Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

The Half Marathon support Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,048 ✭✭✭dolliemix

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 158 ✭✭fungirl1

OMG...had nightmare last night that HM distance "changed" to 36.km :eek::eek::eek::eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,197 ✭✭✭elvis jones

fungirl1 wrote: »
    OMG...had nightmare last night that HM distance "changed" to 36.km :eek::eek::eek::eek:

The guys from the 5 miler in the park must have measured it;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 Sparky101

Was that one actually more than 5 miles then or less?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,534 ✭✭✭iceage

Or the guy driving the lead car in Clonmels Boston Scientific did it. :P I shouldn't laugh.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,716 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Ok first 1/2 marathon on Sunday in Westport!!!!! I have done lots of cycling, done Gaelforce and have done a few 8 and 10km's in the last 12 months. Am I nuts! :)

My best 10km was 52 mins, the Gaelforce 14km run took me 1.26 so I am going to aim for a 2hr 10 and see how I get on.
    NEVER ran over 14km so this will be interesting :)

Do they usually have water stops on these runs?

Did a 10.25km run on Tuesday morning at 6.30am in 54min so I am not fast, just want to get this done now Sunday as have Achill Roar the following Sat, hope it doesn't feck me up :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

There should be a water stop roughly every 3-4 miles, but check the website for the race and it should tell you that. Good luck :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,832 ✭✭✭littlebug

yop wrote: »
    Ok first 1/2 marathon on Sunday in Westport!!!!!

Best of luck Yop. I was kicking myself for doing Galway last week and not this one. It's supposed to be a nice flat route isn't it? I'd say you'll be closer to 2 hrs than 2.10 :)

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,716 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Thanks Folks, want to be the odd water stop :)

Obviously don't eat on any 10km runs I do or the 14km in GF but would you expect to need a top of energy during a half?

Littlebug - how long has it taken to recover from Galway? I live along the route so would know it fairly well for sure, more used to cycling it and have only ever ran 7.5 miles of it so this will be interesting.
    Would you not be up for this one on Sunday or is 1 week not enough rest?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,832 ✭✭✭littlebug

Littlebug - how long has it taken to recover from Galway? I live along the route so would know it fairly well for sure, more used to cycling it and have only ever ran 7.5 miles of it so this will be interesting.
    Would you not be up for this one on Sunday or is 1 week not enough rest?

I'm grand since Galway (clearly didn't run fast enough:p). I'm due to run 16 this Sunday and someone suggested doing westport and adding a bit either side. It's tempting but we might be away for the weekend. Even if not I think I daren't mention yet another race for a few more weeks anyway! Enjoy !

I know what you are saying, I will get divorced yet with all these events lol.

More I think of it the more nervous I now get!! :)

Aim for 2.10 anyway and if I get closer then all the better!! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 411 ✭✭Tec Diver

Yop, from your 10k time I'd say you'll be faster than 2:10.
    Some people take a GU gel or similar at the 10k mark, or maybe some jelly sweets/jelly beans. Just something to give you a bit of an energy hit, but not something that is hard to digest or will be bouncing around in your stomach.
    Take the first 10k a bit slower than you are hoping for and save your energy for the business end.
    Best of luck!

Eoin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 cathmhaoil1

Hi all.

Wondering for a piece of advice. Did the Galway half marathon last week, first one, did it in 1:58 so happy out. Found the first 7/8 miles ok but the hill @ 8 killed me!! Would any one recommend training plans etc to help me improve my time, going to do the galwayBay start of Oct. Also any reviews on those gels, seen a heap of people taking them..

Any help would be greatly received.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 MrsN

[

Yop there will be 4 water stops on the day, I emailed the organiser as I will be doing the HM on sunday also.Good Luck

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

dolliemix wrote: »

Always gets very good reviews and a flat fast course. Have this one pencilled in as my next target race

MrsN wrote: »
    [

Yop there will be 4 water stops on the day, I emailed the organiser as I will be doing the HM on sunday also.Good Luck

Thanks very much.

Best of luck yourself, hopefully I don't make the MidWest death notices on Monday morning :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 765 ✭✭✭yungwan

Best of luck Yop in your first half.

You sound like you will do very well!!

yungwan wrote: »
    Best of luck Yop in your first half.

You sound like you will do very well!!

LOL, thanks very much.

The words "setting myself up for a fall" come to mind!!!! :)

Fingers crossed!!! Just got laid off today with 15k of salary owed to me (dont ask) so I think I have something to "pound" now with each step :o

Hi all.

