Are you racist?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,152 ✭✭✭Cakes.

MIN2511 wrote: »
    To a certain degree we are all racists!
    What bogs me is what some people define as racism; telling another white person to go back home isn't racism!! Can't remember the word for it but it's definitely not racism :)

Is it bigotism ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,761 ✭✭✭Muckie

Personally i like to give everyone the benefit of the doubt.

I don't like the loud Nigerian women, who haggle and shout about the

price of things. Also i get annoyed when i see them with their "gaggle"

of kids(who they don't seem to be able to control or really care how

annoying their bein). Must try harder.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,594 ✭✭✭bonerm

I'd love if there was a clearer distinction between prejudices against nationalities/cultures rather than mere genetics.

For instance I prefer and get on better with black Irish people than white South Africans and many people would give you a pass for having that attitude. However conversely I prefer and get on better white Irish people than black Nigerians. Now suddenly I'm racist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭Porridgemonster

I never had any contact with Blacks,Africans,etc until 9 or 10 years ago when the State decided they were going to house them in guesthouses and centres near my town.
    I said to myself,Ahh sure the poor feckers,they are coming over here to make a new life and fair play to them.They came,the males made bee-lines for any girls that wouldnt usually of got much male attention,if ya know what i mean ;);) and sure enough nine months later a little beige dude born and father fecks off with his new Irish passport :D
    Over time I met loads of them,they told me they were from Ghana,Ivory Coast,Nigeria fleeing persecution and I heard loads of sad stories and there teenage kids had English accents LOL. We are a country of eejits,we really are and boy do they know it ! Am I racist ?? Yes,I can honestly say I cant stand them now ! Im not too proud to say I dislike people,but I can say Ive had more negative dealings with them rather than positive.
    I await the abuse,but Im only being honest with ye from my experiences :cool:

Muckie wrote: »
    I don't like the loud Nigerian women, who haggle and shout about the

price of things.

Duno about you but I don't like anyone who unnecessarily yells a lot anyway, regardless of colour

I had to laugh one day when meeting grandfather after a quartet rehearsal
    He sees one of the girls "omg she's black..."
    me: "eh... oh yeah... so she is... so?"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 433 ✭✭Rocky_Dennis

Im not racist but i used to work with a guy who was up in court for been drunk and disorderly. Lets say he wasnt the sharpest tool in the box. He went into a kebab house after a night out. The bouncer left him in but when he got to the counter, they wouldnt serve him. They were ready to close. He lost the head saying to the man behind the counter " all i want is a kebab you paki b@stard". He wouldnt leave when they asked him so they called the guards. Guards arrived and he said to them" the bouncer left me in and the paki cnut behind the counter wont give me a kebab". Was arrested for being drunk and disorderly and failing to comply with garda directions. Up in court awhile later, when judge asked him what happened, he told him the story and at the end he said" i swear judge, im no RACISIM, i have never been a RACISM but if wanting a kebab is been a RACISM, then i am a RACISM" I fell around the place laughing when he was telling me the story, dead serious telling me about been a racism, didnt have the heart to tell him its racist and not racism.

Im not racist but
    lol
    if wanting a kebab is been a RACISM...
    dead serious telling me about been a racism, didnt have the heart to tell him its racist and not racism.

I don't know if I have the heart to tell you it's "being" and not "been" :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,102 ✭✭✭easyeason3

I don't think I'm racist but if a black/ chinese pisses me off then i'll comment in my own head about that black fcuker or that chinky pr!ck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,588 ✭✭✭derfderf

I don't know if this qualifies, maybe a little, but if i have change and see someone begging i'll always give them about a euro or so. Except for one particular group.
    I'm sure everyone can guess which group i'm talking about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,183 ✭✭✭storm2811

I'd say no, there's dickheads everywhere, regardless of colour!
    But sure we've all laughed at the odd racist joke now and again..:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭BattyInNZ

bonerm wrote: »
    I'd love if there was a clearer distinction between prejudices against nationalities/cultures rather than mere genetics.

For instance I prefer and get on better with black Irish people than white South Africans and many people would give you a pass for having that attitude. However conversely I prefer and get on better white Irish people than black Nigerians. Now suddenly I'm racist.

I live in New Zealand (we have a large SA population) and I can tell ye it's easier to get on with anyone than it is to get on with white South Africans! I think most Irish people would have a problem really. Arrogance doesn't sit comfortably on our shoulders.

I grew up in a home where we were encouraged to be nice to the 'travellers' and I'm really proud that my parents were that kind and understanding. As far as I've always been concerned, if you're a git you're a git, no matter what colour you are or where you live or have come from.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,967 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

If rap artists like Jay-Z are going to include n****r in their songs then I don't how it's become an abhorrent term for others to use. So what's the double standard?
    If used in the right context I don't see any issue at all.

