accuse people of racism at every opportunity. Like if someone wrote a story of how they were 'attacked by 3 black men' they'll automatically jump in with 'was it really necessary to mention they were black?'. Its a description, if they were all ginger you'd say 3 gingers, can't understand that attitude.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

I think "Are you a bigot?" would be a better thread title as most people seem to be confusing the two terms.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 395 ✭✭aurelius79

I never had any contact with Blacks,Africans,etc until 9 or 10 years ago when the State decided they were going to house them in guesthouses and centres near my town.
    I said to myself,Ahh sure the poor feckers,they are coming over here to make a new life and fair play to them.They came,the males made bee-lines for any girls that wouldnt usually of got much male attention,if ya know what i mean ;);) and sure enough nine months later a little beige dude born and father fecks off with his new Irish passport :D
    Over time I met loads of them,they told me they were from Ghana,Ivory Coast,Nigeria fleeing persecution and I heard loads of sad stories and there teenage kids had English accents LOL. We are a country of eejits,we really are and boy do they know it ! Am I racist ?? Yes,I can honestly say I cant stand them now ! Im not too proud to say I dislike people,but I can say Ive had more negative dealings with them rather than positive.
    I await the abuse,but Im only being honest with ye from my experiences :cool:

Some ugly sluts in your town were stupid or drunk enough to have a baby with a man she didn't know, and now you hate the father? Shouldn't you hate the ugly drunken sluts that are making Irish people looking like feckin eejits? What's any of that got to do with you anyway? You sound like an idiot to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭Porridgemonster

aurelius79 wrote: »
    Some ugly sluts in your town were stupid or drunk enough to have a baby with a man she didn't know, and now you hate the father? Shouldn't you hate the ugly drunken sluts that are making Irish people looking like feckin eejits? What's any of that got to do with you anyway? You sound like an idiot to me.

Oh seems like I touched a nerve there with someone did I :D

Apologies for being an idiot though,sticks and stones an all ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,787 ✭✭✭g5fd6ow0hseima

Some ugly sluts in your town were stupid or drunk enough to have a baby with a man she didn't know, and now you hate the father?

But isnt it a bit malign for somebody to knock up a 'fat one' in order to further their own means?

Oh seems like I touched a nerve there with someone did I :D

Apologies for being an idiot though,sticks and stones an all ;)

Is there something wrong with what I said? Foreigners see Irish people as idiots because....well, Irish people are idiots. The success of FF is testament to that. This thread is a perfect example of Irish idiocy. You all hate foreigners for coming here and taking your jobs or whatever. What about the Irish pricks that have run this country into the ground? You should start a thread called "Why I hate Irish people", because you have more reason to hate each other than some foreigners you've never even met.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,846 ✭✭✭fred funk }{

I believe everyone is racist to some degree, the test is: Would you like your daughter or son to marry a Traveller? Be honest.

But isnt it a bit malign for somebody to knock up a 'fat one' in order to further their own means?

Who ever said they did it to further their own means? Oh, you actually believed that story? Some people are more stupid than I thought. lol

I believe everyone is racist to some degree, the test is: Would you like your daughter or son to marry a Traveller? Be honest.

If he was an honest man and treated her right then the fact that he's a traveler has nothing to do with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,152 ✭✭✭Cakes.

Nodin wrote: »
    How do you 'act like you own the place', as a matter of interest....?

When you stand in a spot and dont move to let anyone past
    Scream And shout as if at home
    Let kids run wild going mad
    Push past you because they want to get to the q frst

The list is endless

When you stand in a spot and dont move to let anyone past

I imagine they don't move because you're too gutless to walk up and ask them. Most racists in this country are gutless cowards. Is that closer to the truth?

I may as well weigh in here.

Ive never been outside of Europe so I cant comment on much. However, from my experience from my few years in university I will say that I see east asians (Japanese, Chinese) as the embodiment of a robot. It seems to me that their career is their life, with zero time for enjoying themselves.

Other than that I cant say much. Im not going to mention the awful sight of South Asian men 'trying it on' in nightclubs.

But look what ive just done - I bunched people from two different cultures into collective groupings of robots and sleazy bastards respectively. I guess im a bad person for doing that but I will admit that I do adhere to stereotypes as im slowly finding them to be true in life.

If he was an honest man and treated her right then the fact that he's a traveler has nothing to do with it.
    The wedding would be great craic.

Who ever said they did it to further their own means? Oh, you actually believed that story? Some people are more stupid than I thought. lol

Im speaking about the situation in which one subsequently does a runner - hardly nice, is it?

Also, you're labelling people stupid, after which you write 'lol'. Seriously?

The wedding would be great craic.

And how many travelers do you know personally? I imagine the wedding would be great craic. They wouldn't have to worry about some thick arsehole giving them dirty looks while they're just trying to enjoy themselves.

Im speaking about the situation in which one subsequently does a runner - hardly nice, is it?

Ah yeah, I forgot Irish fathers were the model of decency and responsibility in this country. What was I thinking? Laugh out loud. (happy now?)

And how many travelers do you know personally? I imagine the wedding would be great craic. They wouldn't have to worry about some thick arsehole giving them dirty looks while they're just trying to enjoy themselves.

Are you racist against Irish people?

No, I'm prejudiced against Irish people. I'm also white so I can't be racist against them. The majority of Irish people I have met are very nice to your face but then insult everyone and everything behind your back. Most Irish are just ignorant hypocrites and they can't seem to help themselves. You all act like you still live in the 19th century.

Oh, and all this "They need to leave my country, look at all these blacks in my country." This isn't your country you silly little fools, not anymore.

No, I'm prejudiced against Irish people. I'm also white so I can't be racist against them. The majority of Irish people I have met are very nice to your face but then insult everyone and everything behind your back. Most Irish are just ignorant hypocrites and they can't seem to help themselves. You all act like you still live in the 19th century.

I can only imagine your reaction if I wrote that about blacks, arabs or any other group of people.