Wondering for a piece of advice. Did the Galway half marathon last week, first one, did it in 1:58 so happy out. Found the first 7/8 miles ok but the hill @ 8 killed me!! Would any one recommend training plans etc to help me improve my time, going to do the galwayBay start of Oct. Also any reviews on those gels, seen a heap of people taking them..

Any help would be greatly received.:)
    That's a great time for your first!
    If hills are a problem then that's where you may need to focus on, it'll strengthen your legs and make a long run a bit easier too.
    Try this:
    10min easy run (warm up)
    6-8 x 80m sprints starting at 80% with the last sprint at 100%
    Then have a few mins to recover
    Then 10 x 30sec run uphill (not too steep), turn around and jog back down. After the 5th do a 1-2min standing recovery and continue.
    Finish with a relaxed 10min run.
    I've had gels in races before and I find that they do help, but they need to be washed down with water, otherwise they stick to your teeth (yuk!). They do work, but taking jelly sweets/jelly babies also works and is a LOT cheaper ;)

LOL, thanks very much.

The words "setting myself up for a fall" come to mind!!!! :)

Fingers crossed!!! Just got laid off today with 15k of salary owed to me (dont ask) so I think I have something to "pound" now with each step :o

Ouch, sorry to hear that Yop...best of luck in the race - something to focus on!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 MrsN

Thanks very much.

Best of luck yourself, hopefully I don't make the MidWest death notices on Monday morning :)

Looks like I'll be the one making the midwest death notices. I've spent two weeks trying to shake off a headcold with no luck, then woke up with what looks like a chest infection this morning.arghh im so gutted. I know its prob a bit nuts but I still want to run tomorrow.Am I mad?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,197 ✭✭✭elvis jones

MrsN wrote: »
    Looks like I'll be the one making the midwest death notices. I've spent two weeks trying to shake off a headcold with no luck, then woke up with what looks like a chest infection this morning.arghh im so gutted. I know its prob a bit nuts but I still want to run tomorrow.Am I mad?

Yes, there are lots of races and no point in doing it unless your 100%

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 cathmhaoil1

Tec Diver wrote: »
    That's a great time for your first!
    If hills are a problem then that's where you may need to focus on, it'll strengthen your legs and make a long run a bit easier too.
    Try this:
    10min easy run (warm up)
    6-8 x 80m sprints starting at 80% with the last sprint at 100%
    Then have a few mins to recover
    Then 10 x 30sec run uphill (not too steep), turn around and jog back down. After the 5th do a 1-2min standing recovery and continue.
    Finish with a relaxed 10min run.
    I've had gels in races before and I find that they do help, but they need to be washed down with water, otherwise they stick to your teeth (yuk!). They do work, but taking jelly sweets/jelly babies also works and is a LOT cheaper ;)

Cheers!! Thanks a million, Im new to the running and had been training for 2 mths for it. Any advice is really appreciated:D Heard about these Yasso 800's as well, going to give them a go as well, but I'll definately give that a go as well. Next one is the Galway Bay half at the start of Oct, anyone else doing it?

So this Waterford HM...starts in the City, out to T bay, and then back in a gain basically.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,111 ✭✭✭peanuthead

Hi Everyone

I've decided to pull out of the Half Marathon.

I've not been able to fit any training in because life has kind of gotten in the way, but if I'm truly honest, I could have found the time if I was bothered.

The truth is that I don't think running is for me. I like short distances such as 3 or 5 miles, but the 10 almost killed me and the half - I just can't think about it to be honest.

I'm not an unfit person, I enjoy exercise and go to the gym about 4-5 times a week but I just can't seem to manage the running. It always seems to be a struggle, I'm knackered 3 mins in, even though I could run for the hour, I get puffy almost instantly. I enjoy finishing the run, but don't really enjoy DOING it.

Since I took up running I found myself finally becoming part of a sporty social circle (albeit virtual) and for that reason I am sad to be hanging up my running shoes, but I also think that more importantly I need to stop before I develop a serious hatred for it or worse again, for all types of exercise.

I will still take part in the 5 mile next year, but other than that it will be short distances and aerobic exercise from now on.

Best of luck to all taking part in the half. I really admire (and am jealous of) you all!!

Peanuthead

peanuthead wrote: »
    The truth is that I don't think running is for me. I like short distances such as 3 or 5 miles.Peanuthead

Nothing wrong with that, do not knock yourself. Stick with it, don't give up 3 to 5 miles runs.....think back to when you started out.

