God did not create the universe...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

Jakkass wrote: »
    If I don't assume this, God is very much a possibility.

The question is, why on earth should I assume that what is material is all that exists?

Thats true, I guess Zeus and the rest of the lads here could be looking down on us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,479 ✭✭✭✭philologos

EnterNow wrote: »
    Thats true, I guess Zeus and the rest of the lads here could be looking down on us.

Point irrelevant.

If we establish whether or not there is a Creator, it is in effect the first step to analysing whether or not the Judeo-Christian God exists, or the Greek panthenon exists. All one needs to do is reason based on how probable or improbable it seems to be.

If one isn't willing to even consider whether or not there is a creator to the universe, then it is certifiably impossible to determine whether or not religion X or Y is applicable to said Creator.

So in effect we have a three level tier.

1) Those unable to believe in a Creator.
    2) Those who do believe in a Creator and nothing more.
    3) Those who find a description of said Creator that is rationally applicable.

Personally, as a Christian evidently I happen to be in camp 3.

However, admittedly realising we can't find any common ground on point 2, we have to investigate the assumptions behind point 1.

Seems reasonable to me anyway!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,856 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

The Flying Spaghetti Monster will not be pleased when he reads these arguments..

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Thought experiment? I'd be an agnostic pantheist if anything. That if god does exist, then the most likely location is the entire universe itself. If it was conscious in some alien(I mean literally, not ET) way, then omnipotence and omniscience - within the bounds of the universe which is "everything" - would be possible. It would "know" the fall of a wren and the death of a star and could direct both in very complex ways. It might even direct the growth of intelligence.

It may even have a purpose for that. Nature is full of analogy, as are our explanations for nature. EG evolution can be usefully applied in many different discipline, outside of island finches. If you look at the Gaia principle where the earth might be described as a huge living thing and extrapolate that out to the universe. Then look at how much we can do with science. We're seeking to dig out the very building blocks of existence in places like CERN.

OK lets take that even further. Lets say some day we(or any intelligent species) get to the point where we know how to build singularities in the lab. We might be able to create daughter universes in other dimensions. If we did and had enough knowledge we may seek to build other universes with the right mix of ingredients and the building blocks of consciousness in the baby universe that ensures another intelligent life form in that universe at some point down the line. We would be gods. Well... part of God, or actually more likely, maybe we could just be the reproductive system of the universe itself as an entity. :D

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

Wibbs wrote: »
    Thought experiment? I'd be an agnostic pantheist if anything. That if god does exist, then the most likely location is the entire universe itself.

If God has created the universe, and God is in the universe, surely this means that God would have had to create Himself as well as the universe. This doesn't make sense to me admittedly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭Sticky_Fingers

dfx- wrote: »
    The Flying Spaghetti Monster will not be pleased when he reads these arguments..
    We can appease him by making the required sacrifice on the holy Dolmio Day

Point irrelevant.

Not if your an ancient Greek. Why are their Gods any less relevant/credible than todays God/s?

I suppose it's irrelevant if your an ancient Egyptian though, but I guss Ra & all the lads here will look after their devout follows from a few thousand years ago.

I'm personally holding out for Thor, he sounds cool, in a Norsk kind of way.

Creator of the universe? I guess anything is possible ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,485 ✭✭✭✭Ickle Magoo

We can appease him by making the required sacrifice on the holy Dolmio Day

Hallowed be thy bolognese...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,160 ✭✭✭Kimono-Girl

Ha ha i was just flicking through the channels and found "Dara O Briain Live at the theatre royal" going on about God :cool:

"it's only the Bible its not gospel" :D

"This is the man who supposedly created sunsets, what kind of an off day was he having when he created you?" :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 758 ✭✭✭davrho

He changes his mind every few years about a higher being. Will all the bandwagon jumpers on here take his side if he changes his mind again?;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,372 ✭✭✭steamengine

King Felix wrote: »
    ...according to Stephen Hawking, in his latest book 'The Grand Design'.

http://news.yahoo.com/s/nm/20100902/lf_nm_life/us_britain_hawking

God did not create the Universe : The big bang presents logically how the universe came about. If someone wants to believe the equivalent of a 'Magic wand' theory that's up to them. In one of his other books 'A brief history of time' he doesn't discount God but wryly remarks that 'there doesn't seem to be a whole lot for him to do'. Also those who believe in God must surely accept that He created science also. That's of course when one has figured out 'what' or 'who' God is.