I know someone is going to post a Chris Rock video now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

derfderf wrote: »
    I don't know if this qualifies, maybe a little, but if i have change and see someone begging i'll always give them about a euro or so. Except for one particular group.
    I'm sure everyone can guess which group i'm talking about.

Black people?
    If rap artists like Jay-Z are going to include n****r in their songs then I don't how it's becomes an abhorrent term for others to use.
    If used in a joking context I don't see any issue at all

How about a Michael Bolton video?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 334 ✭✭Ollchailin

I think what we're all trying to say is:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,047 ✭✭✭rebel10

I hate when non nationals talk really loud and start shouting in their own language and act like they own the place.
    I hate when Irish nationals talk really loud and start shouting in their own language and act like they own the place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

Ah yeah, a bit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

I hate when non nationals talk really loud and start shouting in their own language and act like they own the place.

How do you 'act like you own the place', as a matter of interest....?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,183 ✭✭✭storm2811

If rap artists like Jay-Z are going to include n****r in their songs then I don't how it's become an abhorrent term for others to use. So what's the double standard?
    If used in the right context I don't see any issue at all.

Whats the right context?
    This?

I do say it when I'm singing along to stuff, on my own though, except for that time I was walking down the street singing Straight outta Compton out loud and didn't realise..seriously.:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 45 rooney111

i sometimes feel that some black people use the 'victim of racism' card to gain an advantage in life.much like them 'holy' travellers with their rosery beads in one hand and a crowbar in the other nicking some lads stuff.im not a racist but do enjoy a black man joke as much as any paddy joke.ill mix with people i like regardless of their colour

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,227 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

BattyInNZ wrote: »
    I live in New Zealand (we have a large SA population) and I can tell ye it's easier to get on with anyone than it is to get on with white South Africans! I think most Irish people would have a problem really. Arrogance doesn't sit comfortably on our shoulders.

I feel the same about Eastern Europeans here in Ireland - I have had some great black friends , skin colour or religious background means little to me - but in general I find most Eastern Europeans have a superior arrogant manner , where they think they are better than us Irish and that gets up my goat - when i state this I'm deemed racist , so i don't know

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,395 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

Black drivers (where I live anyway) are generally terrible. Negative stereotype based on race, I guess I'm racist.
    I also think micra drivers are bad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,374 ✭✭✭Gone West

People of minority races cook my food, serve my food, drive for me, work as armed security guarding where I live, clean my clothes, clean my room, etc etc.

Yet I am still fairly racist.

Paparazzo wrote: »
    I also think micra drivers are bad
    :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 234 ✭✭cgordonfreeman

Racist? I don't think so. Intolerant of dickheads? Yes.

- Spanish students who nurse one pint between 10 of them in a pub and then rob drinks from everyone else after that.

-Spanish people (in my experience regardless of age) who think that they can steal from shops and then pay for whatever they get caught with.

-Roma gypsies who have never made one iota of positive contribution to Irish society. Training their kids to steal purses from elderly ladies and if they get caught claim their own children are crazy.

-Loud and obnoxious African women who have no control over their loud and obnoxious kids. And couldn't care less.

-Groups of meathead eastern european men who'll batter anyone that looks sideways at their girlfriends in a nightclub. Not as many of these eejits around these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭BattyInNZ

Ollchailin wrote: »
    I think what we're all trying to say is:

crap ventriloquists! Can there be an "I hate mediocrity" no matter what higher plane they're supposed to be serving thread?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,384 ✭✭✭gbee

I'm a little bit racist, I'll admit, it's almost normal in this country in this day and age.

The Irish were always very racist.

We succeeded in the USA because we hated one group of people more than the White Americans did, there was no love of the Irish, but just like our own recent Polish invasion, we accepted them because they were white and they had massive black competition for the same jobs and benefits.

We've been **taught** to hate people for thousands of years. After a while it just becomes instinctive and natural, "I'm not racist but ....!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

no, everyone is a cunt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,588 ✭✭✭derfderf

Minstrel27 wrote: »
    Black people?
    QUOTE]
    Nah, don't see many black people begging on O'Connell street

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,916 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Everyone is racist or prejudiced to some degree.

Anyone who tells you otherwise is a liar. Everyone has a chip on their shoulder. The only question is how pronounced your chip becomes.

It may not be against a particular " race " exactly but all you have to do is scratch the surface and peoples prejudices will become clear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,484 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

I'm not a racist, I've had 3 black people in my house. I counted them.

1, 2, 3...alright enough, this ain't Harlem god dammit!