When I started back I made a complete show of myself to one of my mate after telling him, " yeah when I was X year old I ran this distance in that time"

Enjoy your 3 and 5 mile runs I know I do now. The 10K and HM's if they happen they happen. If they don't they don't. Run for you don't run for anyone else. you've made great progress, nows the time to enjoy it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,048 ✭✭✭dolliemix

Good luck Peanuthead.

I've a feeling I might be similar to you. I'm up to 5 miles at the moment and enjoying it. But I'm wondering am I crazy to push myself further and possibly risk injury. I'm building up gradually and the Half isn't until December so I hope I'm doing everything correctly. I know trying to fit those long runs in will be difficult time wise.I've a friend who just keeps going on about times and how she needs to push herself further. She vomited at the end of a seven mile training run recently and told me it was normal for people to do this! :eek: She's much faster than me, but keeps going on about how slow she is and how she needs to improve. She has no experience of racing up until now but started seeing a guy who runs marathons. It kind of ruins my buzz because I'm so happy when I just finish the 4 miles or the 5 miles but she'll be telling me that I should be able to knock five or whatever mins off my time soon, when I didn't say in the first place that I was unhappy!

Sorry about the rant guys. I'm up to 5 miles. I did them quite comfortably yesterday in just under an hour. My left knee was niggling but everything else felt great and my knee feels good this morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

A friend of mine goes for three mile runs, three mornings a week. He has no desire to do races, or to do longer distances, but 3 x 3 mile runs keep him fit.
    The point of running is supposed to be doing something that you enjoy, that keeps you healthy. If you don't enjoy the longer runs, there's no reason for you to do them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 Sparky101

[QUOTE=dolliemix;67843861 It kind of ruins my buzz because I'm so happy when I just finish the 4 miles or the 5 miles but she'll be telling me that I should be able to knock five or whatever mins off my time soon, when I didn't say in the first place that I was unhappy!
    [/QUOTE]
    I feel the same as you, Doliemix. I love running just for the pleasure of it, but with my sights set on the Dublin half (my first) in a couple of weeks time, I recently got caught up in trying to acheive a certain time and started to dread my training. I have a few friends who are really into running and are much faster (and younger!) than I am, and I think that all the chat about interval sessions and pace just put me right off. I have upped my long runs and have found that these are now the ones that I enjoy the most because I can take them at a leisurely pace, guilt free! So with that in mind, I have decided to ditch my expectations/hopes for acheiving a certain time and to aim to just ENJOY the race and the atmosphere instead. My goal is now enjoyment!
    Having said all of that, a friend of mine gave me a good piece of advice, he said that everyone hates the first 20 minutes of a run, it's only after that time that the endorphins start to kick in. If I start running now and am not enjoying it, I bear this in mind and slow my pace until I start to enjoy it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

dolliemix wrote: »
    Good luck Peanuthead.

I've a feeling I might be similar to you. I'm up to 5 miles at the moment and enjoying it. But I'm wondering am I crazy to push myself further and possibly risk injury. I'm building up gradually and the Half isn't until December so I hope I'm doing everything correctly. I know trying to fit those long runs in will be difficult time wise.I've a friend who just keeps going on about times and how she needs to push herself further. She vomited at the end of a seven mile training run recently and told me it was normal for people to do this! :eek: She's much faster than me, but keeps going on about how slow she is and how she needs to improve. She has no experience of racing up until now but started seeing a guy who runs marathons. It kind of ruins my buzz because I'm so happy when I just finish the 4 miles or the 5 miles but she'll be telling me that I should be able to knock five or whatever mins off my time soon, when I didn't say in the first place that I was unhappy!

Sorry about the rant guys. I'm up to 5 miles. I did them quite comfortably yesterday in just under an hour. My left knee was niggling but everything else felt great and my knee feels good this morning.

I think the problem there is your friend's attitude - it's really not normal to puke at the end of a 7 mile training run unless she's done the whole thing at race pace (which is silly) and it sounds like she's focusing too much on her times and losing the enjoyment somewhere along the line. Fast track to burnout, tbh.

The fact that you're saying you're feeling great doing your 5 mile run suggests that you're building up in a more sensible manner than she is. If you're following a novice HM plan, then you are right on track at the moment and I hope you continue on the way you are because looking at your log you are building up in a very sensible manner, fitting in your yoga and tennis too.