EnterNow wrote: »
    Not if your an ancient Greek. Why are their Gods any less relevant/credible than todays God/s?

I never said that the gods were irrelevant, I said that your point was irrelevant. I explained why. Not because one shouldn't consider the Greek panthenon of gods but rather because it would be premature unless one actually believes that a Creator is possible.

It is evident that atheists and agnostics don't or at least have difficulty in doing so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭foxyboxer

As one of Hawkings colleague's pointed out

"He has the mind of a God, the body of a child and the soul of a rat"

I just think he's an arrogant bastard.

I never said that the gods were irrelevant, I said that your point was irrelevant. I explained why. Not because one shouldn't consider the Greek panthenon of gods but rather because it would be premature unless one actually believes that a Creator is possible.

It is evident that atheists and agnostics don't or at least have difficulty in doing so.

Ah I see, my apologies so.

You stated if you believe in the non-material universe, that it is conceiveable that God exists. So I'm asking, which God?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,484 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

This is a lie.

It is a possibility, an extremely unlikely one.

Ush1: Read "or at least have difficulty in doing so". Let's not needlessly nitpick.

EnterNow: That's up for your investigation as to what has more veracity. Personally, I think Christianity is more reasonable than being an atheist. Hence I am a Christian.

Ush1: Read "or at least have difficulty in doing so". Let's not needlessly nitpick.

EnterNow: That's up for your investigation as to what has more veracity. Personally, I think Christianity is more reasonable than being an atheist. Hence I am a Christian.

I can respect that, good answer. :)

I'm not nitpicking. They may have difficulty because it's totally improbable! Nobody, atheist or otherwise, who knows science will claim to have disproven God 100 percent.

Ush1 wrote: »
    I'm not nitpicking. They may have difficulty because it's totally improbable!

It's certainly improbable if ones assumptions lead it to be improbable.
    Ush1 wrote: »
    Nobody, atheist or otherwise, who knows science will claim to have disproven God 100 percent.

And vice versa I would have thought. Personally, I think God's scope goes beyond science, because science only assesses the material universe and its contents.

I.E - As I see it science assesses the results of Creation.

I'm not going through this with you again. I'm out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 532 ✭✭✭King Felix

Personally, I think Christianity is more reasonable than being an atheist. Hence I am a Christian.

Hasn't this book just made the Christian position less probable?

If God didn't create the universe and we're just here by pure chance, then we have no purpose, so we're not here to fulfill God's will etc.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

If God has created the universe, and God is in the universe, surely this means that God would have had to create Himself as well as the universe. This doesn't make sense to me admittedly.
    Well, yes and no. If the universe for example is infinite and collapses and expands(and with no time existing in between these events) then it doesnt require a finite beginning. That notion only exists within the universe itself, if you live on the very skin of the multidimensional bubble. Overall causality is not required except within the universe itself. So a pantheist God would be pretty much all the things ascribed to the concept. No beginning, no end, the alpha and omega(or A to Z, we've come on a bit :D). It would "know" everything, every scrap of quantum information of itself. That's infinitely bigger than man in cloud handing out boils and manna(though it could still do that).
    God did not create the Universe : The big bang presents logically how the universe came about.
    Actually it doesnt. It does present a damn good theory about how the universe grew after the first picoseconds of its existence and up to today. It does not tell us anything of how that universe arose in the first place. It tells us there was a seed and that a complex plant grew from that seed, its says nada about where or what that seed was.

Even the stuff after the plant grew has well dodgy holes in it that require a bit of slight of hand mathematically to make it work. Inflation in the early universe being one. "Oh we need inflation to explain stuff, but we mostly ignore the serious lack of reason why it should inflate in the first effin place, without any "outside" source".

Matter V anti matter. Why was there an imbalance? Why didnt one obliterate the other 100%? It should have.

Why is the universe way emptier than it ought to be based on our maths and theories? "Oh right Joe, we'll invent "dark matter"". Really? Oh yea great stuff that. You have two apples in one hand and two apples in the other. How many apples do you have in both? Four. Sorry no I only see one. Ahh thats because the other three are invisible you silly boy". Ehhhhh...nope.

Then they found the universe was speeding up in it's current expansion. Ah jaysus ted WTF? So lets bring in "dark energy" to even up the books. You are having an effin laugh at this stage son would be the objective take. Even the "evidence" for dark matter and energy is tiny, I mean effin miniscule. Even if the evidence is correct its out by a huge amount. Do you realise how much matter and energy the theories say is missing off the books? We're talking in the high 80% IIRC(if not higher) of all the matter and energy they expect to see with current theories. If your accountant gave you those figures you'd set teh dogs on him or her. Unless you worked for Anglo of course. Hmmm..... :D
    If someone wants to believe the equivalent of a 'Magic wand' theory that's up to them.
    Like I said science will throw in its own version of magic wands from time to time too. They can abstract out an explanation and if questioned are not too far away from religion in saying "ah but its beyond your understanding and very complex". Not too far away from "god moves in mysterious ways" with added equations. In one way I hope God does exist and if so hope to meet same and if I do I'll say "fair play mate, good to finally meet you. Great job on the oul universe. Mountains are bloody brilliant. And Stars? You are the man! And BTW you have one helluva sense of humour as far as leaving all sorts of red herrings all over the place. Is the universe some sort of IQ test, cos I'm bollocksed on the first question. Multiple choice would have been nice". :D
    In one of his other books 'A brief history of time' he doesn't discount God but wryly remarks that 'there doesn't seem to be a whole lot for him to do'.
    True though it so depends on which angle you come from. If expansion and balancing our matter and gravity and all the other tweaks went on, then hands full wouldnt be in it. Plus, just because I gather ingredients, mix them and stick it in an oven at regulo 5, it doesnt mean I'm interfering in the raising of the dough in the baking process.
    Also those who believe in God must surely accept that He created science also. That's of course when one has figured out 'what' or 'who' God is.
    Why not? It doesnt mean "he" created science. Thats the same philosophical trap the theists get into. Again like the baking analogy. I plan a cake, I set the stage for a cake, the cake arises from the environment I create. I dont create the cake from point zero. But without me the flour remains in grains of wheat in the field. Now widen that out and narrow that down from the micro to the macro over 15 billion years plus. That could be one helluva cooking lesson. Now I have myself seeing Jamie Oliver on the roof of the sistine chapel.:eek::pac:

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

Hasn't this book just made the Christian position less probable?

Not really. It merely shows that Hawking personally finds it unreasonable. Find any number of physicists who are Christian, and they'll think otherwise.
    If God didn't create the universe and we're just here by pure chance, then we have no purpose, so we're not here to fulfill God's will etc.

Indeed. If that is indeed the case. Which is as always debatable, even amongst scientists!

Personally, I'm led to the idea that I find my purpose, by assessing God. If I know my Creator, I know my place in the Creation. Life becomes an intriguing journey trying to assess where God wants me in the world, and living by His principles.

The view that I am created in God's "tselem" often rendered into English from Hebrew as "image". Another rendering of said word "reflection" seems apt to me. I'm called to reflect God in the world. Something I find more and more amazingly apt on each assessment of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,682 ✭✭✭LookingFor

I don't believe Hawking is saying that God didn't create the universe. Or that he knows God didn't create the universe.

I think he is saying 'merely' that it's now possible to formulate a reasonable theory of creation, grounded in modern physics, that doesn't invoke 'God'. And that he probably places more stock in that theory now.

People say 'oh, he's a scientist! of course he'll say that'. But he has declined or been unable up til now to formulate such a theory that rules out a first mover.

I also think he's generally being quoted out of context and that there's big issues of language here. For example, when Hawking has talked about 'God' and 'laws' in the past he doesn't necessarily mean the same things that other people do.

In short, if you're really interested in what he has to say, get a hand on his book and read it. I don't think these articles are comprehensive grounds to debate his ideas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 226 ✭✭GarethWA

Personally, I think Christianity is more reasonable than being an atheist.

But less fun! :D

GarethWA wrote: »
    But less fun! :D

I don't know if I could agree with that either :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,795 ✭✭✭enfant terrible

Well, yes and no. If the universe for example is infinite and collapses and expands(and with no time existing in between these events) then it doesnt require a finite beginning. That notion only exists within the universe itself, if you live on the very skin of the multidimensional bubble. Overall causality is not required except within the universe itself. So a pantheist God would be pretty much all the things ascribed to the concept. No beginning, no end, the alpha and omega(or A to Z, we've come on a bit :D). It would "know" everything, every scrap of quantum information of itself. That's infinitely bigger than man in cloud handing out boils and manna(though it could still do that).

Actually it doesnt. It does present a damn good theory about how the universe grew after the first picoseconds of its existence and up to today. It does not tell us anything of how that universe arose in the first place. It tells us there was a seed and that a complex plant grew from that seed, its says nada about where or what that seed was.

Even the stuff after the plant grew has well dodgy holes in it that require a bit of slight of hand mathematically to make it work. Inflation in the early universe being one. "Oh we need inflation to explain stuff, but we mostly ignore the serious lack of reason why it should inflate in the first effin place, without any "outside" source".

Matter V anti matter. Why was there an imbalance? Why didnt one obliterate the other 100%? It should have.

Why is the universe way emptier than it ought to be based on our maths and theories? "Oh right Joe, we'll invent "dark matter"". Really? Oh yea great stuff that. You have two apples in one hand and two apples in the other. How many apples do you have in both? Four. Sorry no I only see one. Ahh thats because the other three are invisible you silly boy". Ehhhhh...nope.

Then they found the universe was speeding up in it's current expansion. Ah jaysus ted WTF? So lets bring in "dark energy" to even up the books. You are having an effin laugh at this stage son would be the objective take. Even the "evidence" for dark matter and energy is tiny, I mean effin miniscule. Even if the evidence is correct its out by a huge amount. Do you realise how much matter and energy the theories say is missing off the books? We're talking in the high 80% IIRC(if not higher) of all the matter and energy they expect to see with current theories. If your accountant gave you those figures you'd set teh dogs on him or her. Unless you worked for Anglo of course. Hmmm..... :D

Like I said science will throw in its own version of magic wands from time to time too. They can abstract out an explanation and if questioned are not too far away from religion in saying "ah but its beyond your understanding and very complex". Not too far away from "god moves in mysterious ways" with added equations. In one way I hope God does exist and if so hope to meet same and if I do I'll say "fair play mate, good to finally meet you. Great job on the oul universe. Mountains are bloody brilliant. And Stars? You are the man! And BTW you have one helluva sense of humour as far as leaving all sorts of red herrings all over the place. Is the universe some sort of IQ test, cos I'm bollocksed on the first question. Multiple choice would have been nice". :D True though it so depends on which angle you come from. If expansion and balancing our matter and gravity and all the other tweaks went on, then hands full wouldnt be in it. Plus, just because I gather ingredients, mix them and stick it in an oven at regulo 5, it doesnt mean I'm interfering in the raising of the dough in the baking process. Why not? It doesnt mean "he" created science. Thats the same philosophical trap the theists get into. Again like the baking analogy. I plan a cake, I set the stage for a cake, the cake arises from the environment I create. I dont create the cake from point zero. But without me the flour remains in grains of wheat in the field. Now widen that out and narrow that down from the micro to the macro over 15 billion years plus. That could be one helluva cooking lesson. Now I have myself seeing Jamie Oliver on the roof of the sistine chapel.:eek::pac:

Excellent post I like most people thought science had the creation of the universe pretty well mapped out until I researched it.

They take big leaps of faith in things like dark matter and dark energy to make their equations work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,702 ✭✭✭squod

No-one can say for sure whether hawking has just gone off his head.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,702 ✭✭✭squod

They take big leaps of faith in things like dark matter and dark energy to make their equations work.

This point was raised during last nights BBC newsnight show. Fun and games for nerds IMO.

Well, yes and no. If the universe for example is infinite and collapses and expands....

Not all totally correct but I do think that overall its a good point:D